Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Come back Garron Noone! **Mod Warning in Post #654**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,033 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 275 ✭✭balanced24

I hate how Journalists have adopted social media's extreme tactics, like condemning someone based on a single retweet or association, it’s insidious.

It weaponises guilt by association to discredit even minor deviations from the dominant narrative.

This should be a turning point for the Country, I can only hope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,552 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

The Irish far left is well organised, extremely well funded and full to the brim with eager self righteous foot soldiers chomping at the bit to do it's bidding.

The fact that the backlash to such a tame take on the immigration issue occurred with such speed and coordinated effort should be a red flag to anyone observing it.

My opinion is that these activists saw a person like Garron and the reach he has within Irish society and decided "hell no" when he dared to tamely question in the most innocuous manner possible the immigration issue in Ireland.

They were making an example of him, if you dare to say anything they disagree with, prepare to feel the wrath of the far left coming down on you swiftly and viciously.

This comes a week after those two far left loons stalked harassed and spat on an Israeli man in Dun Laoghaire.

Make no mistake there is an extremist ideology with its tentacles reaching ever further into Irish society. Its members are not afraid to engage their enemies in public and disregard the most basic elements of social cohesion in order to further their agenda. They've convinced us their mostly imagined counterparts on the other end of the political spectrum are the ones we should be fearful of and have our media invoking their menacing presence at every turn.

The far left are far too comfortable pushing their agenda in this country and it's high time we stopped tolerating it.

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,271 ✭✭✭airy fairy

I think it's more about his mental health than attention seeking tbf. He has spoken about it before and does suffer from it, he's a lad that couldn't leave the house in his teens, long before he went online and not the usual anxiety excuse a lot of these people on Instagram use.

He runs a car business in Co Waterford. 100% genuine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭DebDynamite

I’d say the left were on high alert when someone as well liked and respected and normal as Garron came out and said what he said. Unlike with McGregor, they couldn’t go on full character assassination mode with him (well deserved in McGregor’s case tbf) and dismiss him as being a bad representation of Ireland, they just used the old trick of labelling him a racist with some death threats to make sure he gets the message and shouldn’t speak out again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,100 ✭✭✭I see sheep

"a terrible war imposed by the provisional IRA"

Our West Brit Taoiseach

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 896 ✭✭✭InAtFullBack

Excellent commentary and very well put. I would add on that there are very experienced folk and also folk in quite high places co-ordinating the well-funded bidding into the bargain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 359 ✭✭FREDNISMO

Attention seeking at its best, it's not explicable, it's despicable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,274 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

What controversial far left opinions are you referring to? Give some examples of left wing opinions that would be likely to cause offence and that might merit the speaker being censured or even cancelled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,795 ✭✭✭JJayoo

A few negative comments and the world collapses 🤣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,785 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

Yes you're right, actual millionaires could indeed be committing fraud to game an extra 200 quid a week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 306 ✭✭REDBULL68

Seems like a nice man from what I've seen, very talented, great comedian and musician, he spoke his mind and fair play, we live in a Republic, that thousands died over the years to bring about, enough of this bullshit theology.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,785 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

Conor mcgregor said that ireland was going down the tubes (it isnt) and garron jumped on that to say he doesn't like mcgregor but thought mcgregor had a point. There is a misconception that ireland is being overrun (it isnt) and garron parroted that. There is a perception that ireland is becoming less safe (a possibility) and garron linked that to immigration (undetermined)

Lots of right wing friendly fodder in there, if you were looking for it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,493 ✭✭✭Former Former Former

Maybe someone who’s suffered from mental health issues should be a bit more careful about wading into debates like this then.

A) for his own well-being and B) wouldn’t you hope he’d have some empathy for other people in difficult circumstances

So anyone who has had anxiety or depression should remember to think twice before talking or contributing to a debate. Perhaps they should be muted altogether and not allowed in the public domain.

Your comment is deeply insulting to many.

Noone is free to have all the opinions he wants and he has a bigger forum than most to broadcast them. Not many of us have 1.7 million followers or whatever it is.

However, if you broadcast opinions like the ones he did and you weigh in squarely behind someone as polarising as Conor McGregor, you have to expect that other people are going to exercise their freedom to disagree with you.

And if you have mental health issues which involve a fear of interacting with people, maybe that’s not the best plan. I’m not sure who would be insulted by what seems like basic common sense.

Maybe he’s grand and this is all water off a duck’s back to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭DebDynamite

Stop misquoting him. He never said Ireland was being overrun. He also said our towns and cities are becoming less safe but it’s not all down to immigration.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,372 ✭✭✭✭suvigirl

And where did he get his information for those facts?

Garron is a big boy, if he is going to start making opinion videos then he needs to be able to take whatever critisicisms people have of his opinions. Shutting down his accounts because of a few bad comments was an overreaction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,418 ✭✭✭Flaneur OBrien

As someone that has had anxiety and depression, when it comes to thinking twice before contributing to a debate... Ehhh… yes?

I mean, that's the most stupid argument I've ever seen.

