Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

My brother moving home from Australia with wife and 3 year old

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,344 ✭✭✭spakman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,495 ✭✭✭rolling boh

Helping out is one thing but family can the take advantage and suit themselves with other members of the family very quickly. Once they are ensconced in your home it could be very difficult and stressful for you to get them to move out .

OP, I don't know your personal circumstances or your relationship with your sibling but you might enjoy the company after living alone for so long?

I'd let them stay for a few months if they were guaranteed to have an exit date but problem is I highly doubt they will be able to. It will inevitably blow up. Or maybe not! a risk anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,880 ✭✭✭corks finest

is he off his game coming back to what is a 3 rd world country ref our health system ( lack of)

Our overcrowded schools.

One of most expensive countries in the world 🌍

I’d be straight up and tell him he needs to arrange accommodation for his family before he even contemplates coming home,

Sounds unchristian and maybe it is-

But you’ll end up regretting it big time as they’ll never move out

Will be years waiting on a council house,

Will never be able to buy on normal wages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,141 ✭✭✭endofrainbow

It's a guaranteed way to cause a family rift. After 20 years, you don't know each other and certainly won't be the same boys that may have once shared a bedroom. Add a sister in law and child into the mix - a recipe for disaster, not to mention your sanity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,518 ✭✭✭Trampas

You won’t be able to do anything in your house. Things like watching whatever you want when you want are gone. Keep the noise down because someone is asleep. Staying in bed will not be the same. It can annoying at times when it’s your own never mind someone’s else’s. You’re sitting in watching tv some night and it’ll be will you mind the baby while we head out for a meal/drink/cinema. Then your plans could change but they are gone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,344 ✭✭✭spakman

Yeah, tell him he's a freeloading chancer who's trying to get a free house. Fck him and his wife and their child.

guard everything you have and don't dare think of anyone but yourself because everyone is out to take advantage of you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,709 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

What are the job and alternative housing options like in the area of your house, vs your parents?

What's your relationship with your brother like? It's gonna change either way - all the issues above (which are totally valid), vs being the mean príck with a 3 bed who wouldn't help him out. Which do you think is the less of the two evils, for you.

What do your parents think should happen? eg your mother could be looking forward to being a hands-on granny, and disappointed if they don't stay with her.

Have your brother research what he needs to do to be able to prove habitual residency has moved from Oz to here (closed bank accounts etc), so he can sign on for Welfare and the council housing list from day one, so at least has some initial income.

NB the people saying parents of a 2 year-old don't need much support. Bollox. It's different, but there 's regular childcare, emergency childcare when the kid is sick and can't go to creche or when the mother is sick (in my experience, she will get sick a lot in the first few years, there's a different set of germs on this side of the world), meeting cousins, etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,038 ✭✭✭Deeec

If it was only for a few weeks then I would say yes to him. But it won't just be for a few weeks - chances of them finding a place to rent are slim. They could be looking at over a year to find a suitable place to buy and that's depending on their finances being good ( which is doubtful).

I would say no straight off. They have a very young child and your house will be taken over by them. There is a very good chance that them living with you will ruin your good relationship. They will be under your feet all the time. Unfortunately you have to be selfish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,134 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

It sounds like the OP has been living alone happily and by choice for 20 years. Adding one other person into that dynamic would be a huge adjustment, let alone a family of three. I almost killed my parents when I had to move home after my rented house was sold, and I'd only been living alone for the last 6 months of that. Not to mention the fact that the OP's house is highly unlikely to be suitable for a 3-year old, and he shouldn't have to child-proof his space and have to rearrange what I assume is very much his sanctuary to accommodate his brother.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,485 ✭✭✭Princess Calla

The brother has joined the thread 😂 😂 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,485 ✭✭✭Allinall

Wind up thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,202 ✭✭✭✭LambshankRedemption

I'm wondering the same. I've been trying to get a GP appointment for a year now. I keep getting told the same thing "We are not taking on new patients right now".

Eleven years ago I took out a lease on a 1.5 bedroom apartment in South County Dublin for 1200, which at the time I could just about afford. Today it is on daft at 1950.

So my first question for the brother is, does he have in the region of 4k spare for a first months rent and deposit on an apartment.

I think the brother will say "Yes, but we thought we could save money by staying with you". Which doesn't really answer the question. They will need to move out at some point. Do they have that money to hand or available? If they don't, it could take quite a while for them to save up that money.

Also, if he has been abroad for 20 years, he may not have enough PRSI stamps to get job seekers allowance. Please make him aware of that.

