Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Enoch Burke turns up to school again despite sacking - read OP before posting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,439 ✭✭✭Raichų

Musk and Trump didn’t invite a bunch of nobody’s to cry about their son and his weird crusade, how is this a surprise to anyone?

Thing is these people are not important and outside of this thread no one gives two fcuks about them. Put them on Fox News? Why?

Sure look at the clip a few posts back where some YouTuber red neck did stop and “interview” them- the whole time Martina just went on a rant about Mountjoy, “The Guards” and MM. What the hell would any American, Fox News viewers or not, care about whether Enoch Burke was in jail for contempt of court or not?

Do you seriously think the average person, American or Irish, cares that deeply? HE WAS IN JAIL WITH MURDERERS… omg imagine? It’s almost as if he had full freedom to walk out when he chose, but he didn’t want to do that.

This whole charade has been let go way too far now. It’s one thing to stand around at the school and interrupt them in staff meetings etc, it’s one thing to shout and roar at politicians here or make ridiculous YouTube/Facebook videos crying about transgenderism. But to pay actual money to fly to America to interrupt a dinner event and end up being the butt of a speakers joke for all your effort- I mean it’s beyond a joke. I can’t even put into words. The second hand embarrassment off this is impossible to describe.

I genuinely hope to Christ they never come back.

If you want to complain about something at least make sure to know what you’re talking about first.

My kids go to a “catholic” school, for one reason only, it was the best school in the area. There’s an ETB secondary school and that’s where they’ll go when they start first year. Not because it’s ETB, but because it’s the best school in the area imo.

Anyway, regarding your claim religion is taught as fact in school, you are wrong. Religion is taught to all students as part of the curriculum but it does not focus entirely on catholic beliefs and teaches about all religions and beliefs. It’s imo an important thing to learn about. Understanding and knowing that different people hold different beliefs is very important for kids to learn.

As well as learning about different religions the subject teaches intolerance and other important traits. It’s absolutely nothing like when I was in school where you just read bible stories and talked about what a great fella Jesus was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,358 ✭✭✭chicorytip

Ammi and Jemimah look pretty hot. Certainly not malnourished.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,212 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

That was Simeon who was complaining about not being taken on.

It's Issac in the photo. When Enoch is at the school/in the slammer/ in another country Issac usually fufills the role of primary male media performer in his absence.

It can be difficult to tell them apart tbf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,489 ✭✭✭Lewis_Benson

Delighted for them, they got a feeling of what it's like when real cops don't take their bullshit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,129 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Who gave them entry tickets? I know what you're saying but it doesn't sit right with me somehow. There's a mole on the inside lol. 🤣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,776 ✭✭✭Ezeoul

Agreed, that's why I said the WBC don't support the Burkes' behaviour.

The Phelps have said the Burkes are wrong for not obeying the laws of this country.

No, that's Dr Isaac in the photos.

You didn't recognise him because he is not carrying a box.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,429 ✭✭✭TheIrishGrover

This is incorrect. My nephew is a religion teacher in a "catholic" school in Ireland. Religion is taught as a regular subject. Students are taught about other religions, their origins, similarities and differences, where/how those similarities and differences emerged. It is taught more more as history with a focus on religions. It has probably been a generation since religion has been taught as "fact" in mainstream schools.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,359 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

That's religious education.

But there's also religious instruction. The catholic school does sacramental preparation - they all do - they have to under orders from the local bishop (who is "patron"). They're not telling the kids to stick an unpalatable wafer in their mouths so they can wear a nice outfit and get €500, they're telling them it's literally the body of the Son of God. Now chances are the teacher doesn't believe that, either, but they are obliged to teach it

Anyway never mind all that it's a side issue. Waters is a grade A loon. There are several countries who imprison or execute Christian missionaries, but according to Waters Ireland is more anti-Christian than even those countries. He is not sane.

I'm partial to your abracadabra,

I'm raptured by the joy of it all.