You should always weigh up whether to get involve or not. Some days you can manage, other days you can't.

Should someone with high blood pressure think twice about getting in a steam room or sauna or should they exercise their freedom and go in? Of course they should think twice and evaluate.

Should someone think twice about climbing a mountain in extreme weather even if they have climbed it many, many times? What about their freedom to climb? But thinking twice about climbing the mountain, they might think about the rescue team that could be sent out to rescue them should the need arise.

I know you're being sarcastic, but no one is calling for the muting of people or their opinions, except you. People are calling for people to be held responsible for their actions.

Your comment, in fact, is deeply insulting to the many that weigh up the pros and cons of taking action.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,217 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

If he does come back, his first video should be 'i'm not a racist, and if you are a racist, **** off'

If he tries to play the victim 'ive been cancelled' nonsense then he'll just be justifying the suspicions against him and he'll be formally inducted into the alt right griftosphere

Chomsky(2017) on the Republican party

"Has there ever been an organisation in human history that is dedicated, with such commitment, to the destruction of organised human life on Earth?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,637 ✭✭✭volchitsa

By the way. Is the quote below the extent of what Katie Hopkins said, or was there something more offensive?

IMG_3763.png

https://twitter.com/cheeseknifem/status/1903369762152788470?s=46&t=2iwAHKz1UZR0DlQyt-wLgQ

”I enjoy cigars, whisky and facing down totalitarians, so am I really Winston Churchill?” (JK Rowling)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 234 ✭✭Will0483

Immigration to Sweden, France and the UK has very clearly led to massively increased crime rates. Sweden now has the second highest gun crime rate in Europe.

You'd really have to be living in cloud cookoo land to think the exact same or worse won't happen here. We have never got close to integrating our native born traveller population let alone people from 3rd world countries with no qualifications and completely different world views.

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2023/nov/30/how-gang-violence-took-hold-of-sweden-in-five-charts#:~:text=Long%2Dterm%20unemployment%20rates%20are,than%20twice%20the%20national%20figure.&text=%E2%80%9CSocioeconomic%20factors%20are%20what%20mostly,will%20not%20overcome%20those%20problems.%E2%80%9D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,418 ✭✭✭Flaneur OBrien

I hope you understand that just reads like paranoid delusions?

Who is the "far-left"? What do you mean by "far left"? How many do you think there are?

I'm pretty lefty, especially by boards standards!!! But I can assure you, I am not on list or a message group. I had to get a tldr when I saw it happening over on Bluesky.

The guy wasnt swarmed. It's social media. Once you put something out there, it's no longer in your control.

"An organised mob crew" would you ever give over? 🤣

As for the rest of your post, #bekind etc... more fantasy delusions.

I`

It's actually only dominant among a tiny fraction of the population. Unfortunately this extreme minority controls RTE and most of the newspapers. The vast majority whose taxes fund this lunacy have never been asked if we want or approve of the wholesale changes to our country.

There's no need for empathy for Economic migrants who have often been kicked out of several European countries already and who appear on our shores illegally and requiring endless handouts from the magic money tree that is the Irish taxpayer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,637 ✭✭✭volchitsa

Pretty sure I gave one farther back - but to compare them wouldn’t we also need to establish just how controversial Noone’s comments actually were?

He didn’t say immigrants were to blame for all the crime - so what was wrong with what he did say?

All I’m getting here (apart from actual misquotes) is some rhubarb about how foreign right wing extremists like Katie Hopkins agree with him. And even then I can’t find anything awful that she said. Just some words of reassurance to him about the pile-on.

”I enjoy cigars, whisky and facing down totalitarians, so am I really Winston Churchill?” (JK Rowling)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,372 ✭✭✭✭suvigirl

I believe we were asked last November? The answer was fairly clear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭hoodie6029

I read the transcript of his video and it sounded to me like he was saying ‘I don’t like Conor McGregor BUT…’ he’d lost any credibility for anything he was going to say at that point.

I didn’t like the deflecting of responsibility he did in the video too. Saying he’s only making this video because some many people have asked him to. You’re an adult of 30 years old, this was your decision. 

Noone is/was hugely popular and received endless praise for his work. It’s not beyond the realm of possibility that he thought he could say something on immigration and receive the same praise.

Entitled to voice his opinion? Of course he is. But he is a comedy brand. No one wants his take on immigration and given his following he was going to become a flash point and main news story no matter what he said.

The poor effer is going to be hounded over this. Hopefully he can retreat to a remote yurt with no WiFi for a few weeks and pop his head back up again when the news cycle has moved on.

This is water. Inspiring speech by David Foster Wallace https://youtu.be/DCbGM4mqEVw?si=GS5uDvegp6Er1EOG

Hopefully he can retreat to a remote yurt with no WiFi for a few weeks and pop his head back up again when the news cycle has moved on.

this strategy worked perfectly for Kellie Harrington a few years ago but things have moved on since then.

Unfortunately for Garron, he’s become a cause celebre for the anti-woke brigade and every time someone else from that faction comes out to “support” him, it makes a return to harmless comedy from a gentle soul that bit less likely.