Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Conor McGregor Megathread *Mod Warning in OP Updated 20th April*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,644 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Is there any chance we can give Mcgregor back to the Scots.

What an embarrassment and how could anyone listen to him after what he did to that poor woman. It's disgusting.

If my mother tongue is shaking the foundations of your state, it probably means you built your state on my land.

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 444 ✭✭Will_I_Amnt

Apologies……commented in wrong thread

Post edited by Will_I_Amnt on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,654 ✭✭✭50HX

You are on a different path with what your saying.

I'll say it again, I didn't disagree with what she said re calling out McGregor for what he is.

I condone all violence to women, do you understand when I say that or are you still confused on it?

Stop trying to fish for something that is not there.

I don't agree with her using the taoiseach to elevate her views on McGregor.

She could have said the same thing & left MM being with Trump 5 days previously out of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,226 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 782 ✭✭✭reclose

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭paul71

I am assuming "condone" is a typo for "condemn".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,016 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

I think in fairness to Ruth C, she has been vocal about her feelings on Trump and McGregor well before, it wasn't anything new

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭For Petes Sake

Yet you saw fit to have a pop at her for speaking out at the utter farce that took place on Monday. For what reason? You said she 'jumped on' it like it was populist.

She is absolutely right to have raised this, because the Taoiseach has subsequently looked like an utter fool with how they paraded Conor McGregor around the White House.

The same Taoiseach who said f*ck all when he was sat opposite Donald Trump as he was waxing lyrical about Conor McGregor.

Micheal Martin got played like a fiddle, and she was bang on with calling that out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,226 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

He is and never calls himself Irish American but being from Boston you can probably see why he took a liking to McGregor from the very start of his career.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 42,834 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Double checking- isn't his appeal starting tomorrow?

I said didn't agree with her bring MM into it.

She could just as well have made the same statement without bringing him into it

I stated previously she was right in what she said about mcgregor.

Martin was right imo not to even ref anything about CMc when Trump brought it up. It wasn't the place or occasion to entertain anything to do with McGregor

The meeja amongst others must be v disappointed the meeting between Trump * Martin played out amicably enough & that he didn't fall flat on his face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,408 ✭✭✭✭walshb

his appeal is tomorrow.

Are you blind or completely ignorant?

Conor McGregor getting the red carpet treatment has made Micheal Martin a laughing stock. Ruth Coppinger is absolutely right to bring it up. Conor McGregor is now seen as the true representative of Ireland, and not the Taoiseach.

Donald Trump took the absolute piss out of Ireland with that McGregor stunt and it's baffling that you seem to think otherwise.

Mod: Warned for uncivil post.

Post edited by Leg End Reject on

You are getting to be a dab hand at the insults

MM was in the white house before MCgregor, he had no control over what was to transpire days later.

You honestly believe that sane people think Mcgregor is seen as the representative of Ireland?

spot on. Our government had to know that McGregor was invited to the Oval Office on the actual special day, Patrick’s Day.

Like a lot of things in society, soft as sh1te. The government allowed it happen.

Trump and his psychos backing him made a laughing stock of Ireland.

Leavitt actually said “we couldn’t think of a better guest” than McGregor. Absolutely fooked up.. but the joke/sham is on us as a country that U.S. administration chose McGregor on our national day!!! Unbelievable

But Ruth Coppinger should stay quiet says the OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,427 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Would ya ever relax ffs.

Trump entertains a daily freak show of losers, has-beens, crims, sex offenders and God bothering nut jobs.

I can promise you the Irish government couldn't give two f**ks whether or not McGregor was there on Paddys Day, as long as they had a successful visit for their own agenda, as well as getting around the other traditional Washington events and their other business in Texas, New York, Illinois, Massachusetts and California.

Conor McGregor is a laughing stock and a pariah, the government here would shrug if he never returned to Ireland, but they're only too delighted to condemn him and the shite he comes out with, because it gives them a chance to condemn everyone who spouts that level of crap.

What insults? You are completely ignoring the optics of all of this, and instead you say Ruth Coppinger should keep her mouth shut because how dare a politician criticise how soft Micheal Martin was.

You praised him for how he handled the Oval Office meeting, yet despite the soft approach he was still taken the piss out of by the White House.

How are you not seeing this? That's why I asked are you blind or ignorant. You are not looking at the bigger picture.

Wait until the White House-backed McGregor can't get on the Presidential election ballot. You might understand then.

you relax with your “FFS.”

And the Irish Government are representing the people of Ireland, so they damn well should care who is in the Oval Office criticising them and attempting to speak on behalf of Ireland’s people.

Firstly, had MM said anything negative about cmcg in the White House, Trump and his childish unpredictability could have launched into him in much the same way he did with Zelensky. Trump has a hard on for supposedly strong men and would not have liked being told that he was wrong for liking a rapist scumbag.

Secondly, cmcg will not get a nomination to stand in the Presedential election although I reckon he is too stupid to know that!

I thought MM sumed it up well when he said about mcgregor that he is someone who craves attention and it might be wise of us not to facilitate that.

Yes I do think he handled the trip well in what are v turbulent times.

What are white house goin to do if/when he can't get on the presidential election ballot?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 782 ✭✭✭reclose

Will people stop with the McGregor being president. It’s not going to happen, regardless if Trump wanted it or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭pgj2015

More chance of the Monk being Irish president.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,624 ✭✭✭RabbleRouser2k

McGregor has been defeated quite a bit in more recent times.

That was just the latest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,406 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

Whether he's too stupid or not isn't really relevant.

If he doesn't get nominated, he'll just go on Twitter and spin it as him being silenced and the establishment not letting him have a fair shot. Then, his idiot followers who don't know how the nomination system works in Ireland or what the President actually does will moan and this will be amplified by Musk et al.

I have no time for McGregor and I don't believe he's some genius political maverick who knows how to work the system; but he doesn't need to be, he just needs to have the people around him knowing what to do. Similar has already happened with Trump and Boris Johnson.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,253 ✭✭✭✭Rjd2

Conor will give them the channnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnge they want though. 😥

Reading the news articles, apparently the alleged "new" evidence has to be determined to see if it can be used in the appeal. The matter will return to the court on May 2nd.

mcg is appealing on a number of grounds, most as yet not made public. However, he is citing the conduct of the trial judge who allegedly made legal and factual errors concerning the ttreatment of evidence and in his charge to the jury.

mcg has also drafted in a second senior barrister, London-based Mark Mulholland KC of Cloth Fair Chambers - a specialist in the areas of crime, financial crime and fraud, Mr Mulholland has previously been involved in high-profile cases in Dublin, including civil fraud proceedings involving Russian oligarch Dmitry Mazepin and the Custom House Capital case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,222 ✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

- apparently the new evidence relates to two individuals -

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,016 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

The new evidence can't be the cctv as he was ordered to destroy that, what could he have?