Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is Dublin really safe? *Read OP for mod warning*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭Rocket_GD

Can you provide the evidence for your claim that "the same thing is now going on"?

I haven't claimed to have abolished anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,035 ✭✭✭BlueSkyDreams

This.

The nicest, most wealthy and best serviced parts of the country are in Dublin.

The north inner city can certainly be unsafe, but there is a world of difference between the north inner city and Howth, Clontarf, Ballsbridge or Dalkey.

The vast majority of the city is a nice place to be & alot of people that live in the nice areas probably never set foot in the inner city anyway.

You’re just being pedantic now. Im not trying to deny that it’s Christian, that’s exactly the thing being called for.

It’s been reported what’s been going on in tusla under O Gorman. Use your phone or go on your computer.

Also see the Durnin case, Munster child abuse ring, emerging case in Navan. And there are many more just like those that will only come to light in the future and you’ll say ‘I had no idea, if I did I’d have stopped it.’

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,644 ✭✭✭yagan

It's always someone else's fault if you use you don't like defending.

Wasn't it an Italian bishop that blamed sexy children for tempting priest? Christian morality me hole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭Rocket_GD

It's your responsibility to provide the evidence for your own statement.

Basic Christian morality was no better.

They must have skipped reading comprehension the year you were in first class.

I deliberately and from the beginning of my argument have dismissed the church and you’re still banging on about it pretending I think it’s a good thing. I don’t even believe in god.

Mod Edit: Warned for uncivil posting

Post edited by Necro on

It’s been reported in the media and I don’t have a responsibility to provide sources for you. It’s called conversation. Google that while you’re on your phone also.

Mod Edit: Warned for trolling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,189 ✭✭✭ebbsy

But in the spirit of basic Christian morality, here you go

https://www.irishtimes.com/ireland/social-affairs/2023/06/22/grave-concern-girls-in-care-being-exploited-by-gangs-of-men-study/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭drakshug

I go up to Dublin regularly to visit TUH. I would not like to be on the red line at night and wouldn't want to be in the north inner city. I'm not a wimp. I live in a town with a bad rep and it is fine. I worked and socialised in Dublin until lockdown. I have lived and travelled all over Europe and been in some very dodgy situations. I feel Dublin has a sort of menacing, unpredictable atmosphere in parts and I feel I have to have my wits about me. That is not a nice feeling to have.

Every big city has its rough areas. That is to be expected but Dublin seems to have got worse since the lockdowns.I often don't feel safe there.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 56,218 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Mod: sportmode is taking a short holiday from the forum, no need to quote them for a few days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,369 ✭✭✭thereiver

Unless we build more prisons the situation will continue you only go to prison for very serious crimes eg rape and causing serious bodily harm this is not a good way to run a criminal justice system .you could ask the question is any eu city safe what city has no crime no drug dealers no shoplifters car theft or muggers . At least our police are not wasting time arresting people for writing negative things on twitter

I read that gardai have to spend a lot of time doing paperwork before they even go out on the streets I think drug addicts commit crimes because they need money for drugs they are probably not rational enough to think what happens if I get arrested and sent to prison

I think you're right. Spike was set up in response to joyriding in a time of high national unemployment. They were kept separate to long term main prison population. I did a tour on Spike a few years ago and the tourguide said they'd occasionally get men who had been inmates visit there and they'd say it gave them focus when the environment they grew up in was chaotic.

I think the chaos in which young people in north inner city Dublin are trapped in is far more dangerous than joyriding in the 80/90s. That inner city core has been let fester for years and I'm not really sure where to begin with changing it.

Building more prison spaces could be the circuit breaker needed to take control and maintain a basic level of safety in the nations busiest thoroughfare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,273 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

It was far worse in the 80s and 90s in the inner city though. Standard of housing, standard of living and kids with absolutely nothing to do.

I had friends from Sheriff St as I went to school nearby and the place was like a warzone, an absolutely scary kip in the 90s. You have no idea how far along it has come since then. Same with the likes of Summerhill. Still kips but now people walk around these areas as they would anywhere . The canal greenway at the back of Sheriff St nearby will have all sorts walking on it at night I jog there most evenings. Women on their own, dog walkers, tech workers... you have no idea how out of bounds that area would have been in the past.

Anyway this is a silly thread at this stage some people are just hell bent on wanting Dublin to be a really dangerous place when it just isn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,269 ✭✭✭Wompa1

I agree. A lack of Gardaí is definitely a contributing factor to why Dublin is unsafe.

I disagree that it only affects a small percent of innocent civilians, it affects all civilians.

I lived in Summerhill briefly, jaysus!!! It was bad in the 80/90s. Loads of drug squats up around the SFX centre, place was falling apart. The new Gardener street flats did take the edge off a bit, but now it's become a law on itself.

The lockdowns only revealed the social rot. Even back in the 80/90s I don't recall whole streets just being closed off on public safety grounds like they are now.

It was a shabby place then, it did have an edge and I've zero nostalgia for it, but today the threat is more concentrated and organised.

Post edited by yagan on

I think Dublin was worse in the 90s. With a lot of empty derelict buildings before new flats and apartments offices were built .

I think it looked worse in the 90s. Remember the Hill 16 pub? Surrounded by wasteland after massive clearances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,273 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

There's a really nice park and playground around there now and lots of new student accom. Getting there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,019 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Mod Edit: Warned for posting about matters before the courts

Post edited by Necro on

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 56,218 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Mod: Once again I have to advise posters to not discuss matters before the courts.

I don't know of any streets closed off unless to allow just for foot traffic like Grafton street

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,764 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Sorry but stating that Dublin is unsafe is just wide of the mark.

Thousands upon thousands of people are in the city every day and night without incident. Like all cities it has rough areas but it does not mean it's unsafe. Go to other cities around the world, particularly USA, Central America and Africa to know what unsafe is.

In terms of crime dublin is about average in the eu, thousands of people go into dublin every day without anything negative happening to them ,yes we need more gardai but young people have many options now apart from being a garda so its hard to get new recruits

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 416 ✭✭Woodie40

No, when O’Connell Street in the city centre is unsafe and not policed, everywhere else isn’t.

I pass thru o.connell street every week theres usually one or two gardai in the area there's a lot if security cameras in that area it's very busy loads of people around the more people on the street the safer it is .probably one of the safest streets in dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,827 ✭✭✭worded

2 Brazilian friends of friends were attacked a year ago near Christchurch during the day.

The junkies had crutches they medically didn't need and these doubled as weapons held in plain sight. One man has his head opened and needed stitches from a strike from one of the crutches.

I don't think Dublin is safe anymore. Lived there for 10 + years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,931 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Yeah you will see groups of young lads wandering around and one will always have either a single or two crutches, i remember around 2 years ago being outside sheehans just off grafton st and we saw a group of 8-10 lads wandering around obviously looking for trouble with one lad on crutches, around an hour later they went by again with a different lad on the crutches this time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,827 ✭✭✭worded

Trying to stop a crutch being lunged at you can easily result in a broken arm.