Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

⚠️ Storm Éowyn - Fri 24.01.25 (**Please read Mod Instruction in OP.**)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 273 ✭✭GPoint

Been reading all the comments from people who are still without power. I was caught by this storm, had no generator or gas cooker and there was no power for 14 hours yesterday. Plans to purchase a generator made, when the peak demand is over.

Wish everyone to get electricity back soon.

Lovely feeling when you hear all equipment is turning back on and beeping and the place is lit up again!

Keep warm everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72,750 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Damage in a sheltered bit of Donegal - an already pretty done for downpipe has come off the gutters. Think the freezer was off for too long.

Relatively simple repair trip next weekend then - something to glue the downpipe in place til I replace the gutters on that side of the house in the summer (did another section last year) and bring a load of compost bags with me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,189 ✭✭✭Mr.Wemmick

Agree with you. I’ve been meaning to get myself a battery radio for months, kicking myself I didn’t get round to it.

I envy your Stanley range. We had one growing up, fantastic beast and the old thing is still going strong.

“The fact that society believes a man who says he’s a woman, instead of a woman who says he’s not, is proof that society knows exactly who is the man and who is the woman.”

- Jen Izaakson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,137 ✭✭✭adocholiday

Oh I've been down this road with them and it's very frustrating. I mentioned in a previous post I have mature trees along my boundary and an ESB cable runs alongside them. There were branches growing beside and above the cable and I rang ESB to get them cut back. Had to ring multiple times before they eventually sent someone out. They first sent a lad to assess it and then a crew came out and they literally just cut the branches that were touching the cable or directly overhanging. I asked them to cut the ones that were going to grow on or over the cable in a few years and they refused. Now they've all grown as expected and I've to chase them again. It would have taken them hardly any extra time and removed the risk entirely but no, that would make too much sense! So they're definitely not going to be too interested in a much bigger project like that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 599 ✭✭✭DayInTheBog

I was in the same boat last year. A 90ft long privet hedge behind a hedge grew to the top of the pole. Crew would only cut the branches at the wire. I got out last summer with a chainsaw and cut the rest of the hedge down to waist level. Saved a telephone cable in the process and probably saved my house from being damaged by them this time.

Im only in the house a few years but reckon from old Google street view that it's there 25 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,009 ✭✭✭✭Discodog

Very surreal to walk my dog by a totally dark sea. No lights on the Aran Islands, North Clare etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 637 ✭✭✭glen123

…and our fault has just been updated with the Restoration time of 31st of January! I think people that are sitting in the cold would rather not know this estimated date at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,715 ✭✭✭BrianD3

Thanks, we're grand - my relative is not really prone to pressure sores, we live in a relatively unaffected part of the country, urban enough to be on mains water and sewerage. Electricity now back, water and broadband intermittent and I have a small generator plus butane bottle and ring for heating water. Even so, I'll increase my prepping for next time.

I'm more thinking of other people e.g. a scenario where an elderly person is caring for another elderly person. Living in rural Mayo. Roof damaged and leaking. No power for days. Few preparations done. Hadn't read about the storm on boards.ie. Horrible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,837 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

Thats a relief !

Yeah am sure there are quite a few with that scenario and all the more reason for people to check in on people that they might think vulnerable at these times I suppose .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭IrishHomer

A tall tree on a vacant site next door to me came down and landed on my shed and has damaged the roof.

Overvthe past decade I've asked the owner to either allow me or for him to cut them as they are blocking all our sunlight 70 ft high and costing me a forune in extra heating.

Anyway he's always refused he's nuts.

Where do I go from here? My house may be next and thelaw states I can't touch his trees only stuff that hangs across mine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,716 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

to anyone looking for a radio, my lenovo tablet has an fm radio app. I never realised it had an fm tuner! turned on and radio! and it's pretty miserly on the battery.

My weather

https://www.ecowitt.net/home/share?authorize=96CT1F

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 COSha022

The drive from Dublin to North Roscommon yesterday was just utter devastation, trees and power lines down everywhere, barely any street lights on, just chaos.

Our power was off for about 14 hours, in comparison to storm Darragh where we went nearly 48 hours. The ESB lads are doing trojan work, the amount of vans I saw out and about yesterday when I was driving home.

Need to try and get the large tree in my garden sorted next week. It came down roots and all, dreading to see the price of getting it removed, but grateful that was all the damage we had.

Post edited by COSha022 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,308 ✭✭✭pad199207

Well that was eventful in Salthill I have to say. First time in my life where the weather actually made me feel quite nervous, especially between 3:30am and 4:30am. Horrendous wasn’t the word. The sustained roar of the wind ripping through the trees and buildings with lots of power flashes across the skyline was a little frightening I have to say.

IMG_7842.jpeg IMG_7754.jpeg IMG_7729.jpeg IMG_7751.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 595 ✭✭✭JohnySwan

What? Because someone hasn't specced their system to work in a power cut makes it overrated?

We get quite a few power cuts every year, basically every storm. My system works in such a way that her good self doesn't even know when the power cuts out, and the only appliance we don't use in a power cut is the electric shower (immersion for washing), it can even charge our car. We could go for a week in a power cut. I can tell you, it's far from overrated for us.

