Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland Team Talk XII: Farrell's First Fifteen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,975 ✭✭✭irelandrover

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,837 ✭✭✭✭phog

My bad, goes to show where my head is this morning.

Hansen still has more game time though as Nash was subbed to allow Crowley get game time (another head scratcher but sin scéal eile)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 29,524 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Nash is in better form for what his game is, but he just can't replace the auxiliary playmaker role that Hansen inhabits.

Now, I do still think it is fairly marginal between them at the moment and I wouldn't be worried about Nash starting or anything. I just think that Hansen's all round game just brings more to the backline - and given we lack real pace in the backline I think more playmaking is the direction they want to head in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,608 ✭✭✭BoardsMember

I like the changes. Baird probably the most disappointed, I'd be interested to hear the management feedback to him on where he needs to improve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,481 ✭✭✭Former Former Former

Yep, exactly this. Nash had a decent game against Scotland but it was an out-and-out winger performance. When the ball came to him, he did good things. The stats cited above show that Hansen managed twice as many involvements in the same number of minutes as Nash and that's the difference. I'll bet if you looked at Lowe's involvements, they'd be along the same lines as Hansen and this is what Ireland want from their wingers.

it's hard on Nash who's done nothing wrong but he was always up against it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,361 ✭✭✭P.Walnuts

Agree with the above re Hansen being an overall better player, but he hasn't really shown that form this season.

He might be coming into form which is great, let's hope Saturday he goes well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 260 ✭✭darkened_scrum

I don't think Nash would make the extended squad of England, France or Scotland to be brutally honest. He's a decent player, he won't let you down, but he's always a stop-gap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,722 ✭✭✭typhoony

I don't think it will be as comprehensive win as people think, they have enough decent players to make it difficult for us to rack up points. Not sure they score whole lot of points. My prediction maybe 24-14

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 489 ✭✭sliabh 1956

This team selection is important for Ireland going forward if they win with ease it augurs well for Ireland's futhure in that we are developing a squad that is able to be competitive. Hopefully the days of an outhalf playing for 80 +minuites because the back up cant be trusted is behind us.

I wouldn't read the latest post in the Six Nations thread if I were you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,427 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

I've been thinking similar scores myself in the recent past, but looking at the way the team has been playing, it seems to be a slow start, then 50 minutes of a blow out studded with training ground moves.

If we turn them over once or twice early on, it could open a serious flood gate. I'm going to say 37-12.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,597 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

Wales have, rather sadly, done the right thing and named a 10-12-13 axis that are actually comfortable playing those positions.

Also named Jac Morgan and Tommy Reffell at 6&7 so they'll be attacking that breakdown relentlessly to steal the ball

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,453 ✭✭✭All_in_Flynn

Looking at that team, Gatland should be not let manage anyone ever again.

That is a way better balanced side than anything they've put out in a considerable period of time.

I'm a natural pessimist when it comes to supporting my own teams but I'm not sure this will be the walk in the park many believe to be the case.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,723 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quin_Dub

To be fair to Gatland , I read an interview with him yesterday and he was asked about selection and he specifically said that he wasn't picking for now , but he was trying to build for the next world cup.

He used Anscombe as the example - His view was that Anscombe could absolutely "do a job" now but age and injury profile made him a risky bet for the next WC so he went with the younger guy to get games into him.

Right or wrong , there was an underlying logic to the decision I guess.

Wales need a few wins or at least a few "performances" now though..

When the bench comes on we could have 7 players u25 on the pitch.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,723 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quin_Dub

Not dissimilar to how England approached it with the two Curries in the 1st game.

You'd hope that Ireland learned the lessons there and that they have a plan to neutralise the threat from Wales as they did in the 2nd half against England.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,453 ✭✭✭All_in_Flynn

You're not going to build anything playing players out of position. Getting humped every week is not going to put them in a better position for a world cup.

I'd be shocked if he got a decent job ever again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,329 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

The spread on Paddy Power is +25 for Evens last time I looked. I don't think we will beat them by that margin at all.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,535 ✭✭✭techdiver

This is a real "no win" situation for Ireland. The only satisfactory outcome is an absolute hammering. Anything else will be seen as a failure. It's one of those games we need to get out of the way early and move on to 2 weeks time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,482 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Gareth Anscombe hasn't looked great for Gloucester. It looks like they are signing Ross Byrne next year and that tells you all you need to know.

How many debutants on this Wales team and a new front row?

I can see a worse defeat than the French one for the Welsh.

Watch how many penalties they give away at the breakdown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,657 ✭✭✭KaneToad

Bealham is fantastic but he's a year older than Furlong! Need to have young guns at the ready too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,482 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

I'm just bringing this up because you say coach favourite but it's two coaches now and they clearly both see him as the best option. And it's not like Easterby is afraid to change things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 260 ✭✭darkened_scrum

Doesn't really matter what it's "seen as" imo. The team will privately be aiming for a grand slam, the objective will be a win and ideally 5 points. Nobody will care if we lift the trophy in Rome in ~3 weeks.

(though having said that, some of the background whinging this year has been through the roof, so I'm sure some people will find a way to complain no matter what).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,654 ✭✭✭50HX

And he's had enough game time when you inc the AI.

I was at NZ game & thought he was v poor, if it had been another winger they'd be slated.

This thing of he suits the way management want play highlights that we only have 2 wingers then that can play that style & they will always start regardless of form.

He is coming back into form which is great to see but if he's form in AI had been just b4 or during a WC then what are the options.

I like him has a player but you'd have to wonder where do we go re style of play if both wingers were injured.

Wales game should suit him & hope he goes really well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,546 ✭✭✭niallm77

Furlong

Bealham

ToT (got injured in November, then suspended in January)

Jager

Clarkson

That would have been the depth chart at the start of the season. Clarkson basically got his chance as a result of injuries, took it and kept his place. I don't see what's off about it. It's not like he has been getting mullered in the scrum either.

James Ryan, Ringrose, Beirne, Conan, POM have all captained Ireland or provinces. Plenty of VC options there. Sheehan will make way around 50-60 minutes depending on the scoreline. Gus is a very able replacement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,894 ✭✭✭Paul Smeenus

I have zero idea why Clarkson is ahead of Wilson, who has been good in the scrum and often excellent in the loose.

Clarkson got picked as a development player in November and TOT lasted all of 30 seconds v NZ, and with Furlong out Clarkson found himself in the squads for subsequent games. If TOT hasn't tackled an all black with his head Clarkson may not have got capped

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,894 ✭✭✭Paul Smeenus

Well, fair play to Clarkson, but I'd have had Wilson ahead as a development player.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,482 ✭✭✭DellyBelly

I think we will could even be 30+ if we really want to. We are so superior then them. My only fear is that we take the foot off the pedal once we are out front with 20 to go...we were sloppy against England and Scotland in the final quarter. My prediction is 42 10