Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Tommy Tiernan Show Thread - Mod warning, see OP

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,470 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Jesus, that's a high pitched voice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,941 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

It was going well until he started singing. Should have got Marty on.

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,587 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Sounded good as a band until he opened his mouth.

Murdering a Clapton classic.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,470 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

I think I liked that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,607 ✭✭✭John arse

Yeah was just watching Clapton on BBC 2 as well!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,388 ✭✭✭Princess Calla

Was she?

I thought she was more talking about her experience and her career.

Her experience just happened to be that of a woman in a very male dominated field.

The fact her supervisor stole her Nobel prize speaks volumes!

She has obviously made peace with that. However her right to talk about her experience should also not be "stolen" from her!

He still hasn't aged well!

He was a very good looking bloke when "love is all around" was released in 93/94?

He definitely has the haunted look and pallor of a heroin addict....he might be clean now but they have left an impact on his appearance.

I wouldn't rate that interview, but then I wouldn't have too much time for him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭ihateboards

I’d have liked more context around the discovery. Is it like it Pulsars would not have been spotted without her or more like the sailor in the crow’s nest on Columbus’ voyage to America being credited with discovering the continent because they spotted land on their shift.

The way it sounded to me there was reams and reams of a print out similar to an EKG print out and in these reams she spotted a tiny anomaly, which could easily have been missed. She then started running more detailed tests to find out more about the anomaly....however she would have to bring all her workings to her supervisor.

That was my understanding anyway..... could be wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,966 ✭✭✭Oíche Na Gaoithe Móire

A pity we all can't stay 23, clean and sober forever😊 Angel Eyes, 1987, second hit single first big one. From 1987-94 Wet Wet Wet were up there with Kylie, Jason Donovan, Madonna and all the main artists in terms of popularity in Ireland and the UK.

He's not too bad for 60 I think. A lot of runners would have a similar look, a bit gaunt and little flesh around the face. I prefer that look to many of our politicians for example, with big bellies and double\triple chins, obese basically. All soft flesh, corpulent.

I'm loathe to criticise any drug addict or former addict in the music industry. It's a manic lifestyle very few survive without falling off the wagon with drugs and alcohol.

Post edited by Oíche Na Gaoithe Móire on

'Where have you gone Joe DiMaggio? A nation turns It's lonely eyes to you.'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 436 ✭✭Hold My Hand

I’m glad Tommy has ditched the hat this season

As a bogger I'm almost obliged to like The Saw Doctors.

Davy really has a smokers voice.

What’s the age difference between these two guests … Davy looks very weathered … his eyes don’t look healthy

Davy fair weathered lookin, even for 65.

Agri pop I think Des Bishop called the Saw Docs music.

As an agri bogger, I love them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,640 ✭✭✭Xander10

N17 is a brilliant song.

Live version of Clare Island is brilliant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 917 ✭✭✭funkey_monkey

Jesus that's a good set list TBF!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,107 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Tommy K is great as is Hay Wrap, first heard them about 10 years ago, I led a mostly city slicker life until some country folk exposed me to them 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,838 ✭✭✭HBC08

Seriously under rated Irish band.

The voice of the West.

I’m loving this

Great voice still!

Mary Black at 65 wasn't a patch on that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 917 ✭✭✭funkey_monkey

I'll have to fire them up on Spotify again. Great singing. Still has a good voice on him.

Would say Same Ould Town is one of the best Irish songs ever written.

Post edited by Say Your Number on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,853 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

I love how the two lads from Tuam stayed so “ordinary”

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭spakman

Same Ould Town is one of my favourite songs.

Captures the depressing wet November Sunday evening in a West of Ireland town.

Wandering around, nobody to talk to, same ould shite.