Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liverpool FC Premier League Champions 24/25 - Talk /Gossip/Rumours

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,697 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

How many game ban is Oliver getting is what I want to know.

How do you justify allowing Salah to be chopped down in play view and allowing it. And no one wants to mention the altering of the lines to make the Everton player onside. They are suppose to use the armpit, arms are not taking into account , Kavanagh moved more and more and more from the armpit to just a tad above the elbow to get the result he wanted. How the hell is no one mentioning that.

''

A player is in an offside position if:

• any part of the head, body or feet is in the opponents’ half (excluding the halfway line) and
    • any part of the head, body or feet is nearer to the opponents’ goal line than both the ball and the second-last opponent

The hands and arms of all players, including the goalkeepers, are not considered. For the purposes of determining offside, the upper boundary of the arm is in line with the bottom of the armpit ''

image.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,344 ✭✭✭mosstin

You knew when our fans were singing "We won the league at Goodison" that there was a twist in the tale imminent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,683 ✭✭✭✭rob316

I never really say much about referees but that was scandalous last night. I don't think it was corrupt or anything just a guy completely out of his depth and incompetent.

I stopped counting after the 4th time a foul was given against us when there was zero contact. Salah gets pulled down in front of the box, nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,730 ✭✭✭mormank

The truth is the referee was terrible and we absolutely can blame the result on him if we want to. He made so many terrible decisions thoughout the night but if we only focus on the free he gave that wasn't a foul and the fact that the equalizer came almost 2 minutes after the game should have been over we can see that if the ref was competent we would have won, might not have even conceded a goal.

Sure you can say we played badly and defended poorly if you want. That is also true. Both things can be true, they are not mutually exclusive. Had the ref simply blown up to finish the game when he should have, totally excluding all the other terrible decisions he made against us, we would have won the game 2-1 and everyone would be talking about how that's the type of win champions get, going to a ground like everton and playing badly but still getting the win. Now all of a sudden instead we are talking about hopefully not losing our heads and throwing away the league altogether…

Ye can sit around and try being all Zen about it all ye want. The fact remains that referee just robbed us of 2 points. All he has to do is end the game when he himself said it should be over. He is the one who said there was 5 minutes left to play and then he played almost 7 minutes extra for no reason at all. Something that has happened to us a ridiculous amount over the past decade since Klopp came in. I for one am just sick of sitting around going "ah well sure refs are only human and sure humans don't know the difference between 5 minutes and 7 minutes!! 🙄

Fine, every potential foul is subjective to an extent but time is not subjective.

Remember last year when Gakpo wasn't great when he was played out of position and alot of people were wondering if he was even good enough for us? Well that's what is happening Diaz now. He is not a centre forward and his form will improve when he plays in his preferred position.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭Ottoman_1000

To be fair on time time difference, there was a huge delay in injury time for the Everton head clash, so it was never going to blown on 95. He did however get absolutely ever other decision wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,669 ✭✭✭Talisman

It must be amateur hour at the Premier League, they pulled the statement about the abusive language and automatic two game suspension.

By their own rules, the FA have three working days including today (Thursday, Friday, Monday) to review the referee's report and any video footage before charging Slot which means he'll be in the technical area for the Wolves game.

Liverpool then have three working days to respond to the charge (Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday) if they wish to contest the charge, so he would also be available for the Aston Villa game.

If Liverpool wish to contest the charge then there are a further three working days (Friday, Monday, Tuesday) for the FA to respond and establish a hearing date which would be a few weeks later. That delay would make Slot available for both the Man City and Newcastle fixtures.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,669 ✭✭✭Talisman

I was annoyed because I thought we threw away two points given that we were a goal up in stoppage time.

When Salah was clipped outside their area and the referee waved play on it was time to play smarter. There was no longer any need to barrel forward or for Alisson pump the ball long. We could have seen out the end of the game by passing the ball down either wing and back across the back line to the other wing.

Having said that we came through without any injuries and we're now 7 points clear, we can certainly live with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 945 ✭✭✭Dr Robert

7 clear with 24 games gone and a better GD of 8 is a brilliant position.

