Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland Team Talk XII: Farrell's First Fifteen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,528 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Give me the evidence he had a good game please.

I've gave you three examples of bad play by him. I'm not going to sit here and type all his bad play. I already brought evidence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,033 ✭✭✭ersatz

I'd give Nash a break on much of his performance, not sure he would have been running in any of the prep over last week, its a very tall order to come in cold on the wing against France. The card was on him but I wouldn't be holding his feet to the fire over much else given his prep.

Poor show all around and then some poor fortune no to get over the line early on, though some of the decisions there lacked the kind of patience Ireland of a couple of years ago were so good at. I've no doubt we aren't the team we were for obvious reasons, but Saturday's team was sub optimal even for where we are at. Aki taking a bad knock early on, Rinigrose absent, Nash a very late call up compounding a very novice Osborne on the other wing. And French tactics absolutely spot on, plus their spirit and work rate was insane and pitch perfect for the full match.

For me I wish Crowley had more time at ten, but it's been clear for a couple of years that he is not trusted fully by Farrell. That's been obvious since the 1/4 when he was left on the bench. He has been used at ten where there was no real alternative but once Prendergast was judged to be even nearly ready he was moved aside, for good or bad. That was Australia and since then they've nailed their colours to the mast with him. Fair enough, it's why a lot of us are often disappointed about when young players don't get promoted as quickly as they might. Longer term I hope it doesn't mean Crowley is no longer given opportunities there as he does have qualities that make him a better selection is some cases than Prendergast, though I don't think it would have changed the outcome on Saturday. France have better players and our game was off across the team at the weekend, tiny margins in some cases but enough to compound French advantages in personnel.

Overall there are a few real alarm bells ringing for Ireland. Our bench is full of guys who are Leinster subs, its noones fault that the second or 3rd best in any position is behind their Leinster team mate so we are relying on guys who don't play much high level rugby. Our attack hasn't been great this tournament, even against weaker teams. We have never been a team to tear the opposition teams but we aren't getting bonus points at the rate we were, these are trends and they bode ill for the future. We need a big reset before the next WC which is happening one way or another due to a large number of players aging out. The next few years might be ugly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 531 ✭✭✭For Petes Sake

You brought three pieces of 'lots of evidence', all of which can be found in multiple articles. That's pathetic.

I've posted my evidence numerous times. However, because you can't be bothered to go back yourself, I'll spell it out to you very clearly:

1. He worked his bollocks off more than any other player in that backline.
    2. He beat more defenders than both Penaud and Bielle-Biarry (4). In fact only Keenan beat more defenders than him (5).
    3. He kicked well in general. Are we going to judge all players as 'very poor' if they make one kick that Dupont claims a mark off? You seem to think everything else should be ignored because one mistake was made.
    4. He made all of his tackles in defence, including one which forced a knock-on.
    5. You talked about him 'running down blind alleys'. Aside from Keenan, he was easily the biggest threat we had with the ball in hand, but we'll ignore that because he got shoved into touch once.

That good enough for you? You still going to tell me that I didn't watch the same game as you did?

"Very poor," - what utter bollocks that is.

EDIT: Before any smart arse decides to quote this with some sarcastic remark of Osborne turning in a 'world class' performance or whatever other words you want to put in my mouth, don't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 321 ✭✭Strand1970

Tadgh has been passed fit but don't ser the obsession with him coming back into to the Ireland team with no game time. Ireland has nothing to gain playing him in a dead rubber. Would be tough dropping Finley after 4 decent games. Better to start Clarkson again to see his ability in the scrum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,870 ✭✭✭✭phog

If you do post all his bad play then be prepared to be accused of focusing on only one player or hating him or some mad stuff altogether.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 531 ✭✭✭For Petes Sake

Exactly the smart comment I was expecting.

No response to what I actually posted other than just pathetic cheerleading?

The good far, far outweighs the bad in Osbornes performance.

I'm taking no sides in your spat with eagle eye. I'm just pointing out what happens here with a poster that goes to the bother of replying with facts. If you're in any doubt read back over the last day or so of posts.

The updated squad for the final round of this year's 6Ns

Screenshot_2025-03-10-18-26-50-02_1c337646f29875672b5a61192b9010f9.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,288 ✭✭✭✭Foxtrol

I see some are back to selectively using the team matches won stat again to support the performance of an individual player…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,985 ✭✭✭✭AbusesToilets

https://yourrugbycatchup.top/2025/03/08/ireland-vs-france-2025-03-08/

Full match here.

15th min : Sweeps blind off of an attacking scrum on the French 22. Gets the ball away to Keenan, then follows through in ruck by holding off 2 French defenders to maintain possession.

