Ireland Team Talk XII: Farrell's First Fifteen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,130 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

I’d probably have started Crowley once I was making a few changes but that aside I’d be very happy with the team. Really looking forward to it.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭fitz

Nice balance of continuity and rotation. Crowley, Ryan, Prendergast, Bealham and Bundee off the bench...Wales will ship a bunch of points late in the game.

I'm expecting Wales to have a manic first 20, but once we start racking up points, I think it's going to become a rout.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,830 ✭✭✭CMOTDibbler

Iirc it was Joe Schmidt who put a stop to the 'selectors'. One of his conditions for accepting the job I seem to recall. Which isn't that long ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Tommybojangles

I don't know if the 'fans in the other 3 provinces are getting disillusioned' thing is true, even though it gets thrown around as fact a lot. Being from Connacht and unfortunately living in Munster (That's a joke, provincial rivalries used to be a bit of craic) I certainly don't feel any different and the vast majority of Munster fans i know would be the same. Not to say there isn't bitteness towards leinster over Snyman etc (Again normal provincial rivalry) but it doesn't spill over into the national team support.

We need to remember as well that the existing provincial system and the old rivalry bewteen the 4 provinces is one of the things that allowed Ireland to transition so seemlessly to professional rugby. When you see the Welsh regions constantly struggling for support you realise how lucky we were to have these entities already in place. So a certain amount of interprovincial sniping is natural and part of what has made Irish Rugby great in the last 20 years and shouldn't be read as 'people becoming disillusioned with the national team'. I'm also of the opinion that anyone who stops supporting the National team because there isn't enough of their province's players in the squad needs a good shake and should come support Connacht for a few years. We're in a bit of a golden age in terms of International selection since Bundee came along but for the previous 15 years it was big news when a Muldoon or a Johnny O connor snuck on to the bench for a Six Nations game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,233 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

Very excited to see this team play for what otherwise might have been a damp squib

Great day for the Prendergast family.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 433 ✭✭The Macho Man

Fair dues to Easterby for making 7 changes, albeit 2 were enforced. Clarkson, C Prendergast, G McCarthy and Boyle getting a chance. Ryan on the bench gives him a mini break so to speak, Wales will likely be well softened up when he comes on. If I was to change one thing maybe give Crowley the start but if he does come on I hope its at 10 and not FB. Speaking of FB great call to give Osborne another run there. He really looked good v SA.

Conan I thought should've got the armband. Maybe Beirne but this call is a nod to the future and giving lads that experience.

All in all fair play Easterby. Can't wait for Sat now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 722 ✭✭✭darkened_scrum

Good team.

Glad Osborne is getting a game, he's too good to not play in the championship. Doris is Doris obviously but not many teams have a player of the quality of Conan to come straight into the team, there isn't a huge drop off there. Carrying on with Prendergast is the right call, had probably his best game last time and he's on an upward curve. And Ringrose back to 13 is the right call as well, can we stop messing about with the 13 jersey and just leave Ringrose in place please.

Edit - and Cian Prendergast, think he deserves his shot as well. Hopefully no injuries and he'll come on for POM on ~50 mins and get a good go at it.

The only selection that feels slightly, a teeny bit off (or more-so inconsistent) to me is Clarkson. It feels unusual for this Irish management to pick a guy from relatively far down the depth chart and elevate him up this quickly without really needing to. But the flipside of that is there is uncertainty about Furlong and say Bealham went and got injured, you could be bringing him in cold in a less controlled way. It's not a big deal, just doesn't feel the same as other selections/positions maybe. And tbh (and to be clear, this means absolutely nothing, I'm an internet keyboard warrior like the rest of us) I just didn't have him pegged as an international TH from watching him with Leinster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,016 ✭✭✭Packrat

I assume Sheehan is expected to go 80 to give him game time. I wonder if that's why he got the armband over Beirne or PoM who I thought would be more obvious captains.

If I wanted to make mischief, I'd say it's a wonder they didn't give it to SP.... ;-) But that would be just stirring so I won't..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭Must love hardship

Any idea when A team is announced?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,417 ✭✭✭P.Walnuts

Hanson needs a big game

And if he doesn't, I'd like to see Nash back in for France

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,820 ✭✭✭Brief_Lives

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,511 ✭✭✭Wegians89

Nash did absolutely nothing against Scotland bar walk in a try he couldn’t miss and chase down a few kicks.

Hansen was far more involved and offered so much more around the pitch against England.

