Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ulster Team Talk Thread IV... Go On My Henderson...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,883 ✭✭✭Paul Smeenus

Johnny Bell gone.

https://ulster.rugby/content/jonny-bell-departs-ulster-rugby-coaching-team

Faloon taking responsibility for defence.

• Administrators Posts: 54,997 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

This is the right move for all concerned. It wasn't working, our defensive record spoke for itself.

Better to rip the plaster off and just let him go now.

He is leaving for a job outside of rugby which to me means he knew he was for the chop this season and the likelihood of him getting another decent role anywhere else was pretty slim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 995 ✭✭✭Scythica

Best decision for all involved. Whether by his own design or whatever, clearly we've had defensive frailties.

Hume, McCloskey & Stockdale all fit for this weekend too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,175 ✭✭✭ionadnapóca

Something had to happen after Zebre and Someone was going to get it in the neck.

I don't think it will resolve any of the issues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,093 ✭✭✭Digifriendly

Fills me with great optimism your final comment. 😆

I disagree, for what it's worth.

Bell has been a weak link for a number of seasons now, so I fully expect Faloon to be an improvement. Towards the end of McFarland's reign, we were scoring maul tries for fun, but never got anywhere because we still couldn't defend. Sexton should be a step up on Soper (as an attack coach - Soper was hell of a skills coach).

Next season -

Richie Murphy - Head Coach

Jimmy Duffy - Forwards Coach

Willie Faloon - Defence Coach

Mark Sexton - Attack coach

Dan Soper - Transition Coach

That looks alright to me. Would love Davidson as some sort of DoR or replacing Cunningham, but dunno that that's likely.

Every coach is Irish (alright, Soper's from NZ but he began coaching at Inst) and has been involved in an underage/academy/schools set-up.

• Administrators Posts: 54,997 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Falloon is only a temporary appointment though, I don't know if the intention is to make that permanent or if they are looking elsewhere.

I dunno if Jared Payne has a job right now, if Falloon isn't interested maybe he could be tempted back though he left cause he didn't want to be defence coach so maybe not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,175 ✭✭✭ionadnapóca

Yes. Sorry. it is a very pessimistic outlook. I certainly cant see the evidence that's its all on Jonny Bell.

The IRFU have already ripped off the plaster. The wound is still not healed. It's going to take years, because its been festering for years.

19th Feb 2024 (After the Ospreys game) I said - "Its broken. Its broken in Ulster"

21st Feb 2024 - McFarland gone.

Murphy IN.

23rd March 2024 -1st game v Sharks. 22-12 Loss

25th Mar 2024 - Petrie gone.

30th March 2024 - 2nd game v Bulls. 13-7 Loss

ALARM BELLS - It was the lack of effort in those games. The lack of fight. A new coach in place. It was unforgivable.

https://www.irishtimes.com/sport/rugby/2024/03/22/ulster-favoured-to-win-away-to-sharks-in-richie-murphys-first-game/

Some of the biggest culprits that day are all gone or going.

That's my biggest issue. This is on the players. It cant always be the coaches at Ulster.

There is a rot and a deep malaise taken hold in that squad. Over years and years.

I can see only 1 way out of it - short term.

More honest-to-goodness, hard-nosed, hard bastard, 100%'ers are needed to replace the rot.

Werner Kok - TICK

Another Johan Muller is desperately required.

David Humphreys is the right man, in the right place, for Ulster.

https://www.the42.ie/david-humphreys-irfu-2-4507388-Jan2025/

I feel a bit sorry for the way Bell has been treated.

I just hope they are equally, in fact, even more ruthless when it comes to getting rid of some of the players in the squad.

https://www.irishrugby.ie/2025/02/04/bell-departs-ulster-coaching-team/

“From growing up watching the heroes of the ’80s, I developed a passion for the game and the province that has stayed with me since.

“While it’s time for me to step into a new challenge outside of rugby, my passion for Ulster will never change.

“I am deeply thankful to everyone who has supported me throughout this incredible journey. I look forward to following the team as a fan and wish them every success for the future.”

We've got Juarno Augustus coming as well. Hopefully a third NIQ.

Anyway, expecting to be manshamed by the Reds.

Ulster Rugby team to play Queensland Reds, Bank of Ireland Mid-Season Challenge, Friday 7 February, 7.35pm at Kingspan Stadium:

1. Andrew Warwick

2. Tom Stewart

3. Corrie Barrett

4. Alan O’Connor (Capt.)

5. Matthew Dalton

6. Matty Rea

7. Lorcan McLoughlin

8. David McCann

9. Conor McKee

10. Aidan Morgan

11. Jacob Stockdale

12. Stuart McCloskey

13. James Hume

14. Zac Ward

15. Jake Flannery

Replacements:

James McCormick, Eric O’Sullivan, Bryan O’Connor, Harry Sheridan, Tom Brigg, David Shanahan, James Humphreys, Wilhelm De Klerk, Jacob Boyd, Reuben Crothers, Michael Lowry, Ben Carson, Jude Postlethwaite, Stewart Moore, Michael McDonald, Kieran Treadwell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭Jump_In_Jack

Will that match be online or televised anywhere? Thanks

It's being streamed but you have to pay for a Live Stream Pass.

https://ulster.rugby/content/ulster-rugby-live-re-launched-with-ulster-v-queensland-reds

Actually quite enjoyed that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,977 ✭✭✭✭bilston

Who played well?