17th minute : Rips ball free from French carrier in a tackle. Ireland unlucky to not claim the ball.

18th minute : Stops Barassi behind the gainline, in the subsequent phase gets in the passing lane of the French player, causing the ball to go to deck where Doris steals. After a phase, he clears the ball deep. France kick it back, and Prendergast puts it out around the French 10m line.

19th min : France put up a high one from the lineout, Osborne challenges for the ball but it spills and goes to deck. Doris steals the ball again. Osborne clears deep into the French half but France keep it in and counter attack. McCarthy does his brainless **** and gets YC'd.

24th min : Ireland attacking lineout around the 10m line, on a sweep back, Osborne puts in a poor kick that France easily mark.

28th : puts in a good clearing kick from a defensive lineout in our 22

31st min : France kick through, Prendergast catches it and makes a break down the left wing, where he breaks a tackle by Penaud and gets around Barassi. Gets a messy offload to Osborne, who beats 1 tackler before getting taken down. Throws an offload from the deck that is batted into touch by a French player.

32nd min : From the lineout Prendergast sends up a (poor) contestable, which Osborne bats back to Beirne. Osborne gets the ball from the subsequent ruck and is hit hard.

33rd min : From the scrum, Osborne sweeps around and gets a cut back pass from Aki. He carries to the line and puts kick through, which takes a fortuitous deflection into Nash's hands. Osborne is on his shoulder and takes the offload, carrying to the French 22. He's tackled but gets passes the ball back, and Henshaw gathers. Ireland score from a penalty after this sequence.

34th min : catches the restart. Gardner blows for blocking. An absolutely ridiculous call imo. Penaud was nowhere near competing, and wasn't impeded at all.

38th min : France kick from a quick lineout, Osborne catches a puts a deep kick in behind Penaud. Chases hard and tackles the nonplussed winger. Doris arrives to compete, as Penaud holds on to the ball and is driven off the ball from a side entering Barassi. 2 penalties in the space of as many seconds not called.

That's just the 1st half. You're full of it saying he had a bad game

LBB's 2nd try shows everything that's wrong with McCarthy's game at the moment. JGP gathers a **** ball, and McCarthy casually forms a ruck way too high. Lets Boudhent and Ramos blow him off and turn over the ball. He's so poor at rucking, mostly from lack of effort. WC QF, fresh on the field and gets shrugged off by Whitelock, who's played 80+ mins. This joke of an effort here. Ryan is infinitely better at this aspect of the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,629 ✭✭✭theVersatile

Oh absolutely, it would take more than one or two good games to fully convince most of us - that kind of skepticism is normal. But I don't doubt that if he did perform to that standard, Munster fans would be delighted at the impact it would have on the national team. But take a look at, say, Joe McCarthy for example. This time last year, we would've been comparing him to Edwin Edogbo. Now, a year later, I don't think anyone but the most ardent and stubborn Munster supporter would have any issues with McCarthy being in the 23 and being rewarded with a CC (even in spite of his flaws, mainly his capacity to give away silly penalties). You'd be surprised how quickly fans would get on the bandwagon if the performances merited it.

Re: your second point, I'd say for each poster refusing to acknowledge Sam's good attributes, there's another poster who sweeps his deficiencies under the rug. You openly admit to his poor defence which is a fair admission but there's a lot of people who just go "look he's 22, he's 6'4, he has a big frame, he's grand". Obviously, there are other posters who overemphasise it slightly, and absolutely some posters are overly critical to the point of nonsense (I'd like to think the "Sam has no running game" thing has been put to bed at this stage). Like I said, the call to be honest and frank in assessing players goes to both sides.

In my opinion, I thought Sam could've done better to assert himself and play our shape when our forward were on top for the first half an hour of the game. After that, by all means, we were outplayed up front; but the first twenty five or so minutes we were getting plenty of front foot purchase from our forwards and then when we went wide we got swallowed up. Now, absolutely, some of that is just down to unbelievable French defence as much as us not taking our chances - I'd be a hypocrite if I didn't point that out. But there was a few moments of hesitancy from Sam in that first half which struck me (he almost walked into a French tackle at one stage while being unsure of which option to take - which didn't look great), especially given how cool he had been in some other games (e.g. the second quarter against England).

But overall I'd agree that acting like Sam was the sole issue is ridiculous. It's natural that he's going to come in for some flak as the outhalf, but it needs to be reasonable. I wouldn't be surprised if some posters were making a big deal out of SP's performance solely in response to some concentrated criticism on another player (i.e. Nash - but that's a whole other argument in itself); but two wrongs don't make a right.

