Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland vs England - 6N 2025 match thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,600 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

That's a good point. We were inaccurate in our attack close to the England line. But I think it was important that we kept possession on all of our throws. Even if we didn't score we kept the pressure on, forced England to make tackles and wore them down. Between 50-70 minutes, when our substituted raised the tempo, the England pack looked tired and couldn't match our intensity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,602 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

Ya Sam will have a better game against Scotland who are pretty crap. Everyone will.

But after today who would you pick against France ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭almostover

He was mediocre, as you said. Some here can't seem to allow SP to be criticised in any way. This also is nothing like ROG v Sexton. Sexton had steered Leinster to their 1st HC win and ROG was in the twilight of his career when their battle began. Now we have 2 guys under 25 battling for the shirt. Jack Crowley, who I believe is currently the more complete player. And SP who many believe has greater future potential. Potential that he hopefully delivers on. He had both good and bad moments today. As many 21 year olds do in their 1st 6N start. And in their 1st season at senior level.

What I think is rubbing people up the wrong way is that SP has been anointed as the 2nd coming of the messiah by the rugby media. Even Shaggy Horgan was bigging him up on VM pre game. I'm sure SP himself would rather not have that media circus following him around. Matt Williams talking about Crowley's poor kicking from the tee and he then nails a touchline conversion when brought on. How Matt Williams is managing to con a salary out of VM is beyond me.

The issue for me isn't that SP was picked ahead of Crowley today. It's likely a good move long term for Ireland. Giving the new guy with high potential the chance to step up to the highest level. The kind of selection decision we all want on here. The problem is the media circle jerk going on around a precocious 21 year old fly half who's only starting out. That's what creates the discourse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭hogandrew

Also there's a huge difference in facing a rush defence which is fresh and a tiring defence. Same with Marcus and Fin Smith. At the moment I think Prendergast can stretch a defence much better but thought Crowley controlled the tempo when he came on. I'd prefer Crowley to close a game out and Prendergast to chase one. The criticism of either is bizarre given their value to the team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 713 ✭✭✭MangleBadger

I’d still pick Sam. He didn’t do anything to warrant getting dropped. And Crowley didn’t do anything to warrant starting over him. He kicked his points but he had no involvement in the 2 tries scored when he was on the pitch.
    Sam got the assist for Aki and had a number of other passes creating line breaks.

Before the tournament I probably would have started with Jack. But Easterby picked Sam. I think he should stick with him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,348 ✭✭✭joseywhales

I remember watching rog and to a lesser extent sexton break through and honestly they were horrendous when they were young, sexton was decent because they held him back for so long. But they would get isolated, panic and get exposed. The difference is the decision making, you can see it with predergast too, he has a good instinct for where the space is and has the confidence to try to get the ball there even if the execution is often off. Which to me means he has a high ceiling because he will eventually be up to the pace physically and mentally and then the execution will come. Like first half he got himself out of a hole once or twice, that little chip and a half break despite the fact he wouldn't have the acceleration of the players around him. Couple of decent passes too and the loop and straighten , like he can read the play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,290 ✭✭✭Sheep breeder

Agree totally with you, why not sit back and watch the match and enjoy with out all the moaning here during the game, no player takes the field to play bad. The bench is a big thing and when to introduce and impact, the coaches have a plan and the players are directed to carry it and it’s all about the win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,493 ✭✭✭Former Former Former

Prendergast was… fine. Over 60 minutes, he was grand. Positives, negatives. Like the team as a whole he started slowly and got better as he went. It’s a bit of wishful thinking to say he was awful or whatever.

He didn’t settle the debate by a long stretch but equally the debate isn’t settled in Crowley‘s favour either. Crowley did exactly what was needed of him when he came on but not much more than that.

If I had to guess right now, I’d say Prendergast will start next weekend, but I’d be equally happy to see Crowley get the nod. It sounds like a good problem to me.

