If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Dairy Chitchat 4, an udder new thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,412 ✭✭✭Castlekeeper

I'm sorry to hear that, it sounds like an awful evening.

It's a bit if a freak though, hopefullythat kind of thing doesn't happen too frequently.

“We are all capable of believing things which we know to be untrue, and then, when we are finally proved wrong, impudently twisting the facts so as to show that we were right. Intellectually, it is possible to carry on this process for an indefinite time: the only check on it is that sooner or later a false belief bumps up against solid reality.” George Orwell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 sunflower36002

Download the latest version of FM WhatsApp APK V10.10 to enjoy enhanced messaging features and improved privacy options. https://fmwatasa.com

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,340 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Worst year here for losses in a decade, to the point 22/23/24 combined are now better than it, the highlight Sat night was a cow managing to put the head and one leg fully out in the time it took us to milk, head had to be chopped off, cow lifted with hip clamps and calf pushed back in to free the other leg, new calf shed is turning out to be a disaster as east wind is going through it, have it boarded up, but now the issue is lack of air flow, lots of pneumonia, usually had 2-5 cases a year in old shed, running at 80% of calves needing treatment to date.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,378 ✭✭✭davidk1394

They are milking well and solids are good. Grass is scarce and I don't want to go back in at night time. So I'm using meal and silage to slow them down. They are holding their condition also and most of them are cycling. I had an unexpected hight empty rate so I don't want to do my best to get plenty of them in calf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭Arm Wax

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,122 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

I know now as long as all that shite happens outside the door , it's not too bad. There's worse going on...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,412 ✭✭✭Castlekeeper

“We are all capable of believing things which we know to be untrue, and then, when we are finally proved wrong, impudently twisting the facts so as to show that we were right. Intellectually, it is possible to carry on this process for an indefinite time: the only check on it is that sooner or later a false belief bumps up against solid reality.” George Orwell.

When they were our day and night I was assuming you'd loads of grass, different story if scarce.

The problem with the meal is how much can you feed in one go safely, and of course that's subjective again. As it increases the overall balance of the diet changes a lot too.

Plenty top operators here with more experience of shoving on the feed than me. Mine is limited to midday feeds and beet pulp back in the day, I'm gone from such hardship now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,066 ✭✭✭straight

It's The glamour that we are all in it for. 😉

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,654 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

do you have maize in the yard ? It’s as expensive as meal if you have to buy it

Do you have an easy way of feeding beet?

If you’ve enough good silage for the next 3-4 weeks I would stay with what you’re doing. Milder/damper weather coming grass will come on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭Wildsurfer

I see that maize/beet mix for sale on DD, would that not heat mad as soon as its tipped.

Whatever happened to the advice of feeding 500kg for 500kg Ms.

My advisor was saying most lads are feeding 1.5 ton now. i just hope they are getting up around 600kg Ms for that.

I fed 1.1 ton last year. I've allocated more grass to the cows the past few days and they are doing better. They're still very freshly calved. They are bursting with sh1t in the parlour though and a few leaving their nuts behind because they are full of grass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,663 ✭✭✭cjpm

Jesus 80%. I actually couldn’t cope with that. Hope the worse is behind you

The real kicker is their getting the new rsv/pi3 vaccine at a day old and ibr live at 10 days and it's a waste of time makes zero odds

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

I’d do them in reverse jay ….intranasal ibr live at birth and bovipast at 7 days

No I don't have it in the yard but I can feed it and store it easily. I have good bales of silage 74% DMD that would keep me going for 2 weeks and decent pit silage 70%DMD that would keep me going for a month.

@Wildsurfer yes I saw that on DD. Did you try it ?

A friend is managing a teagasc farm. They've very little grass, in at night, feeding a lot of meal and have a pit of maize that they might be opening next week.

calving camera turned off for 2025 😀

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,654 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

stay with what you’re doing. That maize and beet mix is 120€/t. It’s very expensive

I think I better do a grass walk too instead of guessing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 Sunderz95

Have fed up to 8kg here at grass with no issues, they just need time to eat it 😅

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭older by the day

That's the problem with farming, you take it with you 24hrs a day. I can remember a cow that died with ecoli mastitis back 20 years ago. I can't remember being happy because I got a big milk check last June.

But you are right of course. How is the OH doing these times, I hope things are improving

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭ginger22

https://www.irishexaminer.com/farming/arid-41596111.html

Brian Reidy doesen't think much of the ICBF and EBI

It's the time spent lifting cows and trying to get them going that's the soul destroying part I find, in fairness of the 4 that went down I got 3 going...

Got great news today, to lift the spirits sent 15 culls to the factory, the first cattle I slaughtered since been locked up in August and they're was no legions, was dreading the call to say I was locked up again if they had went down in factory

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,977 ✭✭✭green daries

12.68 kg per day if only feeding in the parlour you would get to 14/15 with a feeder involved too. As you said it depends on if the cows need the feed or not

DDavid Feed your cows in March as if they were going to give you 8500litres apiece same for part of April when the weather can be very very changeable. 8kg to a fresh calf cows would be my minimum......if there's no other feed bar silage and grass

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭yewdairy

What's his alternative for the industry?

If farms want to put more milk into their cows and ignore fertility its easily done.

We are all responsible for our own farms blaming teagasc or icbf is a cop out

There are a huge amount of farms using high ebi bulls, focused on grass and making plenty of money. No danger he would write an article about those farms

Nasal swabs and bloods ASAP something going on there and it’s not the eastern wind

Are ye all in the top band with all the heavy feeding? The most stupid and badly implemented rule that ever came in by the way.

yes i am here changed band last year nothing has changed for me so far ,if they bring in platform rates my 2 cows to the acre will be under pressure , now where is that loop hole….

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,220 ✭✭✭blackdog1

Ive had a few cases myself and its coming from the calving box. Whole herd is vaccinated for pi3 with bovipast as well as ibr live. Calves given pi3 at day old and still have the odd problem one. Gonna blood them and again in a month to see what's causing it. Nasal swabs are a waste of time