Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is Dublin really safe? *Read OP for mod warning*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 347 ✭✭Dano650

I never said Dublin is the safest. Sure you could go for a cycle in the country and not come across a vehicle for a few miles.The only videos I seen are the ones I searched for on the Internet. You said you have witnessed cyclists being targeted up and down the country.Have you seen any targeted in Dublin 🤔

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,564 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

You did. To quote you: "Its more safer in Dublin because the infrastructure is in place".

Indeed I have witnessed cyclists being targeted up and down the country including Dublin. It happens everywhere, world wide as I explained, it's not exclusive to certain parts or Ireland you don't like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,772 ✭✭✭Rocket_GD

You don't need to say it the statistics provided by yourself do. The ratio of cyclist deaths to population was nearly a 10th of that in Mayo and Donegal.

Dublin is statistically the safest county to cycle in.

Are you sure you didn't just witness a cyclist collide with a car or vice versa?Because i don't believe that you have witnessed cyclists being targeted up and down the country

Well, both you and I supplied videos from news outlets of this very thing happening in various parts of the country so if your naive enough to think this sort of thing doesn't happen that's on you! Bathe in ignorance.

You said it happens up and down the country which you have said you have witnessed. I am going to call you out and say your talking through you hole

Mod - warned for uncivil posting

Post edited by Leg End Reject on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,266 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

The elephant in the room is the concentration of social housing in the city center, especially D1 with more added all the time, which no one talks about. We aren't talking mixed tenure, it's Ballymun on the Liffey. I'd say that's a bigger issue than the hostels.

Then you have stuff like this, right on the quays in the center of the city just off O'Connell St Bridge.

https://www.businesspost.ie/news/dublin-building-planned-as-wetherspoons-superpub-among-sites-being-converted-into-refugee-housing/

You don't have to be a planner to know that there is no gain to the city center from any of this. It's likely to be opposite.

The city center is being abused as a dumping ground for society's problems.

Then some act surprised when they see crime and social disorder.

There is no other capital city in Europe where there is such contempt for the city's core.

I've posted up videos, as have you to corroborate my claims, you literally backed me up with your videos. So, to you use your term… you're thinking, posting and talking through your hole!!

You said these incidents are happening up and down the country where cyclists are being targeted which is why I am calling it bullshit. Just because there a couple of videos on the Internet doesn't mean it's happening up and down the country. Prove to me these incidents are common but no you won't because your talking shite

Unfortunately I can't send you recordings of every incident that happens because they're not recorded. But we know they do! People buzz cyclists on purpose, close pass them, hit them with their cars every year all over the world buddy, but if you want to believe Ireland is unique (even though you inexplicably posted videos drivers targeting and knocking down cyclists in different parts of the country) carry on with yourself! Don't believe your own videos!!!

Jaysus John your changing your tune now and back tracking on what you said earlier.You said earlier that cyclists were targeted up and down the country and now your saying that people buzz them driving pass or drive close to them.Yes this happens and yes unfortunately some cyclists accidently get hit by a cars but to come out and say that cyclists are targeted to be intentionally knock down is bullshit

Post edited by Dano650 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,390 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

No one talks about the social housing in the city? You never shut up about it.

Social housing is all over central London and Paris by the way. There's social housing in Covent Garden and Soho and all around Waterloo and Liverpool St Station. Its not unique to Dublin.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 7,438 Mod ✭✭✭✭Irish Aris

Mod warning:

Good afternoon everyone.

I will ask you all to move on from the cyclists debate. I don't think it is on topic for this thread. I believe there is a dedicated forum about cycling where you are free to discuss this topic in as much detail as you'd like.

Thank you all, and wishing you a great weekend.

2025 gigs: Selofan, Alison Moyet, Wardruna, Gavin Friday, Orla Gartland, The Courettes, Scissor Sisters, Nine Inch Nails, Stipe, The Rocky Horror Show, Rhiannon Giddens, New Purple Celebration, Nova Twins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,291 ✭✭✭hoodie6029

I see Brendan Courtney got a hiding last night. Bunch of yobs jumped out a car when they saw him crossing the road and kicked him the head multiple time. Not the first time this has happened to him IIRC. Poor effer, walking along minding his own business and this happens.