(FFF and Foxy, I'll get to ye in a second. Going to split up these posts so I don't take up half a page with a 10,000 essay)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,407 ✭✭✭P.Walnuts

I think you need to forget the Whitelock ruck for the good of your health

That pain is gonna stay with me like Clerc's try. Had to attend a wedding right after. Miserable day.

By all means, you may! I'd be a hypocrite to say otherwise.

Yeah, by all means, "world class standard" was probably a poor way of phrasing that and an overtly high bar to set. I had said world class due to the comparison with Doris, Sheahan, etc, but I suppose the better question would be to ask whether he was playing substantially better than Crowley (or even notably or slightly better than Crowley) at international level. I think that's a question where if you polled one hundred people, they could genuinely fall on one side of the argument or the other. There's a genuine argument which could be made that, in green, Crowley plays better at 10 than Sam does. Furthermore, I'd say that fans aren't exactly being delusional if they want one player to get a go when his competition is playing decently to a 6 or 7 out of 10 standard with some admitted "shocking moments". Absolutely I'd agree that neither have cemented "world class status" yet, but I understand the frustrations when one player (who had played well in green prior to the 6N) has seemingly very little opportunity to play in that position.

I think the discourse would be a lot quieter if Crowley had repeatedly replaced Prendergast with twenty or so minutes to go in any of the games this campaign, rather than being moved into 12 and 15. The lack of opportunity being allowed to play in that ten jersey is one of the main issues some pro-Crowley posters have, and I think I don't think many fans could argue that an opportunity for Crowley to play at outhalf would be unearned or unwarranted - or that it would be particularly unfair on Prendergast if Crowley had started against, say, Wales last week, or even against England the first week. At least if that did happen, we could have a more honest and informed head-to-head; but instead we're in this weird situation where the two can't really be compared like-for-like.

Re: the psychology argument; I sort of see where you are coming from - but like I said to the other poster above, I think most posters would look past it once a consistent trend of high quality performances was established. Joe McCarthy and Edwin Edogbo were in the same conversation a year ago; now Joe has a central contract and a regular place in the 23 and nobody could really argue that another player has been hard done by. Similarly, JGP in the last two or three years has been playing to such a standard that no Munster supporter would dream of saying "well, Casey and Murray should be there ahead of him".

No doubt having THE international ten play for your province is a nice bragging rights win, but if a player from another province asserts himself as a clear top dog, then I think you'd be surprised how quickly people would get on the bandwagon. Maybe I have too much faith in internet posters though.

I just think that high quality posting begets high quality discussion, and that if we can push three or four or five posters to engage, maybe six or seven or eight will join in. Perhaps that's a very idealised and utopian dream for Boards though :P

Last one for the night.

1. See above my reply to FFF about how "world class" was admittedly the wrong phrase to use for the point I was making. To answer your question with sufficient depth would involve me watching back Crowley's games from last year, but off the top of my head, I feel he was more consistent overall but with lower highs and higher lows. The flashes weren't as flashy, but the baffling wasn't as bewildering. By all means if I did go back and re-watch those games I could change my mind, but I'd say the worst thing you could say about Crowley in any of those games was having one or two ropey kicks in them (a trend which, unfortunately, has remained constant with Crowley - a few bad goalkicks or a blockdown or kick on the full in most games; surrounded otherwise by coolness and confidence).
    2. Again, see above in my response to FFF that the proper standard would be "is one playing substantially or even slightly better than the other". I've always been of the opinion that he was subject to some unjust criticism from the New Zealand game, but he notably changed the game vs Australia and that was widely recognised. However, he hasn't seen enough game time in the ten jersey since to make a direct like-for-like comparison, which is where a lot of the frustration with some posters seems to stem. (I don't think club games are hugely relevant for this discussion, but like I said in para. 1, Crowley's general form prior to the 6N even this season has been "excellent ball in hand, good game control, but two or three dodgy kicks in more games than he'd like". That's an honest assessment, and I don't think anyone could accuse me of being particularly biased saying that)
    3. "When you're good enough you're old enough" would be my general approach. The Six Nations is an important tournament with actual prize money at stake, and besides Italy and Wales, I'd say your best players should play - use the Autumns and Summers for experimenting. There's nothing to be gained in my opinion by, say, playing Cian Prendergast ahead of POM against Scotland or playing Darragh Murray ahead of James Ryan against France. The better player plays. If those players give the indication that they might be better, then by all means let them show it off the bench and go from there. Applying that to SP, the whole crux of the debate is "is Prendergast good enough to start, repeatedly, ahead of Crowley, and keep him out of the ten jersey for entire games at a time" - and I don't think you could say either set of fans are being outrageous by falling on one side of the argument or another.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,540 ✭✭✭standardg60

I noticed that myself, was completely nonchalant in doing anything about securing that ruck, way too high and ended up stood up at the side doing absolutely nothing. Looked like he was more interested in not coming to any harm, that try was solely on him.

