Gigs for 2025 - post your reviews here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,896 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

My first time seeing them so can't compare but I really enjoyed it. They've had a gruelling touring schedule so would understand if they weren't on full blast. Looking forward to seeing them again at ATN.

Thought the support were painfully bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭RayCon

Did a mini European Road Trip to see Opeth on their Last Will and Testament tour last weekend. Saturday night in Amsterdam AFAS Live arena, then a train to Brussels for the Sunday show in the Ancienne Belgique venue. The band were on the top of their game, new material was awesome live and some cracking oldies in the set too. Brussels just edged it as it was a smaller venue and sound was spot on.

IMG_20250223_203641.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,049 ✭✭✭Dreamweapon

An evening of heaviness, speed and riffs (fast & slow) in a sold out Academy tonight with Napalm Death ably supported by Crowbar, Full Of Hell and Brat. All enjoyable enough but ND and FOH probably edging it for me. A night for watching drummers, as i marvelled at their stamina, I was knackered just standing there nodding my head! Also plenty of youth, male and female, enjoying themselves in the pit. A good night's entertainment.

…^……<…./?::;;:::@"! ((((((*))))))#=)))))~

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,189 ✭✭✭Stillill42

If there's a cooler shower of Motherfuckers out there than La Femme, I'd like to meet them. The most fun I've had at a gig in forever. An hour forty or so of relentless French punk pop or whatever this stuff is called. Beautiful, fun, happy **** that makes you jump up and down. Place wedged, humankind the winner. Early marker for gig of the year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,889 ✭✭✭Gloomtastic!

Great stuff. Lucky you. My gig was cancelled at lunchtime - Hertz @ Whelan’s with Stratford Rise one of the supporting acts. No explanation.

So I worked instead. Let’s see where it takes us. 🤓

And I'd like to withdraw earlier comments about the Academy, which I dissed in a venues thread recently. It's ages since I was there, I must have been thinking of the basement venue with the fecking pillars. I LOVED the Academy tonight. Over on the right by the cloakroom, great view, great sound, brilliant altogether.

Hmmm... The last 30-40 minutes were great as that's what they were like when i saw them years back. The previous hour though was only ok and i found myself checking the time after only 35 minutes, which isn't a great sign. Still, when yer man walked out in the striped suit i thought 'Antoine De Caunes looks well'. Plus, the minimal effort drummer impressed me as he made Charlie Watts look like Keith Moon. If they picked the best 3 or 4 tunes of the first hour and combined them with the last section it would've been an excellent 60 minute set that i'd have found far more satisfying. I'm not sure i could be bothered to go through that first hour again to hear the good stuff. I'd go see them at a festival though.

One of these days we'll agree on a gig Dreamweapon. Or maybe not. Each to their own, eh? Certainly some of the newer stuff on record lacks the punch of Sur la planche or Tatiana but live, I mean I could watch that **** all night. And I'd say the majority of the crowd were with me. Great atmosphere, no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 371 ✭✭Granite Head

20250306_211057.jpg

Yes, all good fun. The key board player was something else. Think I was pretty close to you. Funny, I saw two French bands this week (Nouvelle Vague) and both had two female lead vocalists - a French thing? Good to see the other act in the Academy tonight (Nieve Ella) also sold out. Got talking to a young fella (well less than half my age) on the Luas home who was at her (spotted that he had bought her merch).

2026 Gigs and Events: Bren Berry, Grant Lee Philips, Jarlath Regan, Craig Finn, Westside Cowboy, Magdalena Bay, Neil Delamare, The Streets,The Paper Kites, TJ Baham, Borderline Festival (Fri + Sat), Whitney, Stereolab (Whelans), Antlers, David Byrne, Buck Meek, Bar Italia, Gene, Gorillaz, Thundercat, Belle & Sebastion x2, Jason Byrne, President, Jacob Alon, Robert Finley, Big Thief, The Big Star Quintet, Superfurry Animals, These Charming Men, Kraftwerk, Ray LaMontagne, Sugar, Mack Fleetwood, Pixies, Stewart Lee, Aldous Harding, Royel Otis, The Cure, Florence & the Machine, Beta Band, Forest Fest, ATN, Moby, GOAT, Jack White, Sigar Ros, Michael Shannon & Jason Narducy, Bonny Prince Billy, Death Cab for Cutie, Olafur Arnalds, Reytones, Arab Strap, Arlo Parks, Strokes, Cat Power, Widows Peak, Jeff Tweedy, Ocean Colour Scene, Fat Dog, Interpol & Bloc Party, Madra Salach

