Is Dublin really safe? *Read OP for mod warning*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

What's the risk? When has a woman ever been attacked in Edenmore?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,550 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 326 ✭✭REDBULL68

Grew up in Dublin since the late 60s,seen it all in 70s 80s and 90s ,alot of **** like any city ,we carried on and if you had to , you would get into a staightner, Town these days is gone to **** ,no police, just little cants running amok around the various gangs from places we never go on holidays to,Big Jim better do a Juliano or It will never come back.

Ok so no women were attacked in edenmore in any of these stories

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,381 ✭✭✭dublinman1990

There's more news from the Irish Independent website about one of the attackers who was arrested in Larne after stabbing the 30 year old man in South Anne St over the weekend. The headline from the paywall article said the 23 year old who was arrested in Larne by the PSNI while going on the boat to Liverpool is a convicted sex offender. He is also currently on bail which relates to an alleged violent incident involved carrying a knife.

Gardai, who arrested the 22 year old in Balbriggan yesterday, have also said they believe that two of the men, who were involved in the stabbing of Mr Babatunde, are a part of a criminal gang that are located in North Dublin.

A third man in his 20's was arrested by Gardai in Dublin City Centre last night under Section 4 of the criminal justice act. He is being held for questioning at a Dublin Garda station for 24 hours.

one was burned by a fella from Edenmore the other was threatened with a cricket vat by another women. A third woman assaulted a man but in your view it is grand! Ok Edenmore is better than the 80s but there is still a residue of a mindset culture. Takes many generations of that to die off.

in my experience a community is only as good as its weakest link like a sports team. And the weakest links in the socially deprived area is always a different category to those from the. nicer areas. I get the impression you don’t know how the other half live do you don’t even sense the difference. And are quick to jump to any defence.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,815 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

Pointless sh.t. about Edenmore, a mature, settled suburban community in North Dublin, and not a mafia controlled hellhole like you're trying to make it out to be…

It is the people that are already here born and bred in Ireland generations of deprevation that are the trouble, Not the asylum seekers that are the problem. Those families who have not socially progressed for generations and would have the mindset to vote Gerry Hutch. With that mindset they keep themselves down. And many of them view asylum seekers as a scapegoat to their problems.

It can be slowly changed through education but it is extremely difficult to break through that minded. In my experience some “working class” who get out of the areas they live in might STILL have massive chips on their shoulders. Begrudging others wanting to get “one up “ on neighbours. It is only the generation after the first upwardly mobile one they start to integrate truly. And the chip on the shoulder becomes lessened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,916 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Thruppence ha'penny looking down on thruppence, methinks.

Duplicate

You are conflating working class with underclass there, fella. Check yourself.

Yeah like there's still a handful of bogeys living there but saying women can't walk around the place is the level of hysteria people come out with when talking about how safe or unsafe Dublin is.

There is an element there that drags everyone else down with them, whether it be on a road, estate, or wider community. Even with adult education, deis schools etc the process to change that mindset of "them v us"/"nuttin to do" is a long one.

You can have all the nice facilities and amenities but it does not change a mindset or culture. When I think of it Donaghmede library is rarely used, for example. Lovely library in Donaghmede shopping centre. But I get the impression most of the locals don't even know it exists!

Post edited by gormdubhgorm on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,815 ✭✭✭Rocket_GD

So what you really mean by all this is you're afraid of people not as well off as yourself?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,446 ✭✭✭PokeHerKing

Not a lot we can do about the free roaming citizens. Until they gey caught for committing crimes they're free to cause havoc. No one wants to live in North Korea.

But allowing these numbers to swell through AS and other forms of loose unnecessary immigration is something we do have the power to curb without becoming a dictatorship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭Archduke Franz Ferdinand

is Dublin safe is a sort of a general sweeping question that you cannot give a general sweeping answer to. I remember in the 1980’s when joy riding a car theft was rampant in some areas. Like all large cities there are problems and in some areas of Dublin the problems are worst than others it was never utopia.I personally don’t enjoy visiting Dublin, but that’s due to my dislike of big cities and the hustle and bustle. I don’t feel comfortable and that’s a different thing to not feeling safe. If was a female walking alone or an elderly person l may well feel anxious or afraid being on my own in some areas. So it depends on who you ask this question to.

No.

