Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

⚠️ Storm Éowyn - Fri 24.01.25 (**Please read Mod Instruction in OP.**)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,735 ✭✭✭Kat1170

The army can't do a single thing until tasked by the government, a government made up by TDs both sides of the Shannon by the way.

Also that's an article from a local provincial paper, are there no local provincial journalists or papers West of the Shannon to report on the suitation ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 986 ✭✭✭mykrodot

the optics are very poor, the Govt were very late to even acknowledge the amount of damage….. they had a heads up from Met Eireann since early last week on the seriousness of this storm. They turned down an offer of EU assistance (generators and technicians) last Wednesday. Very poor performance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,144 ✭✭✭Chris_5339762

Solar panels don't work when the power is off. Sounds crazy yes, but they are designed that way, basically, so as not to try to export to a grid that the ESB thinks is off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,168 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

My parents had a 05 Feb restoration date on powercheck, Galway/Clare border near Kinvara but were delighted to get their power back at 12:00 yesterday afternoon, then last night at 23:00 the transformer at the top of their road randomly burst into flames! Back to 05 Feb date now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭Jonnyc135

Investment in solar, battery storage and an electric car. The capital outlay to buy a solar and battery storage system to power a house and heat pump of a 16kVa connection for give or take a week and also charge an electric car would cost colossal money 100+ grand, without taking into account 3ph connection fees.
    Not to mention you would only be able to export 16kVA back to the grid at anytime so you would never have a payback in normal times. If you wanted a higher export you would need a 3ph connection from the ESB and depending on your location from a 3ph line it could be huge money that’s without the ESB even investigating whether the nearest 3 ph line would have the rating or spare capacity to take the extra loading.
    Crazy statement, small bit of timber and a solid fuel stove, or even better a small generator connected to your house via changeover switch enough to power 5kVa would be more than enough to get a 0.75kW circulating pump going for oil fired system or a solid fuel back boiler stove/range.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭goldsparkle

I had some horrendous restoration estimates that kept changing but the power came on this evening. It was the fourth day without power and the first time it went for this long. Delighted it's back. The water is still low. I suspect it will be a while before that comes back.

Definitely the worst storm I ever saw and experienced. Every second home has some damage - trees, walls, gutters, fences - there was just so much damage.

I am lucky in that the house held up well, thank goodness and there's only some fallen trees to sort out and to plan to trim the trees down at some point. On my list of things to do.

I know others would be worse.

I am exhausted. From having a severe migraine for a few days last week in the run up to the storm, no sleep during the storm, and then spending the past three days living out of a backpack and spending the day in the city to find a pub with a fireplace, warm meals, warm drinks, power points. I know I am lucky in the grand scheme of things.

I am never going to forget this in a hurry. From holding the cat tight on Thursday night and crying into him and doing pub crawls of Galway looking to charge my phone and looking to get internet and connection.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭goldsparkle

I still don't fully trust the power. And I am still charging a few things just in case the power goes out again while more restoration works continue on locally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,487 ✭✭✭✭JCX BXC

That is untrue. If an employer shuts the premises due to exceptional circumstances (i.e the weather) then they are under no obligation to pay you. They can make you use holidays or take it unpaid, an option which many large employers chose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 552 ✭✭✭kazoo106

I have been through a lot of Louth, Monaghan, Cavan, Meath and Fermanagh since Saturday morning carrying out repairs for the company I work for. The biggest impedement has to have been lack of mobile signal and I particularly single out Vodafone here. They are just letting cell sites die when batteries expire and it is not acceptable - large urban areas with absolutely nothing including Castleblayney. This is unacceptable on evey level. I was lucky to have another phone on the 3 network where there were none of these issues and hats off to 3 they seem to have managed their network better, at least in this part of the world.
    The damage from this storm is like nothing I have ever seen before - I remember those storms in the 80s and the ones at Christmas 97 and 98 and this one was bigger.

There needs to be a task force establisahed which makes it Illegal to have trees growing within a certain distance of a road, dont give me that green crap, there are plenty of places where trees can grow, just not along roads. This alone wil save lives and also landline and fibre based networks

Comreg should also make it cumpulsory and manditory for evey major cell site to have a generator - not just batteries which last 12 hours - this would eliminate some of the issues we are seeing for the last number of days. I would be surprised if many of the sites even have batteries. This is important and if it costs an extra €5 to my monthly bil, Im absolutely fine with that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,283 ✭✭✭Dazler97

They should have called this a national emergency then the government would have put things in place for people impacted by the storm but glad met eirrean put the whole country in a red warning ⚠️ and even the north in a red ,not often we see that only once before I think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,656 ✭✭✭yagan

Watching the news earlier rte clearly thought the dail spat more important than hundreds of thousands still affected in the worse natural disaster of the state.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 637 ✭✭✭Robwindstorm

Hi all. Busy thread with many opinions so I'll just throw in mine. Firstly ownership of trees will in alot of cases come down to the farmer. However farmers were encouraged in the past decade or more, to enter environmental schemes that composed of planting thousands of trees and hedgerows. These had to proven purchased through government backed nurseries who were inundated and unable to supply such. The government decided to import sappling trees rather than give more time for the schemes to bed in. The imports have resulted in our beautiful ash being decimated and rotting on the roadsides, not the farmers fault. They've done the exact same thing recently, imported disease to our native Whithorn.

