Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hamas strike on Israel - mod warning in OP updated 19/10/23

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭political analyst

Higgins is criticised in the editorial of today's edition of The Times (UK) for comparing the Holocaust to the war in Gaza.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,701 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

Pfft…just more anti Irish tripe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,273 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

Some outrageous errors here : Israel closed their embassy in Ireland, not Ireland (Irish Government wanted it kept open).

The IRA was a tiny illegal organisation in WW2, which regarded the Irish state as illegitimate. Most of its members were banged up in prison.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,978 ✭✭✭Suckler

For a piece of text that long, it's tellingly scant on any real detail.

The irony to mention "false equivalence" and then to lump us in with Somalia and North Korea…

Also it's anecdote about the embassy is arseways but I'm sure we should just keep quiet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,612 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

2 out of every 3 european jews and 60% of the entire world jewish population were killed. But yeah sure, it wasn't a genocide and could have been worse. Its telling that someone so keen to label the israel hamas war as an actual genocide can't even bring himself to say the same about the Holocaust.

I never said it wasn't a genocide - I quite clearly state it was and even stated the Jews were the primary victim of it.

Do keep up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,701 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

It's a miserable little screed that's unreflective of anything at all.

It's funny though, the people who are "upset" with Higgins' speech the other day are big on their performative outrage, but very short on providing any actual quotes on what it was that upset them so.

Frankly, from what I've read of his speech, it would only be people who are, at best, of very dubious moral character and, at worst, disappointed that the slaughter has ended that would be upset at what Higgins has said.

A mirror is being held up to some people and they don't like what's being reflected back at them.

Its telling that someone so keen to label the israel hamas war as an actual genocide can't even bring himself to say the same about the Holocaust.

It's also quite telling that someone (and others) so keen to rightly ensure the genocide against the Jews (primarily) can't even bring himself to say the same about the treatment of the Palestinians (pre & post 7th Oct.)

BTW telling 'nice' touch to simply refer to the "Israel - Hamas" war……no need to reference the Palestinian civilians in Gaza…..and now West Bank.

I wouldn't even be a big fan of Higgins, but his speech seemed moderate and restrained, calling for peace in the region and a two state solution. We've come to the point where virtually any implied criticism of the Israeli government and its actions in Gaza for the last 16 months is seen as a disgusting and reprehensible attack on Jewish people and a clear example of anti-Semitism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,076 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

It looks like '' the Chosen People '' don't like the truth being brought up. Shur didn't God tell them that the entire land was theirs thus the Palestinians have to be driven out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,633 ✭✭✭✭Igotadose

Speaking of waiting on answers from the obsessive anti-Jewish one:

1. Define Zionist
    2. Would Alexander Mayorkas qualify as a Zionist?
    3. Why do you believe Kamala Harris isn't black - that sure sounds like you're deep down the racist rabbit hole, which frankly wouldn't be surprising. But, do, share with us your reasoning about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 666 ✭✭✭engineerws

Suspected war criminal welcomed warmly by Starmer's government.

Apparently declassified UK were the only ones to document his visit 😔. What's really striking is how security addresses the journalist while helping a suspected war criminal.

I wonder have the UK media always been this useless or is it just that I'm older now?

Post edited by engineerws on

What on earth is a senior IDF general doing meeting the UK's Ministry of Defence in London? It does illustrate just how complicit Britain is in the atrocities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 771 ✭✭✭Miniegg

Jaysus @political analyst you'd want to sign up for a job on the Times, you (and many on here) would do a far better job pushing yer character assassination agenda than that poorly written, poorly researched, factually incorrect and utterly biased piece of garbage. So many facts wrong in there, I'm genuinely surprised that passed through an editor and was published.

If they are willing to tell those kinds of lies about us, imagine the lies being spun about the Palestinians.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 554 ✭✭✭Bitcoin

Starmers wife is Jewish and his children are raised Jewish, whose side do you think he's going to take?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 771 ✭✭✭Miniegg

Btw, I'm not trying to catch anyone out but am asking a genuine question about Zionismz and alot of people here seems to be knowledgeable about it. Is there a geographical size limit to Zionism? What size is the Jewish homeland? Does Zionism involve forever obtaining more land to increase its size, or is it (in theory) happy with defined borders?

This is genuinely what it says on Wikipedia - is this accurate??

Zionists wanted to create a Jewish state in Palestine with as much land, as many Jews, and as few Palestinian Arabs as possible.

