Why are our festivals so crap compared to rest of europe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 989 ✭✭✭dav09

Would be delighted if an Irish festival had the quality or diversity of that lineup. If you compare it to Electric Picnic or Longitude 2024 there's no comparison, maybe it was just a bad year but the more I look back on it the worse it gets, I think on that lineup there's about 20 international acts I'd happily go and see, vs maybe 7/8 who were at the last picnic (plus a bunch of lesser known Irish acts). I think one of the biggest issues with festivals here is diversity, they're too geared to either mediocre Pop, middle of the road indie, whatever is trendy from Tik Tok or generic male singer songwriters throwing in a small few decent acts here or there, they really strike me as a "this is what the young people listen to" lineups without having a clue what a lot of people do actually enjoy. There's very little that strikes me as exciting, taking some of the worst acts off R&L lineup. Seeing the crowd and the energy at Nas last year at EP would show there is huge demand for other genres, as with other festival performances throughout the years. Going back 5-10 years ago to Picnic, Longitude, FF it was a different landscape quality and diversity wise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭Jambonjunior

Because people keep buying tickets. EP sold out a year in advance without a line up - why would they pay for top international acts when MCD can just promo their own people.

Is there a site anywhere where you can easily see the line ups for all the European festivals?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,915 ✭✭✭worded

Body and Soul became all Body and no Soul over the years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,047 ✭✭✭Fanirish

electric picnic has doubled in size in last decade. It might as well be a different festival these days. None of the booking team of the golden era of EP are left and it’s completely different economic concerns and it was losing money yearly for the promoters in those years that were deemed golden and now artist fees are exponentially higher than then.
    I’ve been to many EP sets that were disaster for great bands. Slowdive, future island, Mitski etc all played to awful or non existent crowds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 989 ✭✭✭dav09

I missed all of the ealry EP's too due to age the first one I went to was 2018 and Saturday FF 2017 (which had Aphex Twin, Moderat, Peggy Gou, Mura Masa, Nicholas Jaar), different landscape/ capacity back then but lineups are night and day worse while double the size. None of them said acts you mentioned while quality would be ones of major interest personally but there is an abundance of decent acts that they just don't book apart from the odd one or two because they're hip hop, metal/rock, hard electronic, experimental orientated that would have a huge audiance for people my age who don't command huge (in the grand scheme of things) booking fees but are probably seen as too much of a risk to book when it sells out every year with a medicore lineup at best, best to stick safe and boring. I don't expect it to ever be like its hey-day but would be nice to have one somewhat consistent decent festival here to really look forward to.

FF same capacity and sure Peggy gou returning but now as headliner her success. Moderat on hiatus. But FF 2025 line up is same quality as 2018 imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,745 ✭✭✭Wooderson

I saw Future Islands at EP. Their one tune got a decent response. Slowdive, hints in the name folks. Mitski. Mehski.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,449 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

People go to festivals for the music?

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭rdhma

I don't really accept arguments about logistics/ weather/ being a small island off Europe for the festival situation here.

Case in point: Iceland Airwaves. A 3 day festival pass is ISK14900/ €101, in a country that is more remote and more expensive in general than here.

I was there in 2022, saw Amyl and the Sniffers, Thumper and some top Nordic groups. Indoor venues, so not directly comparable, but EP is what, €300 now, for a mystery lineup? I'd sooner spend the money on a plane ticket to a festival abroad.

Iceland airwaves has only about a dozen international acts and relies on government grants to help fund and uses existing buildings.
    outdoor camping festivals are a weekend cities put up in estate fields. Costs of making and running these cities for a weekend are enormous and in the millions.
    EP is still a decent lineup by modern standards, big headliners and occasionally okay midcard acts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭Acosta

Some good points in the thread. Another thing is that live music has changed beyond recognition. Over the last couple of decades, the lack of large scale support by the music industry for quality new music, is really showing in recent times. Most big gigs now are basically legacy acts. Take Duran Duran for example. I remember back in 1999, they played a gig in The Olympia. By then they were deemed to be well past their sell by date. Yet 26 years after that, they're going to be playing a big gig in Malahide Castle this summer.

There's still great music out there, but a lot of acts that might well have been on big stages, had they been around in the 90s, nowadays wouldn't be playing venues bigger than Whelans.

There's actually a lot of great Irish music around at the moment. I think Irish music is a lot more exciting now than it was 20 years ago. Yet, most of them don't get much support here and end up heading off to the UK, or just staying here and doing it part time. Much of the media here let PR companies lead them into supporting awful crap like The Coronas. So you don't see a lot of these bands play the likes of EP. When I see rubbish like Kodaline playing at EP, I just cringe. That's like Westlife playing EP back in 2005.

bands can age into their audience and nostalgia is a powerful drug. My chemical romance only did the point at their point at their height of popularity in 2011. They can came back and sold 25k tickets or so for two nights in IMMA. They gained new audiences and old ones came out in big numbers.
    Sometimes it takes a decade for a band to regain their old audience.

