Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland Team Talk XII: Farrell's First Fifteen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,874 ✭✭✭✭phog

Last week we had a poster here claim that Sam was winning us a Grand Slam. Note, it wasn't Ireland might win it but that Sam was going to win it.

I didn't see anyone throw the toys out of the pram at that post but then that one was (stupidly) painting Sam as being a great player so there was nothing to be outraged at but the mere mention that Sam still has to develop or that he had a poor performance will get the hater/vitriol posters going.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭jprender

I think you are misreading it tbh, but I’m not sure if you are referring to my posts or not.

There’s no appropriation of blame, or talk about at who’s feet any “fault” lies.

This is a discussion on who should be farrell’s first XV. My opinion is that SP isn’t playing well enough to be that starter.

I don’t get into the provincial BS either. I’ve supported Ireland for a long, long time, and have cheered on every 10 that has ever worn the jersey.

I’ll be in Italy next week , and Chicago in November. Green is green, and I’ll be hoping we all play well and we win.

My opinion is based on my knowledge of rugby and not the club the players I’m discussing play for. But it’s only one opinion, and isn’t worth any more or less than anyone else’s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 perverseostrich

Well you see he is both world class and/or ust a baby depending on the conversation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 714 ✭✭✭MangleBadger

Nobody has issues with people saying Sam has to develop or that it was a poor performance. That is fine and nobody will deny that Sam has definite work ons. His first 6 nations was always going to be a baptism of fire.

But there is a number of posters who are only here to **** on him and revel in Ireland losing as they can pin the blame on him. No other player has come in for anywhere near that level of criticism. And there were plenty of worse performers against France.
    There is no objectivity in looking at his performance. He can do nothing right in their eyes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭JanuarySnowstor

I think for most Munster folk it's nothing at all to do with Prendegast rather the treatment of Crowley. Over the years when we had competing outhalves both would be given their chance such as O Gara coming on for Humphreys etc after 60 mims. What happened with Crowley was bordering on public bullying where Crowley would come on alright out of position. Andy Farrell would never have left this toxic situation build where Munster folk feel an anti Munster sentiment at play. Ironically I'm certain this will drive on both Crowley and indeed Munster for the Champions cup!!

O Gara publicly backed Sam. Would you bet against that providing enormous petrol for the fans down at La Rochelle!! Folks the 6N might be coming to a close, but watch out for an explosive champions cup final rounds. With Crowley hurting and O Mahony retiring expect a massively hurting Munster to explode out the traps in April!

There's no objectivity in looking at Sam full stop, hes very flawed right now he has no buisness starting for ireland, when he flames out in 2 or 3 years the hype will be the reason for it

A very very talented young player thats been pushed to be something hes not

Thanks for coming along just in time to prove my point with your intelligent, well researched, factually accurate and non-hyperbolic point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭For Petes Sake

You don't get into the provincial bullshit, granted.

However there are many posters here who will never give up in their relentless quest to see Sam Prendergast fail. Why? Because he's starting over Crowley.

They don't care how poor the centres were yesterday because their team hasn't produced a centre for Ireland in over two decades.

And for the record, I thought Crowley should have been the starter for this campaign, or at least in the opening match against England.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 267 ✭✭Trey13

I fail to really see the issue to playing Sam at 10. You could argue that Crowley is better for sure. However, every world cup the narrative is that we don't "blood" enough players leading up to them. Well that is exactly what is happening now, and the discourse around the position seems to be a bit toxic. I back any young player to get minutes, especially in this window of 12-18 months where we can do it. To be honest, I don't think we are doing enough of it in other positions (though that is large part due to the lack of quality to bring in).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,015 ✭✭✭clsmooth

Bordering on public bullying? Theres been some interesting takes by WUM accounts on here but your post seems quite genuine. Do you actually believe that?

Oh spare me there's little of that on boards

He's a very talented young player who's been pushed by hype far beyond what he is right now, I hope he kills it for his career but anyone that feels hes a lions 10 now or should be starting for ireland is wilfully ignoring his current flaws

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 304 ✭✭Tommysocks11

I reckon irelands bluntness in attach is not only due to catts loss but also Lancaster leaving leinster hasn't helped, he had them playing heads up attacking rugby where as now with 9bar it's all SA power rugby and blitz defence unfortunately, grand at provincial level but dosent work for our players in international games as we can't overpower teams, ireland played way better rugby 2 or 3 years ago

We had the complete opposite when Ireland lost to NZ in the autumn. The majority of the blame for loss was landed on Crowley by posters here despite Ireland being ahead at the time of the subbing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 751 ✭✭✭bakerbhoy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,732 ✭✭✭CMOTDibbler

Fcuk me, but this thread and the match thread are unreadable. Just provincial bickering.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 466 ✭✭Piskin

This is just like the McCarthy/Keane crap. Fact is no matter who played yesterday the result would have been the same. It was a French onslaught regardless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭JanuarySnowstor

I do for the following reasons,

Why play him out of position when his province has never played him anywhere outside of 10. Publicly show him up as a bad player?

