Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Local Roads - New Speed Limits

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 42,840 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

The M50 has speed limits of 30km/h, 50km/h, 80km/h, 100km/h and 120km/h so one motorway alone proves your opening statement wrong!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 824 ✭✭✭GSBellew

Ok so, 9 out of 10 Motorways….

Where is the 30k limit on the M50?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,093 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

M50 for a start?

As someone living in rural Ireland I can tell you that Rural Road does not equate to Local Road. L roads are a distinct category of roads that link rural communities. Referring to Local, or L, roads is unambiguous. Lumping Rural into the mix causes confusion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,539 ✭✭✭Quitelife

Those that presently speed on local roads will continue to do so as they don’t care if they get fined as they won’t pay the fine , in county Limerick it’s mostly drug dealers or their runners speeding round dropping their deliveries to local villages/towns or collecting drug debts that cause accidents . The guards don’t seem to go near these people so the only people impacted will be regular working people going about their daily business struggling to adjust to new speed limits .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭almostover

Interesting that the roads around the N72 in the Boherbue, Cullen and Millstreet areas are remaining at 80kph. The N72 itself is earmarked for a reduction to 80kph. A national secondary road that currently resembles the surface of the moon. A local farmer had put a sign up that warned motorists to hold onto their dentures given the state of the road. The local council were fairly peeved over that and did a temporary fix just outside the farmers entrance to get him to take the sign down. The rest of the road between Clonbanin Cross and Cullen Cross remains in an awful state awaiting resurfacing that was meant to start in Nov 2024.

This is what sticks in the the craw of local people. Actual local roads remaining at 80kph and a national road currently in a terrible state being moved to the same speed limit later this year.

Edit: For those who are unfamiliar with the area the N72 runs from Dungarvan to Killorglin through Fermoy, Mallow and Killarney. Hardly a 'national secondary' road when it links up with one of Ireland's busiest tourist destinations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,651 ✭✭✭riddles

driving law is like every other aspect of the law in this country it generally gets people who have not been in accidents ever. We had one of the highest number of uninsured drivers in the EU at one point so you can be sure as hell someone who drives uninsured ain’t going to be too bothered about other driving rules. Drivers with 20 plus road convictions driving while banned. Poorly maintained cars etc.

every day on the motorways tail gating or erratic lane switching cause a pile ups screwing the road up for everyone else. I’d like to see significant points given for rear endings on motorways.

Driving is not that bad here but the cohort outside the law are pretty bad. With apps like Waze identifying speed camera locations you can be routinely passed by people doing 160 plus on a 120 limit. Foreign reg cars seem to operate on Irish roads with impunity.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,216 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

We saw a temporary 30km/h limit on the M50 recently, I think for the first time. Usually they'd drop it to 60.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,216 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

I'm curious as to how cars with the new speed limit enforcement systems work, I've never seen any analysis of how it's been implemented by various manufacturers. Will many cars need an over the air update to add the new limits to that system? How many depend on reading speed limit signs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,211 ✭✭✭creedp

That 80kph is the std speed limit on rural roads across the EU. I must be embarrassing to the Irish intellegencia to admit that it's necessary to blanket Irish rural roads with a lower limit to precent the poor peasantry from mowing each other down.

I'm sure Micheal will be looking for a pat on the head from his EU betters for introducing such a progressive humanitarian measure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,794 ✭✭✭Glaceon

Even the Laois/Offaly Garda Facebook page got this wrong, they tried to say that regional roads were dropping from 100 to 80!

It really seems that you do not understand what exactly is changing here and the speed limit of similar roads around Europe.

Not sure why you feel the need to be patronising about MM unless that kindness nonsense is all you have to offer the discussion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,915 ✭✭✭✭elperello

This is the link you posted yourself yesterday .

https://road-safety.transport.ec.europa.eu/eu-road-safety-policy/priorities/safe-road-use/safe-speed/archive/speeding/speed-limits_en

It clearly states that speed limits are the responsibility of national, regional and local authorities.

I suggest you read it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,838 ✭✭✭FishOnABike

But the M50 does have a 120km/h speed limit. It also has other speed limits, @GSBellew never claimed it didn't.

It can both be true that all Irish motorways have a 120km/h speed limit and that some Irish motoways have speed limits less than 120km/h.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,406 ✭✭✭lucalux

Citizen's Information - a govt. organisation also had this incorrect info until they changed it Friday.

Now the Gardaí posting more misinformation three days in!

Screen Shot 2025-02-09 at 12.01.01.png

It's a mess in terms of how it's been communicated and reported on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,377 ✭✭✭Charles Babbage

The message should be that people should be determining their speed by the general width, layout and profile of the road and not mainly its bureaucratic classification. This excessive focus on road class in going in the wrong direction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭No_Hope_Club

Ok, just for sake a clarity before everyone posting loses their heads.

The Government set the default speed limit in legislation and commenced it for rural local roads on 7 February.

