Ireland Team Talk XII: Farrell's First Fifteen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 145 ✭✭RAKM

Did Rob Henderson score a hattrick against Scotland since BOD?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,567 ✭✭✭niallm77

FeliX JONES IS still a young man, a young coach. Whatever happened in England will not blot His copy book at all. England has been a basket case since the arrival of Eddie Jones. A constant churn of coaches and a lot of rumours of an unhappy camp a lot of the time.

When Lancaster came to Leinster, he spoke about Sexton contacting him to ask if he could do anything to help him say yes to the Offer from Leinster. The players and people within the sport know the real story. Sexton played England 5 times when Lancaster was their coach, and lost on 4 occasions. He knew Lancaster was a good coach. Those within the Ireland camp knew through analysis that England were very well coached.

RWC 2015 wasn't a true reflection of Lancaster as a coach.

Andrew Conway was in with Joe Molloy on Friday and he spoke about Jones and his work ethic. I think Felix Jones has a career plan for himself and He isn't going to take a job he doesn't feel he is ready for is the impression I get from the bits of information that is out there about him.

• Subscribers, Paid Member Posts: 44,833 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

he did against Italy the following year.

Also, cj stander scored a hat trick in the same game against Italy that same game that Craig gilroy.

In fact there were 4 hat tricks in the competition since BODs against France, as BOD himself scored another hat trick, against Scotland in 2002

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,686 ✭✭✭50HX

Exactly....he is a young man & young coach who wanted out after 7 months into a contract....only those in the know can judge if it will blot his CV or not.

He has hit a bump on his career plan I think if he has gone straight back to Rassie again...maybe it was all a Rassie plan😁

Borthwick was allegedly unhappy that Jones spent time in Ireland which is a bizarre thing to get hung up on. Also there was some other upheaval in the England backroom in the lead up to his departure and it's been a recurring theme in England for a decade now which is hardly conducive to a healthy working environment.

I'd say Jones leaving as a result would be seen by peers as a positive move on his behalf to take himself out of that. Borthwick seems to have a disciplinarian streak by all accounts and it's not a well liked approach. Some of his interviews redently have been very abrupt too. Evasive.

Going back to SA, don't see that as a negative either. Jones will spend a lot of time in Ireland anyway and Rassie and Co don't seem to have the same insecurities that Borthwick does with that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,730 ✭✭✭ionadnapóca

Two of the greats of the game. Only 20 years separating the end-start of their eras

25 years since the seismic win in Paris and that BOD hat-trick.

Irelands first win v France in 18 games.

Which reminds me of this great quote:

"Nobody beats Vitas Gerulaitis 17 times in a row" - Vitas Gerulaitis after ending losing streak to Jimmy Connors in 1980.

I didn't see indo interview but I did see this.

https://www.rte.ie/sport/six-nations/2025/0226/1499127-some-irish-fans-need-to-take-hard-look-at-themselves/

Brian O'Driscoll is in no doubt that arrogance is creeping into the Irish rugby fanbase and that many supporters need "to have a good hard look" at themselves.

"For sure, not like maybe," replied O’Driscoll when asked about Irish arrogance.

‘For sure’ Ughh (Irish people should not speak like Californians)

"I saw the article in the Telegraph the other day [asking] are Ireland a hard team to enjoy? Are they getting ahead of themselves?”

"I would say, the supporters, yes, the team, absolutely not."

Now I generally like BOD but attacking the supporters? FU! Over in his ITV studio and referring to the Telegraph and all! Cop on.

Anyway he’s another one on the very station (that shall remain nameless) that spew the sh!te hes talking about. The very same station that pays him. Child.

It's not the supporters. Its not just the lads going for plastic pints (which I dislike). We know the main issue is the corporate ticket shower that go to Lansdowne road.

O’Driscoll won’t call them out of course.

If you want to have a crack. Do it properly and speak the truth.

But at home they have a few drinks and probably the prawn sandwiches, and they don't realise what's going on out on the pitch.

I don't think some of the people who come to Old Trafford can spell football, never mind understand it.

20 years since The Benoit Baby Butt

Penalty. No YC. 4 week ban

https://www.dailymotion.com/video/x229ml

Love French commentators reaction!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,209 ✭✭✭Mr Tickle

CJ scored a hat trick in that same italy game too I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 396 ✭✭CalmaftertheGav

Doesnt BOD realize the sort of thing he's accusing Irish fans of doing is the same thing he and his numbskull friends in the media have been doing in regard to France for an eternity? The irony is off the charts.

Hansen and McCarthy have signed CC upto 2027 and 2028 respectively.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 629 ✭✭✭CONSI

did mccarthy warrant a 3 year deal…isnt a starter, seems to be the +1 to Beirne between himself and james ryan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭Jump_In_Jack

Anyone have a list handy of CC players by position?

Guessing it’s something like:

1 Porter
    2 Sheehan
    3 Furlong
    4 McCarthy
    5 Ryan
    6 Beirne
    7 Van der Flier
    8 Doris
    9 Gibson-Park
    10 -
    11 Lowe
    12 Aki, Henshaw
    13 Ringrose
    14 Hansen
    15 Keenan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭Hey_Ho_Lets_Go_3

He will be the corner stone of the irish pack for the next decade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 13,954 ✭✭✭✭AbusesToilets

Feel that's a pretty undeserving CC. He's not been great this season, very inconsistent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,715 ✭✭✭Former Former Former

What's your basis for that?

The last game he was fit but didn't start was the RWC quarter-final. Since then we've seen either Beirne moved to the blindside or Ryan on the bench to accommodate him, he seems to be a definite starter.

Yes. All three deserve to be on a central contract. The Top 3 Irish Locks. Drop off to next in line is vast.

McCarthy-Beirne 19.Ryan for France I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,417 ✭✭✭P.Walnuts

17 caps, 14 starts.

That's a starter folks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 13,954 ✭✭✭✭AbusesToilets

Ryan has to start, he's so much better than McCarthy at the nuts and bolts aspect of being a lock. I hope we attack their lineout for once. We have a load of good defensive jumpers, silly to not use them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,836 ✭✭✭Ben Bailey

Lowe is not on a CC

His provincial contract is supported by the IRFU

Ryan LO v McCarthy Carrying (& penalty concession)

With POM and Beirne starting I think Ireland will keep Ryan on the Bench.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 629 ✭✭✭CONSI

Just think with 2 second rows already on CC's, why not have a 9 and 10 on one, Gibson Park is 34, surely we need to lock down our next 9..McCarthy is a good player, just dont see why we had to give him a central contract now..maybe in a year or two's time yes if he keeps this level of form up…look at stockdale, amazing burst on the scene, CC, then injured and out…I dont see Mccarthy going on the Lions…maybe I'm wrong, I think 2nd row is where farrell will try to pick wales/england/scotland players along with beirne and ryan, back row will be mainly irish…

It's not just the line out, Ryan is infinitely better clearing out rucks and making tackles. McCarthy is shockingly bad in that respect for a guy of his size

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,368 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

McCarthy is better at maul defence as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,715 ✭✭✭Former Former Former

Why not have a 9 and 10 on one

Jesus Christ can you imagine we gave Prendergast a CC?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭Hey_Ho_Lets_Go_3

Max DeeganDarragh MurrayTommy O’Brien and Tom O’Toole have all been added to the squad after featuring for Ireland ‘A’ last weekend.

Ireland captain Caelan Doris continues to make positive strides and it is hoped that he will be available for selection alongside Jack Conan.

Tadhg Furlong will continue his rehabilitation and a decision on his availability, as well as that of Rónan Kelleher, will be made later in the week. Ciaran Frawley is on course to return following his recent concussion.

The Ireland team will be named at lunchtime on Thursday.

I'm with you on all of the positives on Ryan.

I could well be missing something but what i have seen from McCarthys tackling is an acceleration out of the line to the tackler and sometimes he falls off the tackle. Slows the carriers momentum though.

The point of difference for selection is that Ireland only have one real ball carrier in the pack. Doris. They need another.

Ryan is a great bench option for this game.

Either way I'd be happy enough with what the coaches go with.

Great that all 3 locks are available for this game in particular.

Any news on the French pack? Meafu back?

Flament, Meafu; Jelonch, Cros, Alldritt

19. Taofifenua 20. Roumat 21. Jegu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 27,228 ✭✭✭✭phog

So the IRFU want us to believe that Ringrose was going to be released back to Leinster (for game time) last weekend thus counting the Cardiff game as a game missed from his 2 match ban

Yet, Crowley & Murray among others with considerably less game time in recent weeks had to stay in camp.

They're not doing themselves any favours.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 32,765 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Well, they did themselves the "favour" of having Ringrose back for Italy. But I agree, it is really not a good look.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 27,228 ✭✭✭✭phog

Do we need him back for Italy? If Italy was a mid round game there's a good chance they'd have experimented with their selection.

• Subscribers, Paid Member Posts: 44,833 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

not a good look, by being cleverer than France, but jeez…

its NOTHING got to do with Crowley or Murray ??

the IRFU played the system, and as beneficiaries i say well done.

Post edited by sydthebeat on