General Premier League Thread 2024-25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,279 ✭✭✭AidoEirE

The club needs a pure breakdown before it can be rebuilt. There was always going to be shite before it begins to get going again. There's so many over payed players who think they are better than they actually are.

I'm all behind him sticking to his guns and not suiting to the players. Either get with the program or get the f**k out. The amount of managers we've had in the last 10 years with all types of pedigree have done that and it has never worked.

This is long term rebuild and not a rebuild that's been thrown about before but a proper go from the bottom up and it's going to take time.

Yes results absolutely matter but the results not being got are weaseling out the players that have taken a ride from the club for too long or not pushing themselves hard enough.

How many times has a new manager been brought in and it's expected water to be turned in to wine within a season or 2 and suddenly we're back. Nah, this team and club need to be torn from the bottom to the top and get with the times.

Season is a write off with the league but if it shows the absolute bare bones of the problems then that's an improvement and can hopefully improve next year. We've been covering over the cracks for too long and it's showing now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,154 ✭✭✭Caustic

No clothing twisted here undergarment or other wise,.I was merely pointing out what you originally said was nonsense and given you have moved the goalposts elsewhere i take it you agree with me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,579 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

How many of the Man U players are out of contract at th3 end of the season? How many of those that 'need to be gone' are contracted for a few more years on massive wages? They probably wont be able to give away the ones they want rid of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,713 ✭✭✭fplfan12345

I still can’t believe any fans are calling for Postecoglou’s head.

Will you have a look at the players they are missing and now apply that to your own team and tell me how many of you would expect to be getting results ? It’s ridiculous.

Postecoglou would be winning leagues if he was at Manchester City and they’d be playing the best soccer on the planet.

ETH was riddled with half a team of injuries last season and he got roasted for bad results.

Outside looking in, Ange does more damage to himself with his press conferences more than anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,468 ✭✭✭✭rob316

I've never seen the strategy of setting fire to the squad and starting over working. You put a plan in place with the right man and you gradually achieve progress and change the squad, that starts with getting the best out of what you have and trying to win games straight away.

Whatever about results, I've been watching ye and the performances on the pitch are every bit as bad as under ETH.

You can talk philosophy and rebuild till the cows come home it's nonsense. Patience and faith is earned on the pitch.

Does it really fill you with confidence that RA is the guy when he can't improve on ten hag?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,139 ✭✭✭✭FourFourRED

Heaton, Evans, Eriksen & Lindelof expiring in the summer.

Need to be gone would be Rashford who is contracted until 2028 and Casemiro 2026. Antony is another I guess and he’s 2027. Talks of him being loaned to Betis until the end of the season.

Luke Shaw who is regularly injured is on the books until 2027…. Mount in the same category is 2028.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,868 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Amorim is hardly covering himself in glory at the press conferences to all but the most hopeful of United fans. I dont ever remember a manager to slate his players in the way he does.

Who has he slated though? He's called out standards not being met not individuals.

Mourinho was far worse and blantenly called out players

It is earned on the pitch yet there's a big number of players who haven't ot done it, that's why we've seen some players come out better than others, Amad, Maguire, Bruno have stood up. There is others that haven't, best to weed that out and find out whose who by the time the summer comes and he can get in the players in who he thinks can represent his style and the badge.

I've said before, this is not a quick fix which people seem to think it is. This is a long project that needs to be done carefully.

He's only manager that has called things out (bar Ragnick but he was never long term, but said the say thing)

We've been a merry go round for too long.

I don’t disagree with you re the Ange comment.

It’s a dire statement on society and media (as if they were ever anything but bottom feeding scum) that an honest man is in some part ridiculed for being so.

Regardless, they would find some reason to ridicule him if that was their intention anyway.

I just can’t believe that a ‘high ranking’ pundit hasn’t been banging the drum about the injuries they have. I don’t think I’ve ever seen a squad missing so many first team players yet still expected to get results.

First choice - GK, CB, CB, LB, CM and now striker.

Second choice - GK, CB/LB.

I’m not a fan so I could be missing some off the top of my head.

Also while trying to introduce some new young signings that haven’t had a chance to settle. They’ve had to go straight in to the team. They look very very decent talents too.

I just find it bizarre.

It seems everyone commenting here is doing so off headlines they are reading somewhere else, no one watches matches or interviews themselves just rehashing click bait by the looks of it for the most part shame the forum has come to this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,139 ✭✭✭✭FourFourRED

After hearing the opposite from ten Hag for a significant period of time, hearing a bit of honesty and realism from a manager is refreshing to many United fans, hopeful or not. Nobody is interest in hearing the same old tired rehashed excuses anymore.

