Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland vs England - 6N 2025 match thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,860 ✭✭✭✭AbusesToilets

Look, you are a frequent purveyor of hot takes. I'm asking you to give some examples. The full match is up online, pull out some moments you feel show Crowley's superior performance. Lets have a discussion based on something solid, rather than impressions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,240 ✭✭✭✭Foxtrol

What is confusing for you? An English source can be unbiased in their analysis and also use a well known approach to get clicks - they are absolutely in no way mutually exclusive.

Can I ask why you are lying?

You didn't 'go check' based on my comment - you've copied that screenshot from someone who posted it on Twitter this morning while they were moaning about RTE's giving SP a half point higher rating than JC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,523 ✭✭✭✭aloooof

So, to expand on my thoughts that Crowley was more consistent and made fewer errors.

Overall, I think Crowley place-kicked better, kicked from hand better, had some equally good moments in attack (which is where things were closer), defended better, even with his scrag on Dan, and even hit rucks better.

The place kicking, the stats bear that out. Tho Prendergast showed character to respond and convert the most difficult of his 3.

The kicking from hand is much more qualitative, naturally. But, especially early on, even Prendergast's long exit kicking looked aimless, and allowed England territory and field position. He rarely hit grass, iirc (tho I’d have to watch it back). Crowley’s had one or 2 too long also, but contestables seemed much more… contestable. Bear in mind this is one area that it was seen as Prendergast outright having the upper hand on Crowley.

Prendergast’s intercept, even granted it was on one advantage, was indicative of him forcing it early on. He improved from there.

Defensively, yes, Crowley had the scrag on Dan. But that should have been enough for us the scramble from there, imo. It’s as poor a tackle as I’ve ever seen Henshaw make tbh. Conversely, Prendergast was regularly taken out of the defensive line; something I don’t think we’ve done with a 10 in a long time.

Again, one that I don’t think will go down on the stats, but himself and Baird left a massive dog leg for (I think) Earl to get thru for a huge linebreak, gainline and 22 entry, as an example from when he was in the line. Neither laid a hand on him, in the middle of the park.

Attacking-wise, as I've said, things were much closer. Prendergast had excellent moments like his pass for Aki, and the overlap that VdF ran back to traffic. But equally, Crowley had some excellent moments; his quick offload to Hansen and had another excellent pop pass from the deck when the ball squirted loose that resulted in huge territory gains.

As another poster has said, yes Prendergast had more in total between defenders beat and clean-breaks; but you'd expect him to, having 3x as many minutes to do it in.

Crowley did take one into contact in their 22 that got turned over that was the wrong decision, but we've seem him score with some dancing feet like that in the past. Equally Prendergast picked and went from a ruck that got himself isolated, the ball popped out of the ruck and we were lucky to get the lineout. In both cases, you want your 10 to take things like that on.

Ruck-wise, you obviously don't want your 10 at the bottom of a ruck, but there were a few when Prendergast was ineffective, looked like he was just leaning on it. I wouldn't be too harsh on him there tho, it's so far down the pecking order of what you want from your 10 but it's an area Crowley was superior in too.

That's an absolute tome, and I don't expect anyone else to read it other than yourself. I'd like to watch it back again, tbh, but I don't see my view changing too much from the above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,240 ✭✭✭✭Foxtrol

Agree with this. The general theme coming out of France was that the team won and for a young player to be dropped into that position and look the part, despite the mistakes, was a positive outcome.

Feel pretty similar coming out of the weekend and agree with the hope that SP can kick on from here.

Glad it seems like from all reports he survived the match, which a few posters seemed skeptical about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,024 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

I watched back and on second viewing, England was on top for the first 15 min. Then Ireland took over and were attacking in far more dangerous areas than England. They hired penalties in tge 22 including the yellow xard jor smith. They didn't score in that period though, which is credit to England's defence.

And the rest was mostly periods of Ireland on top or pretty even. I don't think England got back on top for any sustained period after the first 15 mins.

Also noticed that Cadan Murley touched the ball trying to catch in the 22. That's why he didn't let it go over the dead ball line. That led to ireland pushing them back over the try line for the 5m scrum and eventually led to the Aki try.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,979 ✭✭✭jacothelad

Does anyone else think that Murley was marginally ahead of Slade for the kick through from which he scored?

Thanks for the effort. From watching it back, it seemed we attacked differently after Crowley came on. I'd imagine us getting more change out of carries played a factor. We looked more direct than in the first half, where we aimed to get around the outside of the English defense. I wonder how much the team game plans around the different qualities of Prendergast and Crowley? From memory, Crowley took more ball as 1st receiver, whereas Prendergast took a lot as 2nd or 3rd receiver, looping around. I'd like to see Crowley do some of that, he has more pace and the mentality to exploit any gaps. I wish the broadcast had shown a wide view when he took it in and got turned over, felt that was a big missed opportunity. There was a lot of that going around. VdF ought be running laps til next Sat for blowing that chance in the 1st half.

I didn't feel either team was particularly assured under the high ball. There weren't many clean takes by either team with contested ball. I was shocked at the number of times England let a kick go unclaimed, I'd imagine Borthwick was furious over that.

