Roof tiles eroded/worn on 20 yr old house

• 01-02-2025 11:16AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 210 ✭✭

hi all,

Please see photo. We have a 20 yr old house and tiles appear badly worn all over it. Appears to be worsening fairly quickly too. Same deal on the shed too only shed is actually much much worse . Only bought house a couple years ago so no idea about builder/roofer/history etc.

Suppose my question is am i looking at a new roof installation to fix this properly? Could be looking at 15,000 to do that from what i heard so just beginning to do my research now first.

Abcdeftg.JPG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,486 ✭✭✭✭muffler

I doubt if the warranty extends this far but you could try to find out from previous owner what brand of slate they are and contact the manufacturer to see if you have any redress. Those are slates btw. They can be sprayed which is a cheaper option but depending on quality of spray used, workmanship and exposure you could get another 20 - 30 years without fading. They look to be structurally sound so it's just appearance that needs sorting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,198 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Those are slates, not tiles. Thy look to be in good nick. I don't see the erosion tbh. Look up some old slates as see how far they go and still function.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,089 ✭✭✭Bishop of hope

Yes as pointed out, slates, but not natural slate, asbestos most likely. There's a fungus on them from what I can see and it looks like it has pierced the surface so its unlikely that treating that will bring them back to pristine condition. It should stop them from worsening and after they're treated a painting would help. It should keep them sound for a good while and is a cheaper option than replacing.

I think the warranty on most of those products is 10 years, so unlikely now you have any redress there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 210 ✭✭DRedSky

thanks everyone!

So should i be contacting a roofer and asking him to quote me for treating/spraying/painting?

A long shot I know but can anyone recommend someone in wexford area for this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭Padre_Pio

I'd say you could leave them for another ten years and it would be fine.

Head into the attic and check for leaks, and hop onto a ladder and give the worst of them a poke with a screwdriver. If it's not disintegrating then I wouldn't worry.

But it's not my house so take my advice within pinch of salt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 388 ✭✭FREDNISMO

If they are tegral and you can get your hands on receipt or prove date of purchase tegral will paint them under warranty (think there is 25 years warranty on tegral) had mine painted after approx 13 years wasn't happy but that was all tegral would offer, sorry I didn't push for replacements

does painting them look fairly “natural” still?

Probably using the wrong word there but ya know what i mean, do they look well painted?

And is it expensive? Obviously cheaper than replacing of course …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,486 ✭✭✭✭muffler

If done correctly they will look like new. Sorry I have no idea of cost. If you have no luck in getting anything done under warranty you could ring Tegral and ask who they use. AFAIK they outsource their spraying work to private contractors.

fair play, cheers! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,775 ✭✭✭monseiur

Don't think slate is Tegral, I'd hazard a guess they're SVK from Belgium. They were notorious for fading/discolouring due to very poor quality finish, the integrity of slate itself is OK

A good repainting job will last up to 20 years but it's fairly labour intensive - first the roof has to be thoroughly cleaned and let dry out, then a coat or primer followed by a coat of undercoat then finish coat. Unfortunately only a minority do it by the book - skipping the first two coats and you're back to square one within two years as the finish coat will not adhere properly, will peel off and wash away.

hi all, just an update! Having taken advice from here the chap tegral use has turned out to he very helpful alright and dead sound.

the only thing is he’s saying you may possibly only get 5 - 10 years out of a paint job so it’s wholly possible that we’ll be painting them every 5 years if we do this rather than re-slating.

Is he just covering hi self saying that do you think or are we looking at doing this every 5 years.

Im honestly still 50/50 on whether to paint or re-slate if its an every 5 years thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,016 ✭✭✭JIdontknow

Are you getting any leaks or issues with them structurally, or is it purely from an aesthetics you’ve the concern regarding them? What’s the rough cost for painting them?

hi there! No issues whatsoever, purely aesthetics. Garage ones are very very white, like practically 50% of them garage roof is white now. House itself is only minor bits so far tbf but obviously going the same way.

I’m still waiting for the final quote for painting, hes coming back to me before the weekend but i have a quote for reslating of 14,000-15,000 (14k if i do it this year or he thinks 15k next year to cover himself in case slates price increase or something).

I mean i assume i’ll be looking at a few grand anyway for the paint job, its a big area and i doubt that paint is cheap.

I’m not against paying good money for a good job but i’ve 2 options here and don’t want to pick the wrong one, if that makes sense. If paint job doesn’t last then maybe its a mistake?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,851 ✭✭✭✭kippy

The look of them wouldn't bother me personally once they were doing their job. That said they are bothering you.

Purely from thin air but I'd guess pairing them is gonna be close to 4 or 5k if done right.

You seem to have gotten a decent price there for a full replacement, still crazy expensive for cosmetics but if that bothers you it bothers you.

If it were me Id leave them. But in the absence of that I'd do a full replacement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,128 ✭✭✭Widdensushi

Look at getting quarry slate if doing it, longer lifespan, you might prefer the look of them, more expensive but cheaper than redoing it again in 20/30 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,089 ✭✭✭Bishop of hope

If its in your budget then I'd advise replacement. It's going to look brand new and will have a guarantee going forward. You may well not be happy with paint job as if there are pits in the slate paint won't fill them and if it's ingrained then weather might even cause the paint time to decrease even further.

thanks everyone for the input! Yep i’m starting to lean towards replacement now. Anyway fair play for the info and opinions, appreciate it. Thank you!