Local councillors have had the opportunity to vary these at locations (called special speed limits) following a consultation process in 2024.

If you're still unhappy, for whatever reason, there still is a mechanism to change a speed limit on these roads but you'll need to convince the majority of your county councillors that you've got a better reason than keeping the speed limit as is.

Nothing shady, no conspiracy, no helping drug dealers drive the backroads, no need to FF FG Green SF SD bash, as all councillors voted on this, left, right, centre.

That's the topic and we're opening up others here, communication of messaging, varying speed limits on M50, Regional roads and specific examples.

Should we create new forums for new topics otherwise this will continue to meander?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,409 ✭✭✭KrisW1001

M8 south of Glanmire is also at 100 km/h. Oh, also in Cork, the N25 east of Dunkettle, and N22 West of Bishopstown are 120km/h but neither is a motorway.

Motorway restrictions and speed limits are independent things. Any road can be given any limit up to 100 km/h. 120 km/h is only allowed on dual carriageways, and then only if the design of the road allows it.

Getting back on topic, local councillors are able to vote any local road back up to 80km/h so any road that's legitimately good enough for 80km/h will eventually return to that speed limit... a lot of these already kept their 80 limit on the 7th when others dropped to 60. (actually they can vote then up to 100 too, but I'm fairly confident in saying that there are no L-roads that meet the design standards for a 100 km/h limit).

I had understood - very likely mistakenly - that previously, a default 80km/h limit was applied to all L roads, and if the speed limit was to be changed it had to be inspected by an engineer who would determine the appropriate speed limit. But the idea that councillors could be given the ability to decide what an appropriate speed limit is seems wrong -headed. I'd be surprised if there were more than a handful of them nationwide with qualifications for the purpose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,755 ✭✭✭plodder

It's not that different to development plans in that a draft is prepared by qualified technical staff. The public have an opportunity to comment on it. Changes can be made and then councillors vote on it. It's the same with 'special' speed limits. What's changing here is the national "default" limit for local roads, in cases where special limits haven't been applied. Search for the Fingal special speedlimit bye laws for an example. They were set for the whole county in 2021 and some have been updated since then. But the special limits only apply to specific areas (towns and villages mostly)

cheers - it's just that the post before mine suggested that the power rested just with the councillors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭No_Hope_Club

The decision is made by the local councillors. It can be made agreeing or disagreeing with engineering advice. The difficulty for them is to go against "technical advice" and take responsibility for that decision.

All byelaws (including parking) are voted on by councillors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭GHendrix

Lowering speed limits is always the easiest action to take but it’s the least likely to yield any results.

We need to focus more on policing the current rules, improving roads etc, understanding why so many young men are dying in the early hours in single vehicle crashes.

I suspect that this will have no real impact. I actually fear it might lead to even more reckless driving with some people following the rules and the ones not following the existing rules making even more daring overtakes etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭bog master

Donegal CC states is is replacing 2,500 road signs. Anyone wage a guess the cost?

32 County cost?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 502 ✭✭✭BagofWeed

I've travelled all the N72 in the last year and atrocious is what most of it is and frankly it pretty much needs to be 80km. Lismore to Dungarvan is an alright stretch though. Some primary roads like the N24 have large 80km sections as the councils can designate speed limits.

Couldn't agree more but unfortunately this type of zealotry has replaced religious pulpit bashing where a certain class love preaching what people can't do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 502 ✭✭✭BagofWeed

Saw that post too and laughed at the part about the Regional roads. All that 'stupid Paddy' stereotype has a strong solid foundation to it.

That was my post, so sorry for the confusion. The councillors are the only ones with the power as they must vote in any changes, but as with everything else, they rely on advice from the engineers on staff, and also the result of public consultations when it comes to using those powers.

A certain class? What’s that, fifth-year honours Irish? Just say “metropolitan elite” and be done with it. Or better, stop turning everything into a tedious made-up war of ideologies.

The problem with what @Charles Babbage suggests is that everyone has their own idea of what the “appropriate” speed is based on the width of the road, etc., and inexperienced drivers will always underestimate that risk.

I know a lot of people who were very successful at rallying. It's telling that every one of these is very careful and cautions driving on the public road, and these are people who know how to travel at very high speeds without landing in a ditch. The more you know, the more you know that you don't really know much at all. (And I guess that once you’ve got your kicks on a special stage, there’s no thrill in breaking the speed limits).

The other thing is that it's been proven that the bigger and more isolated the car is from the conditions outside, the faster people drive, even when the conditions don't support that. There’s a famous study with bikers, where the same riders drove a test-course at a much lower speed when they were told to ride in normal clothes versus their protective leathers. Same riders, same bikes, same course, so the chance of falling hadn't changed, but the penalty for falling off was suddenly much worse. If you’ve ever driven a classic car, you’ll know that 80 can feel a lot faster than 120 would in a modern SUV.