Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Today FM Megathread Mod warning post #1 / #1401

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 512 ✭✭✭Coolcormack1979

gibbons wouldn’t know the meaning of honest.his go to defensive manner to anyone that challenges him is block on Twitter like I’ve been as a farmer for asking him would he buy his home place when it went up for sale last yr after his mother passed.he always going on about rewilding so I asked him to rewild his place but I guess the €€€€ was to tempting

Who’s funding him to peddle his utter nonsense and sense of superiority

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,501 ✭✭✭Comic Book Guy

Whatever about the rights and wrongs of what was said the absolute level of condescension and arrogance from him in reply was unbelievable. Glad Matt actually pulled him up for once.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,263 ✭✭✭TaurenDruid

Who's funding him? Seriously? Clearly George Soros! 🙄

Like, seriously, his mother just died and you're tweeting him telling to buy the family farm and re-wild it?! Get a grip, like, you were lucky he only blocked you, you gowl!

===
    boards.ie default cookie settings now include "legitimate interest" for >200 companies, unless you specifically opted out!

I don't live in an A-rated home, so I've no direct experience of what the temperature drop would be like. I do know it wouldn't have been low single digits inside the house - or shouldn't have been! - when people went to bed.

I do know my own house's BER went up from C2 to B3 just by putting in solar panels on the roof - which wouldn't have helped in a power cut, at all, because we don't have a changeover switch. I also know if we do get in a heat pump, our BER would also likely go up a notch, even though we'd be heating the house to the same temperature, because carbon emissions, or something. In other words, there's a lot of smoke and mirrors around BER certs!

Like, if someone has an A-rating because they invested heavily in attic, wall and floor insulation, their home will be a lot warmer in a power cut compared to someone who has an A-rating from putting in solar, a heat pump, and heating controls. A good BER cert does not magically protect your house.

===
    boards.ie default cookie settings now include "legitimate interest" for >200 companies, unless you specifically opted out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,928 ✭✭✭Chuck Noland

that feature with Matt was terrible. Fair play to him as said for pulling him. I’m in a A rated home 2 years old with a heat pump and in the weather we have now the heat pump needs to run everyday just to keep it as 20 degrees. In a power cut I would have no doubt the temp would drop quickly. Not as quick as older houses but it would still drop. The pontificating was off the charts from him Thursday evening i really couldn’t believe he wouldn’t row back 2/3 times and kept on backing himself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 826 ✭✭✭TheBMG

anywhere I can hear this? I’ve seen some quirky BER cert stuff before

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 836 ✭✭✭supereurope

Yesterday FM is back all this weekend. Was delighted to hear when I switched on at 11am this morning, won't need to switch station all weekend now.

Less delighted with the first song I heard…Virtual Insanity by Jamiroquai from 1996, a song I've always had an irrational hatred for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 836 ✭✭✭supereurope

And despite saying it's Yesterday FM all weekend, KC is now playing Teddy Swims.

Unless the year they're going back to this hour is, um, 2025.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 187 ✭✭EveryoneKnowsNobodyCares

Heard them in the car yesterday morning saying they were doing Yesterday FM, I thought it was just a regular weekend thing, and only later on this evening when they were still harping on about it did I realise. Still, this evening they played a song called Dirty Cash (Money Talks) by The Adventures of Stevie V that I'd neither heard nor heard of before, which is rare for that station these days. So good on them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,547 ✭✭✭JoeA3

lots of good music on this weekend. Whenever I hear them do this, I get the impression the presenters themselves really enjoy it. A break from the monotony of the regular playlist.

Oooh, have they done 1993 twice? Two Princes by the Spin Doctors was on last night and again this morning just about 15 minutes ago...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,849 ✭✭✭ILikeBoats

Very enjoyable weekend of great music. Thought I had the wrong station on Saturday morning as this (can't remember the exact song) couldn't possibly be played on a Saturday morning on Today FM.

I agree, I think the presenters appreciate the break from tripe played day in day out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,928 ✭✭✭Chuck Noland

Curiosly, they're doing the 2 pm news today at 1.56, even saying "It's 2 o'clock". I wonder are they recording the news in advance, even if busy by a few minutes. They made a mistake by starting to play a song, and then a few minutes the news came on. No sport.

