If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Dublin GAA Discussion Thread: Mod Note - No 'Dublin Dominance' chat allowed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,037 ✭✭✭YabaDabaDooley

It was quite evident listening to a lot of the Cuala fans today mostly teenagers they have what shall we say a very posh D4 accent. Never really heard that going to Dublun matches from the late 1980's up to today.

Maybe back.in the day there was a kind of belief in Dublin GAA circles that some of the southside clubs were a bit soft.

Well that notion is well and truly gone now because posh accents or not these Dalkey lads are warriors in the big ball and small ball. And its great to see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,210 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

To paraphrase Philly McMahon singing on the bus after the 2011 AI win. Dublin had “The poshest full back line in the world” 🤣

(Fitzsimons, O’Carroll, O’Sullivan)

Always makes me laugh when I think that.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,222 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

When Tommy Lyons was in charge Dublin was dominated by players from Southside clubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 832 ✭✭✭Krazy gang

I'm not from Dublin and I was delighted to see na fianna winning. It would be great if dublin could become a force at inter County level. Super performance yesterday

We have been spoiled in Dublin the last 15 years with the footballers but for those of us from the capital that like the small ball as well we have had some good days like the 2009 National League Div 1 final win v Kilkenny and the 2013 Leinster final win over Galway. Only for Ryan Dwyers harsh sending off with 20 mins left in that years All Ireland semi final v Cork it's a game i felt we may well have won.

The one thing i would love to see is a Dublin senior hurling team reach an All Ireland final. Not necessarily to win it. Just to be able to say you were there to see it. Obviously to win a hurling All Ireland would be a dream.

Unfortunately we are along way from achieving that at the moment. Days like yesterday are a huge boost to hurling in the county. Three club All Irelands in last decade is some going. To try and translate to the county team is the next step. Lots of goid work going on but the tradition of winning is judt not there like the footballers. We had good days under Dalo. Dublin showed last year they were good enough to reach a Leinster final. The wheels came off to Kilkenny though which can happen. Making the top 3 in Leinster is again the aim this year. Another Leinster final appearance would be great but any talk of challenging for an All Ireland would be unwise as we're a long way from that i feel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 437 ✭✭Charlo30

I think for Hurling to really come to prominence. It needs the footballers to have a few lean years and hurlers to steadily improve until they are competing in the business end of the Championship. It looks like the footballers will be facing some lean times. But the jury is out on weather the Hurlers can kick on.

In Dublin the footballers take centre stage. It is the game where our GAA legends made their name. As gorm said we have familial links to football with the likes of Brogans, Rocks, McCarthys and McCaffreys. Football is sexy in the capital it is glamour the full Hill 16 on a summers day unrivalled. Names like King Con, Diarmuid Connolly, Brogans, Mullins, Keaveney all legends forever more. The way Dubs fans love their footballers and talk about games at length and with great knowledge.

What do the hurlers have in comparison? Not much it has to be said. What hurling legends would be household names down the years? Dotsy, Keaney, Sutcliffe to name a few but only diehard hurling fans would know of them less alone know what they look like (wearing helmets doesnt help). Small crowds with a lot of fans just turning up to big Dublin games but could barely talk about any player or the team before a game or after a game. It's just not a part of our culture and we have little tradition of winning in hurling.

You compare our hurling culture to say Kilkenny where it is a religion. Like our footballers the familial links with Kilkenny hurling is incredible. Powers, Delaneys, Fennelly's, traditions passed down from one generation to the next. Huge crowds at club games where performances are analysed and dissected. Just look at the Kilkenny forum on here and see how seriously they take their hurling. It is part of who they are. Like us Dubs with football.

I would love it to change but we just dont have that culture in hurling. Its great to see all the work being done and winning club All Irelands but im not sure hurling will ever share a place in our hearts that football does.

The real turning point is if a Dublin footballer switches to Dublin hurling at his peak. So far it has only happened when a fella can't get into the Dublin Panel (Dotsy), is fading a footballer Shane Ryan, or goes in his twlight years for the craic (Conal Keaney)

Unforunately I can't see it happening the pull of football is too strong, and it wasn't long ago that Football fans in Dublin would view hurling as "a game for the culchies" that they were not to pushed about at all.

I don't think Tommy Lyons tenure did much to change the "Southside softie" perception that was there at the time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,222 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

Hurling will always play 2nd fiddle to football in the capital. It's just a fact that there is more glamour and prestige playing football than hurling and also greater chance of success . The hurlers will always have that core support at matches , the likes that would attend league games in Parnell or travel away from home. Until the hurlers are successful and the bandwagon fraternity appear at matches that will never change.

I don't ever remember a senior Dublin football dominated by southside players. By dominate i'd expect minimum 10 of the 15 starters to be from the southside. Was that the case? Maybe it was i cant remember.