Edit to add: agree on the intercept. Really poor choice on Prendergast's part.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,014 ✭✭✭clsmooth

I'd agree with that with regards highball tbh, but Lowe took one great one over his head, iirc, which is an area I'd generally think of as one of the weaker parts of his game. (I seem to recall both Ringrose and VdF regathering well after a bounce as well, tho couldn't say for sure if off our ball or theirs).

I think JGP's box kicking could be better too tbh (I really rate Mitchell in that regard). Tho none were nearly as bad as Randall's one where he got no distance and ended up attempting to reclaim it himself.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 29,528 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

I would completely agree with this. The variance in Prendergast's play was higher but I don't think that's unexpected given it was his first 6N game. That being said, watching the game after the fact and having read a bunch of commentary first, I was expecting to see far more and bigger mistakes from Prendergast than I actually did. His biggest mistakes were two daft passes on advantage (one where he should have run for himself potentially for a try). Also the howler of a missed conversion, but these things happen and it is too small a sample size to make much judgement on. He unlocked the English defence with his running and passing on 3 or 4 occasions. That is not a "poor" performance.

I think anyone naming Crowley in their team of the week is bit off their rocker though. I appreciate Ntmack is being downgraded for the stupid red, but him or Russell were better 10s on the weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,487 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

No, I'm finished with this. You won't accept anything I say so it's a waste of time.

As another poster has said, yes Prendergast had more in total between defenders beat and clean-breaks; but you'd expect him to, having 3x as many minutes to do it in.

I first brought this up (I think) and it wasn't to suggest that Prendergast is better at attacking the line, cause I don't think that is a reasonable argument. They approach it very differently. Just that he is clearly able to and that commentary about him offering no line threat have been proven wrong multiple times over the last 2 months. It is frustrating to keep reading it.

On the kicking from hand, I think they were both equally ropey personally, but Crowley had better outcomes based on when and where they happened. If the long kicking was a strategy so be it, but they both did it when it made no sense to me whatsoever.

Ultimately the sample size issue will always rear its head in these things. I still broadly think Crowley goalkicks better and strikes the ball more assuredly based on the last 2 years. Based on the last 4 months though he has been awful. Based on the last game he was better - but we are talking 3 kicks versus 2 so it's not particularly demonstrative on its own.

Prendergast will almost definitely start this weekend, so we'll be in a better position to have a more holistic view after that game anyway.

Fair enough, was hoping you would articulate your thoughts, as others have done.

It wasn’t just the long ones; Prendergast had at least one short, cross field early on as a contestable that was really poor.

Fwiw, I’m not sure the long kicks was a gameplan either. And maybe Eggchasers had another video, but this was their assessment of Prendergast’s kicking in the first 20 mins, from their player ratings; this doesn’t suggest it was tactical.

“The kicking game, he was kicking too long, aimlessly, allowing England to run it back with interest and get field position”.

I’d like to watch them back, but on first view, I think Prendergast’s were objectively worse.

Based on the last game he was better - but we are talking 3 kicks versus 2 so it's not particularly demonstrative on its own.

To be fair, I was responding to a request to compare them exclusively on this game.

Prendergast will almost definitely start this weekend, so we'll be in a better position to have a more holistic view after that game anyway.

He almost certainly will, but that doesn’t mean Crowley wasn’t better here, nor that there isn’t a credible argument that Crowley should start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,842 ✭✭✭✭phog

Surely, that kick (before the first try) should be listed as one of his key low lights.

I don't think it was a tactic for what its worth either, I think they were just bad kicks. Prendergast had one manky one that was far too short and just created a aerial contest 10m from where Ireland had possession yes.

I honestly don't think Crowley was any better in general in the game. He actually didn't do very much - which is not really a criticism it is just how the game unfolded for the 20 minutes that he was on. He slotted his two kicks and didn't have any glaring mistakes - for some that means he was better and fair enough I can understand that. I would argue that Prendergast, while missing a sitter and making a few bad errors, also created more himself than Crowley did. He directly contributed to far more line breaks for example. Some of that is, again, a function of him just being on the pitch longer but I agree with the earlier poster that he did both better and worse than Crowley essentially.

I think we would have won that game no matter which started and came off the bench, and I think we would have struggled with England's line speed and ruck disruption from having essentially three 7s in the backrow for the first half no matter what as well. I think the call today is still fairly marginal. As I've said earlier, I also don't think either of them are top tier yet.