If that is the case - is that homeland within the defined borders that currently exist? If not - and the quest is constantly for more land and less Arabs - why would anybody be "for that"? How is thinking that is not good, and no different to colonialism, be against the Jewish faith? I'm sure it is someone trolling but it's been up there for a few days.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Zionism

Gabor mate is Jewish as are lots of anti war people but yeah, certainly appears like Starmer is committed Zionist happy to put Palestinian babies in trash bags. Why do so many despicable people get into power, perhaps it's a willingness to do whatever horrific crimes they deem necessary.

Starmer also was responsible for Assanges extradition.

https://www.declassifieduk.org/cps-has-destroyed-all-records-of-keir-starmers-four-trips-to-washington/

Hard to imagine a worse replacement for a genuinely honest and decent Corbyn.

Post edited by engineerws on

For a "Labour" PM, Starmer is incredibly right wing. You can actually tell he has no real connection to the party and its history or roots in it. It's as if a right wing Tory MP jumped ship and moved across the chamber. His support for Israel in that context should not come as a surprise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,027 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Bear in mind Tony Blairs new Labour and how it took several steps towards if not past the centre and it feels like it's Tory, Tory Lite or Tory Right (Reform) that are the options for UK voters who genuinely want to elect a government.

Yes indeed, Blair's New Labour was already edging right of centre (and very much so in its support for Bush's disastrous invasion of Iraq). Starmer though is easily the most right wing Labour PM there has ever been - but as you suggest, the entire political spectrum in the UK seems to have gone that way since Brexit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,109 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

The Labour party can never get elected under a Corbyn like candidate for PM. To get elected they are forced to at least the center.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,332 ✭✭✭SeanW

[sarcasm]Of course, you're so right[/sarcasm]

Of course you have to ignore the fact that Israel has conducted itself broadly as one would expect any belligerent to do in any all out war, and it was provoked in two of its most recent wars (7 Oct 2023 in Gaza and from the 8th of October 2023 onwards they were attacked constantly by Lebanon). Indeed, as I demonstrated in a video post recently, Israel's strategic posture is based on its horrifying geopolitics, not the other way around.

Meanwhile the much larger Nazi Germany started all of its wars totally unprovoked against countries and peoples who were not looking for a fight, and actually did things one would expect in an actual genocide, e.g. organising trainloads of people to be killed in Zyklon B "showers" in death camps.

But like you say, if you ignore all the differences between Israel and Nazi Germany, then you can fabricate a twisted worldview in which both are exactly the same 🙄 And you have clearly done so.

https://u24.gov.ua/
    Join NAFO today:

Help us in helping Ukraine.

I was to living in the UK when Corbyn was in charge and ad the opinion he was crazy. Then I watched him in parliament and couldn't understand the commentary as he seemed decent, logical and an eloquent speaker.

OMG. Words fail me. But if people are marching with banners - or alongside those doing so - of Hezbollah and signs with "Lets Go Bomb Tel-Aviv" I think we come to our conclusions about them, and probably about their cause.

Join NAFO today:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,327 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

One of their similarities is that they all have or had their excuses and justification SeanW. The Nazis, the Russians, the zionists. And they were or are able to convince enough supporters to row in behind them. That's how atrocities and genocides happen.

So yes, if you ignore all the differences, you can imagine similarities. Glad we've cleared that up.

Of course none of the people claiming that there is a "genocide" in Gaza can explain how Israel's conduct has been different to any other belligerent in any other all-out war in history.

Join NAFO today:

It has been explained to you many times. There are admittedly some overlaps between the Russian invasion of Ukraine (such as targeting the theatre full of kids and hospitals) but if you can tell me a supposed liberal democracy which has murdered tens of thousands of its neighbouring women and kids in the last few years, in circumstances which amount to little more than the proverbial shooting fish in a barrel, by all means enlighten us.

Oh, and btw, to your point about the Germans starting trouble against people not looking for a fight, may I remind you of Fat Yakob from New York justifying his stealing of the Palestinian house because "If I don't steal it, someone else will". A bit of oul' lebensraum for Fat Yakub! Fighting for his survival no doubt.

There are your kind of people apparently SeanW.

The ironic thing - which I've pointed out before - is that so much of Irish "support" for the zionists (although in a tiny minority of the country overall) seems to be driven by racists and Islamophobes who just like seeing muslims get killed. They aren't smart enough to realise that the consequence is just more of the hated people being driven to seek refuge in the West. If Israel succeeds in its ethnic cleansing goals then be happy when there are tens of thousands of Palestinians arriving here in a short space of time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 305 ✭✭REDBULL68

Great Post ol Donald, fair play .

In what other country with claimed Western values and standards would you see armed forces throwing stun grenades at journalists on an otherwise empty street, followed by other soldiers in an armoured vehicle deliberately trying to run the journalists down.