Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Finnland

• 07-03-2025 10:43AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭

Hello,

I was in Helsinki Last year and it was amazing. The people are really friendly there the food is fresh and helthy and the Young people are very nice. What do you think about Finish people?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,985 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

For, sure.

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,531 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

Sounds like you had a Finn-tastic time in Helsinki! With friendly people, fresh food, and kind young folks, it seems like the experience was truly Finn-omenal. And from the way you describe it, your trip to Finland was definitely a journey worth Finishing—hopefully not too early, though... unlike some other things in life!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,138 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

I have yet to see any country described where locals are not classed as friendly. It's not particularly unique to Finland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,916 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

It has lovely neighbours as well.

The international border between Finland and Russia is 1,340 km (830 mi) long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,856 ✭✭✭✭suvigirl

Finnish people barely talk to their friends, never to strangers!! They don't even describe themselves as friendly. Unless you just met drunk ones.

And I really like the Finns and have spent a lot of time there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,546 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

What is it about Chatgpt generated content that immediately your brain goes 'this was written in Chatgpt'?

It's like the text version of uncanny valley.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,981 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

Yer man probably think he's Finn McCool with a post like that! 😉

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72,974 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Its just a slightly unnatural phrasing, addition of … or hyphen that most people wouldnt normally add.

Same with AI video, it can be very natural looking but something tweaks in the mind that its just not right.
    Things like walking movement speed, gravity etc all trigger the human mind to identify it as fake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,916 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

At least they don't get fade haircuts, and they have lovely ponytails.

Think? Obviously i am!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,917 ✭✭✭cml387

Alright, I'll do it..

Finland , Finland , Finland

The country where I want to be

Pony trekking or camping or just watching TV

Finland , Finland , Finland

It's the country for me

You're so near to Russia

So far away from Japan

Quite a long way from Cairo

Lots of miles from Vietnam

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,185 ✭✭✭Trigger Happy

I went out with a Finnish girl once. She was as crazy as a bag of frogs but great craic with it.

But the drinking...jesus the drinking…she could drink like it was going out of fashion. All night long. Vodka.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,981 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

When Sweden play Denmark at home in football, the score in the corner of the screen says SWE-DEN. The parts of the countries that are missing are DEN-MARK. (I suppose it works for other sports too, but I haven't witnessed them.)

This has nothing to do with Finland…

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,421 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

He's not finished, he's only 28!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,253 ✭✭✭Economics101

An old friend used to tell joke about 2 Finns sitting at a bar for a few hours, just drinking.

Eventually, one says to the other: "Can you tell me what time it is?"

Reply: "Have you come here to drink, or just to talk?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,741 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

have a couple of friends living out there went around helsinki. one of the nicest cities I've been to.

drove round the south of the country it's quite stunning.

lake houses are amazing

wine expensive, beer is ok.

direct flight with finnair.

although they are worried about Russia these days

My weather

https://www.ecowitt.net/home/share?authorize=96CT1F

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭Expunge

Absolutely! The Irish may be known worldwide for the drinking but, my God, the Finns know how to put it away!

And the price of it there! Even worse than here, from what I can recall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,533 ✭✭✭beachhead

Some Finns can be agressive on a whim,especially with drink inside-male&female.Nobody mentioned the nude saunas yet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭skycoud

The prices are Not good. Very expensive everything mutch more then in Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 242 ✭✭rowantree18

When you finally see something on Boards you 100% agree with.

I had a Finn once. My very own personal one. He had a blond ponytail. He was 194cm. Could sail, fish, hunt......

Definitely a nation of actual men.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,741 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

I would disagree, it's on a par for most things exceptwine and spirits, I suspect accommodation is cheaper. a hesburger meal deal is 10.90 a supermacs meal deal is 10.50.

My weather

https://www.ecowitt.net/home/share?authorize=96CT1F

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭oinkely

Finnish people are very friendly - at least the ones who helped me extract my rental car from a snow bank after missing a car park exit in a blizzard and driving onto a large pile of heaped up snow. They thought it was hilarious; wouldn't let my kids get out of the car to help dig cause they would get cold and eventually towed me off it with one of their jeeps. So i can vouch for 4 Finns anyway. Actually i can vouch for 4 more, as the person from whom we rented a cabin drove over to us at 3am on new years night with three of their friends when we realised that they hadn't left any bedclothes in the cabin as its not normal to do this in Finland. It should be noted that they were all fairly pissed (alcohol, not angry) but were very friendly too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭gerrykeegan

I'm just back. I was charged 11.90 for a can of beer in the hotel I was in. I had one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭Sacha_N

but they have over 50 thousands nuclear resistant bunkers. with room for all the population and some spare.

and 870 thousand reservists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭geographica

do they have Tayto?

Only 2 flavours of Tayto at the mo-Vodka & Cheese and Brandy(Russian)&cheese

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,595 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

OP, you haven't mentioned the mobile packages they offer - you OK ?

(and it's Finland, btw)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭skycoud

I am fine:)

The Metro Helsinki is great as well.