Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Room to Improve (v2)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,049 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

You didn't look to closely at the audited accounts that you linked. The Director's report clearly states the CEO was appointed in September 2023, with an administrative employee appointed in October 2023.

While you might not think you're doing it, you're clearly begrudging the guy for setting up his own charity and you're casually making assumptions / claims that another charity would not / did not approve of the his intended use of donations.

The way JB went about things would not be my approach, but then again, my approach has never raised 1mill plus for any charity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,505 ✭✭✭Former Former Former

Genuine question. How do you square this:

I'm not having a go at Julian Benson here

with this:

just fed up of so many charitable causes being taken advantage of by those looking to feed their own ego or bank balance

because it really looks like you're having a go at him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,510 ✭✭✭Jeff2

If they can get a Residential Parking Permit for each of the apartments then parking shouldn't be a problem on the street. I'm not sure if that's possible though.

They did mention that the building had flats and was a pre 1963 building which is why some planing permission did not apply to it I believe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,127 ✭✭✭GAAcailin

Residence parking is for an individual and based on your car registration number; we have it on our road and we live close by. This doesn't work for transient occupants. You can apply for visitors permits and can get (I think ) 90 per year; they cost around €2 each. There are no designated spots for this property - I can imagine tired parents arriving late in the evening and having to drive around an area they are unfamiliar with to get a space - not ideal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,635 ✭✭✭appledrop

Did any of the apt have more than 1 bed? Seems a bit mad to me to not have option of sofa bed in apts.

The big thing with CF is that the patient usually spends long spells in hospitial and if its a child then usually one parent that is with them. This is very hard on rest of children in family especially if they live far away. Obviously the other children if in school etc can't spend all time in Dublin and need their routine but nice if whole family could spend time together some weekends but you would need more than 1 bed for that.

It is cynical that a company that is listed on the new York stoke exchange is asking for donations. Really sickening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,540 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

@PARlance good catch. I didn't read the full report, just the figures in the accounts themselves. That means the salaries figure of €34,313 covers a little over 3 months of her salary and just over 2 months of the administrative assistant's so that's now a further fundraising burden in the region of €130k a year to meet those salaries (taking that 34k as 3 months of a salary bill and multiplying by 4 for a rough estimate of the salary costs for 2 FTEs) for a charity showing an average income of 180k for the two years detailed in their audited accounts.

No dount the fundraising for 2024 was a lot higher given the appearances on The Late Late Show, Claire Byrne etc. but that would be a one-off spike likely to taper away over the next couple of years. Add in the mortgage repayments, building maintenance and normal day-to-day expenses and it really does beg the question as to whether the organisation is in any way sustainable in the long term.

@Former Former Former simple enough: I can admire his desire to help others while criticising the inefficient way he's gone about it. The comment about charitable causes being taken advantage of was more of a general criticism of the charity sector in Ireland than a personal dig at Julian Benson. He's clearly a very decent man that's giving a lot of his time and leveraging his local celebrity status to help others.

My real frustration would be about the lack of power (or ineptitude) of the Charities Regulator and the lack of political will to do anything about it. The level of overlap between the 11,500+ registered charities in Ireland is wildly excessive and leads to massive amounts of waste of the donations given by the public and the grants they receive from the government purse. For a finger in the air, back of the envelope, calculation if we take the average CEO salary of one of these charities of 100k and assume we could easily halve the number of these charities (not a stretch when you consider we have over 70 charities involved in homelessness alone), that's a figure of €575m of waste on their CEO salaries alone. It's no exageration to estimate that there are billions being wasted by these overlaps and duplication of effort.