How did Hume look in his first game back?

Any of the younger lads impress? McKee?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,518 ✭✭✭launish116

Hume looked good

Scrum looked shite!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,977 ✭✭✭✭bilston

Good to hear...and no surprise.

I see Sutherland is starting for Scotland on Sunday…if only...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 bigmac86

McKee looked decent and took his try well. Morgan kicked better and looked good in patches in attack but the open game allowed it so not sure how much to read into that. Dalton put himself about, obviously an athlete and has an edge about him but tired very badly after 50 before being replaced. Thought McLoughlin was quietly effective, huge tackler and has potential. Stockdale hit the ground running again and Hume was good considering length of time out. Scrum still a worry though and maul ineffective tonight

McGLoughlin does look good! if I was the Rea brothers id be looking over my shoulder and upping my game.

Who was 19, red scrum cap? Sherridan?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 big-al

McLoughlins footwork is going to take him places. He’s looks an effective athlete and will hopefully get more of a chance at Ulster next season, Matty Rea would be easily enough to get past you’d think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 bigmac86

Yeh sheridan had the red cap on which threw me too! Just wish he was 2 inches taller as he's listed as our heaviest lock now at 121kg and has an edge to his play

Wasn't sure if it was him, he looks a lot bigger than the rest of the pack. Was hoping it was an academy player.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭Hey_Ho_Lets_Go_3

Ulster Rugby Senior Men’s Coaching team 2025/26:

Richie Murphy – Head Coach
    Jimmy Duffy – Forwards Coach
    Mark Sexton – Backs Coach
    Willie Faloon – Defence and Contact Skills Coach
    Dan Soper – Development and Transition Coach

https://ulster.rugby/content/ulster-rugby-confirm-senior-mens-coaching-structure-for-202526

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 995 ✭✭✭Scythica

Ulster Rugby team v Benetton Rugby, Sat 15 Feb, 5.15pm UK/Ire time, Stadio Monigo, BKT United Rugby Championship Round 11 (live on Premier Sports):

Across Rounds 11 and 12 the BKT URC is inviting teams, players and fans to celebrate the communities and people who helped launch the careers of the league’s players and coaches. The players’ origin clubs are included alongside their names below.

1. Jacob Boyd (Belfast Royal Academy)

2. Rob Herring (SACS) (245)

3. Tom O’Toole (Ashbourne RFC) (115)

4. Alan O’Connor (Capt) (Skerries RFC) (204)

5. Cormac Izuchukwu (Tullamore RFC) (37)

6. Matty Rea (Ballymena RFC) (106)

7. Nick Timoney (Blackrock College RFC) (158)

8. David McCann (Cooke RFC) (59)

9. Nathan Doak (Lisburn RFC) (80)

10. Aidan Morgan (King’s College) (11)

11. Jacob Stockdale (Lurgan RFC) (125)

12. Stuart McCloskey (Bangor RFC) (196)

13. James Hume (Malone RFC) (95)

14. Michael Lowry (Dromore RFC) (116)

15. Stewart Moore (Ballymoney RFC) (75)

Replacements:

16. John Andrew (Ballymena RFC) (130)

17. Bryan O’Connor (Crosshaven RFC)

18. Scott Wilson (Dromore RFC) (26)

19. Kieran Treadwell (Chipstead RFC) (171)

20. Reuben Crothers (Lisburn RFC) (5)

21. Dave Shanahan (Clontarf RFC) (96)

22. Jake Flannery (Kilfeacle & District RFC) (17)

23. Jude Postlethwaite (Lisburn RFC) (24)

Great backline. Interesting that there's no Cooney. Preparing for life after him? Also no Sheridan - I genuinely have no idea why not. He's a great young player and was absolutely crucial for us last season. And Murphy played him at U20s,

A 20-year old Academy LH making his Ulster debut. Two THs on the bench. (No short-term SA props for us.) Might be a long afternoon on the scrum front.

Post edited by Paul Smeenus on

Hopefully better showing this week, where is Reid? Our tight 5 situation is shite!

Context to last week, Zebre beat Edinburgh at home last night also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭Locke_Lamora

Very shaky handling so far but I'll take any sort of lead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,457 ✭✭✭niallm77

Izuchukwu off injured

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,898 ✭✭✭Utah_Saint

We look pretty dung

Timoney yellow

Never looked at Morgan getting clotheslined 5mins earlier

How have Ulster become so shite?!

These player used to be good urc level players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,457 ✭✭✭niallm77

What is TOT at?