Ireland Team Talk XII: Farrell's First Fifteen

• Administrators Posts: 56,215 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

So if he needs games, you must think it utterly bizarre that he is only getting game time now?

There'd a lot more to be gained by playing him in other games, particularly France given Prendergast's very average performance against Wales?

What I mean to say is, you can't really flip flop between backing Prendergast in the previous games to now backing a total pivot away from that. Well, I guess you can do it, but it's hard to take it seriously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,216 ✭✭✭TomsOnTheRoof

We don't often agree but I'm with you on O'Connell. I think he's been given far too much leeway and Goodman looks like a serious downgrade from Catt but it was evident from his time at Leinster that he wasn't up to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,712 ✭✭✭Former Former Former

What I mean to say is, you can't really flip flop between backing Prendergast in the previous games to now backing a total pivot away from that

Let me stop you there.

Go back to any of my posts since the start of the 6N and count how many times I've said I would be happy to see either Crowley or Prendergast starting, how it's a great problem to have, how a case could be made for either of them etc.

You had no problem going back to some fictional bullshit from 2013 to have a pop at me earlier, let's see if you have the balls to go back a couple of weeks, see what I've actually said, and then admit you were wrong. I doubt you do.

The coaches obviously thought Prendergast was the right man to lead the charge for the 6N championship. We are extremely unlikely to win (not because of Prendergast) so now maybe the question is, what can we get from the last match?

Giving a young OH only his sixth start in the 6N (and 13th ever) especially when he's had limited game time up to now? That doesn't sound like a bad idea to me, and it definitely doesn't sound bizarre. I’d go so far as to say it might just even be a good idea.

Hey, it might even give a few of you a reason to cheer for Ireland on Saturday. Who knows, you might even find you like it.

Well, I guess you can do it, but it's hard to take it seriously.

I'm really, really OK with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,538 ✭✭✭ersatz

People giving out about how Crowley has been 'treated' now giving out because he gets a start.

• Administrators Posts: 56,215 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

I haven’t given out about Crowley at all. I 100% agreed with backing Prendergast. My issue here is that Prendergast is not starting.

Changing tactics now looks more than a little odd, it looks like they’re giving Crowley a go now cause it no longer matters.

Which is to say, it doesn’t make sense to me to give 4 starts to 1 guy and give the other guy the most inconsequential match. Either back your man or share the games in a more meaningful way that will be of more benefit to everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 413 ✭✭roverjoyce

Are they going to let Murray and POM walk out first again maybe with Healy as Mascot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 Sportsmad5

You are being very harsh on Crowley.

Just take a step back and look at what happened him since November.

Started v NZ, replaced after 57 mins by Frawley, it was 13-10, Ireland failed to score after this + lost 23-13.

Started v Argentina, replaced by Sam P after 61 mins, scored try, 3 cons + dg, it was 22-19 when he went off and that's how it finished.

Left out of the squad for the next game v Fiji.

Prendergast handed the start for the next game v Australia, Crowley came on after 65 mins with Ireland 19-15 down, Ireland won 22-19.

Prendergast started v England, Crowley came on after 58 mins when it was 13-10, Ireland won 27-22.

So since the Argentina game he has got 37 mins at 10 out of the following 480 mins. (Prendergast played 443)

With rotations, injury + suspension, only 4 players will have started the 5 games.

JPG - has played all bar 32 mins, Casey was his reserve and he is injured.

Porter has played an average of 70 mins per game, he needs a break

Beirne- the only mins he has missed was a few mins for a HIA.

Van D F. Has played all bar 5 mins, along with Porter & Beirne, they could do with a break before the Champions Cup

It's not Prendergast that has been punished.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,462 ✭✭✭almostover

If he's a young and developing OH, then why not continue to develop him by giving more game time in the OH position in the tournament to date? You know full well your argument is rubbish.

He's developing yes, but in that time he's spent developing, he guided his province to an unlikely URC title, kicking a winning DG in the semi, and guided his country to a 6N championship in his first season as a starter. Seems like he has a very high ceiling to me, one that he's already proving he can reach andnoerhaps go beyond.

But no, we chose to stunt his development in favour of a younger prospect who there's a perception about that he could be even better even though he has very limited senior experience with his club. Granted he has shown in this 6N that he has many positive attributes and skills, but also some glaring weaknesses in his game.

So now we end up in a situation where we've stunted the development of our primary OH prospect, to the point where he hasn't even signed the 2 year contract offered to him by the IRFU all to learn that a promising player in his first senior season isn't ready to be an international level starter yet. This situation could have been handled so much better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,802 ✭✭✭JanuarySnowstor

Fully agree the outhalf position has been handled diabolically where we now have both players with zero confidence. Prendegast because he has been dropped and Crowley because he's been treated shamefully and entirely overlooked for the No 10. To compound matters they brought him on out of position, barring the England game. By the way he excelled in this game, a point that's lost on many here!!

The current mgmt, excluding Farrell, should hang their heads in shame on how the 6N has gone. What has Sexton contributed???

I really do hope Munster and Leinster meet again this season and Prendegast plays. Munster are hurting now so bad it wouldn't surprise me if they go on to win the Champions Cup

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 27,223 ✭✭✭✭phog

Hey, it might even give a few of you a reason to cheer for Ireland on Saturday.

