Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leinster Team Talk Thread (Love you Furlong time)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,937 ✭✭✭✭AbusesToilets

You're right, but from an Irish perspective, of rather we managed to develop one of our own. Should try and tempt Baloucoune away from Ulster. He's wasted there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭Hey_Ho_Lets_Go_3

Balacoune can't stay healthy and has attitude concerns.

What attitude issues? Never anything about that before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 583 ✭✭✭bingobango12

If any back 3 player is to be tempted away from another province I would love Bolton at Connacht. Looks a great player.

Think Baloucoune will be destroyed pretty soon with the amount of injuries he seems to pick up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 642 ✭✭✭jonok28

I think Baloucoune could be a good signing, the writing does seem to be on the wall at Ulster with him with Werner Kok playing on the right wing all season. The injury history is worrying but if he does get injured we are still in the same situation as we are now so it could be worth a shot. I can't see the IRFU letting it happen unless Ulster well and truly said they don't want him back.

There is still rumblings about Shaun Stevenson but he seems to be off the list as he keeps banging on about wanting to sign a multi year deal in Japan. If Leinster can turn his head, that would be an unreal signing. He can cover the back 3 and is lightning quick and would be amazing on the right wing.

I just am so convinced that with Slimani re-signing and Snyman seemingly closing in on a new contract with Leinster for at least one more season, that a right winger with a serious turn of pace takes the Leinster attack up another notch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,198 ✭✭✭Serbian

I think Baloucoune could be a good signing, the writing does seem to be on the wall at Ulster with him with Werner Kok playing on the right wing all season. The injury history is worrying but if he does get injured we are still in the same situation as we are now so it could be worth a shot.

I don't really agree with this part — if we signed him and he was injured the whole time, we've wasted space in our squad at a time where squad size is shrinking and cost ourselves a chunk of change in the process. We wouldn't be in any place to complain either — he's perennially injured so we should have seen it coming.

We need to up the quality on the wing. Players like Larmour, Jimmy O'Brien and Russell aren't good enough. Tommy O'Brien possibly could become good enough, but his body isn't resilient enough so we'll probably never know.

I'm sure we've looked at many wingers over the past 12 months and I'm hopeful we'll sign someone who can stay fit and be a level up on the wingers we have in the squad already. It sounds like Russell will be making way for whoever we do bring in, so that's the bar. We should be looking to comfortably clear that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,513 ✭✭✭Former Former Former

There’s no scenario where Baloucoune joins Leinster, but we’re already well stocked for pacy but injury prone right wingers.

What I meant by it is worth a shot is that we would sign him on a one year deal and if it didn't pan out we could cut ties with him at the end of the season, we would still have the same players we have now and while it does take up a squad space it would be for just one season.

I think Larmour, JO'B and Russell are good players and I do think TO'B could be really good but other than James Lowe, I can't say with much confidence that we have a winger who is a true X Factor. Leinster have been crying out for speed on the right winger for the longest time, it would be fantastic if we add a speedster but at this stage and with no real rumors swirling around regarding it, I'm not gonna hold my breath.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,264 ✭✭✭Ben Bailey

Yep, agree on Bolton. Would the IRFU support a 'swap' deal where Harry goes west & Bolton comes east ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,400 ✭✭✭✭Exclamation Marc

I would imagine Harry wouldn't have any interest in going west and ultimately, the player can't be moved without his agreement.

I assume that he still has ambitions of breaking into the Leinster team and with Ross gone and Sam and Frawley internationals, he will likely get some gametime next season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,264 ✭✭✭Ben Bailey

Agree. Harry prob wouldn't want to move & is also a multi capped international, as opposed to Bolton, who isn't. So not a straight swap. Who in Leinster would benefit from going west in a swap for Bolton ?.

(Andrew Smith not getting game time at Connacht, would he come back. He has real speed & could be coached out of 'larmouring' cross field).