What i do remember was how dominant southside hurling clubs were on the Dublin senior team at times in last 10 years. I even think all 15 starters were from southside clubs for some games.

It has changed last few years with Na Fianna having a few and a few others.

I remember Dublin hurlers were dominated by northside clubs in the mid to late 80s with Craobh Ciaran, Vincents and O Tooles supplying a large amount of players. Southside clubs once again like the football were seen as being soft but after suffering a few club finak defeats the two soutside giants of Ballyboden and Kilmacud started to win and gradually took over completely.

Isn't the core support Dublin hurling 2000/3000? Anyway in the nicest possible way Dublin hurling supporters that go home and away league, championship etc are lunatics. All that effort for so little reward.

I have a tendency to only go to matches at home, in Parnell, Croke Park reluctantly (harder to see hurling match). I might go to a "big" away match in Semple, Wexford Park etc in the championship.

But you would find a lot of Dubs even GAA fans might not even know a hurling match is on, when there is less high profile games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 437 ✭✭Charlo30

Would disagree with you there. I think the real turning point will be when Dublin begins to produce out and out hurlers. In other words guys that play little or no football. That is starting to happen but there's a way to go yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 324 ✭✭Billy_the_Kid
    Master

Intercounty hurling is not very popular in Dublin but the club game is actually in a very healthy place - lots of great (non dual) young players coming through in Crokes, NaF, Boden, Cuaka and others

The clubs are strong well 5 or 6 are very strong but very few spectators go to games. You see huge crowds at Kilkenny club games, big crowd at Cork county final, Tipp decent and Galway. Bar the participating club members and supporters neutrals do not attend games in Dublin like they do in other counties. Thats part of what i mean there isnt the hurling culture here that there is in other counties

The nearest other county I can think to Dublin's situation is when Tipp were going well in the football for a short while, and they still had poor crowds. Then all the good dual lads jumped ship to hurling.

I couldn't compare Dublin to Cork because historically decent teams in both codes can win all-irelands. Crowd wise inter county foootball in Cork definitely seems second fiddle to the hurling. I doubt that will ever change. Even though Cork have had great football clubs like Nemo and Barrs.

In Dublin there is potential for it to change, I think it will take a few glamour players from Dublin to make younger fans pester their parents to go to Dublin hurling matches. But then it is less less likely to get the glamour players if they are moving to football sort of a chicken and egg scenario.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,491 ✭✭✭Gael85

A couple salty posters on that club thread, wouldn't bother entertaining them. Well done to Na Fianna and Cuala.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,571 ✭✭✭rolling boh

Barely any build up to the league starting tonight having seen the team ,fair few familar names but doesn't look that strong so will be a difficult match tonight .With two hard away games to follow ,we need to win this one or else will be a fight to stay in the division I feel .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,195 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Looking at the team, if all the retirement rumours are true, it is close to first choice. Only the Cuala players are missing.

Smallish crowd expected 25k-30k. Thought more would be interested in the new football rules for a start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,571 ✭✭✭rolling boh

Think that would be decent it's pretty cold out there .

E’O’Donnell full forward interesting, HT other standouts McEneaney and Bugler.

-

New rules like watching minor from years ago. Have not seen so much space available since Covid times!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,102 ✭✭✭Sultan of Bling

Enjoying the new rules so far.

The game is a lot more free flowing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 937 ✭✭✭Dogsdodogsstuff

Did the linesman miss only 2 mayo lads in their half? Around 50th minute ? Freezing my nads off here and trying to warm myself up with anger

With the retirements of Fento and James Mc it's comforting to see the calming presence of Ciaran Kilkenny knock over a few trademark scores. Important for new players to have experienced men like Ciaran to learn from.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭babybuilder

Frankenstein football

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,545 ✭✭✭OwlsZat

Where are ye watching it, is it on TG4 or GGA go?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭babybuilder

• Subscribers Posts: 16,881 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

Great win, the result didn’t matter too much, but good to get it having played well for the players. Madden looked v solid. Eoghan O'Donnell did well. Kevin lahiff looks great. Davy Byrne looked as before, great player, too many risks sometimes. McGinnis and mceneany looked good also. ‘Old boys’ in Kilkenny, Howard and Bugler very good also.

Liked new rules, would have been perfect for some of our past teams. Generally only small bad point was maybe a bit of better finishing and maybe taking a couple more goals. Best point for me was likely having so many big men perform well, doesn’t prove anything but on that showing a few other teams won’t fancy us at all. Nobody was being pushed around and both Madden and O’Donnell had some people bounce off them early on and following that were left have the ball once received it.

Yes agree with this. Lots of positives. Plenty of hunger shown which is a good sign. Lads look mad for road. Competition for places will keep training at a high level. Bit of doom and gloom after the two lads retired but life goes on and there's no shortage of good footballers in Dublin. We'll have a strong team come championship