Manchester United Thread 25/26 - Teamtalk/Transfers/Gossip Mod Note in OP 26.09.24

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,937 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

Don't disagree we need a new keeper but I think he is more limiting to a title push than a top 4/5 push so I'd prioritise money elsewhere this summer - if we do get a keeper I think it will be 1 in 1 out with the out funding in the in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,777 ✭✭✭Iseedeadpixels

Varane on ETH

🚨🚨🎙️| Raphael Varane on Erik ten Hag’s system:

“It was fairly rigid patterns of play defined in advance. There was very little flexibility in terms of adapting on the pitch.

“The game plans were very, very precise, with lots and lots of information. It was different. The system was a bit blocked by the coach’s instructions.”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,056 ✭✭✭DiscoStew

Dorgu is predominately left footed no? He seems comfortable on his right in fairness but I’m pretty sure he’s a left footed player.

Sorry, yes, you are correct. He would also be a left footed RWB (which is what Amorim likes) - same as Quenda if we sign him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,342 ✭✭✭IncognitoMan

Is it what he likes or is it just a case that the player who ends up performing best there is left footed?

Amad and Quenda would be right wingers / forwards in most systems and I guess the closest position to that in Amorim's system is at the the right wing role.

If the best option was a right footer I don't think he'd be against it.

I have to admit I'm not a fan. When there is just 1 player on the wing then I think they should be holding width and be on their favored foot to cross as there is no overlap when they go inside but there are plenty of players already taking up positions inside.

If you had a fit Mount moving from central to overlap an inverting player on that side it might work better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭ericzeking

When you play 2 number 10s inside as opposed to wide forwards or wingers, what is the logic of also having full/wing backs with the 'wrong' foot also?

This makes no sense to a budding under 8s coach!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,269 ✭✭✭paulbok

I wonder will the club try to bring Gomes back for midfield?

Was a fair bit of chatter about the possibility earlier in the season, but not much lately. He's on a free so will likely have plenty of offers, and is likely to look for high wages.

Him and an experienced backup should bolster the midfield nicely for little outlay

No chance imo. Not big enough, not strong enough, not fast enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,736 ✭✭✭✭JRant

It's easier to retain possession if the player is cutting back inside on their stronger foot. That said they need to able good with both feet so when they do overlap they can put a good ball across the box.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

Ineos trying to pull out from a deal with Spurs, not paying for the deal with New Zealand Rugby, around 12bn in debt......Emm should we be worried?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,211 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

Maybe he has been unlucky, but as it stands Martinez has started 91 games for United but missed 72 games with injury. He has a fresh ACL injury so by the time he returns he will have missed more games than he has played.

He will return a 27/28 year old CB approaching the final year of his 120k a week contract who will have missed huge chunks of the previous 3 years, there has to be huge doubts about how he performs when he returns. I'd consider him a candidate for another niggling injury after his return, if we see much of him next season at all I'll be surprised.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,267 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

Martinez like it or not is a liability and injury prone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,267 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

Exactly. We need an athlete in midfield, possibly more than one.

Is Gomes a candidate for 1 of the 10 spots instead?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,301 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Maybe not a crock, but certainly crocked with injuries.

A case could be made that he has been unlucky with major injuries but I think there's an argument to be made that his playing style leads to them.

I like Martinez a lot but you'd be very foolish to put your eggs in his basket now.

Replace him in the squad and when he's fit it's upto him to regain his place in the team

We shouldn't be waiting around, hoping everything will be OK next season.

He's been unlucky with the injuries but the quick succession and length of them have to place doubts about his long term future

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,603 ✭✭✭randd1

Yes. Very.

Credit ratings watchdogs are downgrading them. Basically, their earnings have fallen off a cliff and some of their companies are in massive debt, which is being covered by the successful companies, and the successful companies are propping the whole thing overall, but may lose their ability to do so if the companies losing money continue to do so.

Basically, if you can imagine this, it's like some lads decided to own a football club where they run it into the ground and have it heavily in debt, and then there's another part of the club that's using money to cover the debt run by one part to keep the share prices and value of the whole club up, but the lads covering the debt are running out of money and know they're running out of money, so no actual money is being invested in the club as it goes to paying the debt, so they're cutting everything they can, but don't seem to know how to sort it other than throw what little money you have at it and hope the market keeps the stock price high while you gut the business instead of investing in it.

Or to put it in more graphic terms, there's one lad sticking leeches on a body to suck as much blood out of it before it drains it completely, and there's another lad after coming in who's role is clearing hair on the body and make a few nicks to the skin so the first lads leeches can drain more blood.