It is people of certain background cultural mindset that breeds trouble for the worst kind. One of my neighbours is an an auld fella who did well for himself worked hard. But underneath himself and his wife are the biggest two faced begrudgers going. He has a real chip on his shoulder. He has the "one up mindset" on the neighbours. He has a really thin skin, cannot take the slightest criticism so people have to humour him.

That would be a fella who has done well for himself, but if you have people with that mindset who have not done well for themselves and progressed, they would vote Gerry Hutch. Very difficult to get through to them.

I found that experiences I have have had with working class people who have done well for themselves. Many still think they have something to prove, are confrontational and basically can view the most innocuous comment as a slight. And they are likely put on a bravado to cover insecurities. That is the best I can explain it.

At its most extreme level that mindset can lead what that happened with the Dublin riots.

Basically it is a mindset that I am afraid of. Not the people, mindsets can be changed - but with difficulty.

Post edited by gormdubhgorm on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,694 ✭✭✭ShagNastii

I'm starting to ask myself where does the see-saw tip in terms of this being a scumbag problem not a lack of Gardai problem.

When I look at certain videos doing the rounds, my first thought isn't "Where are the Gardai to stop this?". It is "On what planet do these people think this is OK?".

Major of London Sadiq Khan has conceded that much of this comes with being a big cosmopolitan city. It already has become a day-to-day thing but I'd be sickened if knife culture or anything like it is just something we now have the privilege of having in our capital city and further afield.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 58,427 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Mod: No discussion of cases before the courts, we are going to be applying forum warnings and bans if posters can't adhere to this going forward

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,032 ✭✭✭donaghs

There’s people around, but seems a lot quieter to be than ten years ago.
    from my perspective, people seem to visit town if they have to go to the office, or if it’s a convenient place for people living around different parts of Dublin to meet.
    Otherwise people I know tend to avoid going to town now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,815 ✭✭✭Rocket_GD

Every bar is jam packed in town at the weekends.

Just because people you know tend to avoid going doesn't mean that the majority do. I can turn around and say the exact opposite, my partner and all her mates (all female, all live relatively close to one another) go into town at least twice a month with no males present and they've never had any abuse, hassle and if they actually felt unsafe they wouldn't be going regularly.

Expert on donaghmede now too lol. How do you know anything about the library there? My dad used to bring us there as kids to get books anyway. You just have a problem with working class areas it seems. I'll stop replying to you now because if you genuinely think women can't walk around these places you're deluded or more likely blinded for your absolute hatred of anything dublin. It's fascinating how much the rest of the country hates this city, like our other cities and towns are some kind of utopias…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,032 ✭✭✭donaghs

Yes, with an even bigger population, pubs are not surprisingly busy at weekend. But id argue not as busy as before. And previously busy week nights in some places like Camden street are quieter again.
    one factor maybe the changing habits of twenty somethings, in terms of how often they got out, and how much they drink. I also think people avoiding unpleasantness in town is also part of it.

I can say the exact same about my female partner too, she meets up with her friends in town all the time, and it's not like they're some city hardened girls half of them went to Loretto on the green ffs.

From what I can see the city has never been busier, as to be expected with population rises and a bustling economy. People talk about restaurants and bars closing but new ones seem to be opening all the time too.

”People I know” vs the people packing the city. OK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,239 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

I was in town on Saturday night. And the weekend before. Mainly around Camden St. Absolutely rammed. No tables in restaurants. No room in pubs, people everywhere. As busy as it gets. Much busier than 10 years ago.

And it's winter time. This summer will be crazy busy with all the gigs and NFL etc. going on but people still want to push the narrative that the city centre is dying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,239 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

Yup. More people outside Anseo than inside. All of the restaurants full. Every one of them.

That new Porters busy too. Great to see another bookies gone from town and something good done with the building.

Oh, I even saw women - loads of them - walking around! 🧐

Post edited by The Nal on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,423 ✭✭✭Floppybits

That's a terrible slur on the people of Donaghmede. Yes it is a good library and it is well used. Had a reason to use it there not so long ago when doing an assessment for college and was lucky to get a seat. Use of libraries has decreased now with the internet in everyone's hand. I can tell you the people of Donaghmede do know it exists.

He's just a sneering snob. I bet if he told us where he lives we could dig up crimes that happened there too. But he won't tell us that.

Mod Edit: Warned for uncivil posting

Post edited by Necro on