Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Come back Garron Noone! **Mod Warning in Post #654**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,369 ✭✭✭✭suvigirl

What man? The one that claimed people can go in and claim vet bills and care repairs because they are not Irish?

Belive fairytales too do ya

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,379 ✭✭✭corkie

I found an account in his name on the alternative platform I'm on! (Not sure if it is actually him, time will tell!) Last post was from 5 days ago about the parades. registered 20 days ago

I tagged the account and reposted some media post's in a thread! Got a like from that account.

Also the backlash from accounts believing the bad social media posts about him, has result in me getting a about 5 or more blocks on my account. Probably people just caught up in the hullabaloo! They are probably just associating him with bad press around 'Conor McGregor', and may even not have know about 'Garron Noone' before this week.

So the backlash around him still continues, separated from successful platform of followers!

Note to mods: - I have been careful in this post not to mention the platform, and also have not been making posts crediting it as a source as was requested. So hopefully complying with instructions.

ⓘ "At some point something inside me just clicked and I realized that I didn't have to deal with anyone's bullshit ever again."
    » “mundus sine caesaribus” «

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,070 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,609 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Well Trump has over half the United States on his side, so he won't be canceled. Plus he had more power than most. People HAVE to do his biding.

As for Musk. Well hasn't Tesla lost 350bn in value because of him? I'd say that is punishment.

As for McGregor, well I think it's safe to say he isn't a favourite among the Irish people at present. Let him run for Pres and see how popular he is. I'd say he is as good as cancelled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,207 ✭✭✭✭kippy

To this I'd ask and wonder whether this is more an issue with the housing type and age profile of the residents, rather than an immigration issue.

Has anyone for example done anything to try foster the community in the area? Communities and community sport doesn't just happen. It usually requires something more.

Ive lived in estates over the years where it felt like there was no sense of community because I tended not to speak with the neighbours, I had my own life to live, as they did. Kids came along and things changed significant to the point where we have a number of community events annually, never mind the communities that form and are maintained via sporting clubs etc...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,418 ✭✭✭Flaneur OBrien

I'm happy to see your personal growth and that you can recognise an opinion when it's wrong ;)

Now, who has said he's not allowed hold that opinion?

I haven't seen any one suggest that. Unless you're suggesting that all opinions should be tolerated, accepted as fact and not argued against?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,814 ✭✭✭Hamachi

I belive (sic. lol) you’re continuing to peddle the same nonsense that you’ve been propagating for how many years now? Don’t you ever wear yourself out?

Oh, and why was Harris desperately deflecting and obfuscating when challenged on that very matter yesterday? Is that a fairytale too?

He hasnt been 'cancelled' he closed his social media accounts himself and will no doubt open them back when he is ready.

Being cancelled is such a nonsense term, basically anyone who has some backlash against them for whatever reason claims to be cancelled.

It's all nonsense

No idea What you're talking about. If you reference something someone says, you should really link it.

Notice you didn't answer the question either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,031 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Ken O Flynn confirmed on Neil's radio show, it was true, the question he asked Simon Harris in DE

https://www.redfm.ie/podcasts/neil-prendeville-show/21st-march-2025

Ken also came out in support of Garron

No idea who either of those people are. You linked to a page full of podcasts, do you expect posters to listen to hours of podcasts trying to find whatever it is you're talking about?

That makes two of us!

I did quote the post. In your haste to jump in, you must have missed it. Plus ca change!

Just listen to the Neil Prendeville show from yesterday Friday March 21st where TD Ken O Flynn confirmed payments for car repairs, a question he had asked Simon Harris about in The Dail

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,633 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

You can't even say Bro here, without someone wanting to censor you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,207 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Newer developments, by their nature and occupancy demographic don't just come with a ready made community feel.

You are probably comparing it with where you grew up, but that's literally like comparing apples and oranges. It takes time for communities and that community feel to develop. As I I've said I've lived away from home since I was 17 and never really got that community feel until I had kids myself.....I had no choice but to engage with people and through my kids meet lots of people.

I don't know how you could connect this to immigration.

Yep. Heard that interview with Ken O’Flynn. Pretty damning indictment of the current system and the frustrations that evidently bubbling under the surface. Harris’ response was appalling. Very much on par with his exchange last year in Kanturk during the GE campaign.

Didn't link anything about Simon Harris saying anything

Exceptional needs payments are paid to anyone in receipt of social welfare payments that may need them.

Need, not nationality.

Nothing to do with Garron really.