Is there really need to continue with this shite, the one positive is you've moved on, hopefully not a temporary step away from fans hating Ireland and or Farrell.

Being a fan of Ireland doesn't mean you have to have a unconditional love for everything they do.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,368 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

We only conceded 6 penalties against France compared to their 14 ( I think) and still got battered.

Easy now, I know we agree on the no.10 selection issue but to claim Munster will win the CC is a bit left field. I'm a Munster fan and we've about a 10% chance of beating La Rochelle never mind winning the competition!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,802 ✭✭✭JanuarySnowstor

Why should we fear a team that lost 6/7 in a row? Munster are weaker this year but the pschye should always be that we fear nobody. I know the fans will get their hands on tickets and the support could well be 50 50 by match day

Anyways off topic, back to Ireland

Pure projection and hyperbole. There is no reason in the world to think both players have 'zero confidence' a few weeks after they put in excellent performances to beat England, a game in which Crowley was not 'shamefully' overlooked! What you're doing here is accusing Crowley of being a weak minded player, he is nothing of the sort.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,388 ✭✭✭clsmooth

I’m delighted to see Crowley get a start and hope he shoots out the lights. No idea why we haven’t gone with Osborne to partner Ringrose if we’re hoping to upgrade our attack. Nothing against Henshaw who’s been a great servant and still has plenty to offer at 12, but we should be getting minutes into Osborne in his best position and he’s capable to getting an offload to Crowley or Ringrose in traffic to break the line.

Aki and POM shouldn’t be in the 23 going by last weeks performances and considering their ages/ability to cover one position each. I assume the idea is the coaches are expecting a response from both of them but it does feel like an opportunity lost to get someone else out there.

If Keenan goes down, presume it will be Crowley to 15 and Prendergast to 10 as opposed to Aki to 12, Henshaw to 13, Ringrose to 14 and Hansen to 15?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 836 ✭✭✭bakerbhoy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 749 ✭✭✭HanShotFirst

Do you work for the irfu or something?

From yesterdays “Why do we need to learn from selections?”

Now its an odd idea “That there is nothing to be gained by playing him…”

And Italy are “very decent”. Seriously?

I think they might be looking at Gavin as a 13 with long term planning. Connacht have played him there on his two starts this year. We’re very light there beyond Ringrose. Pity Hume didn’t kick on/have better luck with injury.

You didn’t read the post you quoted.

I was clearly specifically talking about the suggestion that there’s no point starting Crowley this weekend. There very much is a point.

I would have liked to have seen him get more time during the 6N. I just don’t see the need to repeat that in every single post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 13,942 ✭✭✭✭AbusesToilets

Osborne can also play 13 in fairness. There's a lot of potential coming through in the centres

Do you work for the irfu or something?

That is hilarious and so original, so fresh.

From yesterdays “Why do we need to learn from selections?”

Now its an odd idea “That there is nothing to be gained by playing him…”

Why do you see that as a contradiction? We know Crowley is good enough to play against Italy, but he’ll benefit from starting another test.

I think he can play 13 in the same way Henshaw could in the past but probably lacks a bit of acceleration to be a real line breaking threat there. I’m sure we’ll see him there at times, but 12 looks like his best position to me. In fairness he’s been very good at 15 too, we see more of his aerial game and kicking game from there and he hits the line well.

Why is that question not original? You have been asked before? Hilarious!

Sorry now but you are saying some mad stuff to rationalise selection. Hence the Qs.
    Im going to say that nobody but nobody is saying Crowley is not good enough to play Italy.

I’m also going to say nobody (excluding the very few crazies I’ve encountered here) is saying Prendergast is not good enough to play Italy.
    And again Italy are “very decent”??

I’ll tell you this much. If Ireland were going for the Grand Slam Crowley would not be starting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,887 ✭✭✭✭Water John

BOD said before selection that Crowley should get the nod against Italy. He also said Prendergast's game need a good bit of tightening up. That's an honest assessment.

Let me guess. He said that after the loss to France?

I did read the post. And yes Crowley should start vs. Italy. We agree there. The point I was challenging is that Crowley is a young OH that needs gametime for development. He's young, yes, but he's also proven his worth. He's not just some new kid on the block who should be given token game time vs. Italy in a dead rubber fixture.

As another poster pointed out, he'd likely be benching this weekend had we beaten France.

Post edited by almostover on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 766 ✭✭✭Dual wheels

Crowley should take the Leicester offer and never look back, he can set himself up for life after rugby which will be in a few short years, he’s better off doing that rather than playing second fiddle to prendergast for Ireland and operating in a poor Munster team

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 481 ✭✭thamus doku

To me it is bizarre how Crowley has been treated. There must be something more to this , there has to be. It literally makes no sense.
    I am going to guess it comes down to money.
    I would not be surprised there has been contract issues since last summer, Crowley wants his value and the IRFU wanted to pay less than half of that. So the IRFU have decided to make an example of Crowley.

It would explain the way Farrell has spoke of Crowley, how Crowley is being treated - they have dropped him and they have taken his lions chances away - and why prendergast was pushed forward so quickly and why sexton is involved in the squad.

Anyone else have an ideas on what’s going on.

IRFU spending money on Sexton to save money on Crowley, ffs.