Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Donald Trump the Megathread part II - mod warnings in OP, Updated 18/03/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 964 ✭✭✭homewardbound11

-stoping trump is easy .
    - a trade agreement between the aggrieved countries . Canada, Europe , Mexico. China , the list is long. This would place America in a very poor economic position .

- Europe needs to stop this war. Full stop another 500 billion would but Russia in economic turmoil feeding this war . Leading it to a very deep depression.

It is ridiculous what is allowed in a democratic country as the USA . That they allow this to unfold . America should be ashamed. But I think we’re past this stage already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 571 ✭✭✭Etc

Tell Musk that, and while you’re there tell Musk’s kid to stop picking his nose in the Oval Office as well….

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,919 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

That probably annoys the hell out of Trump ..let's take that Zelensky guy down a peg .

Reporting on Ch 4 News how Trump has it in for Zelensky because he Zelensky would not get involved back on 2019 in the Hunter Biden investigation and that phonecall to Ukraine by Trump came up in evidence against him in his impeachment hearings .

He was out to get Zelensky and publicly humiliate him , vindictive .

Post edited by Goldengirl on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,492 ✭✭✭fergiesfolly

He's a wartime leader, meeting and "ally" to bring peace to his country. This man wears flak jackets and ballistic helmets on a daily basis.

He's portraying an image of strength, resilience and solidarity with the men and women fighting right now on the front line.

Donny would wear military fatigues in a heartbeat if they could find some big enough.

You want Zelenskyy to dress up in a feckin suit to impress the freak with orange tan, candyfloss hair and the worst fitting suits I've ever seen?

G'wan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 933 ✭✭✭Dr Robert

Ha, good point. Are all the Maga snowflake apologists whinging about Musk wearing a baseball cap? Thought not..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,396 ✭✭✭PropJoe10

I would say Putin's media outlets are laughing their heads off. And can you blame them? We now have a Russian asset/apologist as POTUS. It could not have worked out any better for Putin, even in his wildest dreams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,103 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

That's not easy. A trade agreement between the major economies of the world is very difficult. They are all rivals with each other as well as with the US.

There is no solution here. It's hard to see where we will be in 12 months

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 41,700 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

They also have their own domestic industries and lobbyists to consider. Not easy at all. The EU-UK deal took years to negotiate and that was with both sides negotiating from playing by the same rules.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭ForestFire

and brings in a hyper child to run around everyone's toes while they are trying to…ahem…. "work"!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,728 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

There was never a chance of that ever happening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,678 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

Tomorrow the big players, the leaders of France, Germany and the UK should hold a meeting with Zelenskyy to sure up support and buy the these rich resources instead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,791 ✭✭✭StrawbsM

Is Zelenskyy heading to the UK soon? The King should meet him too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,523 ✭✭✭✭walshb

absolute garbage. You’re saying you can’t have two opinions here?

It has to be 100 percent trump bashing? Trump has consistently behaved like a toerag, this incident is no different

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,729 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

What a moment in history. Trump is very likely the anti FDR who will change the global landscape for generations.

Zelensky is a true hero and it's proved by clowns who's only rebuttal is that he couldn't find a suit in a warzone.

Proud of Ukraine tonight and proud of Europe too. Proud that Ireland will again be on the right side of history.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 566 ✭✭✭DrPsychia

JD accusing Zelensky of taking world leaders on propaganda tour of Russian's destruction of Ukraine. I am shaking with anger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,709 ✭✭✭✭LambshankRedemption

Trumps only been in power for 6 weeks. It's hard to know where we will be in 12 hours nevermind 12 months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,662 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

There's a meeting on Sunday of European leaders. I think it's in London.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭phonypony

Disgusting how the likes of Rubio and Graham are escalating this, not only supporting Trump, but further riling people up with utter bullshit. A band of scumbag bullies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,729 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

Na I just think he is a dumb emasculated easily led idiot wit serious insecurities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,839 ✭✭✭.Donegal.

So Macron and Starmer’s meeting with trump was all for nothing in terms of Ukraine. I actually think it’s plausible that put attacks the Baltic states over the next 4 years because there is zero chance of America defending nato with that tramp. Nukes are the only guarantee not to be invaded

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,258 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

How can Martin and co attend for their invitation after this? I'm not asking in a sarcastic way, like realistically; how can they do it and pull it off?

Fact invitation is for the 12th is a 'fvck you' in and of itself.

Be funny if they all headed to Asia and Africa instead

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,768 Mod ✭✭✭✭yerwanthere123

It's all so surreal really, what can you say. My heart goes out to Zelenskyy and all Ukrainians, the situation must feel so hopeless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,602 ✭✭✭valoren

If they had something like rumoured pee pee tapes then they could just be dismissed as AI generated e.g. Man, the Russians are getting really good at it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,752 ✭✭✭yagan

Honestly any foreign meeting with Trump is a waste of time, unless it's Israel and Russia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭ShagNastii

This is absolutely grim. I shouldn’t be shocked but how Trump and Vance acted but am.

You could absolutely see the heartbreak in Zelensky’s eyes. He knows he hasn’t a chance with who and what he’s dealing with. Trump and Vance are completely clueless to how real this is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,917 ✭✭✭✭Mam of 4

Sometimes there are no words to express accurately the level of disgust and abhorrence I feel for Donald Trump. He's evil personified.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,035 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Remember when Trump and the Conservative media used to use the angle that Hillary or Kamala couldn't be President because there was a possibility that their emotions would prevent them from doing the job as it needed to be done.

6 weeks in to Term 2, we've just seen the worst emotion freakout any of us have ever seen from a US President. And his VP beside him was as bad as him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,062 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

Has anyone changed their mind after that absolute disgrace and now agrees with me, to refuse to go to the White House and tell Trump to go **** himself?

If every other developed country did the same and instead vowed to work with each other, to the exclusion on the U.S., maybe something could change?

Elect a clown... Expect a circus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,118 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

It is not a "fcuk you".

The reality is Washington is a very busy place and it is often the case the Taoiseach does not go on St Patrick's day itself but a few days before or after.

There is a whole schedule in Washington other than the WH for St Patrick's Day so everyone has to be available at the right time on the day.