Manchester United Thread 25/26 - Teamtalk/Transfers/Gossip Mod Note in OP 26.09.24

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,779 ✭✭✭Iseedeadpixels

While I agree we look more solid, some serious work is needed on set pieces.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭Ninthlife

20250203_014032.jpg

This has bothered me all evening....at this moment yhe attacker hadnt touched the ball..all momentum on the pass.

Look at Onana. Hand up looking for offiside..wrong position too. He should be in line with the ball and further out as he is seeing this play in front of him so should be anticipating. But no..lets throw a hand up

The next couple of frames he steps to his left to cover the angle but takes two back and the ball his squared.

Now before anyone says but so and so didnt do something..Zirkzee played an awful pass straight to Palace who within 2 passes progressed 50+ yards and were in a 2v1 on goal so dreadful all around

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,874 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

The lack of interest in Rashford probably affected this window quite badly. Only a loan deal 25 hours from deadline.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,314 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

Nobody was going to risk buying him at the money involved especially the way Amorim was talking about him, I'm actually very surprised he went anywhere.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 929 ✭✭✭Mr Disco

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,677 ✭✭✭✭FourFourRED

Saw this on Twitter and it somewhat confirms what a few of us felt about some of the injuries being linked to ten Hag and not just bad luck. Something that was used to defend the old manager time and time again. A good sign for the future under Amorim in terms of being able to keep players fit and available.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,937 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

RIght now for Amorim his biggest thiing is going to be keeping Shaw and Dorgu fit - but it would be a miracle if he kept Shaw fit. With Martinez out for a long time and the running he will need from Dorgu, its gonna be a large part if why the rest of the season improves or gets worse.

Its also why Big Ange should be geting a lot of side eye for the injuries at Spurs.

image.png

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 58,136 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 967 ✭✭✭jayo44

Tel saga...... Sounds like an Israeli football club...... No? Ok

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 967 ✭✭✭jayo44

I don't think amorim specifically wants to play defensive I think it's more of adapting to what players he has got right now while keeping the main principles of the system he was hired to implement. Dorgu is a sign of that he is bringing in a player that's comfertable playing as winger and also lb... Perfect on paper.

For all his recent praise on how he has tried to adapt Garnacho does not fit into Amorim system maybe I'm wrong but what I have seen is Garnacho mostly playing out wide and the wing back behind him cutting inside to try fill the 10 position which has been dalot alot of the time.

Assuming Dorgu hits the ground running I think our best xi at present is close to

Onana, maz, maguire, De ligt, Dorgu, Amad, Ugarte, Bruno, Mainoo, Nacho, striker.

Weakest points for me is the 3 attacking positions just not suitable.. Mainoo had one good game as a number 10 so maybe he can be moulded into that position there's potential

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,713 ✭✭✭Caustic

I wouldn't say he is top of any lists after his time at united so far which would totally discount the argument.

Also are you really subscribed to the times in England? Did you even read the article linked

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 19,185 Mod ✭✭✭✭Trigger

Id definitely agree Garnacho has a natural instinct to drift wide that he can't seem to get out of at the moment and it means the space that he is supposed to be occupying is being left open and the wingback has less room to work with or has to move in to take up that position.

I do think he has been working on it and has been trying to stay inside a bit more but ultimately drifts out a bit too much but he is young so he may fit into the role if given time. He has definitely improved with trying to find players instead of going himself all the time which was something that was incredibly frustrating.

What about the injury record at united under him has you critical of him?

Shaw I wouldn't blame on him. Martinez?

I feel we've the most healthy squad we've had in years so interested to understand why you think his ability to keep players fit has gone from evaluated as the best (under considered coaches) to far lower?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,008 ✭✭✭AidoEirE

Jaysus we need a striker, someone to just get in the box and put away chances.

I'm not critical of him I'm thinking you missed my point, would he still be top of that list after his time at united that's my question.

I couldn't read the article linked because I not registered to the times in England so why I had to ask the question, what are the parameters who is making them.

It was just a link dump, essentially with no info given.

So would his time at united still have him high on the list that's my question. Does injuries happening regardless effect the ranking. I do think things have been better but also in the past did ten hagg lots of injuries at past clubs did they clear up after he left? Was it just at united he has?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,314 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

Does his best work out wide, might be an idea for Amorim to actually play him as a winger!