If he's a religion teacher then he's a secondary teacher, I was talking specifically about primary schools

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,537 ✭✭✭Pauliedragon

I know there's a couple of people on here who are from the same area as the Burkes. What were they like when the gay marriage and abortion referendums were on? Were they going beserk publicly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,882 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

As well as learning about different religions the subject teaches intolerance and other important traits.

Yes, we know.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 7,157 Mod ✭✭✭✭Irish Aris

I think they did. I seem to recall other posters here sharing that the Burke family were buying ads in social media, or they were protesting outside the dail or other public buildings.

I think there was also a campaign against senator David Norris, when he was running for President.

There were also some shenanigans at NUI Galway, but not sure if it related to the marriage equality referendum or it was a different matter altogether.

2025 gigs: Selofan, Alison Moyet, Wardruna, Gavin Friday, Orla Gartland, The Courettes, Nine Inch Nails, Rhiannon Giddens, New Purple Celebration, Nova Twins

For a while (IIRC months on end) they were outside the Dail every week "protesting" against "sodomy"

They set up a website claiming Katherine Zappone was a witch (I mean, literally a witch)

They set up another extremely nasty one attacking David Norris purely because of his sexuality.

There is no doubt much much more but that's what immediately springs to mind

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

So our ancestors believed in made up stories, so we should as well?

Very much on brand for a Donald Dump fan I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭hoodie6029

‘We live in fear in Ireland’

The hundreds of pupils and staff at Wilson’s live in fear of the creepy guy standing outside their school gate who keeps trying to run inside to the children and claims he works there.

They are in fear of the basket of deplorables that accompany the Burkes and the ensuing circus.

Politicians chased down the street and others harassed while trying to do some grocery shopping. 

Gardaí assaulted in Court Rooms. Judges fleeing the bench for their safety. 

Turning up late at night at the door of an ill school board member to talk to him and hand deliver an envelope. 

People afraid to speak up against the Burkes due to the online mob they can rally and the very real possibility of violence from the unhinged and dangerous individuals who publicly support them.

Demanding the rule of law be applied to others while refusing to obey it or acknowledge its legitimacy themselves. 

Yes, we all live in fear of the Burkes in Ireland. They are a dangerous cult and we have reason to fear them.

This is water. Inspiring speech by David Foster Wallace https://youtu.be/DCbGM4mqEVw?si=GS5uDvegp6Er1EOG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,686 ✭✭✭eightieschewbaccy

They were pretty infamous during the marriage referendum. They called up liveline and started praising each other's points while pretending to not be related...

https://www.rte.ie/radio/radio1/liveline/2015/0417/694836-liveline-friday-17-april-2015/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,281 ✭✭✭Bishop of hope

So the Burkes aren't the only fn idiots in Ireland! Sometimes I despair.

”oh my dad they’re using me as an excuse”

All of the above, including a campaign against Katherine Zappone, claiming she was practicing witchcraft.

Basically, they object to and campaign against anything to do with equal rights for members of the LGBTQ community, with extra emphasis on transgender people.

And their "fear" is nothing compared to the fear transgender people live with, all of their lives.

it’s funny as hell hearing someone whisper to Martina whenever she gets stuck 🤣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭Bogey Lowenstein
    That must be Nigel with the brie...

If we were in the U.K. the police would already be knocking on a certain Boards users door! In Germany they take away your phone, laptop and computer.

If it was me I would be deleting some posts quickly!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭Canaibh

Is the Democratic party right wing? If you're going to say it's centrist then that means it's left wing because there's no difference between the two.

Trump is a left-wing populist. I don't know what the big deal is. That's what he is.

Were our ancestors all atheists or did they have a strong faith in God like the Burkes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,686 ✭✭✭eightieschewbaccy

The Democratic party aren't particularly left wing when contrasted to European parties. Trump is also not left wing. Pretty sure the average Republican would be offended by such a claim. Pretty telling that you haven't addressed any points about 20th century Ireland and religion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,764 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Yes fairly sure this is them. Mandate for marriage wasn't a good name in.my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,201 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

They'll have an interesting Burke family album anyway.

Screenshot_2025-03-14-14-55-36-434_com.android.chrome-edit.jpg