Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Donald Trump the Megathread part II - mod warnings in OP, Updated 18/03/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭goldsparkle

God, I would nearly be tempted to go protesting at his golf course in Clare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,332 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

The thing that mitigates against Trumpism being a long term phenomenon is that he is much more likely to crash the US economy than make a success of it. Trump is economically illiterate and barely has a clue what he is doing, bar pulling eye grabbing publicity stunts to please his his millions of disciples.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,085 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

It's not all spite (it is partially) but it is 100% a power play. Trumps admin clearly believe that the world needs the US more than the US needs the world.

It's theory that's about to be tested

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 7,005 Mod ✭✭✭✭Irish Aris

Fair points Oscar. I reckon the lack of a longer term view article could be justified by the, quite possibly, lack of longer term view from the Trump administration itself. Or, like you say, maybe it's because we are in terra incognita and nobody knows what to make of it.

On the tariffs, I was just trying to figure out how they will work in the real world. Trump can say whatever he wants, but there are certain practicalities to be considered.

2025 gigs: Selofan, Alison Moyet, Wardruna, Gavin Friday, Orla Gartland, The Courettes, Nine Inch Nails, Rhiannon Giddens, New Purple Celebration, Nova Twins

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 29,569 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

There is always going to be less political risk with domestic manufacturing so the FDI investment tap will be turned off.

There is all manner of political risk with producing in the US at the moment. Not least that your employees might get black bagged and sent to an El Salvadorian labour camp.

They don't have lots of idle production to shift to the US. There is nothing they can do that will take effect before this administration is gone. How they choose to tackle that is obviously up to them, but they know that the world will exist post-Trump.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭Mefistofelino

All drugs sold in the EU must be manufactured in the EU

This is not true, but all drugs supplied into the EU must comply with EU GMP standards etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,947 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

On that last point im fairly sure I watched something recently that explained how currently there is no real way to implement these tariffs at the level that would be required because they simply dont have the staff or systems in place to deal with such a massive increase across such a broad range of industries at the flick of a switch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,117 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

What Trump will do tomorrow will be the largest act of protectionism since the 1930's. It will pretty much end a free trade model upon which Ireland and many other countries have gotten wealthy way beyond their natural economic capabilities like a cheat code.

It looks like the best the government here can do is manage the decline in living standards for Irish people as best it can.

We don't have many levers and because we are part of the EU we face even greater harm as Germany will want retaliation.

Given the nature of our economy we (and other countries) won't want any retaliation at all.

This is what happens when different economies have very different needs in a trade bloc.

We are in a very bad situation really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,928 ✭✭✭thatsdaft

There aren’t any articles because there is no long term plan or direction

They just have a revolutionary burn it all down zeal

We seen this before with Brexiteers, they were completely stumped when asked for a coherent plan and vision for future

And we also seen where that led, notice the naming to

Brexiteers; Independence Day

MAGA; Liberation Day

I disagree. There is substantially less risk for a US pharma company to invest domestically than here currently. The cost of the uncertainty around tariffs far outweighs the tax benefits and other investment deals they can do here. And that remains true even if some staff lose residency and are deported.

The reality is that it's a cold financial calculation for corporations. Even if a democrat gets in next time and starts to unwind tariffs, business leadership know they are potentially 4 years away from a reversal again.

That said, once tariffs are established, even democrats won't remove them as offshoring would just happen again.

The best thing that can occur is a hard crash from tomorrow that forces a rapid reversal - one that so badly burns the republicans, they never even consider it again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,367 ✭✭✭SaoPaulo41

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭greenfield21

Three main options for tomorrow

1.Blanket 20% tariffs

2.Tiered system of three different rates

3.Country-by-country rates

One official cited by CNBC said the first option was "less likely than the other two". She also said the 'goal' is country-based tariffs.

-Pharma, semiconductor and other tariffs would be announce later

-Canada/Mexico fentanyl tariffs expected to be lifted

-Secondary tariffs on Venezuela to go into effect

https://www.forexlive.com/news/trump-is-evaluating-three-tariff-proposals-report-20250401/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,929 ✭✭✭Beta Ray Bill

Unlikely they will redirect large amount of investment
    US Population is 340m
    EU Population is 450m
    European Continent Population is 750m

Only drugs manufactuered and tested in the EU can be sold in the EU

There is more people in the EU suggesting that, that's is where the money is for Pharma.

