General Irish politics discussion thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79,509 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Seems to me to be a scoping excercise by the Gardai. Soon as I heard MM the thought struck me that he might know there is nothing to this.

I mean Jesus, she's having to give up that much information constantly that she must feel like she has diarrhoea!

You have classic examples right now of why that might be.

Look at how the media is handling the two parties and their issues here. Practically no mention of FG and Simon's, SF's (there is no issue yet as no-one has been charged) plastered every where. Look at the posters flocking here to comment on the Shinners in outrage, and ask where where they a few weeks ago?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,877 ✭✭✭pureza

Or..he's just being fair

Anyway its not a good look for SF

Or..he's just being fair

If he had a track record in being fair, maybe.
    This is the guy who happily used a victim for photo ops and much craw thumping because she was a Shinner victim while at the same time his party and government was fighting another one, Louise O'Keefe, all the way through the Irish and EU courts. And still hasn't fully implemented that court's recommendations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,195 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

I did compare and contrast several times, here is one post:

Let me see how it works with SF………..

If you are accused of inappropriate contact with children - McMonagle, O'Donghaile - you are sent on your way with high praise and references. If you are even luckier - Liam Adams - another job with kids is found.

If you are known to have bombed people to bits or ordered it - Bif McFarlane, Storey - you are given a funeral with all the trimmings including graveside orations, even if the law doesn't permit it.

However, if there is an issue between two adults - Stanley, Conway - it is the most heinous thing possible and anyone connected with it must resign (no matter what the actual victim wants).

Have I got it correct?

And here is another:

Conway was arrested in January - news about him out within days.

SF Councillor arrested in January - nothing until yesterday.

You say MLMD is ahead of others, complete and utter rubbish.

Quite clearly, MLMD and Sinn Fein are struggling with living in glasshouses.

shinner in shinnery anti FF post post shocker

The party ye need in the unlikely event you’d ever enter government too

Stupid strategy

Just telling you how it is. I won't be 'needing' Micheál.

Again, I am under no delusions about MM's 'fairness'. He doesn't have a track record on being fair. So I'd rule that out emphatically as a motive.

Not sure you understand the concept of 'compare and contrast'.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 45,532 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Mod: everyone raise the standard of posts please!

Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/ .

of course you knew I was specifically referring to Martins nod to fairness in the justice system,innocent until proven guilty etc and replied with whataboutery in some not even veiled deflection

Let me repeat Gould and the councillors situation embroiled in an overspending controversy when they are on their high horses about over spending and worse one that the Gardaí are criminally investigating,is not a good look for SF

No escaping that I’m afraid,slither as one might

You are entitled to your view. I also have one.

Neither of us are necessarily right.
    P.S. You also have no idea, like everyone else, what was known about 'overspend'. There was fraud, and in most cases of fraud, deceit is at the centre of it.
    And SF as a party are not implicated in this fraud, but somehow should be embarrassed about it.
    And of course, whether SF are embarrassed or not, that doesn't vindicate other overspend, ignoring of offences/indiscretions/inappropriate conduct committed etc.
    You seem to think it does.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92,394 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Are Aontú still bringing a motion about wasteful spending, transparency etc.,? or was it shot down? I would think with all the idiotic spends this would pass

“There needs to be a disciplinary process for senior civil servants for instances of repeated waste of public funds.

Accountability needs to be written into the contracts of senior civil servants.

There should be a Junior Minister for Accountability nominated and located within the Office of the Taoiseach to track live procurement and infrastructural projects to ensure they don’t go over budget and are delivered on time, to report to the Taoiseach on a weekly basis in terms of accountability.”

Peadar Tóibín TD

Paul Lawless TD,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75,480 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Ridiculous Musk-aping by a pathetic party; and would be a ridiculous waste of the Taoiseach's time if such a thing existed.

Expect that to go down in flames with only Aontu and maybe II and some Independents supporting it.

Even if it passed, motions are not binding.

Nobody anywhere on this or other threads has attempted to vindicate overspending or ignoring of offences/indiscretions/inappropriate conduct committed etc.

What has been done is compare and contrast SF's response to certain situations with their response to others, exposing the complete lack of respect for victims from Sinn Fein, to compare and contrast the timeline differences between the information about arrests of Conway and Gould, which happened at similar times, yet the information on Gould took far longer to emerge etc.

One of the biggest contrast and compare examples would be the public utterances of Louise O'Reilly. To the fore in defending Sinn Fein's covering up of child abuse allegations ignoring the requests of victims for more to be done, yet when a victim wants a line drawn under an incident as in the Conway situation, she is taking the opposite approach, demanding repeatedly for more information that will only increase the risk of the victim being identified against their will. Horrible to see the callous approach to victims which appears to be the only constant.

