If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

SKX007 spruce up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭covey123

Great idea using the crystal dies,end product looks great

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,064 ✭✭✭H_Lime

It's a long threaded rod that screws into the dies and locates into a motorcycle wheel bearing (clamped by two nuts and washers either side). Necessity is the mother of invention:)

20241231_195607.jpg 20241231_194714.jpg

Adverts purchase for fifteen lids, "for repair needs a stem"....mmmm

Potential easy fix for the youngin and I to play with but expected it to harbour worse problems than that.

We got lucky in that the remains of the stem was not still buried in the module. Stripping that to remove it would have been at the outer edge of my enthusiasm/skills for our project. Stems are not available from casio and it they can break if you're a muppet during battery changes. We managed to find a German supplier selling crowns. He only had red so himself painted it black.

Other issues were wrong batteries fitted and their housing a little bent (easy fix), it wasn't sounding and after investigation the peizo spring contact was not touching the board and the caseback ground was folded back into the case. Once these were sorted its voice was back. Loud alarm!!

One caseback screw hole was borderline threaded, still kinda nipping up but we wanted it right so removed the case back, half filled the stripped hole with epoxy and screwed in the screw all the way with a light coating of oil on it. Hr later we backed the screw out and now it's perfect.

Other than that we US cleaned everything that could be, new greased gaskets and went though the calibration and set up procedures and it's working A1, mad seeing the hands rotate counter clockwise independently about the dial for given functions. There's not a mark on it really and passed the pressure test no bother.

All in cost for project G-SHOCK GA-400-1BJF was 55 euro (crown was mega expensive at 36 quid). Himselfs delighted but even he thinks it's too big. Anyway, fun was had and that was the point of the exercise, that and a watch is working again.

Here it is on my 21cm wrist lol

20250101_112034.jpg 20250101_090916.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,776 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

These are great.
    I just pull out an old fossil watch from back of a drawer. Needs a battery, strap is split and mouldy, case and crystal scratched. I had given up on it. But you’ve inspired me to dress it up.

Might have a battery, somewhere. Ordered a strap. Will likely make a balls of something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭Lorddrakul

Pictures when you do!

Extra points for showing your work! 😄

Time to give bishop brennan a kick up the arse. Popped off the bezel. State of that crystal. Not bad for a mineral after 41 years I suppose.

20250123_115211.jpg 20250123_120031.jpg

If the 7A28A were a bike it'd be a vfr800 with gear driven cams, in other words it's bulletproof, overbuilt and a credit to Seiko. First analogue quartz chrono supposedly. Rodger wore a 7A28 in a view to a kill.

Seiko-April1984-UK-SportTechBrochure-Pages34.jpg

Its not been serviced (so I believe) but is keeping exact time. The split button at 10 ain't working but I'm hopeful it's the hideously sticky button gunked up that's the culprit.

20250123_122357.jpg 20250123_120248.jpg 20250123_122251.jpg

Seals are shagged. Thankfully the gent who owned it didn't get her wet! I noticed on a cold morning there was foggin under the crystal so expected this.

20250123_123636.jpg 20250123_123909.jpg

Mega tool for hooking off seals!

20250123_123602.jpg

A quick word on parts. There's some pretty unscrupulous feckers selling parts for Giugiaro/Limited edition seikos at huge mark ups. If you do your eccer and find out the part nos you can catch some amazing deals. For instance the bezel/insert, red buttons and chapter ring go for crazy money 2nd hand on ebay. Cousins in the UK had them NOS if you searched the part nos. They didn't return under a search for 7A28 though, maybe that's why they were still there? Anyway, delighted to bag them at very sensible money.

I had a sapphire with a lash of clear ar made to oem size. Well nearly, stock size is 32mm x 1.6mm, this is 1.5mm.

Reassembly went aok, all six seals were changed, crystal went in flat and a new battery too. Bezel nipped the seal on installation (despite stretching and lube!) but managed to find a match in my spares.

20250123_160140.jpg

With great trepidation I started the chrono and hit the split button.....and it verks!!! So happy about that.

I adapted this strap to it which suits it and am keeping my eyes peeled for a nos bracelet. If one shows up I'll have the case recoated to match, but for now I'm so happy to wear this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 879 ✭✭✭Roycropper63

H-lime sorry for jumping in on this thread. Have 2 seiko kinetics that are not working. Would you be able to help? Thanks Roy

No probs Roy.

