If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Dublin GAA Discussion Thread: Mod Note - No 'Dublin Dominance' chat allowed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 376 ✭✭frankled

Cluxton in for this year, Mannion and McCaffrey likely out.

https://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/stephen-cluxton-back-in-dublin-squad-as-paul-mannion-and-jack-mccaffrey-opt-out/a1442234779.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,571 ✭✭✭rolling boh

Delighted to got the win beforehand wasn't too sure we would do it when I saw the team named .Will have to study the rules a little more to really form any strong views on the games .I would think the game wouldn't suit Stevo can't see him up and down the pitch .We failed to win much from our kickouts ,but a lot of solid enough performances so we are up and running.Wins in this division will be hard earned I think and think Mayo might struggle on tonight's showing though I know they will have stronger teams later on .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,640 ✭✭✭✭JRant

Howard stepped up in midfield and did an awful lot of the dirty work, plus his high fielding was superb. Kilkenny kept the attack moving when it needed it.

Overall it was a good performance but slightly different to what we've seen to date. The new rules mean the keeper has to be the fitest person on the pitch and more of an outfielder. I wonder if teams will move towards a hybrid goalkeeper approach where the keeper is really the corner back allowing that extra player to roam at will.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,233 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

I said similar re-keeper on the GAA rules page.

Would have suited a peak Cluxton. Definitely will see more Ethan Rafferty types.

Does anyone have idea which Dublin player would suit as a rampaging outfielderkeeper?

First one comes to my mind is Niall Scully loves roaming anywhere on the pitch. And is composed on the ball.

Surprising not to see a few Dublin two pointers.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,195 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Would fancy Dean Rock as a keeper with these rules.

Extremely accurate kick-outs, intelligent runs and able to kick points when in space.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,037 ✭✭✭YabaDabaDooley

Looks like another top two lads gone in Jack MaCaffrey and Paul Mannion. Add them to Fento and James Mc and thats four of the greatest footballers to ever play for the county. Some servants. Will be missed.

Positive that Stephen Cluxton is going for another year. John Small too. Not sure abput Mick Fitz hopefully he gives it another year. Good to have Davy Byrne back. Costelloe and Paddy Small will add strength to the forward options. King Con come back when he's ready. A rest could do him the world of good before he starts terrorising defenders again.

And all the new lads bringing fresh blood and enthusiasm trying to get into the first 15 that will re-engerise some of the older lads. New faces, new voices. Can't be a bad thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 278 ✭✭GHendrix

I’m not a hardcore GAA fan but always tune in to watch the Dubs. I see there are some new rules but can anyone explain why the goalkeeper’s are playing outfield so much??

Reminds me of being a kid on the street playing last man back ha

Avoids the 3 v3 rule goalie not counted as having to keep at least 3 players in either half. That only applies to outfielders not goalkeepers.

https://www.gaa.ie/article/football-review-committee-rule-enhancements-explainer

Post edited by gormdubhgorm on

Not sure he would have the legs for a 70 have to.be mobile as well as those other attributes. I was thinking if Dublin 6/7 down 15/20 left throw him on as “keeper” work him into the 2 pockets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,231 ✭✭✭diceyreilly

I heard on the radio/podcast today that J. Small not deffo playing this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,222 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,491 ✭✭✭Gael85

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,088 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

Well, my fellow compatriots, I hope all is well this fine Friday evening.

I'm not able to head on up tomorrow to Ballybofey, so would any of ye have any use for a couple of gratis tickets to the game? Or indeed know anyone who would make use of them?

Hate seeing tickets going unused.

If you offer Farrell a point, I would say he would take it. Donegal have a great record up there. I view this as a bonus game. As long as Dublin beat Galway and Derry should be grand for another year.

There was a real vibrancy about Dublin’s play v Mayo. New faces stood up, more of the same hopefully.

Really interested to see what plans McGuinness will come up with he is bound to be scheming some tactic or other. Ironic really as he was the cause of the new rules, when other counties copied the worst parts of his “innovations”. But were too afraid to counter much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,872 ✭✭✭MFPM

Donegal beginning to pick off a few scores, bit more clinical than Dublin despite Dublin playing last week.

Poor miss by Basquel, loads of time and space.

Game and a half gone still have not seen a dub 2 pointer. D.OBaoil for Donegal already got two “2 pointers” in 35 minutes. Enjoyable match though.

The two pointers are should I say the lack of them from our point of view is a serious disadvantage in the game .Midfield like last week seems to a problem as well .

Bán Gallagher waltzing through the Dublin defence to score, Donegal win the restart.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,172 ✭✭✭youcancallmeal

Dublin kickouts seem to be an issue, lots of 50/50 balls into the middle we didn't win

Absolutely, an issue all night. Deserved win for Donegal, Dublin very poor up front.

Kickouts definitely a problem only watched this on telly so not sure was it the same as last week with poor kickouts but few options open to him .Donegal deserved the win overall though .Don't think EOD will cut it as an inter County footballer though .

I dont think Lahiff is up to it and Eoghan O Donnell is not a forward whatever about him playing elsewhere. He's like a bull but hasnt the skill or cuteness required to be a top class forward. Granted its a small sample size but he's done very little in either game and looks awkward on the ball.

No big surprise Mick Fitz unlikely to be back according to Dessie .What a fantastic player he has been for us very lucky to have had him .

• Subscribers Posts: 16,881 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

EO’D did well enough last week, made the goal with a couple of sidesteps and good touch and had a lot of other good touches. Didn’t go as well for him tonight, tried a bit too much for the conditions. Ref was ropey enough too, missed a lot of easy decisions, eg lahiff getting a two handed push just as shooting. Was at the game last week so didn’t get to hear Goughs ‘commentary’ but this week it was farcical. Not sure we need the crap they’ve added in England with an ex ref just coming in to explain why every decision was a good one.

Our kicks outs were poor both halfs, all 50 50s even when obvious medium to short balls were on, was tough though, which explains a lot of the first half balloons but not so much the second half ones.

Half time antics from donegal were typical Jimmy stuff, leaving fans, other team and officials freezing on the pitch. Then having the cheek to hold up game further while subs and about 20 hangers on traipse across pitch was a bit much, ref can’t do much about them being ignorant and not appearing but he could have started game and let all the extras go around the pitch.

Class act on and off the field. Great to see him win the club All Ireland, also. He's done it all and won it all. Never let Dublin down on the big day. Another top man gone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 437 ✭✭Charlo30

2 games in and a bit of mixed bag. Some good moments but midfield is a real worry and defense looks shaky. From what I've seen (admittedly a small sample size) neither O'Donnell or Lahiff look up to it at this level. We may not be romping Leinster the way we have for the last 15 years.

Finally best of luck to Mick Fitz in his retirement. An absolute Dublin legend. I was delighted for him winning the Club title.

The thing yesterday I didn’t get why did Sheridan keep wandering way up the pitch and rarely got the ball? It was literally pointless. At least have some plan worked out?

I think he is definitely the weakest link of the new faces. Obviously Dessie sees something I don’t. Amazed Sheridan appeared out of nowhere for this league. Considering there were at least 2/3 lads I would have thought were ahead of him after Cluxton.

Would E'OD (Nearly typed E'OG!!!) be better off playing in midfield winning ball and just laying it off?

I don't mind having players like him, sometimes a game needs physical strength.horses for courses. Gives options. Doubt he will stay as a starter when everyone fit though. He was good against Mayo in fairness.

Kind of ironic given he is Eoghan is a thinking man's hurler. But in football he is the man for the "unit presence"