As regards the storm strength, I agree, I don't think it's unprecedented. Sryan's tables nearly prove that. The storm of 1988 was followed by a very stormy February 1990, followed by a big storm 1991 and then 1997 and 1998. Each storm weeding out weak trees every few years and there was also no ash dieback back then. More houses in the countryside equals more poles and older existing poles being overloaded with extra wires and broadband and all resulting in widespread destruction when a big storm like Eowyn hits.

I'm not downplaying the severity of this storm but alot of it's recent predecessors were very weak storms in comparison to the 80s and 90s. So when a big one comes along and our diseased trees and ageing infrastructure being overloaded with wires and cables strung all over the place, chaos ensues.

I hope everyone gets their power back soon and don't try and do dangerous repairs yourself to cabling or sheds, it's not worth it !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 292 ✭✭Citroen2cv

A visit from the taoiseach to the worst affected areas of the storm would make good optics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,991 ✭✭✭Odelay

The storm damage was the very first and last item on the news. Lets just keep one foot on the ground and be honest about the reporting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭Neddyusa

I think it's quite likely there were multiple stingjets and mini tornadoes during the 5am to 7am period.

These obviously didn't hit the weather stations (hence no extreme gusts recorded) but they were widespread from what I've seen, with linear "corridors" of destruction akin to what you would see after a tornado on TV.

The absolute gobshits on here repeatedly arguing that "it wasn't that bad or unprecedented" would want to take a hike.

Despite the fact it affected the least densely populated regions of the country, it was twice as bad as Ophelia according to ESB.

Statistics and wind gust records are useful indicators in normal weather conditions, but they are extremely limited by fixed location weather stations in extreme events like this and are far far less important than the horrendous impact this has had on the people and the environment of the west of Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,264 ✭✭✭Allinall

And then people would be complaining about photo ops, just appearing for optics, milking the situation for political advantage etc. etc. etc.

I don't know what news you were watching but the first 15 minutes of the nine o'clock news on rte was all about the storm and it's aftermath.

You do realise that there are probably thousands of kilometres of ESB lines that cut across country and don't run along roads ???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 509 ✭✭✭The HorsesMouth

In the midlands here. Just got the electricity back up and running this evening. No power, internet or water since 4.30am friday morning. And I'm only 5 mins away from town. All back now. It was the worst storm I have ever experienced. The damage it has caused to this area is unprecedented. But imagine my anger when I turned on PK on newstalk first thing Friday morning and he says barely a breeze up here in montrose, what storm he says? Then again this morning the first thing on the agenda is Donald trump and his opinion on gaza. Now sorry but our island has experienced a disastrous storm leaving up to a million people without basic facilities. Can we give the worrying about things we can do **** all about a break and maybe worry about our own people here for 5 minutes???!!!

And the government should have been out paying hotels to provide people with hot meals etc. They should have been telling farmers that there was fresh water available in every town affected and to come with the tractors and trailers to fill up troughs and barrells for the poor animals who have barely had a drink of water since friday. This only two examples and I could go on and on but the lack of competent people in gov and in positions of leadership is a joke.

Don't even get me started on the over reliance on electricty and especially "clean" energy in new houses. It's been shown up for what it...all eggs in one basket. The fumes from the high powered generators being used now to power water plants etc id say are making a good dent in any carbon savings these houses have been making.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,625 ✭✭✭RabbleRouser2k

Just got power back today, around 4pm or so.

With the power being out, it affected our water supply too (we have our own well, the pump requires electricity). We were without power for 4 days, and were lucky in that we had a gas hob and an open fire place. So when the heating was out, we were able to keep warm with that. Very fortunate we were not hit harder, but I know others were not, and are still not, so lucky.

Folks facing in to February before they can expect power, or water, back. There are many self-employed individuals who are facing a rough few weeks. Watching the news was devastating. Even here, there was not much you could do for those 4 days. 'Cocooning' is the only thing I could really do. Couldn't get out of the house much because conditions were dangerous- a lot of road lights were out because they put a strain on the electric grid. People's mental health will definitely suffer for this. Imagine having no power, no water, and small children (possibly with special needs), and then you realise how tough it is for others. And that they are without the bare essentials for 3 days. And I know one family who do have a child with special needs and are without basic facilities, so I was talking hyperbole.

