Manchester United Thread 25/26 - Teamtalk/Transfers/Gossip Mod Note in OP 26.09.24

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,713 ✭✭✭Caustic

I stuck up for TH during the injury season and thought he would eventually get around to benching players that didnt do the basics, but i will never understand two things from him, his blind loyalty to rashford and essentially the opposite treatment to amad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,491 ✭✭✭✭StringerBell

IMG_20250127_133136.jpg IMG_20250127_134338.jpg

Tis a fine stadium anyway lads

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 20,309 ✭✭✭✭y0ssar1an22

nice stadium, lets hope we do it justice and have a nice comfortable 3-0 win. though they are 8th in the group and would pass us out with a win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,350 ✭✭✭IncognitoMan

What makes it more difficult to understand is ETH had issues with Ronaldo and Sancho but made it very clear with them.

I suppose Rashford did play well for him in his 1st season and yes with a lack of attacking options it likely meant ETH felt he almost had to work Rashford in somehow and maybe always had it in the back of his head that if he can just get him back on track he could get that player from year 1 back.

But some of the stuff I've seen on the pitch from Rashford over the last 18 months has been criminal.
    That's what he's willing to show in public as well. **** knows what effort (lack of) he puts in behind the scenes and at training.

The fact we can't score a goal now and Rashford still can't motivate himself to get back on that pitch says it all really.
    It's not like he's stuck behind a 30 goal a season player who's keeping him out of the team with little hope of getting in.

If he stuck the head down and applied himself he'd be back in the side in no time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 488 ✭✭kyleman

While Eths departure was ultimately the right decision I never blamed him for all the failures at United and still believe they rest solely with the owners who have very little sporting interest in the club .

Cannot agree more with you on his loyalty to Rashford and treatment of Amad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭ericzeking

It comes down to time really, after all the different debacles he had to deal with EtH just thought he had to at least make the best of it with Rashford, and then the two years ticks by and peoples patience runs out and when you analyse it EtH was probably still dealing with issues that he shouldn't have to be dealing with right up to the end. It was one thing after another, sure he was still fielding questions about Sancho at the start of this season.

The Amad thing was baffling though.

Amorim has to deal with whatever issues he has with any players as quickly as possibly. Get rid and start fresh because if any dodgy relationships linger on into season two and things aren't going too great, the mobs thirst for something shiny and new will kick in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,605 ✭✭✭randd1

You have to go back 12 games for any of our strikers to have a total of two goals to match what Martinez, our CB, has scored in that time. And that was a Hojlund double against Viktoria Plzen.

Zirkzee is game but not very good. Hojlund looks increasingly like a waste of €70 million, getting worse by the week. Rashford's head is gone and he doesn't want to play to a serious level any more. Garnacho is over-rated and more miss than hit and selfish. They're at best a 15 goal a season at the minute, if that.

How have United not bought a striker in the window? Even a half decent lad from Spain/Italy would surely better. The likes of Chris Wood would have been an improvement. A Jamie Vardy loan would be an improvement.

Fair enough, they probably want to get this season over with and give Amorim the summer to get things lined up, but we're at nothing if we have no-one to put the ball in the net.

It is just serious bad, bad management of the club.

I'm beginning to think INEOS are simply the Glazers with an English accent, the mis-management of the club looks even more shambolic. The whole operation of the club looks to be getting worse. It's just constant bad decision after bad decision.

Keeping on Ten Hag. Spending 200m knowing they didn't want Ten Hag. The Ashworth debacle. Ticket price raises to watch a poor team play half-ar5ed and lose regularly. And all the while, the coaching/S&C/medical side of the team gets worse and worse, and see's us slipping more and more. Even allowing for the fact they're there since April, how has that not been addressed?

I would not be one bit surprised if INEOS fu*ked up the summer window and Amorim walked for his own sake and reputation. And I wouldn't blame him.

I genuinely fear for the club as I don't think INEOS know what they're at.

Post edited by randd1 on

Zirkzee with 2 players running beyond him would be fantastic imo. He's being asked to drop deep, link up play and also get into the box where Garnacho and Amad are not really looking for him because he's behind the play.

As it is now the 10s are playing too wide because they learned how to play as wingers. I think it's amongst the biggest issues. Højlund suffers from it too but Zirkzee's control and hold up play are another level to his.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,782 ✭✭✭Iseedeadpixels

Chris Wood needs service, he wouldn't get it here.

Jesus we shouldn't even be looking at the likes of Chris Wood, a 33yr old having a Rashhford purple patch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,782 ✭✭✭Iseedeadpixels

Bang on, Zirkzee with 2 paceys AMs would be a delight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,226 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 577 ✭✭✭Seattle

The wingbacks aren't holding the width in the final third and failing to make enough runs in behind. They are supposed to do this to create space for the 10s which in turn will help the CF.

Imo many of our problems can be attributed to a lack of attacking quality in the wingback positions.

Anyway if we don't get adequate reinforcements in the final few days of the window then RA will have to change system or lose his job. Not change the style he wants to impose (possession+ control oriented) but he will have to drop the wingbacks - because he will not be trusted with a Summer window if the current trajectory continues. The attack performance levels are way too far off. If we had lost to Fulham playing that way rather than fluking a 1-0 win, I think it would've been an inflection point. He's clearly a talented manager but he needs to find a way to grip the situation because he's not far away from it spiralling out of his control.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,176 ✭✭✭NITRO95

Its so misinformed that really it doesn't warrant serious discussion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,176 ✭✭✭NITRO95

Amorim won't and absolutely shouldn't change his formation or demands. He publicly made it clear when he signed that he would play his way, I'd imagine he also made that clear to Wilcox, Berrada etc too. For too long we've accommodated average players and players with piss poor attitudes. Whether we finish 6th or 17th makes no fcking difference. The summer will see big changes regardless, of that I'm confident.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,961 ✭✭✭✭Zeek12

United have often had success bringing in some decent loan players in the recent past.