There you go again trying to slither out of the embarrassment With a new deflection ‘something something Pureza must agree with overspending’

Ridiculous but on form

Zero interest in your parties discomfort or your deflections here at this stage anyway ,it’s a waste of bytes and doubtless other parties may have their own controversies in future

Clever enough of the Taoiseach in that respect to leave all this to the legal system

I’ll emulate unless and until something new turns up,others probably won’t

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92,394 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

But something does need to be done about the ridiculous spending with no accountability and responsibility taken only pass the buck or "looking into"

Things are done - that's what the C&AG and PAC are for.

This Aondoge proposal would precisely just be another entity with no accountability or responsibility, at best "looking into" things.

If things weren't being done, you would never hear of any waste - not because it wasn't there but because nobody found it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭harryharry25

This motion was voted against last week by FF, FG, Labour and Lowry's lads and lassies

SF, PBP and SDs voted for the motion

SF, PBP and these days, the SDs supporting populist bollox isn't surprising unfortunately.

This was so clearly Aontu trying to appeal to Musk fans here, and anyone voting for it without realising that is an idiot.

My response to Aontu would be simply, tell me that you know nothing about how government works without telling me you know nothings about how government works. That should be included in whatever Ministerial response is made in the Dail.

Failures only come to light because of accountability!!!

Why would I or anyone else be embarrassed by what is so far nothing?
    Once again you are assuming guilt.

Which was were we where quite a while ago.

You won't address that jump to convict, so I will leave it.

There doesn't need to be a special Minister, maybe if existing Minister's were held responsible for their depts then we would see change.
    The system has been designed to evade that responsibility.

The Dáil/Committees/SIPO etc have not (despite asking repeatedly for it) the proper power to hold the relevant people to account. A self serving system designed by parties too long in power.

What kind of alternative system would you recommend?

It's not an alternative system that is required, it is a system that is properly tasked and empowered that is required.

The need is recognised by governments who pay lipservice to it when required ('lessons will be learned' etc) but have not done what is required.
    We are renowned for the lack of accountability here.

I never said you should be embarrassed by anything, where did you get that from?

What is clear, as I have demonstrated with evidence, is that any compare and contrast exercise will show Sinn Fein in a worse light than other parties, and within their own actions, they attach less seriousness to incidents involving child abuse than they do to other less serious incidents.

P.S. Has Senator Conway been convicted and found guilty of anything? Seems like innocence is only available to Sinn Fein politicians.

Explain to me, without a soundbite, as to how the system can be properly tasked and empowered.

Also explain to me, again with a concrete example, something that was required (and by who) that wasn't done.

Apologies, that post was in reply to this.
    https://www.boards.ie/discussion/comment/123253716/#Comment_123253716

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 33,051 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

What exactly is it that accountability means to you when it comes to decisions made either in the department of Ministers or by Ministers themselves?

It means that if it is your department, you are responsible. Here's what we were promised in 2011 by Fine Gael:

“We will pin down accountability for results at every level – from Ministers down –with clear consequences for success or failure.  Ministers should be responsible for policy and public service managers for delivery”

“We will legislate for a reformed code of laws, replacing both the Ministers and Secretaries Acts and the Public Service Management Act”.

“Restrictions on the nature and extent of evidence by civil servants to the Oireachtas will be scrapped and replaced with new guidelines for civil servants that reflect the reality of the authority delegated to them and their personal accountability for the way in which it is exercised”.

As well as the PAC having full compellability,(no more sloping off sick) you the minister also have it. If something goes wrong or is done wrong the onus is on the Minister and his/her staff to get the information so that they can be accountable for their Dept. to the Dáil. No more hiding or hiding behind people or the 'how could I possibly be responsible' excuses.
    The buck stops with you as the Minister.*

SIPO also has to be properly equipped and tasked to regulate. They should be proactive rather than reactive. Give them powers of investigation rather than having to depend on media to find out if politicians are abusing the system.

*This does not mean a Minister needs to resign over every problem.

Are you therefore proposing a Constitutional referendum to change the powers of the PAC?

You often harp back to the 2011 FG manifesto, but you forget that it was the Angela Kerins case in the Supreme Court which clarified the law in that regard.

As usual, there is plenty of waffle in proposals for reform but not a single bit of substance. Even when you state "the buck stops with you as the Minister", you then take it all away by saying "this does not mean a Minister needs to resign over every problem". What is accountability then, if it isn't resignation? How do you think it is fair to make a Minister responsible for things he doesn't have power over, such as the actions of independent statutory bodies? It would be a terrible thing if, say, a Minister could interfere in a university and decide what courses it offers or what people it lets in (pure corruption actually) but you want Ministers to be responsible when that university does something wrong that the Minister can't interfere in.

Because your proposals are so opaque, it is very difficult to see how they will work. In fact, rather than increasing accountability in the public service, your "ideas" amount to nothing more than making Ministers an easy target for the opposition.