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,150 ✭✭✭scruff monkey
    Snarky Snark Snark

The whole band were great, huge energy but no doubt the 2 girls are the making of them, that set up, the girls stationed at either end of the stage on their keyboards, periodically dancing around the place, deadly vocals, harmonies, **** cool. I was right beside the girl on the right, she was amazing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,150 ✭✭✭scruff monkey
    Snarky Snark Snark

i feared for the safety of the lass on the left hanging tarzan style from the low metal barrier beside her into the crowd and also that nord keyboard could have met a smashy end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,173 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Really enjoyed James Blunt in the 3Arena on Thursday night. It was a lot less depressing than anticipated and he was in a jolly mood basically taking the piss out of himself. 'Monsters' was a tear jerker and the whole 'Back to bedlam' album was great. Toploader were good and in a bit of an unusual step were James backing band. Next up is Limpbizit in the 3Arena on Tuesday

20250306_205637.jpg 20250306_211606.jpg 20250306_214845.jpg 20250306_215400.jpg 20250306_223305.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,889 ✭✭✭Gloomtastic!

First time in The Hut tonight. Oh to live in Phibsboro.
    Superb first support, Answerer. Not even on Spotify yet. Unbelievable trad noise sound,

Another first. Pay what you want in. I said they should charge on the way out. They’d get more.

The Weather Station at the Button Factory. I hardly know their stuff, the brother had a spare but really enjoyed them. They need a particular audience and they had them tonight, super respectful. Band were great, minimalist guitar from her, couple of sets of keys, bass, drums, sax/ clarinet(?), some lovely arrangements, unorthodox but I enjoyed them, her vocals were great. A perfect band/audience match is always nice. Yeah, very enjoyable.

Ozric Tentacles were superb in a sold out Lost Lane tonight. 40 years in i really didn't think they were capable of producing a gig like that. I've seen them many times since 1992 and perform 'face-melting, mind blowing, stratospheric, psychedelic madness gigs' and on the flipside just 'ok' ones. Tonight most definitely leaned towards the former. 1 hr. 45mins of spacerock, prog, dub, electronic good times. Never po-faced, always focused on the joy of the gig. A fine selection of classics and newer material that blended together seamlessly. Mainman Ed Wynne now resembles a hippy Jeremy Irons and still seems as happy to play now as he always has done in the past. It was always a dream of mine to see them play the Body & Soul stage at EP. Obviously it was never going to happen but it truly was a missed opportunity. They would have been perfect for that bowl at midnight.

First time in Lost Lane for me and i thought the sound was good and also the lights. I'm assuming it was the band's own rig as they had their lighting guy (Jasper from Fruit Salad Lights) with them but if they were the house lights they were very impressive and he did a great job with them. Also, the whole thing was done by 10pm 😊

Easily the best thing i've seen so far this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,752 ✭✭✭Wooderson

Do La Femme play much from "Paradigmes"? Big fan of that record.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭RayCon

Well that save me posting 😀 .. I agree with everything you've said. Interplanetary Epicness. Sound and Lights were superb.

I think it was just Cool Colorado and Foutre le Bordel. But a great setlist with loads of the old stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,146 ✭✭✭dasdog

I was supposed to go to this but ended up doing grown up stuff like putting a flat pack shed together and after about the tenth can of Kinnegar and bong figured I was in no shape to be in the general public sphere. Haven't seen them since they played the Mean Fiddler. My brother said they were decent.