Sabitzer, Dubravka, Reguilon, Ighalo to name a few.

At the very least the club should be capable of doing something similar again before the window closes. Funds really shouldn't be an excuse, there are problem areas in this squad that are obvious and Amorim needs some support

He can play his way but adjust the formation - like pretty much every other manager going.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,226 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

He won't change the formation or system, and he won't lose his job (any time soon).

How does that conversation go...

INEOS - come to us now, play your system because that's why we hired you.

6 months later...

INEOS - you're sacked because you're sticking to the system we told you to stick to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,211 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

He will end up sacked then.

He doesn't have Pep style money to replace the entire team, not now and not in the summer either.

He doesn't have the players to suit his system and 3 months in he has done a shite job of converting them into his system.

If he can't replace the entire team and he can't get them playing better than this, then he ends up sacked. I'm not saying I want him sacked, I'm saying its the end result of all of this.

Its a crying shame United wasted so much money before he ever came to the club, but it is what it is and he needs to work with what he has.

Actually personally I believe it makes a huge difference finishing 6th over 17th.

How much of a jump do you think it's capable to make in one Summer and where would that place United in relation to Liverpool, Arsenal, City, Chelsea, Villa, heck even Bournemouth and Brighton who will probably all improve on the summer too?

If they're still 10th or whatever this time next season (which is very possible looking at the squad) then questions will have to be asked. Will have probably missed the chance for Ireola by then and another restart will happen.

Both Ten Hag and Ashworth were gone with months of signing contracts, how did their conversations go? Why would it be a shock for INEOS to do it again with Amorim?

While I fully agree on the issue with the wingbacks, I don't think RA is in danger of losing his job.

As poor as some of the performances have been - the reality is we've won 2 league games out of 3 and knocked Arsenal out of the FA Cup, so things are looking considerably better than in December and we have "steadied the ship" at least.

Realistically they would have to back him in one Summer transfer window at least, before they could consider sacking him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,992 ✭✭✭Bleating Lamb

Imo I think it will seriously affect the quality of player the club will be able to attract during the Summer if we finish in the bottom half of the table.

Put yourself in the place of a player/players agent that Utd begin to chase this Summer.

They will factor in how Amorim has managed this Season (with a squad admittedly that he didn’t assemble)……they will assess if Utd offer them a decent chance at winning things.

They will be more likely to believe in Amorims project if they see that gradually he got to grips with the style of play in the PL and had the team playing better from February on……and climbing into the top 8 by Seasons end.

If however they see Amorims presence had a negligible affect on the team’s performance and final league position,will they be as interested in joining his project?

I like how Amorim explains why he is doing certain things but he can only get a free pass for so long…..

It will be disappointing, nay embarrassing if we finish the Season hovering above the bottom 3.

For Utd to have a decent chance of a better second half of the Season,

1-We need a decent striker brought in urgently on loan,Nkunko would fit the bill,has to be other decent options out there as well.

2-Need someone reliably capable of playing LWB…..not gone on Dorgu from what I’ve seen of him.

3- Unfortunately Casemiro's Saudi interest was only fleeting……if he had gone we would have had much more flexibility in this transfer window.

Fingers crossed we get a striker and LWB in the next few days!!😉

The thing is, even if he's a quality manager, which he is - he needs performances to pick up ahead of a summer rebuild. He will lose too much authority between now and then if there isn't an uptick in performance. He needs to show some kind of upward trajectory or else INEOS will 100% roll the dice again. I think he can and hope he does but there's no question that he's in a bit of a hole at the moment and needs to find a way to dig himself out of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,002 ✭✭✭secman

But none of those you mentioned were successful at all !

Wouldn't agree with that.

Sabitzer was good, imo it was a pity we weren't able to extend his stay with us.

Dubravka got very little game time as he was at OT in a back-up capacity only. But he's a very solid keeper and is playing well in a good Newcastle team right now.

Letting Reguilon return to Spurs early was a mistake and it hurt us later in the season.

To me, these were good loan signings

He's not in danger at the moment but the current direction isn't good. Performances are generally getting worse rather than better and he was already starting from a low base. I remember the first half in the league game v Arsenal a couple of months ago. The team was still toothless in attack but there were some nice patterns in build up emerging and a clear possession + control oriented style was evident. But we haven't actually seen much of that since, which is a worry.

I think one issue is that PL teams are smart and have been better able to identify ways to exploit his system as time has gone on. There's more data points for them with each passing game. To be fair it's a brutal league to implement something new from scratch whilst missing vital tools.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭nachouser

He's not even three months into the job, with inherited players who don't fit the system he prefers to play, and there's not one player signed yet. But yeah, he should be binned off. Tough crowd.

We can't just ignore the performances. Those two wins against Southampton and Fulham were abject, they were really really bad, and most importantly they were bad in a way that has to leave doubt about whats happening.

Playing well but not scoring is one thing, you can understand that. Playing well but conceding due to goalkeeper error, you can understand that.

But the whole team looking disjointed and toothless? Constantly moving the deckchairs around trying to find something that works? No, thats not good at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,374 ✭✭✭El Gato De Negocios