NB the people saying parents of a 2 year-old don't need much support. Bollox. It's different, but there 's regular childcare, emergency childcare when the kid is sick and can't go to creche or when the mother is sick (in my experience, she will get sick a lot in the first few years, there's a different set of germs on this side of the world), meeting cousins, etc.

That's presumably directed at me. I said they shouldnt need that much support and I italicised the that. Yes, of course, they will need help. I wasn't suggesting they dont, but after 20 years in Oz they should have a healthy friends network to help with that. Swapping that network to go home to Ireland, with no jobs and no home to live in, suggested to me there is something else at play here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

If they have been together 20 years and living in a booming economy like Australia and don't own a house by now, there never going to afford one in Ireland with no job qualifications

Just thinking about this further.

There's something that happens to time when you are a parent , but days turn to weeks to years faster than ever before . So if they say 6 months it will be a year...just because life....they may have 100% great intentions but very doubtful it will happen in whatever timeframe they think it will.

The child is 3 so potentially starting ecce in September....some parents are extremely fond of playdates ...so potentially on Saturday you'll have extra lil people in the house.

It also brings in the child is now "settled" with a peer group and I'd bet the farm the line will be " oh we want to buy in this area as "Kylie" has made such great pals and I've a mum network"...but there will never be a suitable house or they'll be out bid....there will be something. Before you know where you are the child will be in primary school.

Then as another poster has said and I've been the victim of this myself " are you up to anything...oh Kylie is asleep ...we're just going to nip for a pint you don't mind do you" or my personal favourite "we're going to get a chipper do you want anything...ok will you watch Kylie while we spin down ...an hour passes and you ring them...oh we just slipped in for a pint" so you're now feckin starving and feeling like a total mug.

Then don't underestimate the amount of laundry small people generate...so you'll probably need a rosta for the washing machine/clothes horse...that will get old very quickly.

My advice let them move in with granny...offer the box room /attic for storage to save them paying storage and cluttering granny's house. If you have the funds maybe offer a month or two rent in cash...just to get them on their feet.

Then close the door, make a coffee and enjoy the quiet of your home!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,058 ✭✭✭Buddy Bubs

The brother may not want to stay there forever either, he has only hinted at moving in.

Unusual move coming home and the story about her parents being separated and living in different part of Australia doesn't really carry much weight as regards support network. 2 people should be able to manage anyway without the drastic move of crossing the world. Not saying it isn't tough work, it is, but it's manageable.

What are the chances of just moving in with your parents, that sounds like a more natural support network with grandparents than a single uncle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,856 ✭✭✭...Ghost...

OP, take it from someone who accommodated a Brother, his Wife and 2 kids when I had a Wife and 2 kids of my own. DON'T DO IT!!!

He lived abroad for a decade and returned for various reasons. The dynamics changed right away. They argued a lot and my Bro suffered MH problems. How they raised (or didn't) raise their kids got on our nerves big time. It was months and months of hell, as they arrived with a lot of stuff, but not a penny saved. That was 15 years ago when there was plenty of properties available to rent for peanuts!

Stay Free

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,822 ✭✭✭KaneToad

The obvious solution is to tell brother that he can't move in with you. You have lived alone far too long and don't feel comfortable with additional people moving in.

Then offer to do as much as you can to find him a place to rent. It will be a big help to have someone doing this "locally" for them. If you were able to, it might be nice to offer to pay their first month's rent as a welcome home present.

The upshot of this approach is that he is in no doubt that he can't stay with you but that you are being extremely supportive in other ways. If this isn't good enough for him and the relationship deteriorates - it'll be a relief to have dodged a free loader.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭RichardAnd

Personally, I wouldn't enjoy this at all. Obviously, if they were homeless, I wouldn't turn my brother and his family out, but a living situation like this would drive me mental. I too live alone in a 3-bedroom house, and whilst it feels too big for me alone sometimes, having a whole family in here would very quickly make it feel very small.

Post edited by RichardAnd on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,685 ✭✭✭con___manx1

I can't believe the amount of people who say don't let the brother move in.

He is your brother after all. I'd make sure and give him a timeline tho maybe 6 months as it will be difficult for them to find there feet. My own brother lives in australia and my father isnt well so hes been home a few times in the last year for month stays and he stays with me. He his coming back with his other half again in may.

If not 6 months even 3 months would be OK. You just can't shaft your own brother and his family.

That is the best advice so far.

I can't believe the amount of people who say don't let the brother move in.

He is your brother after all. I'd make sure and give him a timeline tho maybe 6 months as it will be difficult for them to find there feet. My own brother lives in australia and my father isnt well so hes been home a few times in the last year for month stays and he stays with me. He his coming back with his other half again in may.