Descendents/Circle Jerks/Negative Approach in another sold out night at the Academy was a bit of a mixed bag. NA were intense, powerful hardcore. They were grand but i missed the first 15 minutes of their set due to a traffic holdup. Circle Jerks were the main attraction for me and they played a pretty good 1 hour set but didn't blow me away or anything. Finally it was Descendents, a band that generally i wouldn't be a fan of but i was prepared to give them a go live. Unfortunately they didn't alter my opinion of them, i just can't stomach that whole skate/pop punk thing. The fact that they've inspired so many shite bands endears them to me even less. Out of a 27 song set i enjoyed 6 of them. Not a great return! Still at least i know for sure to never go see them again. In fairness though the crowd were well into it and the kids in the pit were loving them, but if there's one thing we know it's that the kids love a singalong. Ho-hum…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,085 ✭✭✭tommythecat

Wow couldn't disagree more to be honest! Descendants were absolutely brilliant last night! Sounded fantastic. Milos vocals were incredible for a man of his age. The band were brilliant with a shout out to Karl the best punk bass player ever. His running melodic lines are a gift. The crowd were loving it. They played every song I wanted to hear and. No lulls in the set at all. A cracker. Roll on them returning soon!

4kwp South East facing PV System. 5.3kwh Weco battery. South Dublin City.

You know me so well. Tbf, if you were a fan of Descendents they played a great set but it just isn't my cuppa.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 371 ✭✭Granite Head

Similar situation myself - picked up a cheap last minute ticket. Didn't know much about the The Weather Station before hand and to be honest wasn't my thing. I preferred the support act (Georgia Harmer?). Interesting Stage design / graphics and I agree a very respectful audience.

2026 Gigs and Events: Bren Berry, Grant Lee Philips, Jarlath Regan, Craig Finn, Westside Cowboy, Magdalena Bay, Neil Delamare, The Streets,The Paper Kites, TJ Baham, Borderline Festival (Fri + Sat), Whitney, Stereolab (Whelans), Antlers, David Byrne, Buck Meek, Bar Italia, Gene, Gorillaz, Thundercat, Belle & Sebastion x2, Jason Byrne, President, Jacob Alon, Robert Finley, Big Thief, The Big Star Quintet, Superfurry Animals, These Charming Men, Kraftwerk, Ray LaMontagne, Sugar, Mack Fleetwood, Pixies, Stewart Lee, Aldous Harding, Royel Otis, The Cure, Florence & the Machine, Beta Band, Forest Fest, ATN, Moby, GOAT, Jack White, Sigar Ros, Michael Shannon & Jason Narducy, Bonny Prince Billy, Death Cab for Cutie, Olafur Arnalds, Reytones, Arab Strap, Arlo Parks, Strokes, Cat Power, Widows Peak, Jeff Tweedy, Ocean Colour Scene, Fat Dog, Interpol & Bloc Party, Madra Salach

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭T.V Eye

Thought they were going for a Stone Hendge thing, kept thinking of Spinal Tap.

I went on a whim and enjoyed it. I could have listened to the band just play a bit of Jazz for an hour really, thought they were solid. Folkier moments are just pleasant but sometimes that's what you need.

Nice crowd alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,963 ✭✭✭Jaffa3000

Was at Nieve Ella in the Green Room of The Academy last week. Same night as La Femme so the queue was massive to get in and had me very confused for a few minutes.

The Green Room takes the prize of my least favourite venue in Dublin, hope I'm never there again. Hard to see anything once there's a crowd.

The gig was good, some weird sound at times (I didn't get that as it was perfect for the support band). The support band (Keo) were phenomenal. Think that was probably they're first time in Ireland.

If you didn't like the Green Room never enter the Academy 2. Far worse venue due to ground level 'stage' and pillars obstructing the view. Personally i've never had any issues with the Green Room.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,963 ✭✭✭Jaffa3000

Been in Academy 2 before but for not sold out gigs so no issues with it. Fortunately been to Whelans/The Grand Social etc. more often for this type of gigs.