Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

⚠️ Storm Éowyn - Fri 24.01.25 (**Please read Mod Instruction in OP.**)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 knightfoon

no power here in a small village in Longford. Estimated time? It’s been updated to “unknown” I’m so annoyed and tired.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 447 ✭✭redunited

ESB are peeing me off at the minute, every time I manage to get a bit of internet the restore time keeps keep changing. Latest is 5th Feb, but that keeps changing. Originally was ment to be tonight, tommorow, now the 5th.

There also seems to be a fake restore time of 9pm being used.

as for this useless government , words are not enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,392 ✭✭✭mcburns07

We have a heat pump and a stove. Central heating is great but nothing beats a real fire even if it’s overkill in a modern house 99% of the time 🙂 the fact it’s a get out of jail card in the event of an extended power cut is a bonus.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,150 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

Power restored here in South Longford an hour ago. Thank feck but wasnt expecting them to be restoring it so late in the day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭Longing

Sorry, just back online. Total destruction here in Cavan, in my local area. Friday, every road into town was impassible. Trees that stood over 100 years toppled over like bowling bins. Three days without power just back on, just have 3G coverage back on phone. My elderly perants who live 3km away have no electric or heating or any way to keep warm. Unfortunately, the listened to the Greens. But big changes to their home are coming. A proper wood stove is already ordered and gas hob. The ESB told them this evening it will be next weekend before they are connected as two poles snapped in half with the wind across the fields to their home, and it also effected a local neighbour man in his 80s. No heating. No hot water. Cut off completely.

ESB are doing wonderful work that can't be said for our new Government. I was astounded, listening to a wireless radio and a hen would scratch more than what they did. Shameful stuff. On some national stations the Storm was not even main headline news, here is looking at you Northern Sound, disgrace.

The Government could have early set up hot meals to very bad hit areas. Set up the Army and SVP to get out to bad areas.

But of course the knew this was coming, but the like back biting in the Government buildings. F**k the public and the elderly. Brownie points are more important.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,796 ✭✭✭JJayoo

South Sligo electricity expected to back between 1-5th of Feb, burn timber to heat house/water so can't do that since no electricity to power the pump

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭ScorchedEarth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,993 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

Power has gone again, estimated restoration 31st. This is a never ending doom loop, this is the send time it's gone after being restored, they seemingly can't manage to affect permanent repairs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 885 ✭✭✭Dr Robert

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,282 ✭✭✭Dazler97

omg 😦 that genuinely looked like a generator lol sorry my bad , I’ll definitely look into it anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,282 ✭✭✭Dazler97

Oh wow I will definitely look into that , maybe a weak generator as my house is small but we shall see anyway 😊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 749 ✭✭✭Exiled Rebel

It wasn't aimed at you, read the comment again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,802 ✭✭✭yankinlk

Sorry but its not really. Zero has been done. There are a ton of older vulnerable folks in the storm path with no help being given at all. TG for neighbors is all i can say. Not everyone will have that.

Power gone, water gone, internet and phone gone. No warnings for multiple power outages (repaired and gone again for days). Shops have nothing, cash only options and out of essentials. Its dark and its cold. no sign of anyone official helping with water let alone the rest ... Not i single boil notice issued but word of mouth or rumor.

Why does it take 4 days to announce support … and leaving it up to local authority.... Check esb status today... Looks pretty simialar numbers to friday night.

They keep reporting they have reconnected X people, but they arent admitting they are turning folks BACk off for several more days....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,875 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

I read that fixing one fault can reveal another one down the line.

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,368 ✭✭✭jj880

Can you run the hot water off into baths / showers as you burn timber? That's what we had to do until the electric came back on. At least we had the heat from the stove in 1 room and could wash...

Post edited by jj880 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭Thorny Queen

I read that ESB have a huge shortage of poles and transformers given the scale of the damage and what needs to be replaced.