This is gonna hurt the US more than the EU, I think you are right though that they will have to row back on the tarriffs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,929 ✭✭✭Beta Ray Bill

I thought that EU GMP meant an on site inspection to manufacturing facilities whenever they wanted? This would predicate being manufactured in the EU right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭Mefistofelino

Not necessarily. The EMA could inspect facilities in the US, India, China etc if they are supplying into the EU. Similarly, the FDA can inspect facilities here. In reality, they rely on mutual recognition agreements where each side will recognise inspections / assessments carried out by the other party.

If it's 2 or 3 we are well and truely fecked and on our own

The American consumer pays a lot more for drugs than europeans

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,042 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

They can try and target Ireland but we're part of the EU so it's an attack on the EU market too.

No we are not, any attack on any country that is part of the SM is an attack on the SM thats why its called a Single Market and how it works.

How do people after Brexit and decades of EU membership still not understand how it works?

Indeed a country level tariff wouldn't work inside the SM. Companies would just move product to a low tariff country and fly to the States from there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,928 ✭✭✭thatsdaft

IMG_5762.jpeg

This coming US recession is gonna make Brexit look like a children’s tea party

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 566 ✭✭✭DrPsychia

A great article published in the Financial Times today. The author talks about an economic model report co-authored by an economics Professor, and a business associate Professor from Aston University in the UK.
    The authors modeled 6 scenarios resulting from Trumps tariffs.

Screenshot 2025-04-01 at 17.36.03.png Screenshot 2025-04-01 at 17.36.13.png Screenshot 2025-04-01 at 17.36.30.png Screenshot 2025-04-01 at 17.36.47.png

Note: for Scenario 5 below, the model predicts Ireland's exports to contract by 7.7%.

Screenshot 2025-04-01 at 17.36.59.png

Screenshot 2025-04-01 at 17.38.22.png Screenshot 2025-04-01 at 17.53.46.png

That's right lads, Make America Great Again, the US economy is going to BOOM!

I've attached the paper which goes into detail. It's freely available from Aston University.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,877 ✭✭✭PokeHerKing

The same was said for BrexIt. The reality, it only hurt the UK.

This maga $hite is mostly the same type of ideology as Brexiteers and it's more self harming than anything.

I don't think this is the exact same as Brexit but similar to Brexit I'm happy to be on the EU side of the fight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭Damien360

Only if the EU acts as one can we come out of this strong. I can imagine a scenario of a deal of zero tax on BMW and a huge one on pharma into the US. Not exactly one for all and we would be screwed.

I think what you said ,is exactly what will happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 935 ✭✭✭Detritus70

To all the people arguing"don't worry, checks and balances". Do you really think Trump cares? This is straight from the Adolf Hitler playbook. Very obviously and transparently. Only a complete moron would argue "ah sure, she'll be grand" in the face of current events in the US. Yes, it's Facebook, but it would be foolish to ignore the possibility.

A lot of the article is speculation, but none of it is out of the realm of possibilities.

Quote from the article:

This Is Not a Drill: Trump’s Day-One Order Sets the Stage for Martial Law

By Tony Pentimalli

On January 20, 2025, while the press focused on the optics of Donald Trump’s indoor inauguration, something far more dangerous was set in motion—off-camera, away from ceremony, and beneath the radar of a public lulled by spectacle.

Trump signed an executive order declaring a national emergency at the southern border. But the most alarming part? It gave the Department of Defense and the Department of Homeland Security just 90 days to deliver a joint report on whether he should invoke the Insurrection Act.

That deadline is April 20.

https://www.facebook.com/share/p/18PPnZhjh5/

Fully Automated Luxury Gay Space Communism

That said, once tariffs are established, even democrats won't remove them as offshoring would just happen again.

That is a massive, massive leap. These are unprecedented anti-free trade measures. The US relies on the free flow of goods into the country. The country is likely to go into a recession partly on the back of these punitive and stupid tariffs. It would be the easiest win in the world to remove them on day 1.

There also won't be anything to offshore in 3.5 years time because nothing that doesn't exist in terms of domestic pharma production will exist in 3.5 years time.

I don't understand why people operate under the same deluded assumption as Trump that tariffs will cause re-shoring of production. Americans will just end up paying more for viagra and heart meds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,399 ✭✭✭Wolf359f

So the EU is going to screw Germany, Ireland, Denmark, Italy and a few others in favour of BMW? Germany exports as much pharma to the US as they do vehicles.

Some people simply remain obsessed with the idea that the EU is a malevolent force that will eventually turn on Ireland despite all evidence to the contrary.

The EXACT same stupid fear mongering arguments were made during the brexit negotiations by brexiteer morons, that the EU would screw Ireland as we were so small and all they cared about was selling BMWs and Mercs to the UK. None of that happened because if they screw one country then they can screw any country and what is the point of the EU?