If not 6 months even 3 months would be OK. You just can't shaft your own brother and his family.

No-one, I repeat no-one on the thread said do not accommodate the brother. What most people are saying is do not accommodate the brother, the wife and the toddler with no timeline in place.

If the plan was for the brother to come over on his own, stay for a couple of days while he scopes out places for them to rent, and secure himself a job, I dont think anyone would have a problem with that.

It's the three of them arriving on the doorstep that people are concerned about.

The difference is you know for definite your brother is heading home, a return ticket is booked.

The problem here is the brother doesn't seem to have a plan.....over there 20yrs so must be 38+ still renting.....is willing to walk away from whatever job he has with nothing lined up here....there's just too many unknowns.

Once they get in the door it'll be very hard to get them out...then they could end up having another baby, so the OP has gone from living solo for 20 yrs to a house share , that he doesn't particularly want with 3 and potentially 4 people.

Then guaranteed some bright spark will make the comment the house is cramped would the op not move back with the parents and leave them the house while they get themselves sorted.......I say this as I was in a reverse situation..."father in law " died MIl was absolutely devastated, they had a 4 bedroom house and she was super lonely....we had planned to move back to the area ....so someone kindly suggested that we should move in...I had not worked my arse off to buy a house to end up in a house share...but I was the worst in the world for refusing .

These situations are just a recipe for disaster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 tylerdurdan2025

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,134 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

if not, it should be. 20 years in austrailia and come home with nothing ?

I was there 20 years ago, got a union laboring jog. $1500 after tax a week. Was living with lads working in bars. My wages was more than there 3 combined. If you claim to be there 20 years (2 of ye) and can't make money ye might as well give up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭mykrodot

Most of the advice here is NOT to allow your brother, his wife and his child move into your house, a solid 90% I'd say.

If you (like me) enjoy living alone and like your privacy do not allow anyone else in the family to tell you what you should do or not do for your brother. If they were together for 20 years before they had a child and now that child is 3 they must be close to 40, certainly late 30's? Surely they don't need support with one child?

My daughter moved home from Vancouver 4 years ago with a baby and a husband. They moved in with mother-in-law for about 2 months, and those 2 months were difficult especially with an 18 month old! After that they rented a small place while they bought an old house and renovated it. They always had a plan, and husband had a good job and works remotely. 3 years later, a lovely house, 2 more babies and they are totally independent.

My point is your brother and his wife must have a plan, must have savings, must have jobs lined up , must know what they want to do with the rest of their lives. This is the worst time to be moving home with the housing market the way it is! 4 years ago was a doddle compared to now.

Also three year old kids are worse than two years olds in terms of activity and destruction, noise levels, tantrums, non stop cooking and washing. Just don't do this. There will be no peace in your life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,037 ✭✭✭✭893bet

The brother has has 20 years to buy a house in Australia and failed.

Giving him 6 months in Ireland to find a place……lol not gonna happen.

A few years ago we were to get a new guy on our team and he would be starting on Monday. He flew in on Friday, spent the weekend looking at properties for him, his wife and their 2 kids. Monday lunchtime, still no sign of him so I emailed HR. HR forwarded the email he had sent them. After browsing houses all weekend, he gave up and flew home again. He did the sums and the only places he could find that would be suitable for his family was far beyond his budget and he would not have enough to live on after paying rent.

I signed off on his salary so I knew how much he would be earning. No small sum considering it was security analysis for a bank. That was 4 years ago and rents have only gone up since. This is why I now live in the midlands.

OP, can you ask your brother to have a look on daft.ie before he even looks at flights. He maybe doesn't realise how expensive property has gotten here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,874 ✭✭✭horse7

Even Australians can't afford a house in Australia, many are leaving due to the cost of living, they also have a housing crisis.

It's a tough one OP. You can't just turn around to family and say no without a genuine excuse. In boards land falling out with family might seem trivial but it's not really.

I'd definitely go down the lodger route. You can simply say that you don't have the room then. And make a few pound from the rent a room too.

Your brothers finances are his business. Don't get into it. Offer to help them with lifts to airport and the likes but say you don't have the room.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,000 ✭✭✭csirl

As some posters have said , does the brother have a plan?

However, the most important thing to consider is does the brother have the means to move out after a short period of time? If the brother doesnt have the means, then the reality is that he wont be moving out in the forseeable future. What is his plan?

For example, I know two families who moved back from abroad with kids. One from Australia with an Australian spouse. In both cases, the adults were professionals who had no difficulty getting jobs - one had a job before she even arrived. Both sold houses and arrived in Ireland with enough cash to get on the housing ladder here. Both lived with relatives for a few months until the got their own houses.