Make sure to do it, just remember that a generator requires maintenance.

I have solar but no batteries.I opted for a generator still because there are days especially in January when panels generate nothing. Not sure what I d be filling batteries with if they generate very little. I have 4.5 kW worth of panels.

My panels generated 15.5kwh on the day of the storm, and 9.7kwh today. Much more than I would've used in a power cut. I also have a generator which hasn't been used since the panels were installed. You're correct of course, there're days in winter where I've generated only a couple of kwh's. My system is 5.95kwp.

My observations of watching weather over the years leads me to believe that we usually get clear sky following a storm. I remember getting my telescope out after Ophelia in a power cut that lasted days. It was Ophelia that prompted action to ensure I'd never be without power again.

Something else to remember with batteries is that you can charge them up fully in anticipation of a storm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,282 ✭✭✭Dazler97

Does that do the whole house ? My house is small enough so maybe if need a cheaper one , I was looking on amazon ones for €500 (3kw) but then it's getting an electrian to fit it etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,140 ✭✭✭hamburgham

Any word from the Aran Islands? What was it like there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,890 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

All in, my system cost about €11k for a 7.44kWp system and 20kWh battery. Got it nearly 5 years ago and I'd say it has paid back the install price already.

In reality you wouldn't go fully off grid with a system like this. Something liveke an electric oven is a serious power guzzler.

I was stupid with this storm. Had the house battery fully charged but when the power went down I kept the whole house online. Was running through about 500w per hour. Sat and watched telly all of Friday evening, on a 70" TV that's another 300w per hour. So by Saturday morning I was down to less than 5% battery and had to knock it off til the sun came out.

Generated a bit 4kWh today, put about 3kWh of that into the battery which bought me more time. But this time I had more sense, knocked off every circuit in the house bar fridge freezer, and the socket for the fibre & WiFi. Solar had died due to clouds by about 2pm and I made that 3kWh last from 2pm til 11pm and kept 5% as backup.

If I'd been more sensible with usage from the start I could probably have made it through to Sunday evening. We're scheduled according to ESB for a Monday 9pm restoration.

Yes, we have a decent size house with 3 adults and 2 kids. Airfryer, lights, tv, well pump, heating (oil) running etc. Whatever runs normally during the day it covers, even washing machine and dishwasher. 3kw one I wouldn’t bother to connect probably- just use extension lead but plan for how to get it into the house without having a door or window open all day. I started looking at 500eur ones too back in my planning days in 2021 but then came to a conclusion that savings are not worth the hassle-we do plan to live in this house for the rest of our lives so may as well have it secured properly from such events.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

We have 20kWh of batteries. They were great yesterday. Two sockets from batteries so ran an extension to where the fibre enters the house and one into the kitchen. Herself did a stew so just reheated using the microwave. I only researched last night but the 20kWh would give us:

Charging a phone

0.02 kWh

1,000 charges

Charging a tablet

0.06 kWh

333 charges

Microwave for 10 minutes

0.167-0.25 kWh

80-120 uses

Watching TV for 1 hour

0.08-0.15 kWh

133-250 hours

We had a stew prepared ahead of time and reheated yesterday. We used the coffee machine for 5 coffees, had the wifi plugged in all day and used the microwave for about 15 minutes reheating. Recharged devices a couple of times. When power came back we had 99.4 percent of battery left.

Had the bathtub filled so 'flushing' wasn't an issue. If needed, could run extension lead to plug in house pump and if necessary could plug in well pump in shed to fill tank.

For anyone getting panels, if its an option to get a battery get one (especially if you are on a day/night where it makes most sense).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭ScorchedEarth

ESB are taking the p1ss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,282 ✭✭✭Dazler97

Grand thank you , my house is small enough so even a 4kw would do me , houses all connected so that's terrace isn't it ? Thanks anyway I know my power didn't go this storm but in future I am gonna look to get a generator, sorry mods I'm going off point but I felt this was important

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 GAA_2025

In my opinion, the government are not reacting suitably to this situation.

Maybe it's because the Dubs have got off scot free that they don't care about the rest of the people.

My family are in darkness, no heat and no water. The nearest sign of life is a 25 minute drive away where everyone is going. Took 3 hours to queue for food in a large takeaway.

And my family are fit enough and have the luxury of a car. What about all the old people with no way to go anywhere.

Farmers cattle in sheds have no water.

If this is not a national emergency, I don't want to see one. Government should at this stage have released millions in funding and have foreign electrical workers from UK, France, Germany or wherever on planes and here already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭eronayne

In what way ?

By having their crews out in almost freezing dark conditions restoring power ?

Because they have already restored 20 - 25 % of customers impacted ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 GAA_2025

25% is a misleading figure. It's like shaking a tree and seeing a load of apples fall down.

The outages with large customers make a big dent in the % recovered but it will take weeks for tens of thousands to get power.

We live in the country, detached house. We have a plug by the ESB meter into which you connect the generator and use special switch to switch between esb and generator. Estates stay rarely for days without power so a small generator with an extension lead will do you, I think, if you live in the estate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,749 ✭✭✭uli84