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

No info? Did you read the post or the contents of the tweet it linked? Bizarre.

The tweet in the post directly said what the post was talking about.

Amorim was evaluated number 1 for player availability.

The post then commented on it with respect to EtH and the injuries we suffered under his management.

So your comment about him no longer being top of such lists seemed to directly say his usage of players and subsequent injuries was an issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,267 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

There's a lot of focus on wing backs, and I get why.

I think we have bigger issues in midfield and up front. The latter is obvious. The two young lads are slow on the turn and Hojlund isn't great in the air or holding it up.

Midfield energy we're missing. Ugarte is above average on the ball, excellent tackler and blocker of spaces and has a mean streak... Which is all good. We've nobody else that can cover for him there. More importantly, I don't see great energy from him. He trots back a lot, gets tired quick in some matches etc. Its a not so obvious worry for me in a maze of worries.

Then I think we should focus on GK.

All of this we need to do gradually and cutely. No more attempts at quick fixes. We can't afford the mistakes we made last 7+ years anyway.

This is a weird response, genuinely no offence intended to you but honestly did you actually read what I wrote?

Yes, I am subscribed to The Times, it’s €5 per year and has Irish news on Sunday’s along with good sports journalism & other content that surprisingly you don’t need to be English to enjoy. What has that got to do with anything?

What would you say about how Amorim’s time at United so far that discounts the “argument” about him being highly rated for player availability? I hope you will have the courtesy to answer that at least.

Did I read the article? No, I opened it and looked for the relevant section about Amorim. It’s a very small tidbit in an article all about Richard Hughes & Liverpool, I don’t have interest in the rest of it and it has no relevance to the point. So that is not some kind of “gotcha moment”. Here is the piece:

IMG_5460.jpeg

Ok I'll try once more would his time at united still see him top of the list?

I'm not blaming him but he now has major injuries to mount, Martinez, I think McGuire, linderoff, Evans have been out injured under him.

What are the parameters for the list? Does his injury record at united prove ten hagg was causing injuries.

If you can't answer my questions I'm not sure why you are replying that's bizarre to me anywyas

You said it proves ten hagg was the problem maybe I'm missing where it says that or was it under the tweet?

I've no idea if it discounts Amorim or not I don't know any of the parameters, would he still be high on the list after his short stint at united? Has he had a lot of the injuries compared to his time at sporting.

I didn't read the article no I can't I've said that already also.

If Amorim has lots of injuries at united compared to sporting is he now the problem or is it something else?

Amass staying at the club, no suitable loan can be found.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,226 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

A MO RIM

I said it “somewhat confirms” re EtH. That’s just my opinion, that EtH played a role in it and it wasn’t just poor luck all of the time.

You don’t need the read the article, it was a single paragraph and it’s been provided to you.

To keep it simple; 2 things

1. I feel EtH was more responsible than not for the injury issues - and it wasn’t bad luck. I can’t prove it. It’s in the past anyway and probably not worth going over.
    2. I believe it is a good sign for the future under Amorim, in terms of player availability, that he was scored the highest in Europe in that regard by the person responsible for recruiting Liverpool’s new manager (at the time). Would he still be high on the list? Probably yeah. IF he ends up having lots of injuries over time at United then yeah of course you would look at absolving both managers of blame and it somehow being a club thing but let’s wait to see if that happens or not.

This is the Manchester United chat thread, you need access to Sex and Sexuality for filth like that 😂😂

He played for the U18’s the other day when City won 4-0. I genuinely had forgotten about him for a bit. Turns 18 in March. Curious to see how it plays out for him but with Dorgu & Leon being signed, I wonder how the club see his future at the club. Wilcox & Brailsford were there to watch as well. Before I’m asked by anyone, no I didn’t see the full game and I’m not subscribed to MUTV 😅

I dont see how Amorim having a great injury record at sporting proves ten hagg was a problem at united when he has had his own injury problems at united although it might seem less, if he goes on to have one at united with the same players it'd prove the point not visa versa, the data you presented is essentially has no correlation to ten hagg or his injury issues at united that's all

Seemed to be on course for a few games under ETH, I reckon he'll be sold for PSR purposes, rumours of Villa sniffing around him. I don't think he fits the big and strong build the club seems to be aiming for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,267 ✭✭✭✭Nalz