Ireland Team Talk XII: Farrell's First Fifteen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,787 ✭✭✭BoardsMember

Really enjoyed that match. I know we struggled to score points, but from about the 25th minute we owned the ball and battered them. Impressive, given their start. A few things stood out for me:

• Baird is a phenomenal athlete but he's not a brilliant 6, and he doesn't read the game as well as Conan/POM etc.....I hope he continues to develop so we can maximise his physical qualities.
    • We lack pace in the backs, a 14 with top line speed would make a big difference to our over threat levels.
    • It's great to have 2 10s competing. Both have tremendous ability, albeit they are very different players.
    • How was Hansen allowed back on pitch? My understanding is that a temp sub is only allowed for HIA or blood, and I didn't think either applied.
    • That Sheehan try was as good a forward try as I think I've ever seen - magnificent disguise on the short flat pop pass, incredible wide long skip pass on the run to Lowe, brilliant support line to take the ball for the try....and then the delayed/statement grounding. Fantastic!

Well done Ireland, serious composure to hang in when it got tough. I've worried about leadership in this team but their ability to bounce back after a ferocious start by England bodes well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,811 ✭✭✭Former Former Former

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 818 ✭✭✭MangleBadger

How many phases after the kick was the try scored and how many other Irish players missed tackles but it was 100% Sam’s fault.

This is the type of disingenuous toxic posting everybody is giving out about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,056 ✭✭✭jacothelad

This stuff becomes tedious and repetitive. I have been watching Irish 10s for well over 60 years. There isn't one who hasn't at one time or another, missed multiple tackles, got battered by opponents, missed easy touch kicks, missed difficult touch kicks, kicked too long, kicked too short, missed crucial conversions or penalties, thrown interceptions, got on the wrong side of the ref and who hasn't been the 'victim' of supporters selective memories. In recent history, Sexton was 'guilty' of all of them. ROG was guilty of all of them. Ditto Humpreys, Elwood. Alan Magowan, Brian Smith, Ralph Keyes, Paul Dean, Ollie Campbell, Tony Ward etc. There isn't one of them that ever played a perfect game.

Very few have been thrown in at the deep end at such an early stage in development as S.P. I think yesterday he did o.k. Some good stuff, some forgettable stuff. Crowley looked more assured during his stint. Some guys get picked early and don’t ever get a long run. E,G. A contemporary of mine, Billy McCombe. A fly-half known for his goal-kicking abilities, McCombe was aged 18 when called upon in 1968 to replace an injured Mike Gibson for a Five Nations match against France at Colombes, making him the youngest ever Ireland player in that position. He kicked all of Ireland's points in a 6–16 loss, then didn't get another opportunity until 1975, when he displaced Mick Quinn in the Five Nations squad. Finishing as the tournament's top points-scorer (26), McCombe registered the winning try in their opening match against England and contributed 13 points in a win over France. That was it. Gone.

It's the same in all walks of life. Some players arrive like a firework and we think, "This is it." All too often they fizzle out and fall back to Earth like a damp squib. Maybe Sam will be a damp squib or maybe he will be a starburst. It's too early to tell but the signs are good for both of them. Petty points scoring is just a waste of energy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 27,324 ✭✭✭✭phog

The ONLY reason England had possession was because we kicked away the ball, had it been contestable then they might not have scored, it was a terrible kick. Call it for what it was.

If you find that post toxic, report it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,248 ✭✭✭hold my beer

Was wondering what the story with Hansen was. Was at the game, and haven't watched it back yet. I thought at the time it must have been either a HIA or blood injury that he needed to be stitched up.

What did he go off for?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 740 ✭✭✭darkened_scrum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,248 ✭✭✭hold my beer

We really are a nation of begrudgers. The amount of absolute tripe I'm listening to and reading.

So every single kick that a 9 or 10 makes that isn’t won is a massive mistake? They’re all fucked so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,759 ✭✭✭✭aloooof

I’m sorry clsmooth, but “allowed England in for their try” is very much suggestive that Crowley’s was the last tackle, and directly at fault.

I think that’s pretty fair, and it’s reasonable to point out that wasn’t the case.

And “both players have to be better” is also drawing a false equivalence; genuine question - which tackle attempt would you say was worse? I think it was Hensaw’s. And not by a small margin.

I’d genuinely appreciate an answer cos at least I know it won’t devolve into ad-hominem with you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,632 ✭✭✭Yeah_Right

You are 100% correct. Every player makes mistakes in every game. The 10 probably makes more than most as they are involved in the play more than most other players. Except maybe the 9.

The only perfect performance I can think of by 10 was Carter vs the Lions in the 2nd test in 2005. I just looked it up and he missed a conversion in that game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,120 ✭✭✭✭AbusesToilets

He went off for a very dubious "blood injury". I wouldn't go as far to call it cheating outright, but it looked more like Hansen had done his hamstring the way he was hobbling. Didn't see a drop of blood on him, but it what it is. I'm glad he was able to come back on.

No, not every kick but if you removed the names here and played that exact kick back just using two neutral teams then most viewers would agree the kick led to the try.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,120 ✭✭✭✭AbusesToilets

image.png

What possessed VdF to cut in here? Even if he gets scragged by the covering tackle, a pop pass likely has Bealham jogging in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,113 ✭✭✭KaneToad

Camera didn't show much of the injury as play continued without him. When it came back to him, the leg was already bandaged. But doc must have recommended a few stitches? He ran (hobbled) off very much like a man who knew he was coming back.