On the news today, there was a great deal of 'the blame game', few taking responsibility. I completely agree, that there was more talk about 'Micheal didn't get inaugurated for a day' than a storm that was a national emergency. Yet nothing that was needed, on that level, was put into place. In fact, help that was offered was turned down. That's inexcusable. It was only last minute that help was accepted, THREE days after the storm hit. The BBC were calling it the storm of the century, our government were very lackadaisical. More attention was given for Ophelia.

https://connachttribune.ie/mep-finds-it-inexplicable-that-the-irish-government-only-requested-help-from-the-eu-yesterday-afternoon/

We don't have broadband yet, but basic mobile data is there, thankfully. It was down until the evening. Saw on the news, a lot of folks being told 'check the internet' or 'check your tv' for information or assistance. How the heck are people going to do that when they still don't have electricity or broadband?

Apologies, this was a 4 day rant that I had to get out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,270 ✭✭✭Wompa1

I am in that area, we didn't get power back until 8'ish and then at 11:06pm we lost power again. The same transformer location caught fire a couple of years ago. I am guessing they should really upgrade it and not just replace with like for like.

I remember that but I can't say it was really worse. I think the gusts this time were stronger. Build quality was worse in the 90s and we all had open fireplaces. I think the loud @ss whistling throughout the houses may have made it seem worse than it actually was. Having said that, we were without electricity for 2 weeks that time. My sad pouty face was in the paper for a story about how long the outage was going on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,044 ✭✭✭_Puma_

North Galway, power was restored this evening. My story since Thursday night.

The noise of the storm that night was unbelievable. Woke at 1 30am, got dressed and was on egg shells untill I got an hour of sleep at 8am. Power went from 2 30am I was pacing around the house and watching transformers blowing light up the sky.

Our house was undamaged mercifully. On venturing out at 10am could see our neighbours window was blown in and guttering destroyed. Got as far as the end of the road and all I could see was trees down 200m up the main road to the school.

Spent Friday clearing the road with a chainsaw and neighbours tractor. Other neighbours had worked the way down towards us and the road was clear around 3pm. Heard word of another neighbours steel shed roof had embedded into the gable end of their house.

Went home and gas camping stove used for food and tea. It kept us going right up to this morning. Wood burning stove in the house kept us heated.

Ventured further afield in the car Saturday. Some of the devastation I could see from the road was unbelievable. I second the lelandi trees are a scourge

Back Sunday morning chopping up trees that were pushed to side of the road when clearing the roads. In all that time we were on the road not one Garda, council van or ESB truck passed. We made safe an Eir pole that was hanging precausly outside the school. The telecom cables and fibre are all over the roads so no fixed line broadband for the foreseeable.

We got the 5th February update for power restoration on Saturday but another for this evening at 9pm. They wernt far wrong in the end.

The cell network was up and down the whole of the time, we were able to go to inlaws for food on Sunday. Water went once but came back.

My biggest take from the whole thing is the goverment will not help you in these situations, it's your neighbours and communities that will pull together. The less said about the national media coverage the better. I have to give credit to Galway Bay fm. They were brilliant with their updates.

If it was me, I would use that as license to call the emergency number to report the fault.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,370 ✭✭✭jj880

Is there good optics or political advantage to be had? Its a **** show and he knows it. More likely he'd be heckled about the ESB running out of repair components, refusing help from the EU and the lack of appropriate preparation / response from those in power before / since the storm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,756 ✭✭✭Pretzill

Hi everyone

from the wilds of South Sligo the wind blew the roof up off my stable/shed and the windows outward across the yard shattered in pieces - the roof came back down and is balancing precariously- this is a concrete structure - the remains of a 30 year old forest also was swept away - and I am one of those people who may have to wait until February 5th to have power restored - what a storm!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,756 ✭✭✭Pretzill

Hi everyone

from the wilds of South Sligo the wind blew the roof up off my stable/shed and the windows outward across the yard shattered in pieces - the roof came back down and is balancing precariously- this is a concrete structure - the remains of a 30 year old forest also was swept away - and I am one of those people who may have to wait until February 5th to have power restored - what a storm!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 260 ✭✭a2deden

My house is class in fairness. Took you guys a full one day to start ranting about the government not working, pearse would be proud.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 260 ✭✭a2deden

Rants at the government, rants at esb, ive seen comments that the government should refund people having to get takeaway and hotel rooms. Just bizarre main character energy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,651 ✭✭✭riddles

45% of houses built are one off houses - distributed housing in rural locations make service provision more difficult. There are up and downs to deciding where to live.