Against the head should be interesting, wonder if anyone is going to point him out..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,527 ✭✭✭Former Former Former

If Bealham failed a HIA at the weekend, we might be very glad of a fit Furlong

Wales wasn't last week, it was two weeks ago.

Why that matters is that there is no way there was going to be an 'honest and informed head-to-head' where Crowley gets a start there. It would have meant a month without a start for SP. Similarly, whoever started against England was most likely to play against Scotland due to the small window between matches and the time invested during the prep period.

I get the frustration about them not having the head-to-head during the tournament if you are a person who believed that was going to be the case. However, the problem there is the people who believed they were going to have a head-to-head as it didn't make any sense.

It is widely accepted that Crowley and SP are very different players, with different strengths and weaknesses so it was never going to be easy to switch between the two from match to match without revamping their whole tactical approach. They were going to set up with a style that was more suited for one or the other, unless there was injury or terrible performances that forced a change.

If you look at your own analysis of Crowley's form, where I think you are being pretty generous related to his club form, it is hardly an overwhelming case that the Irish coaches should have set the side up for him, especially if they felt SP was more suited to how they felt they should play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 492 ✭✭sliabh 1956

If Sam P. starts next weekend and he doesnt have a blinder then management have questions to answer. They have changed the outhalf that was part of a championship winning team to a player whose team is about to finish third. If Sam was blowing the lights i would say that was a good call. But on evidence so far what has he got that Crowley hasnt. I dont think Crowley is any better or worse than Sam yet management made a huge call by demoting the incumbent for an untried player at test level.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 29,592 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

There's a genuine argument which could be made that, in green, Crowley plays better at 10 than Sam does.

There's a genuine argument that he did last year alright (I'm not even sure where I'd fall down on it tbh). But for Ireland, and especially for Munster, he simply has not been the same player this season - something that is getting glossed over somewhat at times. Yes, he looked better in the Northampton game but it just seems it was too little, too late and one swallow and all that. I'll be interested to see how he goes in the back end of the season.

I don't agree with how he has been used off the bench - I would have much preferred a 5-3 bench with him coming on at 10 on 60 mins on Saturday. I would have said that SP doesn't look like an 80 min player yet - which would ordinarily be fine, but suddenly we're making him play back to back 80 min matches in the 6N of all places. And all that against France just to have Baird replacing JVDF? I don't really get it.

I haven't been enamoured by some of the coaching decisions we have been seeing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,483 ✭✭✭sprucemoose

not to sound like its part of some big conspiracy/plot or whatever, but i dont think the Northampton game was too little too late for Crowley, id imagine even if Crowley got POTM in every game between the AIs and the 6Ns, SP was still going to be getting the starting jersey unless he was injured

could be completely wrong too of course

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 perverseostrich

Do you think that perhaps playing in a team with amongst others 36 and 37 year old props starting may affect his club performance a bit where his direct rival starting with a near irish pack and bringing lads like snyman and barrett on as luxury players may help?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,721 ✭✭✭Ardillaun

There is likely an element of recency bias here, but IMO the 3 year central contract for Joe McCarthy is looking like a bad call to me. I am on record many times on this forum saying I am a huge McCarthy fan, I'm even on record saying I prefer him to Ryan. I was absolutely wrong. He was a joke on Saturday and I can't even remember the last time he put in a great showing.

Wait a minute, you openly and shamelessly admit you were wrong about something? Is that allowed here?

What is this constant focus on team wins and trying to tie it directly to the outhalf?

The way some keep harping back to last season, you'd swear Crowley played like the best OH in the world and dragged a poor Irish team to a grand slam, while the loss last weekend was purely down to SP where he let down an Irish side playing well.

Presuming Italy do not come up with a huge upset at the weekend, the Irish sides this year and last will have the exact same number of losses.

I know some have form with constantly bringing up that a substitute lock played in a world cup win but it is a team sport, the other players on their team and the performance of the opposing 23 have a huge say in who wins each match and competitions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 377 ✭✭roverjoyce

Jesus they are talking already about giving the 3 a fitting send off on Saturday

What is the point of them playing?

What other team /sport does this to players over the hill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,110 ✭✭✭This is it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 542 ✭✭✭CONSI

big financial hit for the IRFU from this 6 nations. not what they needed after a big loss last year. 6 million down, money that could have helped the provinces a lot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,681 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

The IRFU aren't going to be down 6 million. They never budget to finish first in the Six Nations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 320 ✭✭Greengrass53

Exactly. What's the deal with Murray, Pom and Healy. Thought they were now retired. Forgotten but not gone?