The cynic in me presumes this wastes is tolerated because so many of those on the payroll (or on the boards) of these charities are related to, (or in some other way connected to) many of our politicians. That so many of them (such as the Julian Benson CF Foundation featured in this episode of RTI) are fundraising for things that should be covered under the remit of the HSE no doubt plays a part too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,505 ✭✭✭Former Former Former

Again, the people complaining about Ronald McDonald House have never spent significant amounts of time with a sick child in hospital. When you've gone through the stress and sleepless nights that go with it, I can assure you that you wouldn't give a f**k if your respite was partly funded from the sale of chips and McFlurrys. You'd be sitting there looking forward to the day when you can bring your child out for some fast food and get them back to normal.

I'd usually say something like "I hope you never have to experience it" but maybe some people need a dose of reality like that.

The sheer nastiness on this thread is absolutely amazing. Benson took it upon himself to do something fantastic and he achieved it. If people want to say it's all an ego trip, then they're the issue, not Benson.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,393 ✭✭✭Princess Calla

I don't think anyone is against the Ronald McDonald house.

I think their upset is McDonald's is a massive global organisation which could well afford funding the operation through profits. However they charge the parents and fund raise to cover the cost of running.....so it's a complete "lip service" there's not much charity happening.

I also think the majority are applauding Benson for the achievement of raising all that money ..and absolutely fair play to him....again it comes with an "however" was that particular property the best value for the funds...no simply because there's a lot of boxes it doesn't tick and surely someone in the organisation should have said "cool the jets" let's think about this. Though again credit where it's due, there's families availing of a service that wasn't there a year ago!

Absolutely no one is begrudging the parents and families availing of the service.

However a conversation around duplication/triplication and the rest, of charity organizations should absolutely be happening but there's not much appetite for that as they are doing the job the government should be doing. So it's not in the governments interest to bring in rules and regulations.

It's a topic beyond the scope of the thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,228 ✭✭✭✭event

Everyone keeps saying the property wasnt suitable. Everyone keeps saying it was a bad choice. Everyone keeps saying it was a waster of money blah blah.

I'll ask again, can anyone propose somewhere else in Dublin? People saying "they should have gotten 4 apartments". Im sure there are loads of blocks of 4 apartments just waiting to be bought by charities. Has it passed some of ye by we are in the middle of a housing crisis? Any apartments in Dublin are being bought by vulture funds and corporations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,693 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Has it passed ye by that an organisation that can bring in €1 million of free construction work could possible have called in some favours to get first dibs on a few apartments?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,378 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

However they charge the parents and fund raise to cover the cost of running.....so it's a complete "lip service" there's not much charity happening.

Are you saying the costs of running Ronald McDonald House comes entirely from contributions and fundraising?
    I've never looking into the books or finances of McDonalds or Ronald McDonald House. But I'd be very surprised is the above were true.

I'd assume that McDonalds is their largest donator to the charity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 377 ✭✭RurtBeynolds

Yes it was a nice thing to do.

Yes the families will love it.

Yes yer man is a good person.

Yes it was an objectively poor use of resources.

All these things can be true at the same time. Simply highlighting this does not make anyone a be begrudger.

If the government had spent the guts of 3mill on restoring a period property for temp accommodation for families of sick children and it didn't even have disabled access or a single parking space, you can be sure people would call it out for what it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,393 ✭✭✭Princess Calla

No the point I was making is despite McDonald's profits they don't run the Ronald McDonald house purely as a charity with no outside source of funding.

Someone else might do the forensic accounting on their books but at a guess I'd imagine what they do contribute is all within their tax write off margin.

From their website I can see they arrange 5 fundraising events a year.

The charge for a room is a tenner a night, which on the face of it isn't much if your child is only in 5 nights (you probably won't get a room for that depending on the waiting list) however if you are entering day 200....I honestly don't know how families would do it.

So to me it's not a "goodness of their hearts" operation ....which I think is the point the original poster who mentioned them was making.

However they are providing a valuable service and will be opening a new facility in 2026.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,228 ✭✭✭✭event

"Could have"

They could have gotten 10 apartments if thats the case. Quit talking in hypotheticals. I dont know why its so hard to show examples of all these apartments they could have gotten and done up for cheaper. Loads of people on this are adamant they are out there

No the point I was making is despite McDonald's profits they don't run the Ronald McDonald house purely as a charity with no outside source of funding. 