I’ve also lived away from home since I was 17 and have children. In my late teens and early 20s, I lived in an older, established area on the north side as a student. We knew all the immediate neighbours, were invited into their homes, and some of their sons went on student nights out with you.

Until recently, we lived in a newer development in west Dublin with three young children. We knew some of the other parents pretty well. They were all Irish or Eastern European. The other demographics did not engage, were not interested, and for one particular community, their children were explicitly forbidden from mixing with others outside their own religious group. This fragmentation was entirely rooted in immigration-driven difference.

Late last year, we moved to a much more affluent and homogeneous area. Great sense of community once again. It’s wonderful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,493 ✭✭✭Former Former Former

Ken also came out in support of Garron

Anti-immigrant politician supports anti-immigrant comments. This is hardly surprising.

Peadar Tóibín, Gript, Conor McGregor, Other Tate. If you’d told me a week ago that Garron Noone would be aligned with these people I’d have laughed at you but here we are.

I guess amusing reviews of cups of tea and ranking ice creams of the 90s doesn’t always give you an insight into someone’s true character

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 511 ✭✭✭Murt2024

You can't say biological males don't belong in female sports these days even though there breaking all sorts of records.

I'll probably get a ban for that for sticking up for women. Oh well, worlds gone mad.

I don't want a world where my daughter has to share changing rooms with biological males walking around with their knobs and balls hanging out proudly walking around making others uncomfortable. I also don't want her competing with biological males in sports as its an unfair advantage and she could get hurt.

But I'm wrong here am I? Worlds gone crazy and people shouldn't back their on their views because of a woke culture.

Come back Gareth, we love you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,416 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

You would imagine an elected member of our parliament would be fully aware of that, wouldn't you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,273 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

I mean you can say that. Barry McGuigan said that and he was on the radio earlier and is still much loved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭dairyedge

Went a few days watched a lot of his videos. Thought their were good but just got sick of him quickly as I do the other social media type. They’re very self centred. Want the praise and the fame. Don’t like any criticism. Suppose the head gets too big. This disappearing off social media is more of it, attention seeking. I hope his well and this doesn’t get him down too much. Having an opinion these days is dangerous. Social media was the worst thing invented in my lifetime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,947 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

But that's the real threat to democracy, the middle ground gets hammered by windbags because they don't take a black or white position. Yet the likes of Triump just don't care so take that now empty ground.

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,379 ✭✭✭corkie

Newstalk Today:- "Senior business reporter at the Business Post Killian Woods told The Anton Savage Show that these were "loaded comments"." ~ https://www.newstalk.com/news/loaded-comments-garron-noones-response-to-mcgregors-white-house-visit-2147511

^^ 15 minutes clip linked in the above page.

"Responsibility to be correct!"

It is easy for the media organisations to make statements like the above when they have teams of researchers fact checking everything they hopefully say or write about?

I still thinking people are misquoting or putting there own twist on things that 'Garron' actually said. I have to re listen to him to be sure, but I don't think he connect immigration with crime levels. But made separate comments on both.

Edit just listened again and quote from extra.ie linked earlier:-

‘Our towns and especially our cities are becoming much less safe. Now that’s not just because of immigration, there’s a lot of factors to that, but if you can’t see that that’s happening, then you have not left your house.

He wasn't stating facts, he gave his opinion on the subjects, if he was wrong or incorrect should be taken in that context.

ⓘ "At some point something inside me just clicked and I realized that I didn't have to deal with anyone's bullshit ever again."
    » “mundus sine caesaribus” «

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,418 ✭✭✭Flaneur OBrien

You just did though???

Did you get banned? Warned?

I don't want a world where my daughter could get raped by a former sports star who gets paraded in the White House on St. Patricks Day, but that's the world we live in, isn't it? I'm sure trans individuals just want to live a quiet life where their genitals aren't always being brought up, but I guess no one get's to live in their ideal world.

Yes especially a former Taoiseach, now Tanaiste who couldn't reply an answer, just attack

I have heard of Exceptional Needs Payment but not for car repairs, I know people affected by the storm were to complete, as that was what MM told them to do when asked, completely unsympathetic he was

Anyways I hope we see Garron back again soon, entertaining folks

Harris truly is a clown.

Access to the exceptional needs payment is gated by very onerous requirements. It’s known that genuinely deserving cases have had to enlist support from their local TD to acquire it.

Unless of course, you’re from a particular community and need your car repaired. When the full extent of the taxpayer expenditure on this nonsense is finally laid bare, one hopes that there are consequences for the likes of that little weasel Harris and his cronies.

Post edited by Hamachi on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,785 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox