Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Donald Trump the Megathread part II - mod warnings in OP, Updated 18/03/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,606 ✭✭✭eightieschewbaccy

You're pretty clearly repeating the implication that the US somehow brought on the invasion. Strange how Trump has never produced any proof of it. Instead we get the line that everyone is a paid propagandist with the exception of Mearsheimer and Sacks.

I'm not twisting anything you're saying. If Putin is likening himself to Peter The Great and committing genocide in Ukraine as part of his invasion. Then that's not really aligning with your portrayal of Russia feeling intimidated, that's matching with an expansionary regime. You absolutely are making flimsy justifications for the invasion, it's not problems on both sides, Russia has consistently been intimidating Ukraine but you'll portray the US and Ukraine as the problem.

So yep you're going down the conspiracy theory route to justify Russia's actions. And no, that's misrepresenting your posts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,780 ✭✭✭threeball

All the Russian propagandists have fairly shown up in force here since the debacle in the Whitehouse. I'm sure Putin wasn't expect Donald Dump to blow his cover so blatantly. The smear campaign on Zelensky has gone in to overdrive to try to divert the attention.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 311 ✭✭REDBULL68

Were being played ,between the white House meeting and nato today , putin keeping stum ,well planned ,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,651 ✭✭✭Infini

They let TASS Gremlins into the place for it. They let that gowl MTG's boyfriend in to ambush Zelenskyy over his dress style. It was a deliberate and utter attempt to box Zelenskyy into a corner and try and pull a character assassination it was utterly disgusting of that Orange Bollocks and his personal muppet to do what they did. I'm glad all the EU leaders teamed up to support Zelenskyy afterwards and I really hope they all give Trump absolute hell for the forseeable future across diplomatic channels in order to make it clear they're not going to put up with anything like that again. Threaten his buddies buisness interests expecially that Snowflake Musk if needs be to make it clear as that would get his attention.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,933 ✭✭✭ArthurDayne

"Contributing" to someone's reasons for invasion is a pretty loaded statement though. You can say the same thing about Nazi Germany and how the Western allies 'contributed' to its rise through the punitive nature of the Treaty of Versailles while also turning a blind eye to breaches of the Treaty on Germany's pathway to re-arming itself.

The Mearsheimer view of the world would have us believe that Nazi Germany's expansion was simply the 'offensive realism' of Germany acting in its simple strategic self-interest as a threatenend power (and, well, that's actually what a lot of people said back then about Hitler's first bloodless expansions). That would be ignoring — as Mearsheimer routinely does about Putin's ideology — the ideology which underpinned Nazism and which ran far deeper than simple strategic chess-playing.

Of course, despite the valid points to be made about the other European powers having contributed to the rise of Nazi Germany, nobody today makes any serious argument that the invasion of Poland was anyone's responsibility other than Nazi Germany's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭briany

It would be justified if European leaders were to tell Trump to eff off over his treatment of Zelensky, but they still seem to think they can salvage relations with the USA, so they will choose the most tepid course of action. What they don't realise is that relations with the US are going to go south, anyway, unless European countries submit to the US entirely.

We'll see how far European leaders are willing to support Zelensky if he refuses to sign that deal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 235 ✭✭OrangeBadger

Sign the deal, zero minerals will be mined until the war is over and Ukraine is repaired, push it back 5/6 years while patting Trump on the back for his great deal, wait for the bloated corpse to keel over

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 325 ✭✭Iecrawfc

Time to ban or severely restrict Twitter in Europe, other jurisdictions will follow, tank its value ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭Seattle

How concerned should Europe be at the possibility that Trump shifts from providing diplomatic support to Russia, to providing them with military support? A bill of that sort would hardly pass through Congress, but how much military help can he provide them with through executive orders?

I previously would not have considered this a possibility but I think all options are on the table now, Trump is unhinged.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,399 ✭✭✭dogbert27

It won't be direct military support but indirect and it has already started.

Pete Hegseth last night ordered US Cyber Command to cease all offensive cyberoperations against Russia.

This was the type of information that the US was providing to Ukraine so that they could be prepared for attacks.

It also opens the door for the US to be attacked.

The US people voting for MAGA was turkeys voting for Christmas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 325 ✭✭Iecrawfc

At least with a parliamentary democracy he would have to stand up in parliament and try to justify it to an opposition, in the American system they don't need to justify anything except to fox news.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,087 ✭✭✭gw80

I think the narrative that is starting to be pushed now that Europe are in fact the warmongers of the world and not Russia or USA is part of the plan to send military aid to Russia,

I think some people are still unaware of what is happening here, or are still caught in the headlights, the best case scenario for Ukraine now is if the USA just backs away and doesn't want to be involved but that is not what the new axis wants,putin will want to destroy Europe and if he can't do it militarily he will have Trump try it economically,

Europe will need to stand together to survive,if Europe breaks countries will be picked off one at a time, and people need to realise the rest of the world will not care one iota, places like Africa Asia and the middle east hate us and will see it as just deserved for the old colonisers, and Ireland will be included in that, most see no distinction between us and the UK.

Or maybe I'm just being pessimistic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,388 ✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

A good article here focusing on Americas position on Ukraine - rational discussion and analysis can get lost with all the noise right now -regardless of what we think of America right now, it’s important to understand them too- while they’re not good communicators they’re still sending messages nevertheless .

Last weeks meeting with Zelensky, bad and all that it was- is probably a wake up call to all leaders, to try and understand what America is doing.

“The US has the sovereign right to adopt this stance, for the sake of its own interests, which include limiting the costs and risks the US is bearing for European defense. So Europe cannot dissuade the US, but it can work with Washington to achieve US goals while finding the best possible arrangement to protect Ukraine, secure Europe, and preserve Nato.

European leaders, however, are hearing a different message – or two, to be precise. One version is maximally pessimistic: Europeans fear that Trump is aligning with Vladimir Putin and preparing to abandon Ukraine and perhaps several more countries besides. Such an outcome remains possible. So far, however, it has not come to pass. An initial meeting to reopen diplomatic relations with Russia, and a disturbingly staunch unwillingness to condemn Putin’s aggression in Ukraine, are significant moves but are a long way from effectuating a grand geopolitical shift.”

https://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2025/mar/03/europe-trump-ukraine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,338 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

The "NATO are warmongers who hate peace" thing is all over social media from the usual suspects. According to this narrative, Trump and Putin plus the right wing populists / MAGA brigade are all peace lovers who just want to get on with their lives, whilst Starmer, Macron, Scholz, Zelensky etc are hellbent on a never ending war.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,730 ✭✭✭✭looksee

So when Putin takes over Alaska they will say, oh let him have it, we want peace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭briany

I think articles like this are going to age like milk in the mediterranean sunshine, I really do. Just to remind everyone that Trump incited an attack on the US Capitol to prevent the peaceful transfer of power away from him, and yet some people are treating him like he might still do the right thing regarding the protection of democracy around the globe after a round of bravado and bluster.

The article is correct to say that we have not yet seen a complete geopolitical realignment by the USA, but in fairness it's only been 5 or 6 weeks, and some of those have been spent feverishly working away to consolidate domestic power. There are only so many hours in the day, even for a budding authoritarian like Trump.

Just use logic on this - if European leaders have to come to Washington and beg Trump to help provide a security backstop, how much does he really want to do it? What confidence could anyone even have on the US following through on the promise, since there's f all recourse if the US reneged? And this is a man who turned around and blamed Ukraine for starting the war.

Anyway, the US doesn't really have any business negotiating an end to the war. As I've said, they're really only negotiating an end to their support to Ukraine and a normalisation of relations with Russia. Real negotiations to end the war would have Ukraine at the table, plus those willing to provide a security guarantee on peace and that's something the US still hasn't committed on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 416 ✭✭poop emoji

Musk wants to change how US GDP is measured

Can’t have a recession if the figures are fiddled with (like Russia does)

https://www.independent.co.uk/news/gdp-howard-lutnick-elon-musk-trump-west-palm-beach-b2707580.html

Taps side of head and extends arm in Nazi salute

https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2025-02-28/atlanta-fed-gdpnow-sees-economy-shrinking-after-friday-data

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 41,689 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

Whatever sophistry the Kremlin used to justify the invasion is just that. Lies and nothing more. If you want to believe this, that's fair enough but the fact that you have to use whataboutery once again instead of engaging meaningfully suggests you're just parroting the Kremlin's line because Trump is.

image.png

One of these men commands utmost respect from those who believe in democracy and freedom. The other two are national disgraces.

Incidentally, Trump has spent almost 300 times the US President's salary on golf at this point, all at the taxpayer's expense.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,606 ✭✭✭eightieschewbaccy

Funny thing is, I've never seen that poster referencing Mearsheimer until it could be used to support Trump. Meanwhile Mearsheimer has been familiar to anyone knowledgeable on the war since pretty much day one and it's lacked credibility. Anyway, all the other analysts are paid shills and Putin is a good man, the critics of the war in Russia just tend to be very accident prone rather than victims of a regime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,338 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

Since Trump came to power about six weeks ago, there has been a massive ramping up of pro-Putin propaganda to a quite astonishing degree. Lots of stuff about Putin being a decent person who just wants the best for his country, a man of peace no less, whilst Zelensky is a corrupt dictator, a selfish warmonger, taking his cue from the western 'elites'.

There has to be smoke and mirrors and sleight of hand when it comes to the economy- they can’t possibly improve it doing what they’re currently doing.
    Companies aren’t stupid - if they don’t feel confident investing in their businesses they just won’t do it - and this sort of carry on won’t encourage them that’s for sure

I think the US is fast tuning out in that regard - they’re frying bigger fish elsewhere - this is an inconvenience at best- all they want are the drilling and mining rights and they’ll leave Ukraine to Europe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,188 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

Pretty sure Sarah Palin confirmed she can see Russia from her gaff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 845 ✭✭✭Baba Yaga

i saw it somewhere over the weekend…some one said "im glad obama 'offed' osama bin ladin before trump made friends with him"

"They gave me an impossible task,one which they said I wouldnt return from...."

"You are him…the one they call the "Baba Yaga"…

yo! donnie vonshitzinpants..you sir are the skidmark on the jocks of humanity!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,317 ✭✭✭randd1

Perhaps the best wat to halt Putin would be some Nuclear Proliferation? 200 Nukes to Poland, 300 Nukes to Germany, 100 Nukes to Sweden.

Make it happen over the next 10 years.

After the Ukraine war, it'll take Russia another 10-15 years to re-arm before it launches on Poland, or more likely Latvia, Poland and Estonia, in a westward push, assuming Putin is still alive by then.

But one thing is for certain, it Europe doesn't tool up bit time, and create it's own nuclear deterrent, we're in the firing line.

We can forget the US completely, Trump has essentially declared the US is now Zapad Russia (West Russia), and that he's little more than a deputy governor of it under Governor Musk. They're Russia's baby now.

PS - Has anyone thought that JD Vance should be referred to as Smithers? Seems apt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,220 ✭✭✭Economics101

The rest of the world and the financial community will regard US GDP data as "fake news" if this happens. I am concerned that there will be pressure on various US Government statistical agencies to massage data on things like employment and inflation.

This is part of an indidious war on truth by Trump and his cronies.

https://edition.cnn.com/2025/01/26/economy/us-economic-data-trump/index.html

There will be plenty of independent research outfits who will produce alternative estimates whihc will have more credibility than the Trumpian ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭Qaanaaq

There is lots of different theories going around on why Trump is actually doing this and going against traditional US allies.

The one theory that seems to be the most logical is that Trump really admires how both Putin and Xi are able to run their countries unchallenged. He sees huge advantages in being able to do whatever he wants and thinks that the western democracy model has too many obstacles, rules, standards, social supports, checks and balances in order to compete with the likes of China..

When you think of his background as a businessman it really makes sense. Just like Musk, Bezos, Zuckerberg they all probably think alike. Rules, Regulations, environment, labour rights are all obstacles to them doing business so the chance to be able to remove those obstacles is very tempting.

Europe is probably the most regulated market and the place where his rhetoric gets called out. He doesn't like being told no.

All the events so far are signals that are pointing in the direction that they wish to change the US into an Autocratic country like Russia and China. The US population probably didn't vote for this and are likely unaware that ultimately it will make life for the average joe much worse . Some of the signs are there.

• Pro Putin narrative
    • Anti Europe narrative and attempts to influence elections to boost far right candidates
    • Attempts to destabilase European politics, stoking up migrant stories
    • Pro Nazi comments & gestures
    • Taking apart US government institutions and ignoring laws under the guise of efficiency
    • Removal of social media rules under the cloak of free speech.
    • Control of the press, blocking certain outlets from Q & A sessions
    • Land grabbing, Greenland, Ukraine etc
    • Ethnic cleansing of Gaza

I think this is why he is doing what he is doing. Its not that Putin has dirt on him at all in my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 416 ✭✭poop emoji

I don’t think any of that carry on will fool the markets that are negatively reacting to all the Trump volatility

Interestingly all this Trump circus does is makes Europe and in particularly Ireland an even more attractive investment destination

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

Yep good article. Yet you have lads on this thread already suggesting that Alaska and NATO countries in Europe will be invaded by Putin. Both fears are utterly ludicrous.

One poster also said that all of Asia and Africa hate Europe. Very simple formula really.

The 24 hour news cycle has a lot of people very highly strung. Especially when that old bluffer in Washington is talking.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭innuendo141

Smithers was often Burns' moral conscience. I can't see that being the case here.