O'Gara made some big mistakes early on especially for Munster but the massive difference between O'Gara or Sexton and the situation with Prendergast is neither of the former had a similar aged player of the same level.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,613 ✭✭✭theVersatile

https://www.the42.ie/ireland-v-england-player-ratings-2-6611600-Feb2025/

The42.ie Player Ratings from Gavan Casey:

Keenan (8), Hansen (6), Ringrose (7), Aki (7), Lowe (9), Prendergast (5), JGP (9), Porter (8), Kelleher (7), Bealham (8), Ryan (7), Beirne (7), Baird (7), JVDF (8), Doris (7)

Sheehan (9), Healy (N/A), Clarkson (7), Henderson (6), Conan (8), Murray (N/A), Crowley (8), Henshaw (5)

A few interesting grades here (mind, FT number grades are to be taken with a pinch of salt). I said already that Prendergast had a poor opening half hour but 5 seems a bit on the harsher side. (Guardian and Examiner both gave 7s in comparison, RTE 7.5)

RTE more positive across the board. Can't access Irish Times and Irish Independent - behind paywalls. Interesting to see if their views align with these or differ.

• Administrators Posts: 55,019 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

I don’t think so clsmooth. He was very bad.

I am happy to call out mediocrity where I see it, as I have done in the past for Crowley and where I’m sure I’ll do it again in future.

In my mind Prendergast will inevitably become our first choice 10 by a comfortable margin but the only people we’re fooling with this fluffy nonsense about him being kinda ok today if you ignore all the mistakes is ourselves.

Prendergast is good enough that he doesn’t need us to pretend his bad performances were actually good performances, I am sure the lad will prove himself the next time he gets a start. If that’s not the next game then so be it, he only has himself to blame for it if so.

If someone like Billy burns put in Prendergast’s performance today they would be absolutely slated for it.

Honestly I think with the modern game, that both will get 50+ caps over the next few years, playing 30-60 mins a game. Crowley is fast powerful and tough along with the technical skills but I still think predergast will edge him long term, just imo because of his decision making, he seems to have a capacity to consider many options quickly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,861 ✭✭✭✭AbusesToilets

And yet Crowley didn't make those passes. Is he not a top level player then? (He is, and played very well)

Giving Aki a 7 and Prendergast a 5 shows exactly how little credence these rankings should be given. Aki's singular moment of note today came about because of a fantastic pass from Prendergast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 579 ✭✭✭bingobango12

Bit harsh on aki, his try finish was excellent, not many could have stayed in, he had a lot to do but also his change of pace got exposed in defense when he was exposed by smith, given it wasn't all on him , but of a system failure but his recovery was non existent .

Ya I agree that he will edge him and probably more in the long run.

Not sure both can make 50+ full caps but we will probably see both make significant contributions over the next 10 years unless another prodigy comes along.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,905 ✭✭✭shootermacg

This is the kind of post that I just cannot understand. Sam managed to not interest a single defender then slung a pass that isolated Aki on the wing. Aki through speed, brute strength, skill and balance managed to score a wonder try. Sam has none of these attributes.

He is definitely gonna get blocked down a few more times with that long wind up spiral and people are gonna lose their minds about it but sure that's what young tens do.

Genuinely feel you haven't even watched the match to come out with such utter scutter. He causes the English defense to stay on him and Keenan, then throws a literally perfect skip pass to Aki, which hits him in stride at chest height.

Edit: From the 5 min mark on that video, Prendergast has multiple contributions where he puts a player into space, drawing the defender to create a gap before a last second pass puts the outside man through. Anyone saying he did nothing to attract the English defense is talking through their arse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,654 ✭✭✭50HX

Can a separate thread be opened on match day for the 10 debate?

It wasn't the 10 that was at fault for the ropey 20min start nor was it any 10 wonder play that opened them up for the tries, they both went fine, solid not spectacular...that'll do me nicely for a while yet

Pack was mostly v good, Conan was superb on restarts,aggression handling he ticked all boxes today.

