Manchester United Thread 25/26 - Teamtalk/Transfers/Gossip Mod Note in OP 26.09.24

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,935 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

1. Mentioned in both the BBC and neville interview.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭FourFourRED

Ashworth was mentioned. He said that was an error (along with the ten Hag call) and that “chemistry” was the problem and that it was never going to work out.

Yeah, I think the praise of Amorim was generous, premature (I like Amorim btw).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 967 ✭✭✭jayo44

People forget that Rashford was the one that came out owth the wanting a new challenge. He made it clear he wanted to move. No one knows why Rashford was not in the team but it's fairly obvious to how it's worked out for Garnacho that the reason Rashford was out of the team was all his own doing.

I think it as a realistic opinion on what Ruben has at his disposal. For various reasons he has a handful of players that are long term not available to him. Antony being the exception in my opinion but we all seen how bad Antony has been playing in Premier league so his loss is not a great deal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,080 ✭✭✭54and56

I get what you're saying but two things:-

1. I'm pretty sure Rashford's first utterance about wanting a new challenge was long after RA dropped him from the squad and called him out for not training properly.
    2. Does RA arriving into the club not offer Rashford (and all other players) a "new challenge"? Isn't part of any managers job to create that challenge and get their players to accept it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 20,300 ✭✭✭✭y0ssar1an22

maguire and bruno now to become after dinner speakers. 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,769 ✭✭✭crusd

He was given the opportunity to rise to the challenge and instead went running to Henry Winter. Garnacho was given the same challenge and while it still appears a challenging relationship he is at least trying to make it work. And he is the 20 year old, not Rashford.

Super excited to see if we get an idea tomorrow if what the new stadium could look like.

Though putting the building of it on the government in terms of regeneration time scale is a worry. Do governments ever do anything fast? (excepting the US, right now).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,769 ✭✭✭crusd

The stark thing in the Rathcliffe interview is we would essentially have been broke by November of the club continued the way it was going. There is lots of speculative stuff about if we clear these wages and sell the player we can spend that amount under PSR as if it was PSR that is constraining us. It’s that we were out of cash

But then he said in the summer we'll be grand, and that there will be money available for amorim.

The end of the season, start of the new us when the sponsor and season ticket payments come through.

And he said the cost cutting is all part of this. So no reason to think we'd have nothing in the summer based on potentially being out of money at the end of the year without corrective measures, which we took.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,511 ✭✭✭BenK

Considering Ed Woodward is an accountant, he wasn't very good with numbers was he. Pure incompetence.

Refreshing to have an owner actually communicate something about the club as well and appear to care.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 20,300 ✭✭✭✭y0ssar1an22

agreed. if new stadium is contingent on the government regenerating public areas around OT, could be waiting 50 years - and after spending a **** ton on consultancy.

utd own some parcels of land where the regeneration is likely to happen so presume that land would be sold to the government to part finance the stadium.

why do you think plans will be revealed tomorrow?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 967 ✭✭✭jayo44

Nope sorry you are wrong on that too.

Rashford was dropped from the United squad on the 15th December for the city game. I don't even believe Ruben went into much detail just said it was little things. Before then Rashford played in every game under Ruben.

On the 17th of December Rashford dod his interview with Winter and didn't play for united after that.

Rashford had his clean slate but you can't work woth a player that publicly says he doesn't want to be there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 324 ✭✭Billy_the_Kid
    Master

Sadly this is true and across all the big clubs in the UK, what were formly 'supporters' of a football club are now only customers.

In the interviews he was asked about the stadium and said they will be talking about it in detail on Tuesday. Neville said the plans look incredible.

Others have said there's an announcement on it tomorrow too.

dunno how i missed that. watched both of them earlier on.

looking forward to seeing it but must remind myself…only plans.

Screenshot_20250310_220951_The Athletic.jpg

https://x.com/TheAthleticFC/status/1899215550078914910?s=19

That should be a direct link to the bit with neville where he says they'll talk about it tomorrow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,260 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

This new stadium will only add to our debt problems.

Sorry, must have been the BBC interview he slipped the tomorrow bit it.

Found it. 8.30 into the BBC interview.

“United are expected to announce their decision on Tuesday. Sources, speaking anonymously in order to protect relationships, have told The Athletic the club has chosen to pursue a new-build, 100,000-seater stadium rather than redevelop the existing Old Trafford.”

Interesting point about selling land because I am wondering how will they fund it.

Not something I’m particularly excited about but that feeling might change when designs come out. I really do love Old Trafford as it is and will be sad to see it go / not be the primary stadium anymore.

In my lifetime it’s never been easier to get a ticket for the big games as it has been this season. 67,000 odd for the cup game the other week. They will be depending on getting the on-field stuff right over the next 5-7 years to drive that demand to fill those 100,000 seats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭FrankN1

Probably in the minority but Old Trafford looks very dated already. Don't want a fish bowl stadium but something that keeps the character of the club while modernising it for the next 50+ years would be great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,000 ✭✭✭secman

The new stadium will be part of a major regeneration of South Manchester. There have been several such regeneration projects in greater London but none north of Luton. Would never happen under a Conservative Government, much better odds of it happening under a Labour Government, first major Regeneration in the North of England . Fingers 🤞

Hopefully this is the bottom of the barrel, and would be the best time to be rid of the Leeches Glazers .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,224 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

So currently Jim is contractually not allowed to slag off the Glazers, I wonder if/when he buys the feckers out fully, will the gloves be off for him to sink the boot or will there be an NDA of some kind?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 576 ✭✭✭Seattle

What exactly would it achieve if he slagged off the Glazers?

Why are people wanting to see this? To make things worse? What kind of idiot would slag off his business partners who currently have a much bigger share?

Way too much fan discourse around Utd is influenced by that toxic charlatan Goldbridge, who's strategy is to ramp up social media engagement through polarisation and division, and profit handsomely from it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,224 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

You wanna maybe read my post again but pay attention to the "if/when" bit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,173 ✭✭✭NITRO95

Anyone that watches Goldbridge should be ignored

Read the post again. They said ‘if he buys them out fully’.
    They would no longer be business partners and they would have no shares in that situation. I think you’ve missed the point being made.

People on here are not suggesting that he should have done this but believe he would have if they were gone. And probably will some day. He is the one taking the abuse for it and he said himself he wasn’t expecting it.

Why do people want to see it (if that day comes) - because they deserve to be slaughtered for the mess they have caused and who better to do it than the man who bailed them out and has seen first hand at almost every possible detail, all of the damage they have done directly or indirectly through mismanagement.

I agree with your point on Goldbridge in general but it’s not relevant here. This would not be about creating a divide or causing toxicity, as they would be gone.

It would help to stop the likes of Tim Howard from spreading lies in their defence. And others in the media (Richard Keys). Tbf I doubt any reasonable person pays much attention those two anyway. Up until a few years ago you had Carragher borderline defending the Glazers ownership iirc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,173 ✭✭✭NITRO95

You only have to look at the General PL thread on here to see people that don't grasp the damage the Glazers have done to the club.

I don’t mind people not knowing. Because they say the transfer spend and think the owners are spending money. But to be deliberately ignorant about it or lie about it, winds me up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,301 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

These PR exercises are usually really well planned out but I don't get the timing of this one. Seems very much like an end of season review type thing that they've decided to do a few days before the biggest game of our season.

It all seemed a bit rushed, and the optics of doing the interview in London isn't exactly great.

Maybe there's some massive news coming regarding the stadium today.

Thought the interview itself was good. At least they seem to be confident they have a plan in place to turn things around.