1. Does any charity run without funding
    2. If they excluded donations, but self funded albeit at a much lower turnover. Would that be better? How?

Someone else might do the forensic accounting on their books but at a guess I'd imagine what they do contribute is all within their tax write off margin.

Tax probably is written of. So what?
    do you understand that writing off the tax doesn’t mean it’s not a net cost? (Sorry if that’s a silly question but a lot of people think write off means free donation.
    Should donations be taxed?

>From their website I can see they arrange 5 fundraising events a year.

The globally charity RMDH do only 5 events? I’d say it’s significantly more than that.

The charge for a room is a tenner a night, which on the face of it isn't much if your child is only in 5 nights (you probably won't get a room for that depending on the waiting list) however if you are entering day 200....I honestly don't know how families would do it. 

€2000 for 200 nights is absolutely buttons. What more some effective options would you recommend?

So to me it's not a "goodness of their hearts" operation ....which I think is the point the original poster who mentioned them was making. 

if they did nothing? Would they be better off, worse off, or the same?
    what would they have to do in order for it to be out if goodness?

I’m really curious at your logic here. I like to do my bit for charity where I can. But I’m not giving 100% of disposable .

Of course it's hypotheticals, because it's a hypothetical scenario.

Median price for 1-bed apartment in Dublin in 2018 was <€200k, so what would a 2-bed have been, €250k maybe, being generous.

https://news.myhome.ie/property-report/myhomeie-q1-2018-property-report-in-association-with-davy-27253

So you could have gotten four 2-bed apartments for less that the cost of the one big old rambling house, with minimal renovation work required.

Would that not have been dramatic enough?

Maybe he wanted to give the families a bit of pleasure and joy. I know those feelings are alien to leftists but could you not at least try to understand that everything doesn’t have to be the bare minimum.

It's a bit strange to promoting doing more than the minimum socially, in particular in regards to health, and complaining about the left. What you are describing is much more of a left wing ideal. Right wing health care is abysmal.

So it's leftist now to not pi$$ away charity donations to boost egos?

We did up nearby smaller terraced house, which the tenants set on fire... The builder came on site one day in the first week, decided on health and safety group to knock off all the plaster work left on the ceilings. Everything in the area is listed and your need a special conservation architect, even in a replace like for like job. The architect saw it a few weeks later and went ballistic with the builder. We ended up having to get rid of the architect, and getting new one.

Prices have gone mad. My parents new nextdoor neighbors have spent over 900k + renovating a 5 bed (now 4) Semi D to modern standards. There is no extension in that price. They had planning permission for one, but the money ran out. The first thing my mother thought when she went into the finished house was the rooms now seem smaller. Of course they are insulated internally, as the outside walls are red brick and pebbledash.

Good money in that now days. Back in the day it was DIY. Trying to hook dropped weights with old clothes hangers and replacing sash cords with my auld lad brings back memories.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 331 ✭✭itsacoolday

Wonder is he back tonight with another house that cost 3.2 million?

If he is, hope it looks spectacular and worth at least 3.2 million. Could do with some architectural inspiration this evening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,551 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Similar memories here too. Did an entire convent once with the Da, freeing up what must have been 30-40 pitch pine windows and replacing sash cords in every one during a silent retreat. Some craic.
    Have 4 sash windows here and the cost of replacement are scary, considering using the knowledge gained above and buying in the component parts for a DIY job from these folk.

'A 1lb of clouts. please'. 😁

Sash Window Components | Chiltern Timber

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,153 ✭✭✭Zardoz

Does the 900k include the purchase price of the house ?

No, that was extra! The owners sold a big period house in Rathmines, downsizing for future retirement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,392 ✭✭✭Charles Babbage

That doesn't really add up, even Bannon would do up a house for one third of that price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,153 ✭✭✭Zardoz