Feel so sorry for anyone without power, heat, water, internet. It's just hardship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,321 ✭✭✭obi604

hello. We have power back but the mains water is not working. Can I use our oil boiler for the radiators when the mains water is not functioning?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,830 ✭✭✭.Donegal.

image.jpeg

Commemoration to take place this Thursday to mark 100 years since the Owencarrow viaduct disaster in which four people were killed and several people were seriously injured.

At around 8.00 pm on January 30, 1925 a train from Letterkenny to Burtonport was crossing the Owencarrow Viaduct (north of Creeslough) during a storm

When the train was a little more than 60 yards onto the viaduct, there was a great gust of wind, which lifted the carriage next to the engine off the rails. 

The roof of a carriage was ripped off throwing four people to their deaths - Philip Boyle and his wife Sarah from Arranmore Island, Una Mulligan from Falcarragh and Neil Duggan from Meenbunowen, Creeslough.

The local paper goes on to say gusts were 125mph wherever they pulled that from idk. @sryanbruen obviously 125mph isn’t correct but any info on gusts for that storm? I can’t find anything concrete. Thanks

Edit - meant to post general thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,830 ✭✭✭.Donegal.

I’d like to acknowledge the heroism of Calleary and the Taoiseach for speaking as late as 11pm last night.

Dara Calleary says he will be 'on the ground tomorrow'

Minister for Social Protection Dara Calleary says he will be "on the ground tomorrow" rather than making statements in the Dáil.

We are throwing everything at this, Mr Calleary said, adding the focus is on immediate response.

He said emergency response hubs are being established and local authorities are stepping up humanitarian efforts.

The Taoiseach has also called for systems to be put in place to identify vulnerable people, he added.

Mr Calleary said he understands the frustrations of those who are waiting for electricity and water supplies to be reconnected, adding lessons will be learned from this experience.

"We're going to reflect on this, reflect on the severity of both this storm and the previous storm, and make changes as necessary," he said.

"But our immediate response, since Friday and right through today and tomorrow, will be getting responses up, getting repairs done, humanitarian hubs up," he said.

The minister said it was very important that Taoiseach Micheál Martin attended the Holocaust memorial ceremony in Poland today.

He added Mr Martin he is "very much involved" with ongoing efforts to deal with the aftermath of the storm and those affected by it.

"I've spoken to the Taoiseach multiple times across the weekend, including as late as 11 o'clock last night," Mr Calleary said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,368 ✭✭✭jj880

Not sure on that. Could depend on your system. Might be worth posting a thread over in the plumbing and heating forum:

https://www.boards.ie/categories/plumbing-heating

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 986 ✭✭✭mykrodot

I did read it again. You response to my post said it would be "incredibly moronic" not to build an A Rated home, that they can be fitted with stoves and gas hobs. My response back to you was I had not built a home but I had bought one just a year ago and had upgraded it as tens of thousands of people do. Yes of course it is ideal to build an A rated home if you can afford it, but your comment of being " incredibly moronic" at a time like this come across as quite flippant, especially as many of those houses are now without any electricity or backup.

The Green party specifically led people down this road of zero emissions, passive houses, no chimneys, no fires, no fossil fuel of any kind even gas! People followed this advice to a T . Yes it is great if you think outside the box and fit a stove and gas hob (as I would) but this policy was pushed by Government , morning noon and night and people bought into it ! Many new builds these days don't have a chimney so you can't just retrofit one and stick in a wood burning stove!

And after all their advice, when the **** hits the fan the Government are on an extended holiday?

As I said in my original post, I hope people use their own common sense, look after themselves, their family, think about their future and give 2 fingers to these insane policies that leave people literally high and dry in storms, with no heat, no water, no light for up to 2 weeks! (meanwhile those in Dublin say it's just a little storm, likewise with the 5 day snow event just 2 short weeks ago in Kerry, Limerick, Clare, Wicklow)

I was in Donegal when Storm Eowyn hit last Friday visiting my sister. Since then I flew back to Kerry where I live . Donegal is the forgotten county (think Creeslough petrol station explosion). Their power was cut off and won't be back until 6 February! Depression is setting in with many people.

