Gangland Shootings part 4 - Read OP before posting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭Pentecost

They've all been charged already, and the guards have called out word for word what the victim was threatened with so he obviously is cooperating. At the moment anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭Noseygit

Scrap that,5 of them in court last night. DF and KF has been before the courts before. KF was the victim of a machete attack at Finglas garda station. Can't say anymore as they've been charged

Post edited by Noseygit on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 461 ✭✭Stooped

The victim needing to "press chargers" is an American thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,389 ✭✭✭P.Walnuts

If the Kevin Lunney case is taken as precedence here, they could go going away for a very long time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,445 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Dublin's Dundons

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭el Fenomeno

Is it known who was tortured or why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,424 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

Second part of the documentary on Gerry Hutch

RTE didn't explicitly say Colm Fox wrote he "made a major error" with regard the regency trial.

What mess the authorities made of the trial.

https://www.rte.ie/player/series/gerry-hutch-aka-the-monk/10012113-00-0000?epguid=IH10011750-25-0001

Post edited by expectationlost on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭Jizique

We could probably link this thread with the immigration one after today's verdict

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,021 ✭✭✭Kaisr Sose

What a day for BH — foumd guilty of violent disorder in SCC and also charged with abduction and torture of another man. So he was remanded in custody twice in one day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭Pentecost

Incredible couple of weeks for the lad. Doing the family proud.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,287 ✭✭✭benny79

How did they get done for murder is beyond me! Like dont get me wrong but is that not self defence? and how come it wasn't a trial with a jury? Like you are sitting in a restaurant someone come's in tries to kill someone you disarm them kill them. Is it the way they killed him? Like I taught murder is premeditated. Thats hardly premeditated. Technically they where all having a meal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,021 ✭✭✭Kaisr Sose

Court was chosen as jury trial was considered not appropriate/unsuitable.

A defense of "I was just having a meal in a restaurant" and acting in self defense will only stretch so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,877 ✭✭✭john boye

He had long been disarmed of the gun but they carried on knocking lumps out of him after the threat had gone. That's murder.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 12,317 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

Murder doesn't have to be premeditated, you just have to prove intent, no matter how fleeting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,631 ✭✭✭J.O. Farmer

Reported here some of what the judges said about each defendant and how they came to the verdict.

RTE news : Six convicted over Blanchardstown steakhouse shooting

http://www.rte.ie/news/courts/2025/0217/1497283-six-convicted-blanchardstown/

It's a very clear act of murder, threat had gone. Attempt to kill or cause serious harm was well proven.

Post edited by P.Walnuts on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 803 ✭✭✭foxsake

two lads come into a restuarant shooting and the people that overreacted according to the law - morally there was no overraction cos sherry and his pal came to kill - are the ones jailed for murder .

that ruling is a joke.

if it wasnt the Hennessy's involved but a family man who intervened in that very same situation , there would be no charge.

It's hard not to come across as an a*sehole saying this, but if you don't agree with the conviction you really don't understand what is considered murder under law.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

In America it might be second-degree murder, as there was no prior intent/pre-meditation or malice aforethought. So a lesser level of murder - though still liable to 30 year+ so not particularly a good result. We don't have any such levels, it's just murder or not murder.

The judges pretty much took apart the 'self-defence' aspect. Like from the initial reports on 24/12/23 it seemed a plausible defence, but when you start/continue stabbing someone who is already incapacitated it's not really self-defence. That there was cctv there didn't help their cause at all.

I guess it is a fair point that if it wasn't Hennessy & associates, but a nice family catching a rapist/burglar and butchering them in a rage and without cctv, then it could plausibly have a different outcome in front of a jury.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 58,422 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Mod: Please do not post anything relating to cases currently before the court. Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 466 ✭✭Richmond Ultra

Shooting in Crumlin tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,325 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

There was a point at which a man lying on the floor and unconscious is no longer a danger. Continuing beyond that point is no longer self defence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 803 ✭✭✭foxsake

apologies for the late reply.

you're not coming across badly . your opinion is fine. the interpretation of the law is wrong (imo of course)

the law is not infallible , you should never think it is. The SCC is very much skewed in favour of the state and isn't fair justice - not just my opinion but the opinion of quite a few legal and human rights orgs.

a jury of their peers may have had a different opinion than the 3 judges in this case.

You lads cheer cos you dislike the Hennessy's .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,498 ✭✭✭chicorytip

‘Breaking Bad’ crystal meth businessman beaten up in Portlaoise Prison

https://www.sundayworld.com/crime/irish-crime/breaking-bad-crystal-meth-businessman-beaten-up-in-portlaoise-prison/a693411936.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,325 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

No. You are quite wrong on that. The law is clear. Had it been a case that a person jumped up to stop a gunman and stabbed him, and the gunman died from that stab wound, then that would be self defence.

But when a gunman becomes incapacitated and clearly no further danger to anyone, and a gang of lads continue to beat/stab him to death then that is murder the same as if the gunman got out of the building, was recognised by someone there, and ambushed the next week in a revenge attack.

If by "peers" you mean the other lads who were with them at the restaurant then you might have a point. If by "peers" you mean the general members of the public who would listen to, and understand, the various definitions in court, then no.

By all accounts the attack/beating went on a a good few minutes after the gunman was disarmed and clearly incapacitated. If there was only one person there present/attacking then they might have the more plausible excuse that they couldn't let the man come-to. But outnumbered and disarmed and lying incapacitated on the ground, that wouldn't be a runner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 702 ✭✭✭Paul_Crosby

They filmed themselves beating, stabbing and prolongedly killing him, Sherry was attacked for a while. One video has someone leaning over his almost dead body filming him choking on his blood while he gets kicked and stabbed from boots and knives coming from both sides of the recorder, you can't claim self defence when you continue to mutilate an incapacitated man

Quick update on ONH, looks like the first shots have been fired , Carl Reilly factions second Sean O'Reilly was shot twice yesterday in a hit attempt, but it wasn't as nearly efficient a shooting as Reillys faction has been able to pull off with the two mystery gunmen (even though McDs rival faction was supposed to have the more senior and experienced ex-Provos in it) Reillys faction has been the efficient killer , so interesting where this might go