Surprised the oiks that did this have the brain power to operate a car. 3 or 4 of them ganging up on one person. Cowards. They wouldn't be brave enough to take someone on one on one.

https://www.irishtimes.com/crime-law/2025/02/28/brendan-courtney-assaulted-in-dublin-city-amid-concerns-over-anti-gay-rhetoric-coming-back/

This is water. Inspiring speech by David Foster Wallace https://youtu.be/DCbGM4mqEVw?si=GS5uDvegp6Er1EOG

I remember a story years ago from him where something similar happened. Homophobia at its worst. Surely they have the reg?

Says it happened 10 years ago in the article now too. Busy street with lots of CCTV, hopefully the Guards can get a lead on them from that

This is water. Inspiring speech by David Foster Wallace https://youtu.be/DCbGM4mqEVw?si=GS5uDvegp6Er1EOG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,486 ✭✭✭Viscount Aggro

Ask Brendan Courtney if its safe walking around Dublin.

Not the first time he has been attacked.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,673 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

RTE presenter Brendan Courtney assaulted in Usher's Quay area of Dublin 8 last night.

Link to RTE News strory here:

If you want to use the argument of "Ask the person who was attacked yesterday, is it safe?"

Us who believe it's safe can rebut that the other 100,000's in Dublin yesterday who weren't attacked prove that it is.

99.99999999999999% of people in Dublin yesterday experienced no attacks.

Is it safe to walk around limerick? Remember that horrific attack against Natasha O Brien after she asked the attacker to stop shouting homophobic abuse at someone?

Is it only Dublin we should be worried about?

Generally speaking Dublin and Ireland are probably one of the most gay friendly places in the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,261 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Brendan Courtney attacked at 9pm on Usher’s Quay certainly does not help the perception that Dublin is safe.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

Multiple posts about the recent unfortunate attack on what can only be considered a good man, someone I've met and worked with. Brendan Courtney.

I'm impressed that bandwagon posters are triggered and upset about these sort of attacks in Dublin and are so quick to highlight them for their own agenda but seem to refrain from posting about or care if they happen elsewhere like the tragic, callous and needless murders of Aidan Moffitt and Michael Snee outside the pale.

I hope the perpetrators that assaulted Brendan are chased down, caught and brought back to the city to be dealt with.

I don’t know why I’m included in this, I’m of the belief that Dublin is generally a very safe place.

It quite an achievement to agree with a post and throw in a sneer. I am not a “bandwagoner poster” merely a poster. Who happens to be a born and bred Dub.

I have explained how Dublin is generally a safe place. Except being affected by a deep seated generational aggressive mindset among certain cohorts, within certain socio-demographic areas. That is a fact shown in the statistics. Crime rates and so on. The causes are clear. However, the answers to resolving those causes are more difficult.

J am a Dub who is entitled to his opinion and debates issues. And a person who does not resort to insults or sly digs. That is the lowest form of debate. I believe away from boards.ie, you are likely a much better person than you have shown in that previous post.

You seem to deal in absolutes? I don’t do so. The debate on this thread is Dublin safe? Not attempting to derail the thread by moving the goalposts elsewhere. In what appears to me to be a blatant attempt not to address the question in the OP.

You seem to be trying to put in the stereotypical boards “whataboutery” to try and “win” with your own agenda. Whatever that may be.

To glibly bracket myself as a “bandwagoner” is odd. As to why you chose to do so, only you can answer.

I would be interested if you know Mr Courtney as well as you claim. Does he feel that Dublin is a safe place? And what is his perception of Dublin late at night in Dublin City centre?

To me from listening to his interview. Courtney seemed more surprised that he was attacked at 9pm rather than the fact he was attacked, in itself.

Post edited by gormdubhgorm on

What point are you making? Honestly, I can’t make sense of this

Just to mention the CSO statistics in case anyone is in doubt.

According to the CSO, the Dublin Metropolitan area experienced a crime rate of  -

2,522 incidents per 100,000 people for theft and related offences

– nearly twice the State average and more than three times as much as the north-west region

It is basically a “what about” misdirection job from the poster @john rambo . Suddenly bringing up Sligo when the question at issue in this thread is Dublin. And yet couching the statement with concern for Courtney.

For what underlying reason that poster has I do not know. It brings into question the motives of the poster and whether he/she has even read CSO stats.

Post edited by gormdubhgorm on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,174 ✭✭✭Gloomtastic!

People in the North West are too busy driving their cars into walls. Why would you do that?

(Apologies, totally uncaring, sorry).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,993 ✭✭✭yagan

Would you have stats for particular areas like North Inner City, or is it broken down by election constituencies?