Edit : see Andrew Smith gone on a loan to Munster & is named in the squad for Munster v Leicester

Post edited by Ben Bailey on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,295 ✭✭✭realhorrorshow

I thought either Bolton or Kilgallen would have been a good punt for Leinster last season, given they both have the athletic profile ye may be looking for. Kilgallen was probably a bullet dodged given the injury issues, and Bolton's now contracted through to 2026.

I'd wonder if Penny or Connors or similar would get regular game-time there and tear it up. I know that they make sporadic appearances here-and-there when the full Leinster team is available (Connors v LAR as an example) but they'll realistically never make the Ireland team where they are now as VdF, Doris, Baird, Conan and perhaps even Culhane now are in the mix for those spots. I'll stress that I'd hate to lose them as its a squad game but they might benefit starting more often? Connors is nearly 29 and only an average of 7/8 games a year for Leinster so I could really see it for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,399 ✭✭✭P.Walnuts

New contract for Luke McGrath

Well deserved, he has had a strong year. I really thought he was spent last season but has looked strong this season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 583 ✭✭✭bingobango12

Didn’t think we would be seeing that this time last year but he has been great this season. Seems to be hugely popular around the group aswell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,034 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

I was wrong in hindsight too. I thought he was on a downward trajectory.

I think I forgot he's actually a year younger than JGP. He had that period in the Ireland squad and then battling with GJP and then losing out in the end. I discounted the fact that he's young enough for a revivalbas I thought he was maybe a year younger than Conor Murray.

Fair play to him. Happy to be proven wrong. I think his improvement has been mostly in defence which is nice but I'd prefer if his improvement was quick accurate passing. His passing was really poor at times last year and that's improved to an extent. I'll take it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,922 ✭✭✭arsebiscuits1

Luke has stepped it up when it mattered this season. Possibly with a contract renewal incoming.

As one of his more vocal critics I am delighted to see the obvious improvement he's shown this season. Well earned.

He is Leinsters most senior player also in terms of his first cap for Leinster. I don't think we should overlook how significant that is. Particularly given that Healy and Byrne are gone at the end of this season with their 287 and 178 respective Leinster caps.

A squad needs senior players who've been through it.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 29,557 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

I'm not a big fan of the "he proved people wrong" angle, as he absolutely deserved the criticism he got and I don't think anything about it was wrong. But he has really stepped it up this season and long may it continue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,922 ✭✭✭arsebiscuits1

I agree.

I wont apologise for the criticism I extended to Luke in the past because I think my criticism was objective.

No player should be above criticism. But every player should be recognised for obviously improving on facets that were being criticised

In the more-curious-than-most former player watch, Rocky Elsom's retrial has resulted in his initial five year prison sentence being overruled. He has been given a suspended sentenced of two-years in prison plus a €330k fine (albeit with €50k suspended). He has ten days to appeal.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,791 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatInABox

It's been great, but begs the question as to what has held him back from doing that sooner. For a SH to have such a **** pass for so long is crazy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,015 ✭✭✭clsmooth

I still think his passing isn’t amazing but it’s definitely a bit more accurate than last year and he’s been better around the pitch. I remember BOD saying his pass speed wasn’t at the level required at international around 2019 which was why he hadn’t gotten past Murray who was playing poorly himself. He was an empty jersey at times last year-he was the only player who didn’t get off the bench in the 100min Champions Final last year for example.

• Subscribers Posts: 42,921 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

Niall smyth given his first pro contract.

Really fast tracking him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 315 ✭✭conquestscarer

Reckon it's because he had an offer from someone else tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,736 ✭✭✭typhoony

Himself and Caspar are the 2 from 2023/2024 senior schools that have potentially a high ceiling who they have fast tracked. Pity we didn't get to see either of them in the u20's. We could see one or both in the JWC

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,048 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Has Smyth leapfrogged Maguire?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 557 ✭✭✭johnh6767

happy for Luke, I have always been a fan and he has got a great reputation of not only being a great player and one of the most capped players for Leinster, but also a great team man and mentor to Gunne & next gen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭ironingbored

Despite the score, not overly impressed with France tonight. That chalked off try was a killer.

I hope Leinster are looking at this game and planning how to possibly get over the line against Toulouse.