I think the pass Prendergast makes here was absolutely top drawer, reminiscent of Russell. 15ms or so, hits Keenan in stride at chest height, takes out 3 English defenders to create a 2 on 1. We really should've scored from this, an incredible effort by Mitchell to scramble back and tackle Keenan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,487 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

I haven't heard anyone saying his passing isn't superb almost always.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,260 ✭✭✭Ben Bailey

Hi Cluedo, please read my post again. I don't agree with using Borthwicks' opinion as any kind of authority. That is what my post is about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,654 ✭✭✭50HX

Because it's harder to get out of the squad than into it in certain positions

Not really, no. It was a clearance kick from his 22 past the halfway line that didn't find space. It wasn't a great kick, but that kind of thing happens multiple times a game. The defensive line coming up was complete shite and that was the main problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,260 ✭✭✭Ben Bailey

Anyone have any thoughts on the Itoje 'stamp' on Hansen ?.

https://twitter.com/jim_demps/status/1885754623643828652?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw%7Ctwcamp%5Etweetembed%7Ctwterm%5E1885754623643828652%7Ctwgr%5Ee762e082045bc2e24c25869bc438330f2670d524%7Ctwcon%5Es1_c10&ref_url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.benchwarmers.ie%2Firish-rugby-ireland-dublin-six-nations-maro-itoje-mack-hansen%2F279831%2F

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,842 ✭✭✭✭phog

I'm sorry but this is a complete cop out, if it's a clearance kick then your kicker finds touch or grass, he did neither. His kick put our defensive line under pressure. The fact they missed tackles compounds the mistake but it doesn't absolve him of blame.

Pretty knackery alright, a game with a lot of niggle

I didn't absolve him, I said it wasn't a great kick. The defensive "line" such as it was made contact with Smith at the halfway line. The kick went 40m and had anyone made a proper tackle we wouldn't be commenting on it beyond "eh…wasn't great". Henshaw, JGP, Beirne all far more at fault and the kick through was just good play.

It is only a "key low light" because of the litany of errors from other players afterwards. It's absurd results based judgement of a relatively minor error.

He'd want to get that out of his game as captain anyway - would be an awfully stupid thing to get penalised for. But Lowe got away with a fair bit of niggle himself including coming in after the play when the teams were specifically warned not to so swings and roundabouts a little.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 719 ✭✭✭farmerval

I also thought Ireland played more directly after Crowley came on, somewhat better kicking and more hard direct lines. You would praise the coaching staff for getting the play makers to change it up.

The ball when Crowley went alone and was turned over I thought an English shooter had closed the passing lane and that's why he turned back in?

The lineout was better, probably more cautious, but in the overall our maul has gone to S****e!! It's an area we need to improve on, we pick to the corner a lot, we need to be better from those opportunities. Will we kick to the corner so much against France? I know the equation isn't simply high probability three point opportunity turned down for lower probability seven points, there's building pressure, more likely more infringements by your opponents etc. to consider.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 243 ✭✭The Macho Man

There really is some amount of kak being posted on here about performances. Baird and SP in particular. Here are 3 of Crowleys important involvements in the game

1. 5 metres outside our 22, calls a garyowen for Keenan but kicks the ball all the way down into England's 22 and into Smiths breadbasket who calls the mark.

2. Ireland attacking England's line, 5 metres out under the sticks Crowley in possession side steps nicely into 3 England forwards ignoring all runners outside him for the easiest of Curry's turnovers, right on their line.

3. For the final try makes an awful attempt at tackling Dan who feeds it to Freeman who runs in under the sticks. So much for being a better defender than SP....

He's lucky he isn't facing a Joe Schmidt Monday morning review! SP wasn't perfect either but I'm pointing this out because some people on here harping on about how poor SP was vis Crowley are only focusing on what Crowley did right and what Sam did wrong. Crowley didn't have the perfect 6N debut v France himself. But Farrell stuck with him to get experience, SP deserves the same.

I honestly don't think Crowley was any better in general in the game. He actually didn't do very much - which is not really a criticism it is just how the game unfolded for the 20 minutes that he was on. He slotted his two kicks and didn't have any glaring mistakes - for some that means he was better and fair enough I can understand that.

I just don't think this is at all true, Podge, so I just watched his 20 mins back.

His first touch is an outstanding clearance kick.

Soon after, he reacts brilliantly to a loose ball for a pop pass to Ringrose, that results in a huge territory and possession gain.

He had that lovely quick-hands offload to Hansen that, with Keenan and Lowe's chase, resulted in us getting to their 5m line.

He had another lovely behind-the-back pass after reacting to another loose ball that Henderson should have taken.

Having watched it back, it's also very evident that we didn't have as much phase play as we were targetting Marcus Smith particularly, but the England back-3 more generally in the back-field, which worked very, very well. We changed to a much kick-heavier game that I don't think we had with Steward there, and Crowley had some excellent kicks that put Smith under huge pressure.

I really didn't mean it disparagingly, and I'll admit I have a personal preference towards phase play which probably isn't what we were looking to do but he just didn't really create anything there. I think "outstanding" and "brilliantly" are overegging the first two involvements, though no quibble on the offload to Hansen, that was really excellent. I guess I just feel like it was more reactive than taking control of the game.

Ultimately for me the game was won in a 10 minute window by the forwards and Lowe - Sheehan almost single handedly created his own try with the pop pass to Conan and then the pass to the wing and finish and the Beirne try was a lovely strike move. Maybe you could argue that Crowley facilitated more direct play.

I also, basically, think it works better to work phase play for 60 mins and then move more direct for the last 20 so I prefer the SP to JC change than the alternative. I also don't really understand the argument that JC was much better given his involvements on the field, but I'm conscious that plenty of others disagree. I do think there was a change of approach but that was built on tiring out the English forwards for 60 mins.