Nothing on the Today FM website about the JNLRs - not surprising when it looks like every show dropped listeners, with the exception of Alison Curtis - this was the most comprehensive news on just Today FM that I could find:

https://goss.ie/showbiz/today-fm-suffers-loss-in-listeners-across-the-board-in-latest-jnlr-report-408275

What's interesting for me is this is the first time I've seen actual figures listed for the evening slot, which presumably would have previously included Ed Smith's show and then the "Today FM Rocks" playlist presented by Ed. A lot smaller than I was expecting!

===

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,506 ✭✭✭hold my beer

Not surprised they're down, they completely gutted the station the last year or two. It's a shell of its former self.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,605 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,506 ✭✭✭hold my beer

Have they got rid of the alternating shows mid-week from 10pm to 12am? Looks like it's just Claire Beck now doing that slot Monday to Thursday. Love Claire doing dance music, but her mid week show is just 90s music by the looks of it and if the very first show is anything to go by (the only one I listened to). It's also competing with Tom Dunne on Newstalk at that time, one of the best if not the best show on Irish radio at the minute for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 283 ✭✭Chun the Unavoidable

if true that experiment did not last long at all….

No idea - I listened in for the first week after Ed left, and it wasn't for me. I'm usually listening to Nova or actual vinyl now. That slot, ironically, has some of the best music going in Irish radio. Tom Dunne on Newstalk, Greg Gaughran on Nova (Kieran McGuinness on a Sunday), John Creedon on RTÉ (the South Wind Blows on a Sunday)… I'd listen to Claire, too, but not if it's algorithm playlist shite she has to play.

===

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,133 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Well the official website has just Claire listed for the Mon-Thurs slot, so quietly gotten rid of after.

Its the broader issue of media conglomerates reducing the overall quality of the product substantially. I see it with my local paper- was a must read once a week. Ever since Independent news and media got taken over its quality control has nose-dived. Way less actual content, a lot of their articles are literally copied and pasted from FB and the sports coverage has plummeted. Used to have three regular weekly op-ed columns for the GAA, now zero.

Sad times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,065 ✭✭✭kksaints

It wasn't the Claire Beck show tonight anyway it was the Today Fm Chill with Ciara Revines. I think that the Claire Beck picture is just a placeholder on the website.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭Chip Whitley

Not a good look having it all so ambiguous though. I enjoyed the show Dara Quilty did and the one Barry Dunne did. So weird that they're not being promoted more.

I ended up tuning it at some point during the day yesterday, and whoever it was that was on mentioned Dara Quilty's evening show, so they must still be going.

===

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,570 ✭✭✭Declan A Walsh

Barry Dunne has had a good innings with 98FM at this stage. I believe he has been with them since 1996 - the longest lasting presenter with them now (and ever for that matter!). Barry has been getting a bit more profile in recent years with the GoLoud Cash Machine phone calls that he makes "across the GoLoud network of stations". I cannot say that I have heard him very often on 98FM, and it is quite some time since I last heard him on it. The fact that I rarely tune into 98FM these days might have something to do with that! I have a vague recollection of Barry hosting an 80s show in the past on 98FM. I particularly remember his slightly more alternative-oriented taste in music on the pirate Coast FM in the early to mid 1990s. What I am saying is that I think Barry Dunne is ready.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭Chip Whitley

That's lovely Declan 😁

What I mean is on TodayFM, Dara has a Soundtracks show on Tuesdays and Barry has the Yesterday FM show on Saturdays (which I enjoyed this past Saturday). Why are they not being promoted at all? There was a launch in November (I think) and the whole thing has gone cold since the new year it feels like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,889 ✭✭✭Brock Turnpike

What I would really like to know is why Bauer consider their presenters such incompetent dunces that they don't allow them to select music for their own shows?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,996 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Cal has rapidly fallen lockstop back into parroting Trumps conspiracies.

He had recovered to something normal but now gone back completely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,749 ✭✭✭corcaigh07

Ruth Coppinger even more hilarious today, thinks Ireland should stand up to Trump and risk financial ruin (regarding the White House visit).

Also thinks Trump is the same as Hitler and bought the election with Musk, so hence no valid mandate with the American electorate.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,532 Mod ✭✭✭✭squonk

It’s very easy for Ruth to talk rubbish when she is never going to be in a position to be invited to the White House fur Paddy’s day.