What models? Dead or doing the two seconds tick? Have you worn em for a day to charge them up yet? Could maybe do with a new capacitor/battery if won't hold a charge.

Myself I don't own any kinetics. They give great service but just not really into them.

Hi. The newest 1 is an ska719p I think bought 7 years ago. Was not worm enough but the second hand seemed to stick arounf 15 mins . Other 1 is from my dad. Been idle a long time

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,331 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

Wear the newer one for a day, you might resurrect it. The older almost certainly needs a battery I'd say.

Thought you might dig it Wibbs:)

Will try that when back home. Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 377 ✭✭jefferson73

Amazing work and great post, thanks for sharing.

Thanks Jefferson, seeing your tasty new in box SCED003 lately and commenting on it was a portent of this purchase somehow. Like field of dreams ha!

I'm liking the sapphire in it, its obvs such an immediate improvement over the old crystal and the clear ar coating showcases the dial. Before the swop I thought I was going to have to repaint the hands (was going to use lume) as they appeared so dull but it was just the crystal.

I'm on the hunt for the bracelet but so too is every bishop owner it seems. The problem with this watch is how little relief there is for anything but the thinnest of bracelets to fit the recessed lugs. You can't even get a nato in.

I'd seen this on some vintage casios also so I trimmed an fkm strap for one with a razor blade to make it fit the lugs. I opted for a bigger (lugs) one as it meant a wider flare out which I cut in line with the case on the one side as a nod to Giugiaro's asymmetric bracelet. I gave the cut edges a run with a soldering iron to make them look normal.

Lastly there's another bishop for sale abroad (with full bracelet!) but listed as faulty movement. It's going cheap enough and I think I can see why it's chrono second hand is faulty, the centre second finger tension spring is misaligned, a simple fix! Either that or it's a trap for eegits like me to think that lol. I may roll the dice.

20250128_131131.jpg 20250128_143827.jpg 20250128_134719.jpg

Couple NOS cases, 007 and 011, well two 007 but one to be transformed to 011. Hilariously I have aftermarket 011 chapter rings that are a far better match of orange than the official seiko one, part of the charm I suppose.

20250129_171323.jpg

Doxa vibez on the bor, looks better on a black gl831 imo.

Evening h-lime.

Any chance you could private message me or tell me how to send 1 to you re my kinetic seiko please

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,471 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Not your ornery onager

Many thanks and it is a private one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,471 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

In theory anyway.

No-one but you and the recipient can see it.

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,712 ✭✭✭Deep Thought

Havent heard the word "eccer" in years @H_Lime

The narrower a man’s mind, the broader his statements.

As a Dub in exile and father to little boggers I work hard on filling their lexicon with some gems lol.

When we're in the car and they see the five o it's a "whoop whoop" all round haha.

20250227_153821.jpg

5740-8000, seikos first hi beat, and very nearly the world's but for Girard-Perregaux beating them by a whisker. The latter is noteworthy as not solely an in house effort whereas the seiko is.

My first hi beat and it's quite a thing to behold, the sweep is cool as hell, all ten beats per second of them, 5 Hz doing it's thing. This movement was the basis for the king seiko chronometer and some grand seikos I believe.

I was weeks looking at this one advertised humming and hawing, the add was uninspiring. I asked if we could meet with a view to seeing it run on the time grapher. I did this as they tend to need mainsprings (low amplitude) and can suffer wear as are beating away madly at 36k with a high torque movement.

20250220_154923.jpg 20250220_155233.jpg

Long story short this was serviced recently (seller insisted it was serviced by a specialist abroad but had no proof) and it's running superbly. The delta for all six positions is seven seconds with strong amplitude everywhere. For reference, the new elaborated grade eta2824 I fitted to my mates tudor didn't return them figures. I've timed a max wind and on wrist I got 48 hrs 28mins which is perfect, it gained three seconds.

Case is sharp and unpolished with very forgivable swirlies, dial is near mint and likewise hands. The acrylic seems to have been changed during the service as is unmarked.

This one is 51yo in may so 74. Unfortunately in this Yr they switched from the more attractive horseshoe caseback to the generic looking bleh one this has.

20250227_150100.jpg

As these movements are fairly historic horologically speaking and are handwinding, (so no rotor to hide their frilly knickers) I decided to plumb for one of the lapinist's sweet zaratsu polished milled sapphire crystal display case backs. Ordinarily I'm not a fan of display case backs but then again this ain't no nh and his is majestic lol. Been an admirer of his work, here's a write up on the chap, quite the boyo and his case work is awesome!