Arsenal aren't City. They won't win every game. They'll drop points like us. We just need to keep our noses in front.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,435 ✭✭✭✭noodler

One thing alot of our players need to do more in the centre third is use the ball quicker.

The amount of times an extra touch is taken when a reasonably straightforward pass is noticeable lately.

I'm a bit more concerned about Wolves than most, if only because we have had two bloody noses in a row and will be without Slot.

I'm aware of that. It took less than 90 seconds to sort that out iirc so how on earth were we still playing a full 2 minutes after the 5 minutes was over???

I'm tired of just going along with the "these decisions even themselves out over the course of a season" party line when they don't. That is simply not how variance works and anyone saying it is just plain wrong.

Had he blown the whistle when he should have at 2-1 we would still all be saying he had a terrible game as that would still be true but then he just kept playing till they scored…how long would he have kept playing for had they not scored? No one knows. What we do know as fact is that he kept playing longer than he should have till they scored.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 360 ✭✭Robert2014

Don't forget that we should have played against 10 men for an hour when Gana pulled back Gakpo on a break when on a yellow. I think Gakpo needs to be smarter there. There was little chance of scoring a goal but a very good chance of having a second yellow card been given. Oliver may not have given it based on his other actions on the night but give him a decision to make. It may also influence his other decisions too.

I think like last season we need to take the games out of the officials hands as much as possible. I think they feel the need implicitly to bring the season into a title fight and we will have some poor decisions go against us in the coming weeks unless Arsenal fall further behind that it doesn't matter. We need to play better and take enough chances to impact that possibility in my mind. Last night, we needed a third goal to settle a game or not give up a stupid goal at the start.

That said Everton have taken points of City, Arsenal and Chelsea this season so this is a plus for us because they would never put in the effort they did last night in another game. We can't depend our season on winning games at Everton or United based on the history involved. Win the return fixture, and we should be good. The only other game with this level of emotion could be the City game with the recent history between us and also Arsenal at home if it is a meaningful game at the end of the season. Take the soreness of the result and the referee's behaviour, bottle it and use it as fuel to drive on through the next fixtures coming up and take it away from other teams and out of officials hands!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭kingshankly

he was bad for both teams in fairness Bradley could have went too

People need to stop trying to shift the blame from ourselves Liverpool were shocking and the referees performance is masking the fact we were shocking

Massive match Sunday beat wolves Everton us a distant memory

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,166 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

I thought Bradley was unlucky for that second incident. He was beside Dacoure (?) who more or less changed his direction and ran across Bradley. Bradley pulled back, held his hands up, but contact was very minimal, it didn't look a deliberate foul, and the attacker was never going to run the 80+ meters to score from there in his own half. He used his experience against a very green defender to buy a free, but it was nothing else, it was one of the decisions that excellent referee Mr Oliver got correct on the night (not giving the card)

Every coming together isn't a foul, and even if it's deemed a foul every foul isn't worthy of a card. The first one I have no problem with, but the alleged second one was nonsense.

Anyway, it's time we moved on to the Wolves game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,911 ✭✭✭✭8-10

Is it petty that I see Everton and 95 in the same sentence and smile?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,878 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

Its looking like last night has put a siege mentality into the squad going by social media posts from a few of the players

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,238 ✭✭✭giveitholly

Carabao Cup kicks off at 4.30pm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,438 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

That's a poor time considering both sets of fans are coming from the north. Could have had it earlier if it needed to be in London or have it at that time in Villa Park/Old Trafford etc.

its been 4:30 for yeras

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,297 ✭✭✭✭paulie21

Arsenal V Chelsea and Liverpool V Newcastle on the same day in London 4 games on TV that day starting with Celtic V Rangers.

image.png

Konate coming out with the us against them and Van Dijk coming out about keep going together

image.png

No harm.

Konate must be delighted Goodison is getting knocked down.

Gakpo a doubt for Sunday so i am expecting Diaz to start in his preferred position on the left

3 goals in his last 20 league games..burden remains on Mo unless Jota is ready to start

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,683 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Hopefully nunez starts too. He's been much better lately, still need goals but I definitely feel we play better with him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,438 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

The way we're playing I think Slott just has us set up where the CFs aren't actually meant to score that often. None of the lads who've played there this year have got any sort of decent numbers.