Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Arcade High Score Challenge - Round 10

• 17-02-2025 09:53AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,680 ✭✭✭

Time to strap on the head band and lace up the boots for Cabal.

Screenshot_2025-02-17-08-50-23-039_com.google.android.apps.photos-edit.jpg

Usual rules apply and dip switch settings.

If ya have a trackball you can use it obviously .I wish I had.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,680 ✭✭✭unky chop chop

Ive fond memories of this from the C64.

I hope it's not a case of rose tinted spectacles !

I was going to pick blood bros but it appears there are loads of exploits in it and scoring system is broken so decided on the original classic that spawned this genre

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,368 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Nice pick! Love seeing something with a bit of a different control scheme popping up.

What a piece of artwork by the way, it has everything. Uzis, M16s, helicopters, skulls, green vests, headbands, fingerless leather gloves..a man clearly screaming 'GET TO THE CHOPPA'. Should be in a museum 😁

Yeah it's the ocean cover ...they always did class cover art for Thier conversions .

Think I'll get some fingerless leather gaming gloves to play this

Just home and it looks like the original cabal does not have the dive/roll option on joystick.

The version that does is actually a bootleg .

Seem it's due to it not being a jamma board so managacturers wired the test switch button as the roll . Not tested it out yet ...but version on my woddie cab has no roll /dive as it's jamma wired and running an 1000 in 1 locked down board that I can't access menus etc.

I downloaded the joystick world version on my egret mini and roll works fine . It's mapped to a button .

So question is , do ya wanna use original version with no roll or bootleg ...or if any of you have mapped roll to a button in msme on original .

Havent checked it out yet ...but I say we just fire ahead with the joystick version with roll.option...unless anyone wants and has a track ball . Then I'm sure the roll can be mapped to a button in mame

We will just use the (world , joystick ) rom set so unless anyone has objections ,wants to use a trackball and can find and configure a version that uses joystick with the dodge button or a trackball.

Because to be sure if I had a track ball I'd love to use it with this game ..

Interesting, you can get a track ball and paddle upgrade for the egret ...mmm may put that on the purchase list.

Ya know I've never played missle command as it really has to be played with a trackball,actually I've only ever used one on the rampart arcade cab

Paddle would be deadly for arkanoid also

Screenshot_2025-02-17-16-44-23-641_com.android.chrome-edit.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭safetyboy

You have one jay...give me yours. Sure ya gave me the egret . join this high score challenge and if ya beat Me I'll buy you one .

Gave it four credits there to test the water

.didn't even get past the first level. Bloody badly timed rolls into bullets .

Screenshot_2025-02-17-21-39-15-892_com.google.android.apps.photos-edit.jpg

Need to get leather fingerless gloves , then I'll show them

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 53,220 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

Not sure how this one will work in mame. Mouse might be cheating but I'll give it a try.

Yeah old school non optical mouse would do the job ..or optical one with scroll ball on top .didn't think of that

It works perfect with joystick anyway, no issues

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,157 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

I'm using the default keyboard mappings. Hadn't thought to try the mouse truth be told :D

Master of the Universe

It works absolutely fine in MAME with a keyboard and buttons. Gave it a quick bash on my laptop yesterday, roll can be mapped too. (impossible to play without it really)

Here's an interesting project, someone ported it to the Neo Geo in 2021. It actually boots up in Neo Geo emulators and MiSTer cores as if it's a Neo Geo rom.

https://neo-source.com/index.php?topic=3751.0

Ill give this a good go this evening .

On a side note I came across this obscure rare arcade cab game ,cabal clone

Looks mental and great craic .

Should have picked it

https://www.arcade-museum.com/Videogame/pirates

Interestingly TAD Corporation only lasted 5 years but they output some classics ...toki. Blood bros. The last game they released -heated barrell looks interesting aswell and one I've never come across ..mix between sunset riders and blood bros !

Screenshot_2025-02-18-17-02-48-246_com.android.chrome-edit.jpg
    Post edited by unky chop chop on

IMG_20250218_174251.jpg

Improving

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 53,220 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

Ah Toki, my old arch nemesis of the retro game beers.

Master of the Universe

Thought I had ya there!

Games really do last quite a while don't they? Good value for your 10p coin.

PXL_20250218_201237704.jpg

Ohhh just about , same level also.

Yeah a run lasts a while . Soldiers give you feck all points so I just roam about blowing up scenery and focus on the vehicles.

I was having trouble with first boss but then realised ya can shoot it's bombs in the air .

Whats the craic with the bushes ? I shoot them and they shake but never got anything from them

I also realised there is a roll and a dive, but in fairness not much different .

Also the grey lads ...it you kill them before they leave the screen ,two lads come to pick them up with a stretcher ...if ya pepper the. With bullets you get load of grenades. Doesn't seem to happen all the time though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,157 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

I've had a few machine gun variants from the bushes, but it's a bit RNG as to what you get; might be an SMG, might be an MG, etc.

RNG..yes. I thrive on it ,😂

Last game of the night ...got to level 2 boss

IMG_20250218_210801.jpg

It really ramps up from 2-3 onwards. They throw every thing at you with bullets everywhere

cabal-250218-211500.png

I got quite a bit of luck here I think as I usually screw up at the beach stage.

I do quite like the variant of the victory dance if you beat the submarine.

Well played sir...the (fingerless leather ) gloves are off.

I'm operating on pure spite after the Valkyrie no Densetsu fiasco.

Master of the Universe

I got up to 2-3 earlier without taking a single hit and then it all just fell apart. Really gets mental alright.

Im pretty sure there's a ranking system in play. I had a long run of not dying and things just got absolutely mental until I got hit by a tank round that travelled at the speed of light.

Good good ...embrace the spite @Retr0gamer

giphy (2).gif

I've got 2-3 a good few times with three hearts ...then the wheels just fall off:(

I will channel my spite after that track and field debacle