Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland vs England - 6N 2025 match thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,014 ✭✭✭clsmooth

I’d be pretty disappointed if I was as an English fan. Borthwick chose a reactive gameplan of slowing down our ball with the 3 7s which in fairness did work to a degree and frustrated us but why not choose Chessum and attack us at the lineout where we’ve been iffy for 18 months? They sacrificed the lineout which seems a bit off seeing as he’s seen as a lineout guru.

Their kicking game paid some dividends especially when they were leading but it must be a bit depressing watching your team behind on the scoreboard chase the game by box kicking it away.

Lose next week against France and I think he might be getting the boot regardless of how they finish the tournament.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,556 ✭✭✭niallm77

To be fair, the first one he got a touch on the ball so had to try and retrieve the situation as it was a 5m scrum otherwise. And he very nearly did get out of the in goal area too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 789 ✭✭✭padraig.od

I'd start the same team next week. With McCarthy fit again that bench would be irresistible.

Biggest complaint is not kicking those penalties in the first half. Also legend that he is, wouldn't have Healy near the team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

Just been reading the commentary in the Times and judging by some of the reporters and most of the fans, the blame isn't being levelled at Borthwick but at 0'Keefe, the referee.

Ireland got 1 penalty after 53/53 min IIRC which was wrong but England were lucky to only have 1 YC. The clear out on Beirne in the first half looked very dodgy. No replays shown which is odd.

Borthwick is a spoofer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,030 ✭✭✭Oíche Na Gaoithe Móire

Ah brilliant! It did no permanent harm anyway.

'Where have you gone Joe DiMaggio? A nation turns It's lonely eyes to you.'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 319 ✭✭Strand1970

Reckon it was right to start Sam today. Hehad a mixed game but let's be fair he is only 21 and if I am not wrong it was his first 6 nations game. I think he will be the real deal in 1- 2 years but still only at the start of his rugby career. Crowley deserves to start next game on merit. Great to have 2 players with so much potential

I don't see us chopping and changing. One of the big things seen as an issue previously was lack of impact off the bench. Today we brought on Conan and Sheehan on 49 minutes and they both played brilliantly. That was follow by Henderson, Crowley, Henshaw who added huge value. We got proper impact off the bench today. It was game changing.

Murray and Healy are done in few months by all accounts and it shows, so LHP is a real concern but Clarkson on the other side did fine when he came on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 832 ✭✭✭Mr Disco

absolutely, prendergast was like little boy lost out there at times

No he wasn't. You clearly didn't watch the game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,905 ✭✭✭shootermacg

Sam is like a Ross 0.8. He has absolutely nothing and is easily the worst ten in the 6N and I'm including Italy in that. This "ah shur isn't he only 21" crap has to end. Let him grow up in the academy where he belongs. It's reaching piss take levels of copium currently. 33% kick success, slung 2 balls to Aki and Lowe who then made supernatural efforts to not get hammered into touch. He stands so deep that he's need to call a taxi to take it to the line. It's Frawley I feel sorry for, it must be killing him to see that lumbering plank of wood taking his place.

Post edited by aloooof on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,476 ✭✭✭Dick phelan

I honestly don't understand why Henderson is in the squad at this point. Well past it and offers very little.

Henderson actually had a decent impact today. Sheehan and Conan had the stand out performances off the bench but Henderson brought a lot too.

• Administrators Posts: 55,019 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Prendergast was very poor and anyone trying to suggest he was anything other than very poor is just making a fool of themselves. “I can’t believe people are talking about the 10 after this win.”. Give us a break.

on the back of today Crowley absolutely must start the next game.

I think longer term SP is definitely the man and his ceiling is much higher than Crowley IMO but he stank the place out today and he’s too good a player for people to feel compelled to try bullshit everyone by pretending he wasn’t awful today. A few glimpses of decent play does not make up for what was, overall, a fairly mediocre outing. He is young, he will learn from it.