I’m not saying it didn’t contribute to the try. But to lay all the blame at his feet and not to the numerous missed tackles that followed is unfair.

Could be, I was pretty shocked when the ref said it was a blood sub. He looked absolutely fucked when he got up from the ruck

Not once have I laid all the blame on him but I stand by my comments, the only reason they were in a position to score was that we kicked badly to them. We had possession, have it up and they scored.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,799 ✭✭✭ionadnapóca

Clearly Henderson's fault!

It was lovely play by Ireland to set it up. Bundee and Prendergast linking up brilliantly right-to-left and then left-to-right.

(Prendergast prob could have gone through a gap earlier himself.)

Excellent shape to the attack. It looked seamless, until vdF was distracted!

Prendergast bought the space and Tom Curry buried him for expense.

Lost their shape after that.

I started to get worried then. Needed to score when Eng were down to 14.

Thank you James Lowe!

Post edited by ionadnapóca on

You literally said he was 100% responsible for the score.

Just watched it back there, I think he gets a gash on his knee in the ruck. You can see a dark spot on his left knee as he's hobbling off the pitch.

(Prendergast prob could have gone through a gap earlier himself.)

Was thinking that myself watching it back, Prendergast should've backed himself and taken the gap. He had two players to his right. He might need some coaching to trust himself over his instinct to pass. Crowley is much more self possessed in that regard it seems.

He was 100% responsible for the poor kick and giving them back the ball. The team come into the equation then, but as it wasn't part of the game plan the team are somewhat excused but you'd hope the team don't compound the error by missing tackles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,799 ✭✭✭ionadnapóca

Barry John has entered the building

Barry John and Gareth Edwards. The greatest halfback pairing in the history of the game.

RIP "The King" - 4th Feb 2024

And the state of Welsh rugby today. Sad for the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,412 ✭✭✭clsmooth

They were both poor tackles. They’re all as bad as each other at this level.

Crowley shouldn’t be letting a hooker drift around him like that off slow ball and Henshaw should be nailing the attacker as covering defender. On rewatching, Freeman does very well and has a little spurt of acceleration which means he evades the full impact of Henshaw’s tackle which gets him through the gap.

Healy had a poor missed tackle in the lead up to that last try and another for England’s second try but credit Ollie Lawrence for the footwork in that one. He did the same to Tadgh Beirne for Englands first try. On the evidence of his cameo you’d have to think we need to move on from Healy ASAP. He looked old out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 42,822 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

You just reminded me of the Ollie Campbell and Tony Ward battle. Ward was European player of the year two years running and lost his place to Campbell the next year if I'm not mistaken.

Campbell would be my favourite ever out-half.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,759 ✭✭✭✭aloooof

I just can’t agree.

Example. Ringrose is superb at levelling people these days. Prior to that he was exceptional at shooting, scragging the attacker, with the assist-tackler completing the tackle behind the gainline.

That’s not remotely the same as Henshaw’s missed tackle. All missed tackles are not made equal.

Now I’m not saying Crowley’s was as good as a Ringrose shoot. But I’m also not saying it was as bad as Henshaw’s. (And I’m saying this as a massive fans of Henshaw who has had defensive master classes for us previously vs England).

I’m in 100% agreement with you on Healy tho, he looked laboured out there.

(And I genuinely appreciate the response fwiw).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,811 ✭✭✭Former Former Former

we need to move on from Healy ASAP.

We needed to move on immediately after the RWC but 15 months later we’re still no closer to having a better candidate.

At this point however I would just roll the dice with Boyle and see how he goes. Or bring TOT in for the Wales game and see where he’s at. If it’s a disaster, so be it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 740 ✭✭✭darkened_scrum

I thought it was worth looking into this a bit more because I remember a few kicks from Crowley that went far too long, so had a look at the game again.

65 mins: Crowley is in the backfield and signals to Henshaw he's going for an up-and-under to chase. He launches it absolutely miles too long, to the point it lands in the England 22. Henshaw isn't within 10m of the ball when it lands. The execution of this kick in particular is awful

70 mins: Crowley standing on the England 10 goes for a crossfield contestable, once again he sends it too far such that it lands just inside the England 22, no Irish player has a realistic chance of catching it, Smith takes the mark and clears downfield with the on-field graphic telling us England made 27m in territory from the kicking exchange

73 mins: he just hoofs it down down field into the English backfield, once again no Irish player anywhere near, we are saved a bit because Murley fluffs controlling the ball in a way no international back 3 player should

So we're left with two scenarios here:

1. The very act of kicking the ball long is an irredeemable sin for an OH, if that's the case Crowley is every bit as guilty as Prendergast from the evidence of yesterday
    2. You argue "but England didn't score from those!", in which case it becomes fairly incontrovertible that in a game as dynamic and chaotic as international rugby that the player who kicked the ball can't possibly be "100%" to blame

You can pick your poison, but regardless of whichever one you go for, your posts on this particular topic are absolute trash.

In the discussion of the first try, the kick was what gave them possession. Now you can whataboutery all you like after that but that's all it is put whataboutery.

Now, if you want to discuss kicks in play then be fair to both players and count all their kicks.

It's not just me here either, Easterby said his post match interview that early in the game we kicked too long. Maybe he's talking trash too