Marlay park is all current non nostalgia acts this year. Avila stadium is all current as well. Malahide is mainly nostalgia and croke park is nostalgia. It’s a mixed bag

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,173 ✭✭✭Stillill42

I'm a much happier chap since I accepted the reality of festival life in Ireland in the current climate. EP is, as noted above, just a different festival these days. It doesn't want me and that's fair enough. ATN out for me date wise and it's a struggle for all the next step down festivals. Forest Fest, BTP making a fist of it and fair play.

Smaller town based festivals still seem to be flying it, the Rory Gallagher, the Kilkenny roots etc. They're great craic and I'll always take an opportunity to get to something like that.

I've been spoiled rotten with festivals and my wishlist, beautiful, scenic surroundings, sound crowd, brilliant, diverse bill of music, I'm only getting the full package on foreign shores. I've LOVED EOTR and Green Man the last 2 years, am back for a second dose of the Welsh countryside this Summer.

I've given up railing at the Gods for not giving me the festival I want in Ireland or mourning the loss of what EP used to be, no matter how enraging it is. And it is. If the mountain won't come to Muhammad, lads, then Muhammad sometimes has to go to the mountain. I'd encourage everyone who's not getting the festival they want to spread their wings and try something new.

And hey, if Melvin ever bangs his head and announces PJ Harvey , Wilco and Depeche Mode as his headliners, I'll be delighted to dive back in to the warm embrace of Stradbally again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 828 ✭✭✭mgkelly

Yeah, had a ticket for that. Was madly excited for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 211 ✭✭Anything4883

I dont see why people buy a ticket for electric picnic before seeing a lineup.

The other thing is, the weather- Been hungover at a festival and it pissing rain is beyond misreable.

Go to one in Europe

why do people buy Glastonbury tickets months before line up announced? Cause it sells out instantly and over years of previous line ups people know what calibre of festival they are getting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,240 ✭✭✭Markcheese

Weather,and costs ,

Desirabilty comes into it too , acts want to play Glastonbury, and they've firmly put themselves into a festival calendar -

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 211 ✭✭Anything4883

Yes, I can understand Glastonbury…. EP im on about !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭FullBack Jam

That doesn't really apply to EP though any more. For Glastonbury, you know you're going to get good value along the way, because there are so many decent bands playing there. EP hasn't been like that for a fair amount of years now. EP has built up the FOMO reputation now in terms of tickets - people purchasing them in fear of missing out. But in reality, I'd say there will be plenty of people trying to offload their tickets later in the year. If the tickets for EP were just on general sale without the "sold-out" hype (like other festivals in Ireland do), I don't think it would come close to selling out. It's not great when some of the highlights of EP in recent years are Wolfe Tones and Saw Doctors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,521 ✭✭✭Rocket_GD

As tickets sell out on the day each year. Easy to offload it if you don't like the line-up when it's released as there's always massive demand.

As others have said festivals aren't all about the line-up. Many go for the festival experience moreso than the music. Do you really think the massive (mainly young) crowd at The Wolftones are going out to one off trad gigs throughout the year, no it was an event so they went.

Same with the demand for tickets from Oasis, plenty from people who only know Wonderwall and Champagne Supernova, it'll be an evert and many people today are afraid of missing out (FOMO).

if your posting in the gigs thread electric picnic doesn’t want, need your money. It doesn’t even want to go to effort of trying to placate you. It has a found a larger broader audience offering a different type of festival experience and it’s generating a million plus profit every year doing that we’re previously it was losing money or barely scraping a meagre profit.
    plenty of other festival out there for a discerning music fan

won’t be many event junkies at oasis, too much hassle and cost for that.

Just an example as could be seen on social media, "fans" complaining they couldn't get tickets when they know 2 or 3 songs.

it’s oasis, every person knows 4 or 5 songs within that 30-50 age.
    Just cause a few supposed oasis diehards who dress up like Liam didn’t get tickets doesn’t mean it will be busy with “event junkies”.

You're not getting my point, I meant there were people early 20's raging that they didn't get tickets.

Always an argument, never just an easy, "ah ye I get you".

sure demand was multiples of capacity for all the dates. “diehards” were always going to lose out.
    No one was killing themselves with those TM queues if they weren’t an actual fan.
    “sure I know one or two oasis songs, let’s spend an hour or two waiting online for TM queue