I had a look at fotmob earlier at the list kept going. A crazy amount of injuries alright.

He needs to just keep it in house and not be so Ange I suppose.

I don't know, not a Spurs fan and they'd have more input than me.

I just had a quick look at their thread and it seems the fans want him gone. If I was a Spurs fan I would be looking at the owners. The manager would pretty much get a free pass.

We’ve all seen the tables re club wage bill and how they usually reflect where teams finish in the league.

There are similar tables for clubs injuries and they also have an impact on where teams finish but never seem to be talked about.

Nuno is currently admired for what he is achieving. If he had the same injuries as Spurs then he would be at the lower end and fans would be probably calling for his head. Coincidentally he was hounded out at Spurs. So he wasn’t the problem.

Anyway, the lack of respect and abuse Postecoglou receives just seems bizarre to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,868 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

He is literally laying all the blame on the players, hardly refreshing or honest though.

From what I gather the rhetoric is he hasn't had enough time to implement his system at United due to coming mid season and not having enough training sessions to completely reinvent the way the team plays. If that's the case why say it's the worst squad in history, he hasn't had enough time working with them to determine that??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭JohnySwan

Most teams have injury problems, Arsenal against Villa were missing LB, RB, CB, RW, ST, along with other squad players.

Its so obvious you haven't watched the interview it's not even funny,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,878 ✭✭✭McFly85

Ange doesn’t help himself though. His focus on the singular was he wants to play, regardless of injuries, has resulted in some really poor results and makes him come across as limited.

I understand he has a way he wants to play and results will have to be sacrificed while the players learn it but at some point you’ll need to adapt your vision if it simply isn’t working - and spurs have been far too inconsistent to suggest it does work, and he’s had more than enough time for his players to understand what he wants from them.

Injuries aren’t an excuse either, everyone will have injuries. Not doing anything and just taking losses for a hypothetical greater good is poor management.

I like the football he tries to play and I think he’s a very refreshing voice in the PL but he team isn’t seeing improvement. No need to sack him immediately or anything but if spurs do pull the trigger it’s an understandable decision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,876 ✭✭✭Dick phelan

What's the record for most goals in a premier League weekend? Some amount of goals this week, 35 with one more game tomorrow night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,354 ✭✭✭Martin567

In this case, injuries are a very definite excuse. Spurs were missing 8 likely starters today along with three other squad members. The number of absentees per match has been in double figures every game for the last two months. It's not just one game.

How would Arsenal be doing if they were missing Raya, Gabriel & Saliba for over two months?

Spurs can barely rotate any players while playing twice a week so the ones who are playing are in turn more likely to be injured .

How big a squad should a team have to be able to cope with this? I've heard Guardiola & other top managers say the ideal is a squad of about 25 as anything more is too unwieldy. That would leave about 14 players available for 15-20 matches over 2 months. Very difficult for any team to cope under those circumstances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,867 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

He's painfully naive and self-destructively dogmatic when it comes to his approach to football. His refusal to adapt to his squads injuries is not helpful. Spurs are currently on course for their worse ever PL season. Not too surprising fans are getting antsy.

Subscribe to save Boards.ie from closing down: The Bad News

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Wouldn't say 8, Vicario, VDV, Bentacur and Solanke would be spot on in but

Gk for GK fair enough

VDV would be in but has been found out as well, Gray got a slaughtering today

Bentacur the main missing piece. It's changes the dynamic big time as Madison played behind a fit Solanke with them Son on the left.

Bergvall probably loses out then but he was one of the better players today.

That's me looking in, I wouldn't mind a Spurs supporter coming in and saying something. I don't follow them so would like to hear their pov.

Think the injury excuse is a bit excessive. We had it last year at UTD under eth and he got roasted and he had a worse injury first squad list imo.

A lot of Anges issues is on him, coming out and saying

"I always win a trophy by my second season"

Very silly stuff to say and the guy should know better.

I do hope he stays on because I like a good redemption arc and he doesn't seem like the worst, needs a ton of media training though as the English press take everything to hand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 42,677 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Amorim needs a clean out and a preseason before he can be judged.

Amad and Bruno Fernandez are definite keepers. Garnacho, Mainoo and Zirkzee look decent to me but are they starters? Ugarte might be alright too. Hojlund is young but he hasn't looked good of late.