You know, if you can imagine this. I mean, if that were to happen, I think that football club would be in serious financial bother in the not too distant future, up to going bust if the tide isn't stemmed, as covering debt with debt tends to cause a collapse at some stage.

But surely no football club could let that happen? Could they.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,249 ✭✭✭IrishOwl...

I spoke about this on here last week. UTD are just way too deep when in posession. If you get time, you should watch Bayern Leverkusen in action, and in particular the positions their 2 outside center halves take up when on the ball.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,603 ✭✭✭randd1

Yes, but their centre halves have some level of pace and movement to cover the space. He have McGuire and Yoro, who won't be competing in the Olympics sprints any time soon.

The also has a midfield than can cover. Or midfield can barely cover the centre circle, never mind their own half.

And their forwarded press hard. Ours don't.

So we don't have any of the pieces needed, but are doing it anyway.

"Its a bold strategy Cotton, lets see if it works out."

(It won't work out)

wn3a456yi3ke1.jpeg

That feckin Horse caused this!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭Quags

IMG_1461.jpeg

MILKED DRY BY THEM

Should be legal for the FA/Premier League to be able to force a shite owner out! Disgrace they were allowed carry out what they did!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,249 ✭✭✭IrishOwl...

Sorry I was not saying UTD should be doing this right now, as they quite clearly don't have the personal. And if you're a center half, that does lack that anticipating and pace, it would be terrifying to leave yourself exposed to it time and time again.

I was merely replying to a post who was querying how deep UTD play, and outlining that this is where UTD need to get to if they're to succeed. I know there's holes to be filled all over, but they have to start at the back.

If you don't have at least 1 (really 2) of your center halves capable of playing and getting on the ball in the opposition half, then you're doomed to fail playing 3-5-2 at the top level, and winning games. Its one of the hardest strategies to perfect and its why few teams go with it. That's not to say it won't work if the right players can be sough.

Post edited by IrishOwl... on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,301 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Sickening…but we've know this for so long. What I find more concerning is that it seems as if Ineos were somewhat blindsided by just how bad a state the club was in!? Even more concerning if Ineos themselves are now in trouble.

The many onfield problems pale into insignificance.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,762 Mod ✭✭✭✭DM_7

Its 20 years of Glazer ownership and while the cost of their buyout is insane it was actually affordable over that time. There dad seemed to know what he was at. The kids mismanagement of money the club was earning has possibly contributed most to the current financial issues. They have proved they could easily have squandered that billion on nothing.

United went from forced prudence after the takeover to willful disregard for money post Malcolm and now have part owners that have a track record of hobby investing (from sports, to pubs to car manufacturing and gid knows what else) and acquisitions through loans.

It's going to be a rough time.

In general I am never comfortable with people making statements like "They are no fools, he knows what he is doing" etc etc, and we heard a lot of that during the days before the INEOS deal was done. Lots of rich and smart people can be very foolish at times so I wasn't prepared to assume that Radcliffe and INEOS were definitely the be-all and end-all.

Then the deal itself was incredibly drawn out. I think I made a point at the time that even Musk's 43 billion Twitter purchase happened quicker than the United sale, and that included a legal fight in the middle of it when Musk tried to back out. It was incredibly drawn out and at the end of it they didn't even buy the club, they paid into it and ended up running it on behalf of the Glazers, which has always been bizarre to me.

So if after that long drawn out process we were to find out that INEOS still didn't do their full due diligence and still didn't know the full extent of the financial mess? If that were to actually be true then it would be astonishing.

I do sincerely hope that they do know all of this and it is baked into their long term plans.

The part I will never really understand is why the Glazers didn't take a couple of billion for the club and run. They will never make that amount of money through ownership, so I wonder if all the bidders actually did know the state of the finances and those £3/4/5 billion offers were never there to begin with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,441 ✭✭✭The Big Easy

Well, there is another way to look at it, SJR and INEOS are seeking to consolidate all of their sporting investment into one place - Manchester United.

The club is in such rag order that they simply cannot be throwing cash around on America's Cups and other similar vanity sponsorships.

You could argue United is also a vanity project, however one that would leave a lasting legacy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,372 ✭✭✭El Gato De Negocios

A billion in interest and over a billion still owed. Jesus fuckin christ.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭GolfPar

Put simply the club hasn't a pot to P*ss in when it comes to transfers. Still over £300 million owed in transfer fees as well.