20250227_150559.jpg 20250227_151400.jpg

Its mates up perfectly but his supplied gasket was a mm too big, I had one in stock. I think looks gorgeous, could watch that hairsping doing it's mad dance all day. Never seen one go that fast.

The oe caseback has at least three service marks in utterly unintelligible script which I promptly packed away safely for prosperity. Nice to know it's been cared for and I intend to do likewise. I have some decent 19mm straps inbound but am enjoying the hell out it. It's a lovely counter point to my 76 king quartz.

Post edited by H_Lime on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭Lorddrakul

That is gorgeous!

What a beautiful piece of engineering.

I love the regulation mechanism.

Is it a 36mm case?

Yea it's a bit of a feat of engineering all right, even the sound of it ticking is almost comically fast. It's pretty single minded, no hacking, auto, day/date, seems the brief was focused on showcasing their hi beat 5740c and grammar of design styling. All good by me!

The regulation adjustment does look exacting, at the moment there's no need to go at it tho, the chap who serviced it set it better than I could. Incidentally the seller got back to me with details of the man himself, he's well regarded watch maker in Croatia.

Size is 35mm x 9mm x 42 l2l, compact but wears well I think, even on my wrist lol.

20250228_133954.jpg

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,331 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Feckin' beauty of a watch H_L and that caseback shows the engineering elegance off.

Yep Seiko and Girard Perregaux and Longines went full in on high beat and the engineering and accuracy was impressive. So impressive that in the Swiss Chronometer Trails when by the mid 60's the Big Players fielded quartz movements, Seiko and Girard Perregaux were the last two standing with mechanical movements, and placed within the top ten in results in 69.

Both chronometer movements made it to market too, if in tiny numbers and Seiko and Girard Perregaux after testing were allowed to print "Observatory Chronometer" on their dials. A very rare and exceptional claim.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

Thanks Wibbs, it sure was an interesting time for the watch world with the quartz menace looming on the horizon. Seiko sure seemed to be hothousing many fresh approaches and seemed to relish in the coming change, a heyday period imo.

Unfortunately their current line up in the mid/lower upper tier is lacking in comparison. If I was inclined to buy one in a shop it would have to be a L movement piece which ain't in that bracket. Under 2k you're getting heritage/styling and finish. The new spb polygonal divers look like an aquaracer homage and again movement wise you're a bit shortchanged. Would love to see them take a few risks!

Operation haircut:) Measuring across the middle of the caseback I get 13.7mm

20250320_100112.jpg

It's a tall watch imo and I always felt it would benefit from a trim.

I ordered a slim coin edge bezel, slim crystal and caseback. As always, pain in the arse removing bezels and inserts but it worked out. Crystal is flat no bevel clear ar and nicely flush with the insert/bezel top.

The slim caseback is for grey nh movement holders but as my case is oem I had to grind the spacer off the end of the threads so it wouldn't squish the oem black movement holder (with nh inside). It passed my six bar pressure test. Said to be rated to 10.

20250320_131846.jpg 20250320_131805.jpg 20250320_150727.jpg

The numbers sound meagre enough at 12.1mm, so a bit over a 1.5mm reduction (12ish% drop) but it's a different animal on wrist sitting lower and flush. The face of the watch and it's silhouette is less cluttered now too, a great mod imo.

Capacitor/battery change on a kinetic. It's a 5m82 movement, 6 jewels, 32,768hz. With the rotor and weight gear wheel off you can get at the battery clamp plate.

Ss.jpg

Ready to fit the new battery.

20250324_103759.jpg

The battery cover has what appears to be a small ground that contacts a small pin. You can see it above at 7oclock.

seiko-caliber-5m82-charging-instructions-949x690.jpg seiko-caliber-5m82-power-reserve-949x639.jpg

After buttoning it up I eventually got it to full power. Gave the case a clean and light polish, the bracelet an ultrasonic bath and brush.

20250324_111600.jpg 20250324_121247.jpg

Sorted. Nice watch and wears very well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 donnelly.bm

Looks great. I recently put a sapphire with clear AR coating without a bevel on my skx009 too. It is amazing how it modernises the watch without the obvious change that a double dome sapphire gives. I love how it sits flush with the bezel and it really makes the dial pop like yours. Great upgrade.