Delighted for Sheehan to score on his return, he always goes well v eng.

Henderson did contribute but no more than anyone else would I thought.

Hansen I feel is lucky to be holding that shirt, he's in now with no previous form so will keep it, what have Nash & Osbourne to do to get in

Half backs went well enough I felt

Healy....God at this stage it's getting embarrassing, oi9f he has to play any meaningful minutes v decent opposition I fear for us.

He was caught badly for the try & looked like an old man trundling around....great servant but please pack it in & at this stage it's a v poor reflection on management to keep selecting him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 579 ✭✭✭bingobango12

Absolute nonsense.

”Very bad”. You’ve watched too much of your own team lately to understand a high level game.
    Prendergast was fine, no more. no less. If you think “very bad” I worry for you.

Crowley should start next game. No argument, but “very bad” shows your level of understanding of the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 940 ✭✭✭ujjjjjjjjj

Rog V Sexton is going to look like a walk in the park if this continues.

Some of the utter dross in here about Prendergast's performance is so hard to fathom bar the usual nonsense.

Lad has this season already nailed down the number 1 berth in Leinster and been given the nudge in the six nations to start at ten.

Personally thought he had a fantastic game, mistakes yes but his passing, ability to deliver the ball late and ability to make and find space looks good to me. Looks like a serious operator and yes I am also basing that on what I have seen in Leinster this year.

Let's just sit back and see what happens for the rest of this season. Looks to me that the Irish coaching setup is investing heavily in him as are Leinster and both know a hell of a lot more than anyone on here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,488 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

SP was very good for the first 25 minutes or so but then fell off a cliff performance wise.

Who is his own team? Is this provincial nonsense coming from you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 319 ✭✭Strand1970

Pure provincal Bullshit saying Sam is 0.8 Ross. Crowley is better slightly than Sam at the moment and no one that follows rugby can honestly argue with that. But the irfu like any professional organisation plans for the future and see both lads as the future. I come from connacht and was at the game today and Sam did some lovely inter play with the backs but didn't command the game as number 10 and was to be honest 5 or 6 out of 10. I was dying form Crowley to come on as I thought Sam was out of his depth at times. But Ireland won and both 10's got further game time. Crowley is better at the moment but Sam has a higher ceiling end of story. I couldn't give a rats arse where the players come from as long as Ireland wins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,488 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Well said ,couldn't agree more and I'm a Connacht fan too.

I thought our own lads did us proud. Worried about Finlay's injury.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,181 ✭✭✭ionadnapóca

I would encourage you to rewatch the game again. Very bad? Honestly after rewatching here - he wasn’t brilliant but he was not very bad. There is allot to be encouraged and enjoyed in his performance and I think most will agree on second viewing.

For context ‘very bad’ to me would be:

Another 21 year old outhalfs performance for Ireland v Scotland in 2013.

There was a player who was ill equipped to play test rugby against a rank average Scotland team.

He was too scared, stood too deep and offered nothing other than shuffling the ball on.

Today we have another 21 year old making his 6N debut. Prendergast missed a couple of convertions. Overcooked a couple of kicks. But look at how he took the ball to the line. His bravery. His organisation. His running angles and link play. Some lovely passes.

BB? That’s just an unfair comparison! He should never have been capped. BB, RB or even HB could start v Scotland and Ireland will still win.

For the record I thought Crowley should and would start this game. Now I would be happy with either of them starting v France.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,715 ✭✭✭Ardillaun

I doubt whether many of the Irish alternatives for that position would have scored that try. Working with no space is what he does well. The problems arise when a guy like Smith has lots of space and runs right around him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,715 ✭✭✭Ardillaun

Crowley vs Prendergast is one of those nice problems. I’d like to see more of them.

What a player Sheehan is. We immediately looked livelier when he appeared. He’s more like an extra wing than a centre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 832 ✭✭✭Mr Disco

being generous there with Prendergast rating tbf