Post edited by mykrodot on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,845 ✭✭✭Calibos

Wait for further confirmation because I have GFCH not OFCH but certainly with my gas boiler the only time I need to open a valve to the mains is when I had a leak in the heating loop (hot water loop inside immersion cylinder) and the pressure of the whole system dropped so I needed to open the valve to repressurise the system from the mains. AFAIK In normal usage the Central heating radiator and hot water loops/zones are isolated from the mains.

However, for all I know your particular boiler might have auto repressurisation and not a manual valve like mine so I dont know what would happen if your boiler in that case opened that valve with the mains not working.

Best to ask this in the Plumbing forum here on boards.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,373 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

I'm in Craughwell in Galway. No power with an estimated restore date of 5th Feb. House is absolutely freezing in all rooms bar my sitting room where I have a wood burning stove. I also have a gas hob so I can cook. I really feel for any older people stuck in the same situation as me.

The government are an absolute disgrace, they are doing almost nothing to help people stuck.

However the ESB lads are doing brilliant work in hard conditions, I can't fault them at all, but the planning for this has been atrocious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,043 ✭✭✭✭fits

you know what a passive house is don’t you? …. Oh never mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 HypoC

Sorry if this has been asked before I can't find anything on it. Husbands workplace closed on Friday due to red weather warning - employees notified. Today they've been told that they are either losing a days pay for it or have to use a days holiday entitlement. What is the law regarding a closed workplace?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,270 ✭✭✭Wompa1

Similar situation in Kinvara but we don't have a gas hob. Power came back last night. A couple of hours after, we lost power again. Word around the place is that a transformer caught fire around 11pm. I started to call the ESB at 8:30am this morning (which I had to do elsewhere due to lack of signal) but the customer service number just has a message about not taking calls right now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,270 ✭✭✭Wompa1

Where did you read this?

Quote is not working, that is aimed at the post about the ESB running low on poles and transformers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭yagan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,789 ✭✭✭greenpilot

Western Sustainability Program.

Such a program does not exist. But its probably high time it did.

I cannot over-stress how bad things are West of the Shannon and how every one of us here have been left high and dry by our Government and National Media regarding the storm.

Our work offices are in the East and they actually don't believe me when I try to describe how bad things are. In fact, upon missing a Teams call this morning, because there is no Data or Phone signal across Connacht, together with the lack of media coverage on how bad things actually are, there is a sort of incredulity seeping in when we try to describe the situation.

Our entire communities have bo heat, power, phone signal, data nor water, as the group water schemes are all down.

Thankfully, there are families who ignored the trend of going all electric and completely green and have retained their stoves and back boilers so have some hot water and heat for their kids.

It now comes to pass that the Government declined assistance from the EU last Wednesday and only now have requested emergency generators.

i moved from Kildare to Westport 30 years ago and it immediately became apparent how ignored the Western seaboard is by our officials.

It is absolutely high time our Western Representatives are taken to task over the lack of response, Emergency Communication, and ESB priorities across the West.

As the poster quoted above has said, Maybe it is time we organised among ourselves, from Kerry to Donegal, to form a Task Force, with help from the EU, to ensure that we are able to sustain ourselves in weather emergencies such as these, because it is damn clear that none of our government officials are either competent nor Capable of doing so. Where is the Army? The Civil Defence? Order of Malta or Red Cross?

Sure, youll see photo-op staged pics in and around Dublin, but across the Shannon? Nothing.

I've had to drive 20 miles to a hill near Sligo to get a signal in order to post this. Apparently we will not have power until Feb 2nd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,193 ✭✭✭✭zell12

“The ESB is experiencing equipment shortages in certain areas – heavy-duty parts, transformers, poles, and other logistical challenges could take several days to resolve,” Cllr Michael McClafferty said. “In the Creeslough area alone, and extending back to Falcarragh and Gortahork, restoration efforts may take a couple of days or more, depending on how long it takes to source the required equipment. This is the reality for various locations along the lines.”

https://www.donegaldaily.com/2025/01/26/esb-shortages-could-leave-parts-of-donegal-without-power-into-next-week-1/