England scored a try pretty much directly off one of his absolutely awful kicks. Albeit I think Beirne? totally fluffed a tackle in the process.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,602 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

On what planet was that "superb". Even trying to big him up I wouldn't call it mir Ethan grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,862 ✭✭✭✭AbusesToilets

The part where he repeatedly made accurate long passes to put lads into space, breaking the English defensive line and setting up tries. The full match is up on the rugby catch up site. Feel free to go and watch it back and compare the passing contributions of Prendergast and Crowley.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,030 ✭✭✭Oíche Na Gaoithe Móire

What's annoying is when people posting see this match only through the Prendergast/Crowley lens.

The game was defined by the momentum shift when Sheehan and Conan came on. Service was better then for the backs.

Just be glad we have 2 good young outhalves. They'll shuffle around with regards to who starts and finishes. Both roles are equally important.

Too many posters were waiting and wanting for one of the young lads to slip up. We're all on the one team.

Post edited by Oíche Na Gaoithe Móire on

'Where have you gone Joe DiMaggio? A nation turns It's lonely eyes to you.'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,014 ✭✭✭clsmooth

‘Very poor, stank the place out, awful, fairly mediocre’. Some amount of hyperbole going on there Awec.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,868 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

Lots of people in here hoping Prendergast had a bad game. Didn't think we'd get back to Sexton vs Rog so fast.

He didn't make any passes that were not expected of a top level player. Nothing exceptional whatsoever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,600 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

It was notable how much impact our bench forwards had in comparison to England's. Conan and Sheehan were constantly getting over the gain line with big carries.

Cunningham-South's biggest contribution was shooting out of the line and leaving a gap in defence for Lowe to burst through. Led to the Beirne try. Tom Willis was anonymous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,093 ✭✭✭CMcsporty

Strap yourself in! It’s going to be a long 10 years!!

It was great to see Prendergast settle into himself. The pass to release Bundee for his incredible try was lovely.

Thought Crowley did well when he came on.

Things are looking up at outhalf!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 287 ✭✭thamus doku

let’s say it was Crowley who started today and played at the same level as prendergast did.
    We would never hear the end of it.

Crowley was a key part of the last 6 nations win and in South Africa played well , but Before a ball was kicked against New Zealand in the autumn we were being told he needed to improve his game and he was under pressure to keep his place.

It made no sense than and makes no sense now

Equally the treatment of nash and Osborne makes zero sense.
    How does starting Hansen and Keenan over Nash and Osborne make any sense, where is the reward for young players when they play great stuff at the highest level but to be dropped for a guy who took a gap period to play 7s and another who is playing poorly.

We are told strong competition is crucial to the squad but it seems that’s only at the 10 position and when it suits.

It's not about having a bad game. It's about would another player (who we have available) have been better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭prishtinaboy99

Gotta play your form players .SP is a kid, get him starting against Italy and Wales but Crowley gets that back line ticking…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭OldRio

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,600 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

Ireland are officially down for 23/23 at the lineout. That's a fantastic turn around from November and a vindication of what the players and coaches must surely have been working on these past few weeks.

But it's also an indictment on England's selection policy. They essentially selected three open side flankers in their backrow. None of whom are recognised as good lineout jumpers. They sacrificed competing at that set piece to frustrate us at the breakdown instead. They did win turnovers there, but every side that has beaten us in recent times has targeted our lineout and stopped us from launching attacks. England gave up on that before the game. Borthwick has to be criticised for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 713 ✭✭✭MangleBadger

This is going to be a long tournament if every little thing either 10 does gets dissected by next the microscope.
    I think Sam had an average game. The first conversion was obviously poor, among a couple of other mistakes. But he also displayed some of his passing range.
    Jack was good when he came on but he didn’t really to anything to shout about either.
    I think Sam if he gets picked next week will have a much better time against a less aggressive Scottish defence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭almostover

In fairness, I don't think we scored anything off lineout ball today though. We must have kicked to the corner close to 10 times and got turned over each and every time. So maybe the three open sides worked in that respect? Our attacking maul wasn't good today and we struggled to open England up when close to the line. All 4 tries came from much deeper.

But I agree, it's a huge relief that we went 100% on our own throw today. Kudos to the coaching staff and players on righting that wrong.