Statistically speaking in this Six Nations:

Hansen has 5 tackles (71%) to Nash’s 4 (67%)
    Hansen has 8 carries for a total of 28m to Nash’s 4 carries for 5m

Hansen has 4 defenders beaten to Nash’s 0

Hansen has 10 touches to Nash’s 5

The only areas Nash come out on top is one less penalty conceded and a 50% Ruck effectiveness to Hansens 14%.

Hansen isn’t at his best but he’s slowly getting back there after nearly a year out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 433 ✭✭The Macho Man

I'd beg to differ re TC. I've watched him live, last game I saw was v Bath, looked very comfortable in the scrum and really got around the park well. Hasn't put a foot wrong, impressed against the Eng scrum.

I'm not up in arms about it or anything and I hope he goes well this weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,715 ✭✭✭Former Former Former

The only selection that feels slightly, a teeny bit off (or more-so inconsistent) to me is Clarkson. It feels unusual for this Irish management to pick a guy from relatively far down the depth chart and elevate him up this quickly without really needing to.

I don't really know what you mean by "off", but I would disagree that we don't need to test Clarkson.

Bealham has been great but he's 33. Furlong is 32 and will (IMO) never be the player he was. Unlike others, front row is not a position where you can move a guy in to fill a gap.

I mean I'm not sure stats from 1 game each is really relevant?

Nash has been in better form for quite a while now.

I also did say Hansen needs a big game, not that he shouldn't be starting or be dropped regardless for France, I think that's fair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 27,228 ✭✭✭✭phog

Nash had one start from 3 games, Hansen had two starts so more game time. yet the stats you use don't really show Hansen as being that far ahead in their stats tally.

Hansen seems to be another coach favourite so no doubt he'll start unless injured though I would have started Nash for some of the AIs and I think he should start v Italy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,079 ✭✭✭irelandrover

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 27,228 ✭✭✭✭phog

My bad, goes to show where my head is this morning.

Hansen still has more game time though as Nash was subbed to allow Crowley get game time (another head scratcher but sin scéal eile)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 32,765 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Nash is in better form for what his game is, but he just can't replace the auxiliary playmaker role that Hansen inhabits.

Now, I do still think it is fairly marginal between them at the moment and I wouldn't be worried about Nash starting or anything. I just think that Hansen's all round game just brings more to the backline - and given we lack real pace in the backline I think more playmaking is the direction they want to head in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,757 ✭✭✭BoardsMember

I like the changes. Baird probably the most disappointed, I'd be interested to hear the management feedback to him on where he needs to improve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,715 ✭✭✭Former Former Former

Yep, exactly this. Nash had a decent game against Scotland but it was an out-and-out winger performance. When the ball came to him, he did good things. The stats cited above show that Hansen managed twice as many involvements in the same number of minutes as Nash and that's the difference. I'll bet if you looked at Lowe's involvements, they'd be along the same lines as Hansen and this is what Ireland want from their wingers.

it's hard on Nash who's done nothing wrong but he was always up against it.

Agree with the above re Hansen being an overall better player, but he hasn't really shown that form this season.

He might be coming into form which is great, let's hope Saturday he goes well.

I don't think Nash would make the extended squad of England, France or Scotland to be brutally honest. He's a decent player, he won't let you down, but he's always a stop-gap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,044 ✭✭✭typhoony

I don't think it will be as comprehensive win as people think, they have enough decent players to make it difficult for us to rack up points. Not sure they score whole lot of points. My prediction maybe 24-14

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 566 ✭✭✭sliabh 1956

This team selection is important for Ireland going forward if they win with ease it augurs well for Ireland's futhure in that we are developing a squad that is able to be competitive. Hopefully the days of an outhalf playing for 80 +minuites because the back up cant be trusted is behind us.

I wouldn't read the latest post in the Six Nations thread if I were you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,807 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

I've been thinking similar scores myself in the recent past, but looking at the way the team has been playing, it seems to be a slow start, then 50 minutes of a blow out studded with training ground moves.

If we turn them over once or twice early on, it could open a serious flood gate. I'm going to say 37-12.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,972 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

Wales have, rather sadly, done the right thing and named a 10-12-13 axis that are actually comfortable playing those positions.

Also named Jac Morgan and Tommy Reffell at 6&7 so they'll be attacking that breakdown relentlessly to steal the ball

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,756 ✭✭✭All_in_Flynn

Looking at that team, Gatland should be not let manage anyone ever again.

That is a way better balanced side than anything they've put out in a considerable period of time.

I'm a natural pessimist when it comes to supporting my own teams but I'm not sure this will be the walk in the park many believe to be the case.