Refuse to sub Prendegast for 3 matches in a row eventhough he's playing average or indeed poorly in all 3. Extraordinary arrogance by the mgmt!

A huge sway of Leinster public refusing to say Sam played badly after Cardiff eventhough he was falling off tackles. I was there.

Public, toxic bullying of a player in my opinion. Damage done to Sam for overplaying him and to Crowley for not giving him any gametime in his preferred position.

Easterby has been an utter failure in people mgmt and we can be thankful that Andy Farrell is the complete opposite

What a pity the likes of Pope and Hook are gone. By God would they call out as it should be

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,530 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Mediocre? He was awful.

And I haven't got into the Crowley Vs Prendergast debate just to be clear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,015 ✭✭✭clsmooth

Couple of corrections: Crowley has played at 12 and 15 for Munster. Farrell is the one who started selecting Prendergast over Crowley so not sure why you’re describing Easterby an ‘utter failure’ in people management. Actually some ‘fans’ were using this bizarre bullying argument against Farrell 5 months ago when he picked Prendergast for the Australia game.

What did he do that was so awful though? He had us playing in the right areas of the pitch, we had plenty of entries and time in their 22 which we didn’t convert. He kicked well. He played no worse than Nash, Joe, POM, Bundee, Robbie, JGP. He got smashed backwards in contact but so did Osborne multiple times, so did Robbie. France’s pressure cut off any passing options.
    He had a bad game. But so did half the team. but he receives 5 times as much criticism as any other player.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 997 ✭✭✭Scythica

Oh give it a bloody rest.

We lost, physically dominated. End of. Very few players held their hands up, it was that sort of game, it happens.

Only question now. From 1 - 23, what do you change for next week, if any. More than just a Fly half discussion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 312 ✭✭CalmaftertheGav

So you are saying either VDF hasn't been great prior to the 6N or POM has been better than a 7/10 over the past 3 years, or both? I'm confused.

This is the exact point I was making about Crowley after NZ beat us but no, the focus was on Crowley and Crowley alone. Some of those people are now annoyed that the focus is on Sam.

I'll repeat again, we were winning that game when Crowley was replaced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 542 ✭✭✭CONSI

And I don’t really agree with that either. Frawley was never going to the the winning of that game. And I would have no issue with SAM having been replaced by Crowley yesterday. But Bundee needed to be replaced more.

The real issue against France on Saturday wasn't individual players. It was that the game plan we brought couldn't stand up to the pressure the opposition brought. France did a brilliant job of condensing the game into a narrow space when we had the ball. We really struggled to reset our shape quickly, didn't have passing options, and fell into their trap of using one out runners far too often. There were some times when our entire team were in less than half the pitch width. Even with Lowe and Hansen fit we don't really have the top end speed out wide to punish their tactics.

We've clearly been transitioning our game plan this championship and it simply didn't work against France. The coaches need to go and figure out what isn't working. Blaming individual players because it suits someone's personal agenda doesn't do anything to resolve this problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 Samosa_122

A disgraceful decision to parachute Pender in at first choice no.10 when he never won his place from Crowley.

Thanks for sacrificing a chance of history for the chosen one.

If Pender is a play for the 'future' then why the hell are we picking Aki, Henshaw, Conan, Beirne, Furlong, Lowe? They're finished in the next 2 years.

Let's be real lads, ever since his u-20 campaign and him being from Leinster, it was inevitable he was going to be first choice whether he deserved it or not.

The amount of shite I have heard from Leinster fans and pundits over the last year is ridiculous. O'Driscoll just couldn't stop talking him up as some kind of generational talent. Bielle Biarrey is 6 months younger than Pender by the way, that's a star!

At least I won't have to listen to Thornley and Dunne stroking themselves over a spiral kick this week!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 Samosa_122

And the media/fans/pundit need to stop with the 'Big Joe McCarthy' thing. He's not even our biggest 2nd row and he's a penalty machine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 542 ✭✭✭CONSI

Question, Should Ireland make changes for Italy. Should some fringe players get gametime, if we are really about building our squad. Should Aherne, Coombes, Hodnett, Crowley all come into the mix. Pity Casey is injured, he would have come in at 9. What do we benefit from putting out a similar team next weekend. Give Osbourne a game at centre with ringrose. Give Beirne a weekend off for once..and porter

All that is a different point than to what I replied to but having a 6-2 split on the bench is on the coaches and how they use the bench is on them.

I think most reasonable posters would agree that Crowley got a raw deal this 6Ns campaign. Some of it can be explained but that doesn't change the fact that in the entire campaign he's got 20 mins at outhalf.

Unfortunately, for Ireland the plan the coaches had for us didn't work and winning the 6Ns is out of our hands and we could end up in 3rd place.

In saying all that I'd start Sam next week as he can't be dropped after the game on Saturday because the forwards are more to blame for that loss than our outhalf