I don't know if any of the defenders are worth keeping. Maybe Yoro and I'm not sure about any of the rest of them.

I think Onana is a fine keeper, he's playing behind an awful defense.

Yoro is a young talent. Maz has been a blinding signing from r 15 mil. Maguire is better at a back 3.

Problem is the left side. Have RB playing that side.

Onana was baught for ETH passing out the back but that's all he seems to be good at. He's not a consistent GK but that might also stem from the amount on how it is easy for the opposite press to unlock to the UTD goal.

Have a solid back 3 but it's the wing backs that dont rush up and back enough.

A striker like Oshimen and a say Alphonso Davies at lb would change this team completely in the short term.

Davies would solve a shed load of problems on that side

I don’t understand this.

Any game they have lost all season has been by the odd goal. Liverpool the only team to beat them by more than one goal.

As decimated as they are they recently beat Liverpool 1-0 in a first leg semi and only lost 2-1 to Arsenal away in the league.

This season they have beat Man City 0-4 away from home. Man U 0-3 away from home. Man City 2-1 at home. Villa 4-1 at home. Man U 4-3 at home. Not to be sniffed at. They have had a couple of **** results against Ipswich and Leicester away on opening day of the season. Also Everton this weekend.

If they were losing games by 2, 3 or more goals that’s one thing but they’ve only lost by more than 1 goal once against the top team in the league.

As decimated as they have been the club haven’t been ready to ease the load. No signings (bar the necessary GK) so far this window and no sign of any. Meanwhile Pep has made 3 already with a 4th in the pipeline. More could come. Also the new Haaland contact.

Spurs owners talk big but no real sign of it and they’re more than happy for the manager to take all the focus.

I hope he gets some players back and finishes the season well. I also hope they win the league cup.

For the most part I think a lot of fans, from all clubs, are a bit crazy/unrealistic.

Another thing thrown at Postecoglou is this ‘way of playing’ being unrealistic or not changing his style due to injuries.

How many times have fans watched their team leading by 1 or 2 goals in a dominant fashion and then sit back and allow the other team to come into the game. Maybe concede. A game they were comfortable in they are now drawing.

Then the spend the last 6 minutes creating chances but not scoring. And what do we all say ? - ‘why didn’t we finish them off when we could ? Why did it take drawing with 6 minutes to go to release the shackles ? We shouldn’t have drawn/lost that game’. ‘Why did we start sitting deeper ?’

Like any ‘system’ or ‘way of playing’ it’s ONLY seen to be good when it works.

I think a few Arsenal fans are talking that way now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,867 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

That's literally exactly the issue. They're scoring loads of goals — they're the second highest scorers in the league for god sake — but such is their utter lack of control and composure (which comes directly from the manager's tactics) that they're never safe in a game. If you're scoring that many, to still be losing regularly by 'the odd goal' shows a level of naivety that's just nuts. Just a little pragmatism to become a bit more stable and they could be in a great position - instead all that swashbuckling going forward has counted for very little because of how unbalanced he intentionally makes them (and seems to pride himself upon).

Brighton for instance have scored 10 fewer goals, but have 10 more points, while Villa have scored 12 fewer but have 12 more points - because they're both actually paying attention to the state of the game they're playing in and adjusting what they do accordingly.

Subscribe to save Boards.ie from closing down: The Bad News

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,354 ✭✭✭Martin567

Romero, Udogie, Bissouma and Johnson are the other four to make 8. Not saying all 8 would definitely play all the time if everyone was fit but there have certainly been games where all have played together.

Some of the younger players like Gray, Spence and Bergvall have certainly made a case for inclusion if everyone was available. Of the team who started today, only Porro, Son & Kulusevski have been pretty much certain starters. Maddision has been in and out.

I'm a Spurs fan. Very frustrated with the seemingly neverending injury list and the games every three days or so. This has been going on for over two months now. The next league game is Leicester at home which should be ideal as they've lost seven in a row. But Hoffenheim is up first on Thursday with no possibility whatever of any rotation. The ways things are going, probably another one or two will be injured before then. I've never seen a squad as depleted as today with 6 teenagers on the bench. I wouldn't dismiss the possibility of being down even more players next Sunday.

I see not point in getting rid of Ange now. There are so few players available, nobody could change anything too much. I can't think of any likely candidates available now anyway.

It will be reviewed in summer depending on how things work out from here. If he is replaced then, they will need someone with an attacking philosophy but maybe more nuanced! The last thing they should go for is another Mourinho/Conte style manager.