Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy Chitchat 4, an udder new thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Gawddawggonnit

Search for Bentonite Clay or Diatomite Clay.
    The snakeoil peddlers will have you think that their ingredients are magic beans..but they’re one just of those Clays in a fancy bag, with an even fancier price tag.
    Don’t give over 80g/hd as it can filter out minerals from the liver.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,338 ✭✭✭davidk1394

Could you mix it through a tank of slurry and spread it or how do you apply it ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,338 ✭✭✭davidk1394

20250112_081623.jpg 20250112_110434.jpg IMG-20250112-WA0001.jpeg

Getting all the tanks emptied out here this morning using the pipes. Going out at 2,250 gallons per ac at the minute.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,096 ✭✭✭yosemitesam1

You feed it. But only if there's an issue to be corrected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,577 ✭✭✭Wildsurfer

Spare a thought for those on heavier soil with last week's snow still melting in! On paper I have enough storage, but even after a good Autumn and a dry Winter all my tanks are full to capacity, I don't where it all comes from. Is the 60% extra storage grant definitely coming in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,145 ✭✭✭mr.stonewall

Isn't it that tomorrow the opening of the closed season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 318 ✭✭grass10

Maybe if you put a roof over the tank you wouldn't be spreading water in mid January when it's not legal keep posting pictures like this and we have a great chance of keeping derogation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,490 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

I’ve capacity for another few weeks but I’ll be going out this week and spreading anywhere with a low grass cover. Always get a great response from Jan slurry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 572 ✭✭✭Morris Moss

You must be on low ground, north Kilkenny here and high enough, still plenty of snow around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 318 ✭✭grass10

Yeah that's okay I've approx 22 weeks storage so sometimes put slurry out in the spring provided I am not marking ground but use most slurry for silage making all summer but I find it very strange why people post pictures like has been done here after not even 2 months of winter has gone by and they want to show us pictures of a tank with no roof and they are spreading slurry illegally the second week of January if the cattle were inside in Oct would lads be spreading slurry in Dec and would that be okay, I am not having a go at you but a lot of lads need to realise the epa are going to start imposing the rules very shortly and many lads are in for a big shock

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,570 ✭✭✭Gillespy

Midnight tonight he's legal to go. Big deal starting a few hours before. Ground looks fine and no rain in the forecast. That's the most important thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,736 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

snap same as here …..lads tgat didn’t take the small chance we got last janurary to go with slurry suffered with poor growth right into summer ….will cover most of milk block with 2500 gallons

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,736 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

your not having a go but you are ….ground conditions from pictures look pretty good ….you can legally spread from today …weather for week ahead is good …fully expect to see anyone with good dry ground moving slurry this week ….lads that waited on Tegasc advice last spring won’t make same mistake again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,145 ✭✭✭mr.stonewall

Legally it midnight in 6 and half hours time. Bending the rules leads to more bending the rules in a bigger fashion. Read the guidance on the closed period carefully

100%agree on going with some slurry if ground can take it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,941 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

Hmm - that very much depends on what of the country your in, soil type, and winter weather. Large parts of the country would simply be wasting it as fert and posing a water quality issue too putting it out that early in the average year. In fairness recent winters have been very benign in terms of temp etc. but I wouldn't count on that every year going forward….

we have quite a dry farm. I was out today tidying up branches from fallen trees we cut up in the last while and no problem travelling at all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,096 ✭✭✭yosemitesam1

Would be the right job to mix in a half tonne of humic acid when agitating to try and hold on better to your p

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 4,401 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

What kinda money would a half ton of humic acid set you back?

Trading as Sullivan’s Farm on YouTube

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,501 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Problem with pulling bushes and redding it is you can no longer burn the heaps. As well I'd you get pulled up on it it's harder to justify. Spray a few times with Grazon 90 of some one complains.

Mulched a few acres of mainly furze here as well last autumn, some of ot on rocky ground. Have to get the Jarmet sprayer certified fir March.

As well the P&K value of the Mmulched has to be factored in as well, yes it will strip N breaking it down but that will be returned, 20 units of Urea in a few weeks will help. A neighbour who bulldozed and burnt about 50 acres 20 years ago told me the land never recovered it was stripped of P&K

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,428 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

There's farmers on the facebook groups worldwide making their own from lignite and I think potassium hydroxide. More a southern hemisphere thing. If you can buy a bag of lignite for 15 euro and a drum of KOH for 40 then it shows how these others make money. Lack of volume in sales and lack of competition means they drive margin to the rafters.

Example of such

May be an image of 1 person and text

Hopefully won't get in trouble for the one picture. It's from a private group and if anything it's promoting the group as to what is posted in such. Very well moderated by a Ukrainian mod.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,466 ✭✭✭older by the day

Burn them the 12th of July and say the unionists burned them. Or the the 21st of June and say your after turning pagan.

It's gas, the eating david above got for spreading slurry 12 hours early. The shite you would get for snaring badgers, or burning bush's.

And the funny thing is that it's farmers that are their own biggest critics. MEPS on 1/4 million/year don't have to worry about the laws they make as, its the fellow farmers that instead of supporting each other, will make an issue out of it. Not talking about you bass

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 4,401 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

I've a neighbour who is a great man to celebrate Halloween. Not sure if he dresses up in a scary costume and goes trick or treating, but he lights a mighty bonfire to mark the occasion every year 😂

Trading as Sullivan’s Farm on YouTube

Got word a dairy farmer in the next village is giving up milking cows this year and going at drystock.

He would have been around the same size herd wise as me and just a few years older. Seems the generational dairy farmers under 100 cows are just disappearing. Go on twitter though and you are told to shut up and it's the greatest farming enterprise going both by the women milking and those not milking. Team dairy has to be blindly enthusiastic about milking or else you are not representative of the "industry". I think the most enthusiastic though have jobs on the side and others doing the actual work. Farmer in question would have been a big buyer of straw for bedding of the cows. With all the costs gone up not just of straw, you'd imagine the good was going out of milking for them. Chance for a second life and lifestyle for them now though.

Still a bit of a downer but it's a personal decision for them obviously.

I was sitting in the car waiting on my father after a medical examination in which he couldn't drive the car for hours after.

I was noticing people just aimlessly wandering around and some disappearing behind a church to do drugs or drink for the company of others.

If any of ye become a dictator for this country, would ye bring in a national service that every young person has to do time on a farm as part of citizenship. Could chop half a little finger off if caught stealing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,869 ✭✭✭visatorro

Was chatting someone recently bedding 100 sucklers on straw. No slats at all. 18k on straw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,821 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

There'll be a tillage and beef finisher now giving out about the price of suckler weanlings and petitioning the minister to do something about it.

The weanlings that is.. not the straw.

Funny world. And that's a yearly wage for some.

Trouble is they were told all along they were doing the correct thing in buying straw and housing the same way their father did. Told they were correct by soil health gurus, animal welfare gurus, tillage gurus, organic gurus.

Now the dedicated tillage farmers lobbied with the green party in the last programme for government and got straw chopping into as a climate measure and put that they want multiples of the acreage down to meet climate targets set by the government.

So that's the market for selling to livestock farmers now gone to 18 thousand and only set to increase if they ever want a chance to compete with the chopping scheme and false claims climate targets of the measure. So that's ensuring it's slats and a lie back for calves from now on for sucklers if they want to stay in business and those that didn't keep moving this way when concrete was cheaper when it didn't have the mica and carbon levies will find it harder to finance thus.

Edit: would have been fairer calling it the slurry soil scheme.