Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cheltenham Festival 2025 Day 4 - Friday 14th March

• 14-03-2025 09:24AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭

Here we are on the final day.

I've kept the powder relatively dry so far at Cheltenham. But my 2 bankers of the meeting are running today.

2.40 Cheltenham - Dinoblue Nap, I've backed this 11/8 sky bet, but I can see it going off evens or less. This is the horses 5th run since finishing 2nd in the race last year. Ran off 160 last year, 158 today!! It's easy to see this was the target since last year. Barring accidents, in my opinion, this is the biggest 'cert' I've seen at the festival is many a year.

4.00 Cheltenham, Galopin des champs. I've backed at 4/7 and doubled with above.

Good luck everyone 👍

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 928 ✭✭✭howareyakid

1:20: Lulamba 2/1

2:00: Kargese 10/3

2:40: Brides Hill 7/2

3:20: Wingmen 8/1

4:40: Angels Dawn 11/4

1:20: East India Dock sets a high standard, but marginally siding with Nicky Henderson’s lightly-raced runner, LULAMBA, who won with any amount in hand on hurdling debut for this yard and could have massive improvement to come.

2:00: I had backed KARGESE for this ante post a few weeks ago so will stick with her. Very competitive handicap but I was really impressed with her grit last year — fighting on all fronts in the spring festivals — and I am hoping she could be well placed for produce another big run in this.

2:40: BRIDES HILL was hugely impressive at Punchestown last year. There is a slight doubt over Dinoblue at 2m4f for me possibly so I will side with this mare from the Gavin Cromwell stable that won this last year.

3:20: For me one of the hardest races of the week to read, and not that I manage to read all the rest of them correctly either! But it can be so tricky to predict which of these novices will take to this tough test over 3m. We saw a Wille Mullins second string win this a few years ago with The Nice Guy, and the Mullins runner I was most drawn to here was Fishery Lane at a double figure price. Fifth in the bumper here last year, he could be one to relish a tough test of stamina. However the one I am taking a stab with is WINGMEN for Gordon Elliott. This horse finished second in a novice hurdle over 2m at Cheltenham last December and has run with credit over longer distances in graded races since, finishing second to Final Demand in Leopardstown when last seen. 

4:40: In another race that I always enjoy from a betting perspective due to its unpredictability, I am siding with the current favourite, ANGELS DAWN, in the Foxhunters. Winner of the Kim Muir a few years ago and with some other good handicap form in the book, I feel there is a good chance of this mare being involved if she gets around. Its On The Line has been ultra consistent in these races and no doubt will be in the mix under Derek O’Connor. Fairly Famous for Gina Andrews was another high on the shortlist.

For the Gold Cup, I will be hoping GDC can make it it a hat trick. Not a betting race for me, but it will be a race to just savour as a spectator.  

I will leave it closer to the time if I am to have a bet in the Martin Pipe. Kopek De Mee is of obvious interest for WPM, but it is usually another difficult race to predict so the market may prove a guide closer to the off. 

GL all for Day 4! 

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,479 ✭✭✭MacDanger

I'll follow you on that Dinoblue & Galopin Des Champs double plus these for the rest of today

1:20: East India Dock
    2:00: Lark in the Morning
    3:20: Port Joulain EW & Jet Blue EW
    4:40: Angels Dawn
    5:20: Woodhoh

Has been a poor week of punting for me but enjoyable all the same; hopefully better returns today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,013 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

GDC seems have an easier competitive gold cup race this year so favourite again but I'm going to try e/w on Corbetts Cross

Also

Blue Lemons

Shecouldbeanything

Argento Boy

Willitgoahead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 862 ✭✭✭BullBauld

2.00 Daddy Long Legs @ 15/1 e/w

3.20 Wendigo @ 10/1 e/w

5.20 Kopeck De Mee 3/1

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 2,054 Mod ✭✭✭✭The Mig

Galopin des certainty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭SonOfGoat

I'm very very keen on Dinoblue in the 2.40, if it goes down, all my bets are essentially down.

I've just stuck Dinoblue in another double with Lady Springfield 11.45 Fairview. This horse is 8/11 but really should win. It's been running in very competitive races and this one is far easier. Nothing else in the race to note.

Looks a nice day's racing. Good luck everyone I hope ye make a few bob.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭SonOfGoat

1.20 Cheltenham Hello Neighbour, I've backed e.w @9\2 but hoping it can win the race. It's last win didn't look great, that was on very soft ground. It's previous win on good to soft, 2 of them pulled well clear. The horse will love the ground and I think should win.

I don't like the short price fav east India Dock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 205 ✭✭Posh Boy

I've gone with the hail mary's today. Long odds so e/w betting hoping to just break even.

13:20

Larzac

Lumiere Du Large (in case there are a few fallers)

14:00

Cracking Rhapsody

Pinot Gris

14:40

Shecouldbeanything

Then I chickened out and had a free bet on East India Rock in the first and did a cheeky double of Dinoblue and GDC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭rolling boh

Hope some were on the winner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 928 ✭✭✭howareyakid

Tony Bloom horse thrown straight into the Triumph first time over hurdles… it’s easy to see in hindsight but wonder if the yard were as surprised as most punters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 804 ✭✭✭langer91

Running out of things to say about Willie talk about domination across all race grades

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭flos1964

edit

Roughly i think he had 55 horses unplaced at festival,

I think he had something like 130 entries for the festival obviously some were double entries but shows the numbers he can call on .

Roughly again [ sorry ] 76 runners

Vincent o Brien 6 winners from 7 runners royal ascot 1975